DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 10/21/2025 have been received and entered into the case. Claims 2, 3 and 7 have been canceled, Claims 14-19 have been added. Claims 1, 4-6 and 8-19 are pending, Claims 5-6, 8-11 and 14-19 have been withdrawn (a single invention is examined in a patent application, claims 1 and 5 require different ingredients for treating Huntington’s disease, therefore claims 1 and 5 are different inventions), and Claims 1, 4 and 12-13 have been considered on the merits, insofar as they read on the elected species of sequence 2 of plasminogen, improvement or relief of movement disorders, anti-dopaminergic drugs, and an intravenous method. All arguments have been fully considered.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claims 1, 4-5 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Griffin et al (US 7,074,402 B2; 7/11/2006.) as evidenced by Farmer et al (Practical Neurology. 2017;46-48.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al (US 7,074,402 B2; 7/11/2006.) as evidenced by Farmer et al (Practical Neurology. 2017;46-48.) and in view of Kaur et al (Ann Neurosci. 2016;23:176-185.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al (US 7,074,402 B2; 7/11/2006.) as evidenced by Farmer et al (Practical Neurology. 2017;46-48.) and in view of Susilo et al (WO2003066842A2; 8/14/2003.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN108210916A; 6/29/2018.) in view of Altıner et al (Mol Syndromol. 2020;11:56-58.) and Miranda et al (Nutrition. 2019;59:145-149.).
The instant claims recite a method for treating Huntington’s disease, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of plasminogen to a subject with Huntington’s disease, wherein the plasminogen is the only active ingredient for said treatment.
Li teaches a method for preventing and treating osteoporosis and related disorders, comprising administering to a subject a therapeutically effective amount of plasminogen (the plasminogen is the only active ingredient for said treatment) (claim 1), wherein the plasminogen prevents fractures (improvement or relief of movement disorders) (Claim 7), the plasminogen contains an amino acid sequence shown as sequence 2 (Claim 19), and the plasminogen is administered by an intravenous method (p.6 para 1).
Li does not teach the method is for treating Huntington’s disease (claim 1).
However, Li does teach the method is for preventing and treating osteoporosis and related disorders (Claim 1). Altıner teaches osteoporosis is a non-neuronal manifestation of Huntington’s disease (p.1 Established Facts). In addition, Miranda teaches osteoporosis is present in the late phase of Huntington’s disease (p.146 col left – para 1).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate plasminogen to a subject with Huntington’s disease, since Altıner discloses that osteoporosis is a non-neuronal manifestation of Huntington’s disease and that osteoporosis is present in the late phase of Huntington’s disease, and Li discloses that plasminogen prevents and treats osteoporosis. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited references to incorporate plasminogen to a subject with Huntington’s disease with a reasonable expectation for successfully treating Huntington’s disease.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that cited references do not teach the amended claim 1. However, these arguments are moot since those rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759