DETAILED ACTION
The status of the 03/26/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 1, and 6 have been amended; Claims 22, 35, 47-58, and 64 have been withdrawn; Claims 3-5, 7-12, 14-16, 18-21, 23-34, 36-46, and 59-63 have been canceled; and Claims 1-2, 6, 13, 17, 22, 35, 47-58, and 64 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do Rosario (US 20210379968, hereinafter Rosario) in view of Parker (US 20210215990)
Regarding Claim 1, Rosario discloses a laminated glazing (composite pane as a windshield of a motor vehicle; fig. 1a) having an electrically connectable layer (functional element 5) (fig. 1b), comprising:
first and second glass substrates (first pane 1 and second pane 2 respectively; fig. 1b);
the electrically connectable layer (functional element 5) (para. 0118; fig. 1b) (it is noted the functional element 5 is configured to be connected to onboard electrical system via busbars 18, 19 and cables such that its optical properties can be adjusted);
interlayers (laminating films 6, 7; fig. 1b), wherein the electrically connectable layer (functional element 5) is positioned between interlayers (fig. 1b); and
at least one connection wire (connection cables) is electrically connected to the electrically connectable layer (functional element 5) (“The surface electrodes 12, 13 can be connected to the onboard electrical system via busbars 18, 19 and connection cables (not shown)”, para. 0118; fig. 2b).
Rosario does not disclose the at least one connection wire having first and second connection ends and a main portion positioned between the first and second connection ends, wherein the first connection end of the connection wire is electrically connected to the electrically connectable layer, wherein the main portion of the connection wire is positioned within the interlayers.
However, Parker discloses the at least one connection wire (wires 822, 823) having first and second connection ends (annotated figs. 8 and 2B) and a main portion (annotated fig. 8) positioned between the first and second connection ends, wherein the first connection end of the connection wire is electrically connected to the electrically connectable layer (electrochromic pane 805) (para. 0078 and 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one connection wire of Rosario (i.e. cable) to have the first, the main portion, and the second ends such that the at least one connection wire is configured to be routed from the busbars 18, 19 of Rosario and terminate at the first connector 825 of Parker, which is removably connected an external wire assembly (i.e. wire assembly 830 of Parker), in order to apply known technique (i.e. routing the wire from the busbars to the intermediate connection point 825 to be connected to external power source) to a known device (i.e. laminated glazing) for the purpose of energizing the busbars. By terminating the cables at the first connector 825 of Parker located within the laminated glazing of Rosario advantageously, which is removably connected to the external wire assembly external to the laminated glazing, allows the wire assembly 830 to be detachably connected to the laminated glazing, thereby aid in the fabrication and handling of the laminated glazing. If the wire assembly 830 becomes damaged, it can be easily detached from the laminated glazing and replaced without having to replace the entire assembly (para. 0085 of Parker).
The modification would result in the structure in which the main portion of the connection wire (main portion of wires 822, 823 of Parker) is positioned within the interlayers (laminating films 6, 7 of Rosario) (figs. 1b and 2a of Rosario) (it is noted the busbar 18 is sandwiched between films 6, 7, so the cables from the busbars 18 of Rosario to the first connector 825 of Parker are also sandwiched between films 6, 7).
Regarding Claim 2, Rosario discloses the laminated glazing (composite pane), wherein the electrically connectable layer (functional element 5) comprises a switchable film (“sun visor is formed by a commercially available PDLC multilayer film as a functional element 5”, para. 0113 and it is noted the element 5 is switched by a capacitive switch, para. 0115).
Regarding Claim 6, Rosario discloses the laminated glazing (composite pane), wherein the switchable film (functional element 5) comprises a switchable layer core (active layer 11; fig. 2b) positioned between first and second electrode layers (electrodes 12, 13; fig. 2b) (para. 0118), wherein the first electrode layer (electrode 12) is coated on a first film substrate (film 14) (fig. 2b) and the second electrode (electrode 13) is coated on a second film substrate (film 15) (fig. 2b), and wherein the first electrode layer (electrode 12) comprises at least two segments (segments 17; fig. 2b) wherein the segments (segments 17) are electrically isolated from one another (“The separating lines 16 electrically isolate the segments 17 from one another.”, para. 0118) and are each electrically connected to separate connection wires (cables associated with busbars 18’s) via a busbar on each segment (two busbars 18 per segment 17) (“first surface electrode 12 has in each case two first busbars 18 per segment 17, i.e., a total of eight first busbars 18”, para. 0118), and wherein the second electrode layer (electrode 13) is electrically connected to another connection wire (cables associated with busbar 19) which is different from the connection wires electrically connected to the segments (it is noted the busbar 18’s are connected to the external power source via a set of cables and the busbar 19 is connected to the external power source via another set of cable), wherein the busbar (each busbar 18’s, 19) overlaps with the first connection end of at least one of the connection wires (first end of cables) (it is noted each busbar 18’s, 19 is electrically connected to the first connection end of the cables to be connected to the external power source).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Do Rosario (US 20210379968, hereinafter Rosario) and Parker (US 20210215990) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Weissenberger (US 20180242403)
Regarding Claim 13, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the first connection end of the connection wire has a looped shape or a zigzag shape.
However, Weissenberger discloses the first connection end of the connection wire (end of heating wire) has a looped shape (loop-shaped heating wire 3) (para. 0100; fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first connection end of Parker to have the looped shape as taught by Weissenberger, in order to yield effective and very stable contact due to multiple contact points between the busbar and the connection wire (para. 0100, 0095, and 0056 of Weissenberger).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Do Rosario (US 20210379968, hereinafter Rosario) and Parker (US 20210215990) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Klein (US 20180176995)
Regarding Claim 17, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the first connection end is adhered to a busbar on the electrically connectable layer by an adhesive layer.
However, Klein discloses the first connection end (heating wires) is adhered to a busbar (busbars) by an adhesive layer (electrically conductive adhesive) (para. 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first connection end of Parker to be adhered to the busbar of Rosario on the electrically connectable layer (i.e. functional element 5; fig. 2a of Rosario) by the adhesive layer as taught by Klein, in order to secure the first connection to the busbar to ensure reliable and durable electrical connection between the first connection end and the busbar (para. 0084 of Klein).
Response to Amendment
With respect to claim objections: since amendments to the claims, therefore the claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are respectfully not persuasive because:
Applicant’s Arguments: with respect to claim 1 on p. 10-11 of the Remarks, “Applicant respectfully submits that Rosario does not disclose the claim limitation "an
electrically connectable layer." Rosario's functional element 5 is not an electrically connectable
layer. Instead, as described in paragraph [0118] and as illustrated in Fig. lb of Rosario, the
functional element 5 is merely an element encompassed by the greater intermediate layer 3. The
functional element 5 does not act as a layer of the laminated glazing (a composite pane as disclosed by Rosario) because the functional element 5 does not span the entire surface of the laminated glazing (composite pane). Nowhere in paragraph [0118] of Rosario is the functional element 5 described as a layer, while other layers such as the first pane 1, the second pane 2, the first thermoplastic laminating film 6, the second thermoplastic laminating film 7, and the thermoplastic frame film 8 which encompasses the functional element 5, are described and illustrated throughout Rosario as encompassing the entirety of the surface area of the laminated glazing (composite pane). Thus, Rosario's functional element 5 is not an electrically connectable layer. Rosario's functional element 5 is clearly distinguishable from Applicant's electrically
connectable layer. For reference, Fig. 3 of Applicant's Publication is reproduced below. Fig. 3 is
a perspective cross-section view showing the various layers of Applicant's laminated glazing. As shown above in Fig. 3, the various layers: first glass substrate 30, first interlayer 32, second interlayer 34, second glass substrate 36, and connectable layers 12 (including the electrically connectable layer) each span the entirety of Applicant's laminated glazing, creating, for example, a vehicle window. As can be seen in the above reproduction of Fig. 3, the different layers of the laminated glazing are just that: layers. Each of these layers make up the final product, the laminated glazing, much like Rosario's first pane 1, second pane 2, first thermoplastic laminating film 6, second thermoplastic laminating film 7, and thermoplastic frame film. As opposed to Applicant's electrically connectable layer which spans the entirety of Applicant's laminated glazing, Rosario's functional element 5 is just that-an element encompassed by a separate layer of Rosario's composite pane. Therefore, Applicant's electrically connectable layer is distinguishable from Rosario's functional element 5.”
Examiner’s Responses:
The applicant’s arguments are respectfully not persuasive because according to Webster definition, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/layer, “layer” is interpreted to mean “one thickness, course, or fold laid or lying over or under another”. Looking at fig. 1b, the functional element 5 is shown as having a thickness that is laid over or under laminating films 6, 7. The claim does not require the functional element 5 (claimed electrically connectable layer) to extend the entirety of the surface area of the laminated glazing as implied by the Applicant. The claim merely requires the electrically connectable layer and the electrically connectable layer is positioned between the interlayers. Examiner relies upon the plain meaning of the term “layer” that simply refers to something that has a thickness that is laid over or under another. Therefore, the functional element 5 fits the ordinary meaning of the “electrically connectable layer” because it is laid over the laminating film 7 and under the laminating film 6. The functional element 5 is positioned between the interlayers 6, 7 (fig. 1b).
For the above reasons, the rejections to all of the claims are respectfully sustained by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONITA KHLOK/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761