Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 12/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fixed end and the free end must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "200" and "120" have both been used to designate stent.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: II.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 25 of Application No. 17/914,148. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 25 of copending Application No. 17/914,148 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The ‘148 claim 25 does not anticipate claim 1 because it does not positively claim a stent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 25 of copending Application No. 17/914,148 in view of Sullivan (US 2004/0106977 A1) and Xiao (CN 109419568 A).
Regarding claim 2, all of the claimed limitations are disclosed in copending Application No. 17/914,148 except the ratio of an axial distance between the assembly part located at the most proximal end and the proximal end surface of the stent to the axial length of the stent is not greater than 1/3. However, Sullivan teaches the ratio of an axial distance between the assembly part located at the most proximal end and the proximal end surface of the stent to the axial length of the stent is not greater than 1/3 (fig. 2B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to have modified the assembly instrument to have a ratio of an axial distance between the assembly part located at the most proximal end and the proximal end surface of the stent to the axial length of the stent is not greater than 1/3 in order to avoid collapse of the stent (¶ [0008], Sullivan).
Regarding claim 3, all of the claimed limitations are disclosed in copending Application No. 17/914,148 except the free end of the assembly part has a spherical structure. However, Sullivan further teaches the free end of the assembly part has a spherical structure (fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to have modified the assembly part to have a spherical structure in order to avoid collapse of the stent (¶ [0008], Sullivan).
Regarding claim 4, all of the claimed limitations are disclosed in copending Application No. 17/914,148 except when the hardness of the assembly part is 25D-85D, there is the relationship 0.5d1<h1<0.8d1. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for when the hardness of the assembly part is 25D-85D, there is the relationship 0.5d1<h1<0.8d1, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 5, all of the claimed limitations are disclosed in copending Application No. 17/914,148 except the stent comprises a supporting framework and a covered film. However, Xiao discloses a stent (10, endograft, fig. 3) comprising a supporting framework (100, stent, fig. 3) that includes a covered film that surrounds the supporting framework (200, cover, fig. 3); the supporting framework has a grid structure formed by weaving metal wires (¶ [0040]); at least some metal wires are intersected and mutually hooked to form a plurality of intersections (¶ [0041], fig. 4); the covered film comprises an inner-layer film (210, first diaphragm, fig. 3) and an outer-layer film (220, second diaphragm, fig. 3); the inner-layer film is arranged in the supporting framework (¶ [0039]); the outer-layer film is attached to an outer surface of the supporting framework and an outer surface of the inner-layer film (¶ [0039]); and the plurality of intersections are not covered by the outer-layer film (fig. 3). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the delivery device of copending Application No. 17/914,148 to include a stent comprising a supporting framework and a covered film that comprises an inner-layer and an outer-layer as taught by Xiao in order to provide the relative displacement space for the metal stent to realize the flexibility of the covered stent (¶ [0003], Xiao).
Regarding claim 6, all of the claimed limitations are disclosed in copending Application No. 17/914,148 except a plurality of intersections. However, Xiao further discloses at least some metal wires are intersected and mutually hooked to form a plurality of intersections that are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the delivery device of copending Application No. 17/914,148 to include the metal wires are intersected and mutually hooked to form a plurality of intersections as taught by Xiao in order to provide the relative displacement space for the metal stent to realize the flexibility of the covered stent (¶ [0003], Xiao).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan (US 2004/0106977 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sullivan discloses a stent assembly system (36, stent delivery systems, fig. 2B), comprising
a stent (34, stent, fig. 2B) and an assembly instrument (30, stabilizer, fig. 2B), wherein the assembly instrument is used to assemble and deliver the stent;
the assembly instrument comprises a sheath core tube (32, inner core, fig. 2B), an outer sheath tube (40, sheath, fig. 2B) and an assembly part (60, protrusion, fig. 5);
the outer sheath tube slidably surrounds the sheath core tube in an axial direction (fig. 2B, ¶ [0035]), and an accommodating cavity for accommodating the stent is formed between the inner wall of the outer sheath tube and the outer wall of the sheath core tube (fig. 2B);
the assembly part has a fixed end (see annotated fig. 5, below) and a free end opposite to the fixed end (see annotated fig. 5, below); the fixed end is connected to the sheath core tube (fig. 5);
and when the stent is radially crimped on the sheath core tube, the free end is hooked to the stent to limit the stent (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Sullivan further discloses a plurality of assembly parts (fig. 5);
the plurality of assembly parts are arranged on the sheath core tube at intervals (fig. 5);
when the stent is radially crimped on the sheath core tube, wherein the ratio of an axial distance between the assembly part located at the most proximal end and the proximal end surface of the stent to the axial length of the stent is not greater than 1/3 (fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 3, Sullivan further discloses the free end of the assembly part has a spherical structure (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan.
Regarding claim 4, Sullivan fails to teach when the hardness of the assembly part is 25D-85D, there is the relationship 0.5d1<h1<0.8d1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for when the hardness of the assembly part is 25D-85D, there is the relationship 0.5d1<h1<0.8d1, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (a stent assembly system intended for navigation in the vascular system), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan in view of Xiao (CN 109419568 A).
Regarding claim 5, Sullivan further discloses the stent comprises a supporting framework (¶ [0031], fig. 2B).
Sullivan fails to teach the stent is covered with a film comprising an inner layer and an outer layer. However, Xiao discloses a stent (10, endograft, fig. 3) comprising a supporting framework (100, stent, fig. 3) that includes
a covered film that surrounds the supporting framework (200, cover, fig. 3);
the supporting framework has a grid structure formed by weaving metal wires (¶ [0040]);
at least some metal wires are intersected and mutually hooked to form a plurality of intersections (¶ [0041], fig. 4);
the covered film comprises an inner-layer film (210, first diaphragm, fig. 3) and an outer-layer film (220, second diaphragm, fig. 3);
the inner-layer film is arranged in the supporting framework (¶ [0039]);
the outer-layer film is attached to an outer surface of the supporting framework and an outer surface of the inner-layer film (¶ [0039]);
and the plurality of intersections are not covered by the outer-layer film (fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stent of Sullivan to include a covered film that comprises an inner-layer and an outer-layer as taught by Xiao in order to provide the relative displacement space for the metal stent to realize the flexibility of the covered stent (¶ [0003], Xiao).
Regarding claim 6, Sullivan fails to teach the metal wires are intersected and mutually hooked to form a plurality of intersections. However, Xiao further discloses at least some metal wires are intersected and mutually hooked to form a plurality of intersections that are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction (fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stent of Sullivan to include the metal wires are intersected and mutually hooked to form a plurality of intersections as taught by Xiao in order to provide the relative displacement space for the metal stent to realize the flexibility of the covered stent (¶ [0003], Xiao).
Conclusion
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799