Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of all of the certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Confirmation of Applicant’s Remarks (REM) filed 04/25/2025 with respect to the election/restriction requirement mailed 08/01/2025 has been received; wherein applicant elects Invention I, corresponding to Claims 2 – 15, without traverse; withdraws consideration Invention II, corresponding to Claims 16 – 18, pursuant the election/restriction requirement mailed 06/02/2025. Claims 2 – 15 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 2 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kazlas et al. (US 20100051901 A1), and further in view of Arai et al. (US 20180019290 A1) and Ono (US 20120181553 A1).
Regarding independent claim 2, teaches a display device provided with
a display region ([0104] – [0105]) and … the display region including a plurality of pixels ([0104] – [0105]), the display device comprising: …
a light-emitting element layer (Fig. 3; quantum dot layer) including a plurality of light-emitting elements ([0104] – [0105]), each having a different luminescent color ([0106]) and including a first electrode (Fig. 3; clear electrode), a function layer (Fig. 3; hole transport layer, spacer, quantum dot layer, spacer, and electron transport layer), and a second electrode (Fig. 3; electrode),
wherein the function layer includes:
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 3; quantum dot layer),
a pair of holding layers (Fig. 3; pair of spacers) sandwiching the light-emitting layer (Fig. 3) and …
a hole transport layer (Fig. 3; hole transport layer), and
an electron transport layer (Fig. 3; electron transport layer),
one of the first electrode and the second electrode is an anode electrode and the other one is a cathode electrode ([0072]. Also see [0056]),
the hole transport layer is provided between the anode electrode and one holding layer of the pair of holding layers (Fig. 3), and
the electron transport layer is provided between the cathode electrode and the other holding layer of the pair of holding layers (Fig. 3).
However, Kazlas remains silent regarding the display device including:
… a frame region surrounding the display region, …
a thin film transistor layer; and …
each of the pair of holding layers including a photosensitive material, …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arai discloses a driving circuit ([0003]), i.e., a thin film transistor layer; an insulating layer, interpreted to be analogous to Kazlas’ spacers which the examiner considered to be analogous to the instant holding layers, formed on a first electrode comprises a cured film produced by curing a photosensitive resin composition ([0011]), i.e., a holding layer including a photosensitive material (e.g., Fig. 2 showing insulating layer 12. Also see [0096]). Further, Kazlas and Arai disclose similar materials between their respective spacers (Kazlas discloses to include insulating materials. See [0066] disclosing the spacer materials may be electrically inactive, i.e., insulating) and insulating layers (see [0068] of Kazlas and [0145] – [0146] of Arai wherein very similar materials are discloses. Also see polystyrene listed in both disclosures). Due to the similarities of function, placement, and materials, examiner asserts that it would be obvious to modify Kazlas’ spacers to include Arai’s photosensitive material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kazlas’ spacers to include Arai’s photosensitive material, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Arai’s photosensitive material permits photo-curing of the material. This known benefit in Arai’s photosensitive material is applicable to Kazlas’ spacers as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to insulating and sealing within a light emitting device/diode. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying Kazlas’ spacers to include Arai’s photosensitive material would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Arai’s photosensitive material in light emitting diodes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kazlas’ display device to include Arai’s thin film transistor layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kazlas’ display device as modified by Arai’s thin film transistor layer can yield a predictable result of driving the pixels in the display device since display devices use circuitry to drive the pixels to form images. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the field of display devices, Ono disclose a frame region surrounding the display region ([0051] and Figs. 1 and 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kazlas’ display device to include Ono’s frame region surrounding the display region, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kazlas’ display device as modified by Ono’s frame region can yield a predictable result of providing adequate infrastructure for disposing the materials for forming the light emitting diode since the materials, such as that of the holding layers, may be printed in application. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2,
wherein, in the function layer, the one holding layer and the hole transport layer are integrated.
Kazlas teaches in [0072] that the spacer material may be doped to include charge transport molecules for hole transport. Also see Kazlas’ [0011].
Regarding dependent claim 4, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2,
wherein the function layer further includes a first mixing prevention layer provided between the one holding layer and the hole transport layer.
Kazlas teaches that the spacer material can be more than one layers (at least [0018] and [0071]); wherein the spacer material can be used in any of the spacer layers. Further, Kazlas teaches that an inorganic layer may be included inorganic (at least [0071]). Additionally, Kazlas discloses other features of their spacers, such as a gradient doping profile in [0072]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the inorganic materials listed in [0069] as common materials used in capping/sealing materials within the art, wherein these materials may prevent the diffusion of materials, i.e., act as a barrier or a mixing prevention layer. The gradient doping profile feature of Kazlas alone would prompt one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a barrier or a mixing prevention layer to preserve the gradient doping profile of the spacer material between the charge transfer layers and emissive layer. Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include a first mixing prevention layer (as part of the spacer material/holding layer) provided between the one holding layer and the hole transport layer, which may include the inorganic materials listed by Kazlas in order to preserve the chemical/physical integrity of the layers between the first and second electrodes of the light emitting device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kazlas’ light emitting diode to include Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material as a layer forming a first mixing prevention layer provided between the one holding layer and the hole transport layer, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material permits capping of layers and prevents the diffusion of materials such as impurities/dopants. This known benefit in Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material is applicable to Kazlas’ light emitting diode as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to light-emitting diodes including doped layers, wherein mixing of the impurities of the layers would lead to degradation and loss of function of the light emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying Kazlas’ light emitting diode to include Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material as a layer forming a first mixing prevention layer provided between the one holding layer and the hole transport layer would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material in light emitting diodes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2,
wherein, in the function layer, the other holding layer and the electron transport layer are integrated.
Kazlas teaches in [0072] that the spacer material may be doped to include charge transport molecules for electron transport. Also see Kazlas’ [0011].
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2,
wherein the function layer further includes a second mixing prevention layer provided between the other holding layer and the electron transport layer.
Kazlas teaches that the spacer material can be more than one layers (at least [0018] and [0071]); wherein the spacer material can be used in any of the spacer layers. Further, Kazlas teaches that an inorganic layer may be included inorganic (at least [0071]). Additionally, Kazlas discloses other features of their spacers, such as a gradient doping profile in [0072]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the inorganic materials listed in [0069] as common materials used in capping/sealing materials within the art, wherein these materials may prevent the diffusion of materials, i.e., act as a barrier or a mixing prevention layer. The gradient doping profile feature of Kazlas alone would prompt one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a barrier or a mixing prevention layer to preserve the gradient doping profile of the spacer material between the charge transfer layers and emissive layer. Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include a second mixing prevention layer (as part of the spacer material/holding layer) provided between the one holding layer and the electron transport layer, which may include the inorganic materials listed by Kazlas in order to preserve the chemical/physical integrity of the layers between the first and second electrodes of the light emitting device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kazlas’ light emitting diode to include Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material as a layer forming a second mixing prevention layer provided between the one holding layer and the electron transport layer, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material permits capping of layers and prevents the diffusion of materials such as impurities/dopants. This known benefit in Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material is applicable to Kazlas’ light emitting diode as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to light-emitting diodes including doped layers, wherein mixing of the impurities of the layers would lead to degradation and loss of function of the light emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying Kazlas’ light emitting diode to include Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material as a layer forming a second mixing prevention layer provided between the one holding layer and the electron transport layer would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Kazlas’ inorganic spacer material in light emitting diodes and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2,
wherein, in the function layer, the one holding layer and the hole transport layer are integrated, and the other holding layer and the electron transport layer are integrated.
Kazlas teaches in [0072] that the spacer material may be doped to include charge transport molecules for electron transport. Additionally, Kazlas teaches in [0072] that the spacer material may be doped to include charge transport molecules for hole transport.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2; however, Kazlas remains silent wherein
wherein each of the pair of holding layers includes a negative resist material.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arai teaches in at least [0094] – [0097] that the photocurable resin may be hardened during the curing process, i.e., a negative resist material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the spacer of Kazlas, further in view of Arai, to include Arai’s negative resist material, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Arai’s negative resist material of their photosensitive resin is comparable to Kazlas’ spacer because they are both formed have insulating/sealing layers between the light emissive layer and charge transport layers within a light emitting device. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spacer of Kazlas, further in view of Arai, to include Arai’s negative resist material with the predictable result of forming a harden insulating/sealing resin on both sides of the emissive layer.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 8,
wherein a resin component of the negative resist material is selected from a group consisting of an acrylic resin (Arai: [0096]), an epoxy resin, a phenolic resin, a siloxane compound including a photopolymerizable group, a polysilane, and a OTPD.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2; however, Kazlas remains silent wherein
wherein each of the pair of holding layers includes a positive resist material.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arai teaches in at least [0098] – [0100] that the photocurable resin may be a varnish, i.e., a positive resist material ([0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the spacer of Kazlas, further in view of Arai, to include Arai’s positive resist material, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Arai’s positive resist material of their photosensitive resin is comparable to Kazlas’ spacer because they are both formed have insulating/sealing layers between the light emissive layer and charge transport layers within a light emitting device. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spacer of Kazlas, further in view of Arai, to include Arai’s positive resist material with the predictable result of forming a varnish to spread the spacer material on both sides of the emissive layer.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 10,
wherein a resin component of the positive resist material is selected from a group consisting of a novolac resin ([0146] and [0253]), a polyhydroxystyrene resin, an acrylic resin, a polyimide resin, an epoxy resin, a phenolic resin, a siloxane compound including a photopolymerizable group, and a polysilane.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2; however, Kazlas remains silent regarding
wherein, in the pair of holding layers, an identical photosensitive material is used.
However, examiner notes that Kazlas teaches that the same materials may be used between the pair of their holding layers ([0072]). Further, in the same field of endeavor, Arai teaches the use of photosensitive material, as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. Thus, the examiner asserts that it would have been obvious from Kazlas further in view of Arai to form a display device wherein, in the pair of holding layers, an identical photosensitive material is used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kazlas’ spacers to include identical photosensitive material, further in view of Kazlas and Arai, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Kazlas’ spacers to include identical photosensitive material, further in view of Kazlas and Arai, is implicitly provided by Kazlas, stating that their spacers, which are similar to Arai’s photosensitive resin materials, may be made of the same materials ([0072]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kazlas’ spacers to include identical photosensitive material, further in view of Kazlas and Arai, with the motivation of sealing the emissive later of the light emitting diode. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of forming protective resins within a light emitting diode.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 2,
wherein the light-emitting layer is a quantum dot light-emitting layer including quantum dots (Kazlas: Fig. 3; quantum dot layer).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 13,
wherein the quantum dot light-emitting layer further includes:
a red quantum dot light-emitting layer configured to emit red light,
a green quantum dot light-emitting layer configured to emit green light, and
a blue quantum dot light-emitting layer configured to emit blue light.
Kazlas teaches in [0104] that the patterned semiconductor nanocrystals (quantum dot layer) can be used to form an array of light emitting devices (or pixels) comprising, e.g., red, green, and blue.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Kazlas, further in view of Arai and Ono, teach the display device according to claim 14,
wherein the pair of holding layers is provided for each of a plurality of quantum dot light-emitting layers, including the red quantum dot light-emitting layer, the green quantum dot light-emitting layer, and the blue quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Kazlas discloses that the light emitting devices shown may be representation of pixels ([0105]), wherein the pixels may emit light of different colors [0106]; wherein the light emitting device shown in Fig. 3 may be representative of a generic pixel of unspecified color. Thus, Kazlas discloses the display device including the light emitting device wherein the pair of holding layers is provided for each of a plurality of quantum dot light-emitting layers, including the red quantum dot light-emitting layer, the green quantum dot light-emitting layer, and the blue quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20190218396 A1 similar to the Arai’s disclosure.
US 7220998 B2 discloses photoresist for preventing materials of layers from mixing.
US 20040139914 A1 teaches the prevention of diffusing impurities.
US 20230041812 A1 teaches similar holding layers as intermediate layers. 05
US 20120292594 A1 discloses spacers ([301]) similar to Kazlas’ spacers.
US 11631833 B2 discloses a dielectric layer 5, considered similar to the instant holding layer
US 20050088078 A1 discloses nanostructured organic electroluminescent recovery layer, including dielectric material and nanoscale metal particles ([0025] – [0027]) considered similar to the instant holding layer.
US 20210013437 A1 discloses a hole buffer layer and spacer layer considered similar to the instant holding layer.
US 20070176535 A1 discloses insulating layers 112 and 113 consider analogous to the instant holding layers.
US 20070278946 A1 discloses insulating layers 102 and 105 consider analogous to the instant holding layers.
US 20080309234 A1 discloses a similar light emitting device.
US 20090079337 A1 discloses relevant features of display device.
US 20140291479 A1 discloses buffer layers similar to the instant holding layer.
US 20090206732 A1 discloses a similar light emitting device.
US 20060188745 A1 discloses a similar light emitting device.
US 12144242 B2 discloses a similar light emitting device.
US 20200319549 A1 discloses relevant features for a light emitting device.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897