Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gordon (US 41074267) in view of Neogi et al (US 20080000603; hereinafter Neogi).
As regarding claim 1, Gordon discloses the claimed invention for a filtering material (fig. 5; col 11 ln 55-63) that is permeable to air and impermeable to human oral, nasal and/or ocular aqueous liquid excretions, comprising: at least one wad, termed a hydrophobic wad, of at least two hydrophobic sheets that are superimposed and each formed by porous paper with a grammage of less than 30 g/m2 (made of a sheet or fabric of cellulose treated on one face or on both faces - such as very thin paper - comparable to a disposable paper handkerchief, particular of the type referred to as a “Kleene@” in the present application - [0065] and [0089]), each hydrophobic sheet being formed by cellulose fibers,
Gordon does not disclose termed cross-linked cellulose fibers, bonded together by means of hydrogen bonds and by means of covalent bonds formed with at least one group of cross-linking atoms. Neogi teaches termed cross-linked cellulose fibers, bonded together by means of hydrogen bonds and by means of covalent bonds formed with at least one group of cross-linking atoms (abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0007]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide termed cross-linked cellulose fibers, bonded together by means of hydrogen bonds and by means of covalent bonds formed with at least one group of cross-linking atoms as taught in order to provide a porous cellulose network with improved wet strength, structural stability, and resistance to collapse or disintegration upon exposure to aqueous liquids while maintaining air permeable.
Gordon as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the hydroxyls of said cross-linked cellulose fibers that are not involved in the hydrogen bonds and that are accessible to gases form a covalent bond with an acyl group containing a hydrophobic chain (col 4 In 1-34, col 5 In 34-53, col 9 In 9-45, col 11 In 55 - col 12 In 8, and example 1).
Alternatively, if Gordon does not disclose a grammage of less than 30 g/m2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a grammage of less than 30 g/m2 in order reduce airflow resistance while maintaining effective filtration, provide a lightweight, highly permeable structure with a high surface-area-to-mass ratio, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen grammages or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen grammages are critical and unexpected results.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gordon (US 41074267) in view of Neogi et al (US 20080000603; hereinafter Neogi), as applied supra, and further in view of in Okada et al (US 20210315747; hereinafter Okada).
As regarding claim 2, Gordon as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gordon as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein said material comprises at least one wad, termed a hydrophilic wad, of at least one sheet formed by porous hydrophilic paper, said at least one sheet of porous hydrophilic paper being formed by cellulose fibers bonded together at least by means of hydrogen bonds; said at least one hydrophobic wad and said at least one hydrophilic wad being superimposed one upon the other in a manner such as to form a stack of superimposed porous sheets that is suitable for a flow of air that is to be filtered to pass through, by which means the air of the flow of air passing through the filtering material is filtered, and; at least one hydrophilic wad forming a free principal face of the stack of superimposed porous sheets, said free principal face being a free face for receiving a flow of air that is to be filtered.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein said material comprises at least one wad, termed a hydrophilic wad, of at least one sheet formed by porous hydrophilic paper, said at least one sheet of porous hydrophilic paper being formed by cellulose fibers bonded together at least by means of hydrogen bonds; said at least one hydrophobic wad and said at least one hydrophilic wad being superimposed one upon the other in a manner such as to form a stack of superimposed porous sheets that is suitable for a flow of air that is to be filtered to pass through, by which means the air of the flow of air passing through the filtering material is filtered, and; at least one hydrophilic wad forming a free principal face of the stack of superimposed porous sheets, said free principal face being a free face for receiving a flow of air that is to be filtered in order to remove moisture from gas streams, capture polar contaminants, since it was known in the art as shown in Okada ([0026], [0115], [0142]).
Gordon as modified does not disclose porous hydrophilic paper with a grammage of less than 30 g/m2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide porous hydrophilic paper with a grammage of less than 30 g/m2 in order reduce airflow resistance while maintaining effective filtration, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen grammages or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen grammages are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 8, Gordon as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gordon as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein each sheet of the stack of superimposed porous sheets is formed by a portion of the thickness of a disposable paper tissue (very thin paper – comparable to a disposable paper handkerchief).
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gordon (US 41074267) in view of Neogi et al (US 20080000603; hereinafter Neogi), as applied supra, and further in view of in Smith et al (US 20170312673; hereinafter Smith).
As regarding claim 4, Gordon as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gordon as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein at least two sheets of said hydrophobic wad are assembled by means of at least one material, termed the assembly material, which is a permeable solid comprising at least one thermoplastic polymer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein at least two sheets of said hydrophobic wad are assembled by means of at least one material, termed the assembly material, which is a permeable solid comprising at least one thermoplastic polymer in order to remove moisture from gas streams, capture polar contaminants, since it was known in the art as shown in Smith ([0079] – bicomponent binder fiber).
As regarding claim 5, Gordon as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gordon as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein at least one thermoplastic polymer is selected from the group formed by polyethylenes, polypropylenes, polyamides and poly-L-lactic acids (Smith – [0061]).
As regarding claim 6, Gordon as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gordon as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the thermoplastic polymer extends only at the peripheral border of the stack of superimposed porous sheets (Smith – [0111]).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the thermoplastic polymer extends only at the peripheral border of the stack of superimposed porous sheets in order to enhance filtering material in order to ensure mechanical cohesion of the superimposed porous sheets while preserving porosity, permeability, and chemical functionality in the active filtering zone, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gordon (US 41074267) in view of Neogi et al (US 20080000603; hereinafter Neogi), as applied supra, and further in view of in Kozlov et al (US 20160272676; hereinafter Kozlov).
As regarding claim 7, Gordon as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Gordon as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein at least one acyl group containing a hydrophobic chain is selected from the group formed by a palmityl group, a stearyl group and a behenyl group. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein at least two sheets of said hydrophobic wad are assembled by means of at least one material, termed the assembly material, which is a permeable solid comprising at least one thermoplastic polymer in order to remove moisture from gas streams, capture polar contaminants, since it was known in the art as shown in Kozlov ([0014]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-8 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773