DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-15, 18 and 20 in the reply filed on December 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (JP-2001223309 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki et al. reference discloses a reference discloses a method for forming a metal flow module, the method comprising:
stacking together a first metal plate having opposing first and second major surfaces and one or more flow channels defined at least in part in the first major surface, with a second metal plate having opposing first and second major surfaces, the plates stacked together with their respective first major surfaces facing each other and with a layer of flux positioned in between contacting portions of the respective first major surfaces defined as those portions of the respective first and second major surfaces which would be in contact absent the flux (Figure 1(a)(b) and (c), numerals 20 – second metal plate, 30 – layer of flux and 10 – first metal plate, 11- flow channels, Abstract);
heating the plates together in a non-oxidizing atmosphere to thermally bond the contacting portions of the respective first major surfaces of the first and second metal plates (Abstract and Paragraph [0040] – paste (30) containing aluminum brazing filler metal powder; an inert atmosphere furnace heated to a brazing temperature of 598oF to perform brazing).
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method according to claim 1 also comprising coating at least portions of the first major surfaces of the first and second plates with a chemically resistant coating prior to stacking the plates together (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 12, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method according to claim 11 wherein the portions correspond, defined as align to, to locations of the flow channels (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method according to claim 1 also comprising, after heating the plates together in a non-oxidizing atmosphere or an inert atmosphere to thermally bond the contacting portions of the respective first major surfaces of the first and second metal plates, coating the flow channels with a chemically resistant coating (Paragraphs [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising forming in the first major surface of the first plate the one or more flow channels defined at least in part in the first major surface (Figures 1a-c).
Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 14 wherein forming is performed by machining (Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding Claim 18, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising:
applying flux to threads of a fluid connector prior to the heating, the fluid connector configured to fluidically communicate with the one or more flow channels; threading the fluid connector into one of the first and second metal plates such that the flux is positioned between contacting portions of the threads of the fluid connector and the one of the first and second metal plates; and heating the fluid connector and the first and second metal plates in the non-oxidizing atmosphere or the inert atmosphere to thermally bond the contacting portions (Figure 1a, numerals 21 and 22- fluid connectors and Paragraphs [0031]-[0032]).
Regarding Claim 20, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first metal plate or the second metal plate comprise a stainless steel (Paragraph [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (JP-2001223309 A) in view of Kim et al. (KR-100888363 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 1 except for the second metal plate has one or more flow channels defined at least in part in the first major surface thereof. Kim et al. reference discloses a method for making heat pipe using the brazing process such as joint design, substrate cleaning, flux coating … wherein the first metal plate and second metal plate, each has one or more flow channels defined at least in part in the first major surface (Figures 2 and 3, numerals 121 and 122). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second metal plates with one or more flow channels as taught by Kim et al., since Kim et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would enhance workability and lower the manufacture unit costs.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (JP-2001223309 A) in view of Mosser (US 2012/0160084 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 1 except for the flux comprises a carbide or nitride powder. Mosser reference discloses a hot pressing procedure is carried out on the metal frame assembly containing the ceramic material and braze composition to cause the metal to plastically deform about the encapsulated ceramic material and form a diffusion bonded metal frame assembly and an alloy joint formed in-situ from the braze composition, which melts and wets the ceramic material and the metal frame assembly during the process of diffusion bonding the components of the metal frame assembly together (Abstract) wherein the ceramic material comprising silicon carbide, pressure-assisted SiC--N, or other grades and types of ceramics such as boron carbide, tungsten carbide, titanium diboride, aluminum oxide, silicon nitride and aluminum nitride or mixtures thereof (Paragraph [0020]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boron carbide or/and nitride as the flux material as taught by Mosser, since Mosser states at Abstract and Paragraph [0006] that such a modification would form a diffusion bonded metal frame assembly having a coefficient of thermal expansion greater than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the ceramic material.
Regarding Claim 4, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 1 except for the flux comprises a carbide powder. Mosser reference discloses a hot pressing procedure is carried out on the metal frame assembly containing the ceramic material and braze composition to cause the metal to plastically deform about the encapsulated ceramic material and form a diffusion bonded metal frame assembly and an alloy joint formed in-situ from the braze composition, which melts and wets the ceramic material and the metal frame assembly during the process of diffusion bonding the components of the metal frame assembly together (Abstract) wherein the ceramic material comprising silicon carbide, pressure-assisted SiC--N, or other grades and types of ceramics such as boron carbide, tungsten carbide, titanium diboride, aluminum oxide, silicon nitride and aluminum nitride or mixtures thereof (Paragraph [0020]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boron carbide or/and nitride as the flux material as taught by Mosser, since Mosser states at Abstract and Paragraph [0006] that such a modification would form a diffusion bonded metal frame assembly having a coefficient of thermal expansion greater than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the ceramic material.
Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki et al. and Mosser references disclose the method of claim 4 wherein the flux comprises boron carbide powder (Paragraph [0020]).
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (JP-2001223309 A) in view of Haibara et al. (US 2004/0258572 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 1 except for heating the plates is performed while pressing the plates together. Haibara et al. reference discloses a microfluidic device and method of manufacturing thereof wherein The upper plate (10) and lower plate (20) are stacked on each other, and are secured by an upper pressure-contact member (30), a lower pressure-contact member (40) and bolts (51) (Abstract and Figures 2A and 2B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressure-contact member and bolts to keep the stacked plates in place as taught by Haibara et al., since Haibara et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would prevent leakage of fluid can thereby be manufactured without undergoing a step of irreversible integration.
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki et al. reference discloses the method of claim 1 except for mechanically fastening the plates together prior to heating the plates. Haibara et al. reference discloses a microfluidic device and method of manufacturing thereof wherein The upper plate (10) and lower plate (20) are stacked on each other, and are secured by an upper pressure-contact member (30), a lower pressure-contact member (40) and bolts (51) (Abstract and Figures 2A and 2B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressure-contact member and bolts to keep the stacked plates in place as taught by Haibara et al., since Haibara et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would prevent leakage of fluid can thereby be manufactured without undergoing a step of irreversible integration.
Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki et al. and Haibara et al. references disclose the method of claim 7 wherein mechanically fastening the plates together comprises joining the plates with screws or bolts around the perimeter thereof (Haibara et al. - Abstract and Figures 2A and 2B, numeral 51 - bolt).
Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki et al. and Haibara et al. references disclose the method of claim 7 wherein mechanically fastening the plates together comprises joining the plates with screws or bolts positioned around the perimeter thereof (Haibara et al. - Abstract and Figures 2A and 2B, numeral 51 - bolt).
Regarding Claim 10, Suzuki et al. and Haibara et al. references disclose the method of claim 7 wherein mechanically fastening the plates together comprises joining the plates with screws or bolts positioned at locations around the perimeter thereof and in the center thereof (Haibara et al. - Abstract and Figures 2A and 2B, numeral 51 - bolt).
Conclusion
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1774