DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 07/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimoto (CN 201310056621 A).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of CN 201310056621 A. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Nishimoto teaches a ruthenium oxide supported catalyst, wherein the catalyst is for oxidizing hydrogen chloride with oxygen to produce chlorine (Nishimoto, Abstract; [0002]) (i.e., a catalyst for halogen production for oxidizing a hydrogen halide with oxygen to produce a halogen). Nishimoto teaches the carrier is impregnated with water and then dried to obtain a dry substance (Nishimoto, [0061]-[0062]), i.e., 0% by volume of water which falls within the claimed range of 4% or less by volume of water with respect to a pore volume of the catalyst. Further, Nishimoto teaches the catalyst is sealed in a container (Nishimoto, [0064]), which corresponds to being encapsulated in a package.
Regarding claim 3, Nishimoto teaches the catalyst for halogen production according to claim 1, wherein the catalyst is a ruthenium oxide supported catalyst with a titanium oxide carrier (Nishimoto, Abstract; [0060]-[0064]) (i.e., a supported ruthenium oxide catalyst with ruthenium oxide supported on a carrier).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimoto, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Nishimoto teaches the catalyst for halogen production according to claim 1, wherein the catalyst is formed by impregnating a titanium dioxide carrier with an aqueous solution of ruthenium chloride hydrate followed by drying and sintering under air flow at 280°C (Nishimoto, [0060]-[0064]).
Nishimoto further teaches a weight ratio of ruthenium oxide/titanium dioxide carrier is preferably 0.1/99.9 to 20.0/80.0 (Nishimoto, [0033]). In the instant disclosure, the catalyst is formed using a titanium dioxide carrier that is soaked in an aqueous solution of ruthenium chloride hydrate and then heated to 250°C followed by calcination at 250°C, resulting in a catalyst comprising 4% by weight ruthenium oxide supported on the carrier and a halogen concentration of 0.15 wt% (Specification, [0117]-[0122]).
Therefore, as Nishimoto teaches a catalyst and method of making the catalyst that is substantially identical to the claimed catalyst, it is clear that a percentage of the halogen from the ruthenium chloride hydrate would remain in an amount that would at least overlap the range of the presently claimed halogen concentration range.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/C.M.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1732
/CORIS FUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732