Response to Arguments
First, this application has been transferred to examiner Kolb, because examiner Liu is no longer with USPTO. Examiner Kolb reviewed the rejections of record wandering why on earth she signed the office action as a primary. Having said that the rejections of record do not teach instant claim 1 as applied. As such, new search has been conducted and new references are applied which better reflect claims of the instant invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: use of (also known as 4-methoxy phenol) is not appropriate as it lists the same compound in parentheses. Use of parenthesis is improper.
Claim 14 recites polyethylene followed by particulate polyethylene, powdered polyethylene, pelleted polyethylene and recycled polyethylene. All components are polyethylene, where broad limitation is followed by narrower limitations. Currently examiner issues an objection but correction is required. If not corrected the examiner will at later time consider 112,2nd paragraph rejection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (CN 101423589 translation provided).
With respect to claim 1, Yu discloses making a masterbatch for polyethylene fuse grafting. Masterbatch comprises pre-mixing graft components which include graft monomer, initiator, crosslink inhibitor and carrier resin (Abstract). Examples further show use of stabilizer.
Yu discloses typical monomers which include maleic anhydride, acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, fumaric acid, itaconic acid, wherein maleic anhydride is exemplified as it is most common functional monomer.
Peroxides of Yu include dicumyl peroxide, 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-t-butyl peroxyhexane, 3,6,9-benzene-3,6,8-methyl-1,4,7-7-nonane.
The functional monomers are pre-mixed with carrier resin which is polyethylene.
Content of functional monomer 1-13 % and content of initiator is 5-10%. In examples content of anhydride is 1.2, content of peroxide is 0.15 as such the ratio is 1:8.
With respect to claims 2-4, 15-16, Yu discloses 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-t-butyl peroxyhexane.
With respect to claim 11, upon extrusion the masterbatch comprising peroxide, monomer and carrier resin are granulated which inherently means that the masterbatch is in solid form. Term pre-mix is referred to by Yu as “mother” which examiner interprets as masterbatch. Additionally, part of the “mother” composition is utilized in examples with matrix HDPE.
With respect to claim 12, Yu discloses use of stearate, which when granulated product is made using extruder is utilized as lubricant or mold release agent (also lubricant).
With respect to claims 13 and 14, carrier resin is polyethylene (see examples).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 101423589) in view of Kaspers (US 2006/0183821).
Discussion of Yu from paragraph 1 of this office action is incorporated here by reference. Yu discloses granules comprising initiator, stabilizer, functional monomer and carrier polyethylene resin. The purpose of the granule is to be incorporated into matrix resin where use of granules ensures uniform distribution of the masterbatch that results in uniform crosslinking and compatibilization of the polymeric matrix. Yu discloses use of phenolic antioxidants that prevent premature generation of the radicals and therefore premature crosslinking and compatibilization of the carrier polyethylene.
What Yu does not teach is another type of stabilizers that are tailored to the final article in which the functional masterbatch can used.
Kaspers discloses composites which utilize polyethylene [0410] as well as its mixtures with other olefin based polymers [0411] along with compatibilizers, which are known in the art as hydrophobic polymers that are modified with functional group such as anhydrides [0435]. Their main purpose is to establish compatibility and adhesion between non-polar polyethylene and polar fillers.
Kaspers is specifically directed to compounds which stabilize polyethylene based polymers (including compatibilizers) and natural cellulosic fillers. The fillers include wood flour, wood flakes, straw, cotton, rice hulls, paper, ground wood, wood particles, saw dust, old newspapers, plant fibers, nut shells, hemp kenaf and the like [0364] as such the stabilizers have to be able to stabilize this type of the filler.
The stabilizers of Kaspers include HALS [0399, 0404] and hydroquinones [0440] and piperidines [0163], nitroxide stabilizers [0237], triazoles [0399] triazines [0406] and hindered phenols such as antioxidant 1010 of Yu.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, other hindered phenols that can be utilized to stabilize polyethylene wood composite includes hydroquinone’s such as t-butylhydroquinone [0440] and methoxyphenols, and amylhydroquinones.
Hindered phenols of Yu and Kaspers are utilized in composites to prevent free radical reaction that breaks down the composite upon exposure to heat oxygen or shear. The stabilizers of Yu and Kaspers work in the same fashion which is donating a hydrogen to peroxy radicals.
As such it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to utilize hindered phenol stabilizers of Kaspers in lieu of hindered phenol of Yu and thereby obtain the claimed invention. Such modification would still allow donation of hydrogen to prevent unwanted crosslinking especially when in form of a masterbatch.
Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaspers (US 2006/0183821) in view of Yu (CN 101423589).
With respect to claims 19 and 22, Kaspers discloses polyethylene-wood composite comprising polyethylene, polyethylene compatibilizer, various stabilizers suitable for use in cellulosic composition and fillers. The filler include wood flour, wood flakes, straw, cotton, rice hulls, paper, ground wood, wood particles, saw dust, old newspapers, plant fibers, nut shells, hemp kenaf and the like [0364] as such the stabilizers have to be able to stabilize this type of the filler.
The difference between Kaspers and instant invention is use of coupling agent or compatibilizer which is in form of an unreacted pre-mix.
Yu discloses such pre-mix in form of a masterbatch with carrier resin. Yu discloses making a masterbatch for polyethylene fuse grafting. Masterbatch comprises pre-mixing graft components which include graft monomer, initiator, crosslink inhibitor and carrier resin (Abstract). Examples further show use of stabilizer.
Yu discloses typical monomers which include maleic anhydride, acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, fumaric acid, itaconic acid, wherein maleic anhydride is exemplified as it is most common functional monomer.
Peroxides of Yu include dicumyl peroxide, 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-t-butyl peroxyhexane, 3,6,9-benzene-3,6,8-methyl-1,4,7-7-nonane.
The functional monomers are pre-mixed with carrier resin which is polyethylene.
Content of functional monomer 1-13 % and content of initiator is 5-10%. In examples content of anhydride is 1.2, content of peroxide is 0.15 as such the ratio is 1:8.
The coupling agent is extruded to form granule
The purpose of the granule is to be incorporated into matrix resin where use of granules ensures uniform distribution of the masterbatch that results in uniform crosslinking and compatibilization of the polymeric matrix.
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to utilize compatibilizer of Kaspers in form of granule of Yu. Incorporating such granule in unreacted from would first allow uniform distribution of the granule within polymer matrix, which in turn will ensure uniform coupling between matrix polymer and polar fillers of the composition.
With respect to claim 20 and 22, matrix polymer is selected from polyolefins such as polyethylene, polypropylene, LDPE and HDPE. Preferably HDPE [0430-0431].
With respect to claims 21 and 23, the claim is directed to composite not to an article. As such the form does not carry patentable weight. Having said that, Kaspers states that the composition disclosed therein is utilized in construction of decks, window molding, siding, fencing and the like [0359].
Relevant references:
WO 2015/196134 directed to wood and polyethylene composite comprising coupling agent such as silane, boric acid, maleic anhydride, succinic acid, succinic anhydride, adipic acid or anhydride and the like.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 November 10, 2026