DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the Remarks and Amendments filed on 09-22-2026. As directed, claims 1, 4-5, 13, and 20 have been amended, claims 12 and 14 have been newly canceled with claim 9 having been previously canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-8, 10-11, 13, and 15-20 are currently pending examination.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended each of claims 1, 5, and 20 to address minor informalities therein. The previously held claim objections are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09-22-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The portions of each of claims 1 and 20 that require the central aperture through the curved surface are given by the combination of Pamukoff, which discloses a curved treatment surface (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame. The under surface of the frame was curved to accommodate the shape of the anterior thigh”; see pg. 889, second column, first two lines under the heading “2.5 Local muscle vibration intervention”, which refers to the device being secured over the quadriceps tendon), and a central aperture, relative to the lateral dimension of a stimulator, that provides direct contact of a vibration nozzle with the user given by Hutcheon (paragraph 31, lines 1-7; Fig. 1; notes Figs. 2-3, where the vibration nozzle is oriented in-line with the actuating button which is shown to be centrally aligned on the lateral aspect of the device in Fig. 3). Because the surface of the Pamukoff device that interfaces the user is curved, and Hutcheon teaches a direct interface between a vibratory stimulator and a treatment surface, one of ordinary skill could reasonably create a central aperture in the Pamukoff surface curvature to achieve direct contact.
As for the unitary communication interface, DiUbaldi teaches wherein the waveform generator (210 and/or 215) and the sensor array (240) are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the surface electrode (110) and receiving measurements from the sensor array (240) via a wired connection in order to analyze data from the sensors and output control signals to the waveform generator(s) based on the received data (paragraph 36, lines 1-30, note that the transmitter connects to the sensor 240 and the receiver connects to the microcontroller and the waveform generators, as well as the treatment electrode, and the transmitter and receiver connect via wired connection of 235 and 205, where the wired connection is the communication/control interface per lines 5-11; Fig. 2). Further, Borras teaches a wired link between a communication device (102) and a vibration accessory (104) that is configured as an audio connector, as a known means for creating a wired connection between components (paragraph 22, lines 1-11). Thus, the limitations of the unitary communication interface and the audio connector are met by the combination of DiUbaldi and Borras.
Rahman is provided only for its housing of the EM oscillator, and given that initial modification of the Pamukoff device with Hutcheon is achieved for the central aperture for the purpose of allowing the oscillator to directly interface the user’s body, one of ordinary skill could still reasonably provide a housing in the manner described by Rahman that included alignment of the aperture of Rahman’s substrate with the central aperture provided by Pamukoff modified by Hutcheon in order to both house the oscillator and maintain the central aperture.
Ehrenreich is singularly relied on for it EM oscillator configured as a speaker, not any of its device housing.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 20, line 4, it is suggested that “and positioned” be amended to read “positioned” for clarity.
At claim 20, line 15, it is suggested that “the” be added before “vibratory stimulus” as the limitation was previously introduced.
At claim 20, line 18, it is suggested that “a knee” be replaced with “the knee” as the limitation has been previously introduced.
At claim 20, line 29, it is suggested that “a frequency” be replaced with “the frequency” as the limitation has been previously introduced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
As such, the “means for securing” in claim 1 is being interpreted relative to claim 8 and the instant specification to refer to a strap, and the “means for securing” in claim 17 is being interpreted relative to the instant specification at Figure 1A to include a strap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, 10-11, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pamukoff et al. “The acute effects of local muscle vibration frequency on peak torque, rate of torque development, and EMG activity” as cited on the IDS submitted on 09-23-2022 and hereinafter referred to as Pamukoff, in view of Yu (US 10,589,116), DiUbaldi (US 2010/0249677), Borras (US 2016/0066297), and Pisharodi (US 2017/0348184).
Regarding claim 1, Pamukoff discloses a wearable local muscle vibratory stimulator (page 889, section 2.5; Fig. 1 and its appended description, noting the LMV device worn on the subject in the bottom right image) comprising:
a frame including a concave surface for conforming to a treatment surface of a subject, wherein the treatment surface of the subject is an area of the subject’s thigh proximal to a quadriceps muscle of the subject (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame. The under surface of the frame was curved to accommodate the shape of the anterior thigh”; see pg. 889, second column, first two lines under the heading “2.5 Local muscle vibration intervention”, which refers to the device being secured over the quadriceps tendon);
an electromagnetic oscillator located in the frame for applying vibratory stimulus to the quadriceps muscle, configured for producing changes in length of the quadriceps muscle and configured for exciting the quadriceps muscle via a muscle spindle system of the quadriceps muscle, for restoring native function of the quadriceps muscle following injury to a knee or disease of the knee (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame”, page 889, section 2.5 further outlines treatment of the muscles and tendons underneath the skin of the applied region; see pg. 893, first two lines under the heading “5. Conclusion”, where stimulation of the quadriceps is detailed; see pg. 888, first two sentences under the heading “1. Introduction”; note that vibration stimuli is noted to stimulate muscle spindles, and cause tonic vibratory reflex, which is a type of muscle contraction, where contraction changes the length of the muscle; see pg. 892, first column, final paragraph, which outlines that restoration/improvement of muscle function can be achieved using LMV for patients with ACL injury or osteoarthritis; see also pg. 893, lines 4-6 under the heading “5. Conclusion”);
an accelerometer coupled to the electromagnetic oscillator for measuring frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame” and “the acceleration was constrained to 2g via feedback provided to the controller from an accelerometer”);
a controller coupled to the electromagnetic oscillator and the accelerometer for receiving measurements of frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator from the accelerometer and controlling the frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator to minimize a difference between the desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and the frequency and acceleration of oscillation measured by the accelerometer (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame” and “the acceleration was constrained to 2g via feedback provided to the controller from an accelerometer”); and
means for securing the frame to the subject’s thigh so that the electromagnetic oscillator is wearable and positioned to deliver the vibratory stimulus to the quadriceps muscle of the subject for restoring native function of the quadriceps muscle following the knee injury or disease of the knee (see Fig. 1, where the LMV is mounted to the subject’s knee via a series of straps, and in particular to the anterior thigh; see pg. 893, first two lines under the heading “5. Conclusion”, where stimulation of the quadriceps is detailed; see pg. 888, first two sentences under the heading “1. Introduction”; note that vibration stimuli is noted to stimulate muscle spindles, and cause tonic vibratory reflex, which is a type of muscle contraction, where contraction changes the length of the muscle; see pg. 892, first column, final paragraph, which outlines that restoration/improvement of muscle function can be achieved using LMV for patients with ACL injury or osteoarthritis; see also pg. 893, lines 4-6 under the heading “5. Conclusion”).
Pamukoff fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the concave surface defines a central aperture positioned to allow the electromagnetic oscillator to directly contact the quadriceps muscle through the central aperture;
a waveform generator coupled to the electromagnetic oscillator for generating an electrical signal that is configured to cause the electromagnetic oscillator to oscillate;
wherein the waveform generator and the accelerometer are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator and receiving measurements from the accelerometer and the control and measurement communication interface is configured to connect to an audio connector; and
a controller user interface for receiving user input regarding a desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator, wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, Hutcheon teaches that it is advantageous for an electromagnetic oscillator (see vibration motor and vibration nozzle in Fig. 2) to directly contact the treatment region, and shows its electromagnetic oscillator projecting from a central aperture in its housing for achieving direct contact with the treatment region (paragraph 31, lines 1-7; Fig. 1; notes Figs. 2-3, where the vibration nozzle is oriented in-line with the actuating button which is shown to be centrally aligned on the lateral aspect of the device in Fig. 3).
Given that the curved surface of Pamukoff corresponds to the area that contacts the user, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the curved surface of Pamukoff to allow the electromagnetic oscillator to extend from a central aperture on the curved surface, such that the electromagnetic oscillator were positioned to directly contact the quadriceps muscle through the central aperture, as taught by Hutcheon, in order to directly apply vibratory stimulus to the quadriceps muscle, i.e., the region to be treated.
Modified Pamukoff fails to explicitly disclose:
a waveform generator coupled to the electromagnetic oscillator for generating an electrical signal that is configured to cause the electromagnetic oscillator to oscillate;
wherein the waveform generator and the accelerometer are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator and receiving measurements from the accelerometer and the control and measurement communication interface is configured to connect to an audio connector; and
a controller user interface for receiving user input regarding a desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator, wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, Yu teaches a wearable pain management system (10) (Col. 4, lines 24-25; Fig. 1) which includes an electromagnetic oscillator (95) and a waveform generator (91) coupled to the electromagnetic oscillator (95) for generating an electrical signal that causes the electromagnetic oscillator (95) to oscillate by sending a particular commanded waveform in order to improve intercellular fluid and blood flow, stimulate electron transport, and stimulate the release of endorphins to mask pain (Col. 4, lines 63-66; Col. 5, lines 1-4; Fig. 5); and
a controller user interface for receiving user input regarding a desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator (Col. 5, lines 36-41, where the external device, i.e, smart phone, is the controller user interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electromagnetic oscillator of Pamukoff to have included a waveform generator in communication with the electromagnetic oscillator in order to direct and command particular electromagnetic oscillatory waveforms to the electromagnetic oscillator as desired, as taught by Yu, in order to achieve various health outcomes such as improvement of intercellular fluid and blood flow, stimulation of electron transport, and stimulation of the release of endorphins to mask pain, and as a known method of producing oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the LMV device of Pamukoff to include a controller user interface for receiving user input regarding a desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator, as further taught by Yu, in order to enable a user to control the operation of the waveform generator, and thus the electromagnetic oscillator.
Further modified Pamukoff fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the waveform generator and the accelerometer are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator and receiving measurements from the accelerometer and the control and measurement communication interface is configured to connect to an audio connector; and
wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, DiUbaldi further teaches wherein the waveform generator (210 and/or 215) and the sensor array (240) are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the surface electrode (110) and receiving measurements from the sensor array (240) via a wired connection in order to analyze data from the sensors and output control signals to the waveform generator(s) based on the received data (paragraph 36, lines 1-30, note that the transmitter connects to the sensor 240 and the receiver connects to the microcontroller and the waveform generators, as well as the treatment electrode, and the transmitter and receiver connect via wired connection of 235 and 205, where the wired connection is the communication/control interface per lines 5-11; Fig. 2).
Given that DiUbaldi provides transmission of sensor data and modified Pamukoff includes an accelerometer used as a sensor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the signal transmission means of modified Pamukoff to include the waveform generator and the accelerometer being coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator and receiving measurements from the accelerometer via a wired connection, as taught by DiUbaldi, in order to analyze data from the sensors and output control signals to the waveform generator based on the received data.
Further modified Pamukoff fails to disclose wherein the control and measurement communication interface is configured to connect to an audio connector; and
wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, Borras further teaches a wired link between a communication device (102) and a vibration accessory (104) that is configured as an audio connector, as a known means for creating a wired connection between components (paragraph 22, lines 1-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wired connection between the control and measurement communication interface of modified Pamukoff to be provided as a wired connection via an audio connector, as taught by Borras, as a known means for creating a wired connection between components in a stimulation device.
Further modified Pamukoff fails to disclose wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, Pisharodi teaches a controller user interface (610B) with a graphical user interface (720) for controlling the device (600) which includes a first graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of oscillation and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation (paragraph 42, lines 1-11; paragraph 48, lines 1-23, see in particular the variables ZV and fV, which are respectively defined as amplitude and frequency at paragraph 36, lines 3-6; further, note paragraph 35, lines 13-18 and Fig. 4A, where the amplitude is defined as a force in the Z-axis, where force and acceleration are related through Newton’s second law; at paragraph 48, lines 9-20, note the use of vibration intensity selection button 730, and each of the up and down arrows 755 for setting frequency and amplitude, where at least the respective up and down arrows read on the first and second graphical tools; Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller user interface of modified Pamukoff to further include a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation, as taught by Pisharodi, in order to visually ascertain the settings of the device, and allow the user to manipulate the frequency and force values for the actuator.
Regarding claim 5, Pamukoff in view of Yu, DiUbaldi, Borras, and Pisharodi disclose the stimulator of claim 1, as discussed above.
Pamukoff further discloses wherein the electromagnetic oscillator comprises a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator for applying vibratory stimulus to the treatment surface along a single axis (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame” and note LMV stands for “local muscle vibration”).
Regarding claim 8, Pamukoff in view of Yu, DiUbaldi, Borras, and Pisharodi disclose the stimulator of claim 1, as discussed above.
Pamukoff further discloses wherein the means for holding includes at least one strap (see Fig. 1, where the LMV is mounted to the subject’s knee via a series of straps).
Pamukoff does not explicitly disclose or illustrate that the frame includes strap guides located at opposite ends of the concave surface.
However, Yu further teaches strap guides (see Fig. 1, where bottom surface 22 includes vertically oriented guides into which the belt body 45 is inserted) on opposite ends of a frame (20) (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frame of Pamukoff to includes strap guides on opposite ends of the bottom concave surface, as further taught by Yu, in order to secure the straps to the frame and facilitate attachment of the frame to the user’s body.
Regarding claim 10, Pamukoff in view of Yu, DiUbaldi, Borras, and Pisharodi disclose the stimulator of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff further discloses wherein the graphical user interface is displayable on a mobile device (Yu: Col. 5, lines 34-41 and Pisharodi: paragraph 47, lines 1-8) and wherein the stimulator (Pamukoff: electromagnetic stimulator) further comprises a user control communication interface (Yu: 90) for receiving control input from the user via the graphical user interface and for communicating the control input to the controller (Pamukoff: controller) (Yu: Col. 5, lines 36-41, and note the use of Bluetooth in Pisharodi’s paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 11, Pamukoff in view of Yu, DiUbaldi, Borras, and Pisharodi disclose the stimulator of claim 10, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff further discloses wherein the user control communication interface (Yu: 90) comprises a wireless communication interface (Yu: Col. 5, lines 36-41, see “wireless”; see also “Bluetooth” in Pisharodi’s paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 13, Pamukoff in view of Yu, DiUbaldi, Borras, and Pisharodi disclose the stimulator of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff further discloses wherein the control and measurement communication interface comprises a single connector (DiUbaldi: paragraph 36, wired connection between 205 and 235; see also Borras at paragraph 22, offering a single audio jack connection between components)
Regarding claim 15, Pamukoff in view of Yu and Pisharodi disclose the stimulator of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff further discloses an amplifier coupled to the waveform generator, the controller, and the electromagnetic oscillator for controlling the acceleration of oscillations of the electromagnetic oscillator (Pamukoff: Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “The device was coupled with an amplifier causing it to vibrate in the anterior-posterior direction”, and given that the modified device includes the electromagnetic oscillator and controller of Pamukoff and the waveform generator of Yu, and Pamukoff describes that the amplifier is coupled to the overall device, Examiner interprets the amplifier to be in communication with each of the elements of the device by virtue of its described coupling with the device, and its described function of causing the vibration).
Regarding claim 20, Pamukoff discloses a method for applying vibratory stimulus to a subject during physical rehabilitation or exercise (page 889, section 2.5; Fig. 1 and its appended description, noting the LMV device worn on the subject in the bottom right image, and that the subject is instructed to squat, where a squat is an exercise), the method comprising:
attaching a frame of a wearable local muscle vibratory stimulator to the subject’s thigh and positioned to deliver the vibratory stimulus to a quadriceps muscle of the subject for restoring native function of the quadriceps muscle following injury to a knee or disease of the knee (see Fig. 1, and its appended description where the LMV is mounted to the subject’s knee via a series of straps, and in particular to the anterior thigh; see pg. 893, first two lines under the heading “5. Conclusion”, where stimulation of the quadriceps is detailed; see pg. 888, first two sentences under the heading “1. Introduction”; note that vibration stimuli is noted to stimulate muscle spindles, and cause tonic vibratory reflex, which is a type of muscle contraction, where contraction changes the length of the muscle; see pg. 892, first column, final paragraph, which outlines that restoration/improvement of muscle function can be achieved using LMV for patients with ACL injury or osteoarthritis; see also pg. 893, lines 4-6 under the heading “5. Conclusion”; see also Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame. The under surface of the frame was curved to accommodate the shape of the anterior thigh”; see pg. 889, second column, first two lines under the heading “2.5 Local muscle vibration intervention”, which refers to the device being secured over the quadriceps tendon), the wearable vibratory stimulator including an electromagnetic oscillator for oscillating with a frequency and acceleration to deliver vibratory stimulus to a treatment region of the subject, wherein the treatment region includes a quadriceps muscle of the subject (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame”; see pg. 889, second column, first two lines under the heading “2.5 Local muscle vibration intervention”, which refers to the device being secured over the quadriceps tendon), the frame including a concave surface for conforming to a treatment surface of a subject, wherein the treatment surface of the subject is an area of the subject’s thigh proximal to a quadriceps muscle of the subject (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame. The under surface of the frame was curved to accommodate the shape of the anterior thigh”; see pg. 889, second column, first two lines under the heading “2.5 Local muscle vibration intervention”, which refers to the device being secured over the quadriceps tendon);
while the subject is performing physical rehabilitation or exercise wearing the vibratory stimulator, causing the electromagnetic oscillator to oscillate and deliver vibratory stimulus to the quadriceps muscle, thereby producing changes in length of the quadriceps muscle and exciting the quadriceps muscle via a muscle spindle system of the quadriceps muscle, for restoring native function of the quadriceps muscle following the injury to the knee or disease of the knee (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame”, page 889, section 2.5 further outlines treatment of the muscles and tendons underneath the skin of the applied region; see pg. 893, first two lines under the heading “5. Conclusion”, where stimulation of the quadriceps is detailed; see pg. 888, first two sentences under the heading “1. Introduction”; note that vibration stimuli is noted to stimulate muscle spindles, and cause tonic vibratory reflex, which is a type of muscle contraction, where contraction changes the length of the muscle; see pg. 892, first column, final paragraph, which outlines that restoration/improvement of muscle function can be achieved using LMV for patients with ACL injury or osteoarthritis; see also pg. 893, lines 4-6 under the heading “5. Conclusion”);
measuring, using an accelerometer, the frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame” and “the acceleration was constrained to 2g via feedback provided to the controller from an accelerometer”);
controlling, using a controller, the frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator to minimize a difference between the desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and the frequency and acceleration of oscillation measured by the accelerometer (Fig. 1, and its appended description, which notes “the LMV stimulator consisted of a single-axis electromagnetic oscillator mounted on a plastic frame” and “the acceleration was constrained to 2g via feedback provided to the controller from an accelerometer”).
Pamukoff fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the concave surface defines a central aperture positioned to allow the electromagnetic oscillator to directly contact the quadriceps muscle through the central aperture;
wherein causing the electromagnetic oscillator to oscillate includes generating an electrical signal using a waveform generator and delivering the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator;
wherein the waveform generator and the accelerometer are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator and receiving measurements from the accelerometer and the control and measurement communication interface is configured to connect to an audio connector; and
receiving, from a controller user interface, user input regarding a desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator, wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, Hutcheon teaches that it is advantageous for an electromagnetic oscillator (see vibration motor and vibration nozzle in Fig. 2) to directly contact the treatment region, and shows its electromagnetic oscillator projecting from a central aperture in its housing for achieving direct contact with the treatment region (paragraph 31, lines 1-7; Fig. 1; notes Figs. 2-3, where the vibration nozzle is oriented in-line with the actuating button which is shown to be centrally aligned on the lateral aspect of the device in Fig. 3).
Given that the curved surface of Pamukoff corresponds to the area that contacts the user, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the curved surface of Pamukoff to allow the electromagnetic oscillator to extend from a central aperture on the curved surface, such that the electromagnetic oscillator were positioned to directly contact the quadriceps muscle through the central aperture, as taught by Hutcheon, in order to directly apply vibratory stimulus to the quadriceps muscle, i.e., the region to be treated.
Modified Pamukoff fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein causing the electromagnetic oscillator to oscillate includes generating an electrical signal using a waveform generator and delivering the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator;
wherein the waveform generator and the accelerometer are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator and receiving measurements from the accelerometer and the control and measurement communication interface is configured to connect to an audio connector; and
receiving, from a controller user interface, user input regarding a desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator, wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, Yu teaches a wearable pain management system (10) (Col. 4, lines 24-25; Fig. 1) which includes an electromagnetic oscillator (95) and a waveform generator (91) coupled to the electromagnetic oscillator (95) for generating an electrical signal that causes the electromagnetic oscillator (95) to oscillate by sending a particular commanded waveform in order to improve intercellular fluid and blood flow, stimulate electron transport, and stimulate the release of endorphins to mask pain (Col. 4, lines 63-66; Col. 5, lines 1-4; Fig. 5); and
a controller user interface for receiving user input regarding a desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator (Col. 5, lines 36-41, where the external device, i.e, smart phone, is the controller user interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electromagnetic oscillator of Pamukoff to have included a waveform generator in communication with the electromagnetic oscillator in order to direct and command particular electromagnetic oscillatory waveforms to the electromagnetic oscillator as desired, as taught by Yu, in order to achieve various health outcomes such as improvement of intercellular fluid and blood flow, stimulation of electron transport, and stimulation of the release of endorphins to mask pain, and as a known method of producing oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the LMV device of Pamukoff to include a controller user interface for receiving user input regarding a desired frequency and acceleration of oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator, as further taught by Yu, in order to enable a user to control the operation of the waveform generator, and thus the electromagnetic oscillator.
Further modified Pamukoff fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the waveform generator and the accelerometer are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator and receiving measurements from the accelerometer and the control and measurement communication interface is configured to connect to an audio connector; and
wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, DiUbaldi further teaches wherein the waveform generator (210 and/or 215) and the sensor array (240) are coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the surface electrode (110) and receiving measurements from the sensor array (240) via a wired connection in order to analyze data from the sensors and output control signals to the waveform generator(s) based on the received data (paragraph 36, lines 1-30, note that the transmitter connects to the sensor 240 and the receiver connects to the microcontroller and the waveform generators, as well as the treatment electrode, and the transmitter and receiver connect via wired connection of 235 and 205, where the wired connection is the communication/control interface per lines 5-11; Fig. 2).
Given that DiUbaldi provides transmission of sensor data and modified Pamukoff includes an accelerometer used as a sensor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the signal transmission means of modified Pamukoff to include the waveform generator and the accelerometer being coupled to a single control and measurement communication interface for communicating the electrical signal to the electromagnetic oscillator and receiving measurements from the accelerometer via a wired connection, as taught by DiUbaldi, in order to analyze data from the sensors and output control signals to the waveform generator based on the received data.
Further modified Pamukoff fails to disclose wherein the control and measurement communication interface is configured to connect to an audio connector; and
wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, Borras further teaches a wired link between a communication device (102) and a vibration accessory (104) that is configured as an audio connector, as a known means for creating a wired connection between components (paragraph 22, lines 1-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wired connection between the control and measurement communication interface of modified Pamukoff to be provided as a wired connection via an audio connector, as taught by Borras, as a known means for creating a wired connection between components in a stimulation device.
Further modified Pamukoff fails to disclose wherein the controller user interface comprises a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation.
However, Pisharodi teaches a controller user interface (610B) with a graphical user interface (720) for controlling the device (600) which includes a first graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of oscillation and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation (paragraph 42, lines 1-11; paragraph 48, lines 1-23, see in particular the variables ZV and fV, which are respectively defined as amplitude and frequency at paragraph 36, lines 3-6; further, note paragraph 35, lines 13-18 and Fig. 4A, where the amplitude is defined as a force in the Z-axis, where force and acceleration are related through Newton’s second law; at paragraph 48, lines 9-20, note the use of vibration intensity selection button 730, and each of the up and down arrows 755 for setting frequency and amplitude, where at least the respective up and down arrows read on the first and second graphical tools; Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller user interface of modified Pamukoff to further include a graphical user interface including a first graphical tool for selecting one a plurality of different frequencies for controlling the frequency of the oscillation of the electromagnetic oscillator and a second graphical tool for selecting one of a plurality of different force values for controlling the acceleration of the oscillation, as taught by Pisharodi, in order to visually ascertain the settings of the device, and allow the user to manipulate the frequency and force values for the actuator.
Claims 2, 6-7, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pamukoff in view of Yu (US 10,589,116), DiUbaldi (US 2010/0249677), Borras (US 2016/0066297), and Pisharodi (US 2017/0348184), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Rahman (US 2018/0085283).
Regarding claim 2, Pamukoff in view of Yu and Pisharodi disclose the stimulator of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff fails to explicitly disclose wherein the frame includes an electromagnetic oscillator holder and an accelerometer holder.
However, Rahman teaches a sensory output device (10) (paragraph 14, lines 1-8; Fig. 1) which includes a frame (comprisal of 110A and 110B) wherein the frame (comprisal of 110A and 110B) includes an electromagnetic oscillator holder (see the opening in substrate 170 for output device 120) and a sensor holder (170), as a method of arranging the internal device components (paragraph 16, lines 1-10; paragraph 32, lines 1-10; Fig. 1, where 120 is seated in the opening in 170, and sensor 140 is held on substrate 170 within the housing 110; paragraph 34, lines 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frame of Pamukoff to include an electromagnetic oscillator holder and an accelerometer (i.e. a sensor) holder, arranged in the manner as taught by Rahman, as a known arrangement of protectively housing the internal device components in a sensory output device.
Regarding claim 6, Pamukoff in view of Yu, Pisharodi, and Rahman disclose the stimulator of claim 2, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff further discloses wherein the accelerometer (see Fig. 1’s appended description in Pamukoff for the accelerometer, and position of sensor 140 in Rahman, taken as analogous to the accelerometer for purposes of modification) is located on an outer edge of the electromagnetic oscillator holder (Rahman: opening in 170) (see Rahman at Fig. 1, where 140 is at the edge of the opening of the aperture for the analogous electromagnetic oscillator 120).
Regarding claim 7, Pamukoff in view of Yu, Pisharodi, and Rahman disclose the stimulator of claim 2, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff further discloses wherein the accelerometer (see Fig. 1’s appended description in Pamukoff for the accelerometer, and position of sensor 140 in Rahman, taken as analogous to the accelerometer for purposes of modification) is located at or near a center of the electromagnetic oscillator holder (Rahman: opening in 170) adjacent to a center of the electromagnetic oscillator (see Fig. 1’s appended description in Pamukoff for the electromagnetic electromagnetic oscillator) (Rahman: opening in 170) (see Rahman at Fig. 1, where taking an axis that cuts through the center of 140, sensor 140 is at a center of the opening of the aperture for the analogous electromagnetic oscillator 120, and thus at a center of the analogous electromagnetic oscillator 120).
Regarding claim 16, Pamukoff in view of Yu, and Pisharodi disclose the stimulator of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff fails to disclose a controller printed circuit board, wherein the controller and the waveform generator are located on the printed circuit board.
However, Rahman teaches a controller printed circuit board (170) (paragraph 32, lines 1-11; Fig. 1), wherein all of the electronic components, including the controller (130), sensors (140) communication modules (150), and the power module (160) are located on the printed circuit board in order to facilitate electrical communication and conduction between components thereon (paragraph 32, lines 1-11; note paragraph 33 indicates that additional components can be placed on 170, and note that paragraph 24 describes that 130 an be a controller).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Pamukoff to have provided a controller printed circuit board onto which all of the electronic components were situated, as taught by Rahman, as a known method of electrically connecting the electronic components within a treatment device.
Regarding claim 18, Pamukoff in view of Yu, Pisharodi, and Rahman disclose the stimulator of claim 16, as discussed above.
Presently modified Pamukoff fails to disclose wherein the controller printed circuit board is attached to or integrated within the frame.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the controller printed circuit board (170) is attached to or integrated within the frame (110) (paragraph 35, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller printed circuit board of modified Pamukoff to have integrated the controller printed circuit board with the frame, as taught by Rahman, as a known method of constructing a treatment device.
Regarding claim 19, Pamukoff in view of Yu, Pisharodi, and Rahman disclose the stimulator of claim 2, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff further discloses wherein the accelerometer holder (Rahman: 170) includes a central aperture for allowing passage of a connector for connecting to the accelerometer (Rahman: Fig. 1, note the opening where the electromagnetic oscillator will be fit in 170, and given that the aperture is described as functionally allowing passage of a connector, the limitation is deemed to be met since the aperture could reasonably function to pass a connector to the accelerometer therethrough; further note that paragraph 34, lines 1-8 indicate an electrical connection between 120 and 170).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pamukoff in view of Yu (US 10,589,116), DiUbaldi (US 2010/0249677), Borras (US 2016/0066297), Pisharodi (US 2017/0348184), and Rahman (US 2018/0085283), as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Ehrenreich (US 2013/0102937).
Regarding claim 3, Pamukoff in view of Yu, Pisharodi, and Rahman disclose the stimulator of claim 2, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff further discloses wherein the electromagnetic oscillator holder (Rahman: see aperture in 170 for electromagnetic oscillator 120) includes a central recess for holding the electromagnetic oscillator (Rahman: see Fig. 1 where 170 includes a central aperture for the analogous electromagnetic oscillator 120).
Modified Pamukoff fails to disclose wherein the electromagnetic oscillator comprises a speaker.
However, Ehrenreich teaches an electromagnetic oscillator configured as a speaker to vibrate the treatment device (paragraph 167, lines 1-9, and note that the frequencies described in paragraph 168 all fall within the EM spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the electromagnetic oscillator of Pamukoff for the speaker taught by Ehrenreich, while still yielding the predictable result of delivering a vibratory stimulus (see MPEP 2143.I, exemplary rationale B).
Regarding claim 4, Pamukoff in view of Yu, Pisharodi, and Rahman disclose the stimulator of claim 2, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff fails to disclose wherein the electromagnetic oscillator comprises a speaker.
However, Ehrenreich teaches an electromagnetic oscillator configured as a speaker to vibrate the treatment device (paragraph 167, lines 1-9, and note that the frequencies described in paragraph 168 all fall within the EM spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the electromagnetic oscillator of Pamukoff for the speaker taught by Ehrenreich, while still yielding the predictable result of delivering a vibratory stimulus (see MPEP 2143.I, exemplary rationale B).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pamukoff in view of Yu (US 10,589,116), DiUbaldi (US 2010/0249677), Borras (US 2016/0066297), Pisharodi (US 2017/0348184), and Rahman (US 2018/0085283), as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Talish (EP 1180057).
Regarding claim 17, Pamukoff in view of Yu, Pisharodi, and Rahman disclose the stimulator of claim 16, as discussed above.
Modified Pamukoff fails to disclose wherein the controller printed circuit board is separate from the frame and the stimulator further comprises a bag for holding the controller printed circuit board and means for securing the bag to the subject.
However, Talish teaches a stimulator (14) (paragraph 37, lines 1-4; Fig. 1) which includes a main operation unit (12) separate from the frame (22) and further comprising a bag (18) for holding the main operation unit (12) and means for securing the bag (18) to the subject (paragraph 37, lines 1-18 and Fig. 1, note the strap attached to 18 in the figure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device such that the printed circuit board of modified Pamukoff was provided as separate from the frame, with its own bag and means for securing the bag to the subject, as a known construction for separating the control and treatment elements of a stimulation device, and so that the separated printed circuit board were protected within the bag, and provided with means to easily carry the bag.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hanbury (US 2019/0374742) is cited for its discussion of a single communication module (135) in paragraph 37.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785