DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-6, 8, 9 and 12-30 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 1/14/26.
Accordingly, claims 15 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 1-6, 8, 9, 12-14, 16-18 and 21-30 are under consideration in the instant application.
4. In light of Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed on 1/14/26, the rejection under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) and (a)(2) has been withdrawn (see sections 6-7 of the office action mailed on 10/29/25). The currently amended claims recite use of succinate buffer.
5. The following rejections remain.
8. Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12-14, 16-18 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2018/0147292 (of record) in view of U.S. Pub 2007/0031402 (of record) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 10/29/25.
The ‘292 publication teaches antibody drug conjugate set forth in Formulas recited in claims 1 and 10 as described in Formula 27 (note p. 25). The Formula 27 includes GGFG as part of a linker and it encompasses the structure of claim 10. The prior art formula 27 includes the structures in claim 1, 12 and 13 and the core structure is derived from Formula 1 (see p.27-31).
Further, the ‘292 publication teaches the formulation comprising histidine buffer and the pH of the composition includes pH 5 (p. 25). The ‘292 publication teaches HER2 antibody as antibody to be conjugated ([0036, 0057]) and claims 12-13 including trastzumab are included in this rejection (note [154], readable upon humanized HER2).
The disclosure of the ‘292 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use polysorbate, saccharides as in claims 5-9, and 12 and lyophilized, reconstituted and/or an article of manufacture of composition as in claim 16-18 of the instant application, respectively.
The ‘402 publication teaches use of 1-50mM of histidine as well as succinate buffer (note claim 20), at pH 4.5-7.3 and polysorbate of 0.005-0.2% and sucrose of 5-10% in the presence of antibody drug conjugate (p.2). The ’292 publication further teaches the antibody drug conjugate formulation improves stability by reducing aggregates, the formulation may be lyophilized and reconstituted (p.12). Claims 9 and 13 are included in this rejection; it is not inventive to discover optimum ranges and workable concentration by routine experimentation where the general condition is taught by the prior art. See MPEP2145. In addition, the formulation may be prepared to a kit (p. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the excipient concentrations, lyophilization and kit format as taught by the ‘402 publication into the antibody drug conjugate compositions taught by the ‘292 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of kit adds convenience and provision of lyophilization, specific excipient combinations improve stability of antibody drug conjugate by reducing aggregates.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s response filed on 1/14/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that the combination of the references fails to teach each and every element of the claimed compound, no reasonable expectation of success in combining the references and the claimed formulation showed unexpected properties in improved properties.
To support, Applicant adds the succinate buffer is not added or the compound in claims 1, 12 and 13 has not been recited or more anti-cancer effect and the combination is not obvious over the cited references.
However, unlike Applicant’s assertion, addition of succinate buffer is recited in ‘402 publication in claim 20 in addition to histidine or replacing histidine. The genus of structures in p.25-32 of the ‘292 publication reads on Y being O-(CH2)m-CR1R2-C(O)- of formula (Pc-L-Y-D) of claims 1, 12 and 13. Note Formula 34 uses GGFG; claims 12-13 use GGFG and meets the limitations of claims 12-13. In addition, in lack of specific anti-tumor effect that is being unexpected, the ‘292 publication teaches the antibody-drug conjugate in treatment of various cancers ([273-278]). As such, the combination of the references teach each and every element of the claimed invention and the rejection is maintained.
10. Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12-14, 16-18 and 21-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Application No. 18/029075 in view of U.S. Pub 2007/0031402.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘075 application recites a pharmaceutical composition antibody drug conjugates set forth in claim 1 and 13 of the instant application.
The claims of the ‘075 application differ in that they do not recite excipient combination, lyophilization and article of manufacture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the excipient concentrations, lyophilization and kit format as taught by the ‘402 publication into the antibody drug conjugate compositions taught by the ‘075 application.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of kit adds convenience and provision of lyophilization, specific excipient combinations improve stability of antibody drug conjugate by reducing aggregates.
In light of the discussion above in section 8 of this office action, rejection is maintained.
11. Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12-14, 16-18 and 21-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Application No. 18/580602 in view of U.S. Pub 2007/0031402.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘602 application recites a pharmaceutical composition antibody drug conjugates set forth in claim 1 and 13 of the instant application.
The claims of the ‘602 application differ in that they do not recite excipient combination, lyophilization and article of manufacture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the excipient concentrations, lyophilization and kit format as taught by the ‘402 publication into the antibody drug conjugate compositions taught by the ‘602 application.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of kit adds convenience and provision of lyophilization, specific excipient combinations improve stability of antibody drug conjugate by reducing aggregates.
In light of the discussion above in section 8 of this office action, rejection is maintained.
12. No claims are allowable.
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
February 24, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641