DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1, Applicant argues that Moorti et al. (US 2018/0278290 A1) fail to disclose “wherein as a result of the subtraction of the self-interference estimate, the modified received signal comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise.” The examiner, however, does not agree with the Applicant. Moorti et al. (figures 2 and 3A) disclose an apparatus (140) comprising at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code (paragraphs [0034] and [0047]), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: obtaining a first received signal from a transmission system (receive signal in the receive path from a lower couple 130); obtaining or generating a first transmission signal for transmission using the transmission system (transmit signal from upper coupler 130); obtaining a plurality of input data, wherein the input data include transmission system data associated with the transmission system, environmental data and timestamp data (paragraphs [0074], [0078] and [0099]); providing the first transmission signal and the plurality of input data as inputs to a self-interference correction algorithm to generate a self-interference estimate (paragraphs [0043] and [0078]); and subtracting the self-interference estimate from the first received signal to generate a modified received signal (paragraph [0043]), wherein as a result of the subtraction of the self-interference estimate, the modified received signal comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise (paragraphs [0077] and [0079]).
Moorti et al. (paragraph [0077]: “The controller 144 may cooperate with the analog canceller 160 (for instance, setting transform configurations based on data from the analog canceller 160, coordinating transform configuration setting times with the analog canceller 160, disabling or modifying operation of the analog canceller 160) to reduce overall self-interference (or for any other suitable reason).”, and paragraph [0079]: “The controller 144 may adapt transform configurations based on test input scenarios (e.g. scenarios when the signal received by the RF receiver is known), scenarios where there is no input (e.g. the only signal received at the RF receiver is the signal transmitted by the RF transmitter), or scenarios where the received signal is unknown. In cases where the received signal is an unknown signal, the controller 144 may adapt transform configurations based on historical received data (e.g. what the signal looked like ten seconds ago) or any other suitable information. The controller 144 may additionally or alternatively adapt transform configurations based on the content of the transmitted signal; for instance, if the transmitted signal is modulated in a particular way, the controller 144 may look for that same modulation in the self-interference signal; more specifically, the controller 144 may adapt transform configurations such that when the self-interference signal is combined with the digital receive signal the remaining modulation (as an indicator of self-interference) is reduced (compared to a previous transform configuration).”) do disclose wherein as a result of the subtraction of the self-interference estimate, the modified received signal comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1, 2 and 5-15 are maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s challenge Official notice that it is well known in the art for using buffers for storing transmission and/or receiving signal samples in a communication device or system. Bharadia et al. (US 2012/0201153 A1) reference is provided. Bharadia et al. (figure 1) disclose an apparatus for reduce or remove self-interference using analog canceller (120) and digital canceller (130) (paragraphs [0024]-[0026]) and using a buffer to store transmission signal samples (paragraphs [0031]-[0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moorti et al. (US 2018/0278290 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moorti et al. (figures 2 and 3A) disclose an apparatus (140) comprising at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code (paragraphs [0034] and [0047]), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: obtaining a first received signal from a transmission system (receive signal in the receive path from a lower couple 130); obtaining or generating a first transmission signal for transmission using the transmission system (transmit signal from upper coupler 130); obtaining a plurality of input data, wherein the input data include transmission system data associated with the transmission system, environmental data and timestamp data (paragraphs [0074], [0078] and [0099]); providing the first transmission signal and the plurality of input data as inputs to a self-interference correction algorithm to generate a self-interference estimate (paragraphs [0043] and [0078]); and subtracting the self-interference estimate from the first received signal to generate a modified received signal (paragraph [0043]), wherein as a result of the subtraction of the self-interference estimate, the modified received signal comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise (paragraphs [0077] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 2, Moorti et al. (figures 2 and 3A) disclose an apparatus (140) comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instruction (paragraphs [0034] and [0047]), the instruction when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: obtaining transmission signal samples for signals transmitted using a transmission system (transmit signal from transmit path); obtaining receiver signal samples (receive signal from the receive path), wherein the receiver signal samples are based on self-interference transmission signals received from the transmission system in the absence of other transmitted data signals (paragraphs [0043]-[0048] and [0079]); obtaining a plurality of input data, wherein the input data include transmission system data associated with the transmission system, environmental data and timestamp data (paragraphs [0074], [0078] and [0099]); and training a self- interference correction algorithm based on the transmission signal samples, the receiver signal samples and the plurality of input data, such that the self-interference correction algorithm generates self- interference estimates based on transmission signal samples and the input data, wherein the self- interference correction algorithm is a trainable algorithm (paragraphs [0078]-[0079]), and wherein as a result of a subtraction of the self-interference estimates from the received self-interference transmission signals, the transmission signal samples and the input data comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise (paragraphs [0043], [0077] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 5, Moorti et al. disclose wherein the apparatus is further configured to perform: transmitting the first transmission signal for transmission using the transmission system (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Moorti et al. disclose an apparatus as claimed in claim1, wherein the environmental data includes one or more of: temperature, humidity, pressure or altitude (paragraph [0074].
Regarding claim 7, Moorti et al. disclose an apparatus as claimed in claim1, wherein the apparatus is further inherently configured to use one or more extrinsic sensors in order to obtain at least some of said environmental data (paragraph [0074)]).
Regarding claim 8, Moorti et al. disclose wherein the transmission system data inherently includes one or more of: bandwidth, carrier frequency sampling rate, precoder index or combiner index (paragraph [0074], from system configuration data, transmitter setting, transmitter operating characteristics, and signal data).
Regarding claim 9, Moorti et al. disclose wherein the plurality of input data comprises antenna configuration data, wherein the antenna configuration data includes one or more of: antenna material, array shape, or array size (paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 10, Moorti et al. disclose wherein the plurality of input data comprises receiver feedback signals (paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 11, Moorti et al. disclose the apparatus as claimed in claim1, wherein the apparatus is further configured to: trigger training of said self-interference correction algorithm (paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 12, Moorti et al. (figures 2 and 3A) disclose an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code (paragraphs [0034] and [0047]), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: receiving an input vector at an input of a neural network paragraphs ([0074], [0078] and [0099]), wherein the input vector comprising: a first transmission signal for transmission (transmit signal from coupler 130) using the transmission system and a plurality of input data, wherein the input data include transmission system data associated with the transmission system, environmental data and timestamp data (paragraphs [0074], [0078] and [0099]); and applying the input vector to the neural network to generate a self-interference estimate at an output of the neural network (paragraph [0078)), wherein as a result of the subtraction of the self-interference estimate, the modified received signal comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise (paragraphs [0043], [0077] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 13, Moorti et al. (figures 2 and 3A) disclose a method comprising: obtaining a first received signal (receive signal from a receive path from lower coupler 130) from a transmission system; obtaining or generating a first transmission signal for transmission (transmit signal from upper coupler 130) using the transmission system; obtaining a plurality of input data, wherein the input data include transmission system data associated with the transmission system, environmental data and timestamp data (paragraphs [0074], [0078] and [0099]); providing the first transmission signal and the plurality of input data as inputs to a self-interference correction algorithm to generate a self-interference estimate (paragraphs [0043] and [0078]); and subtracting the self-interference estimate from the first received signal to generate a modified received signal paragraph [0043]), wherein as a result of the subtraction of the self-interference estimate, the modified received signal comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise (paragraphs [0077] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 14, Moorti et al. (figures 2 and 3A) disclose a method comprising: obtaining transmission signal samples for signals transmitted using a transmission system (transmit signal from transmit path); obtaining receiver signal samples (receive signal from the receive path), wherein the receiver signal samples are based on self-interference transmission signals received from the transmission system in the absence of other transmitted data signals (paragraphs [0043]-[0048] and [0079]); obtaining a plurality of input data, wherein the input data include transmission system data associated with the transmission system, environmental data and timestamp data (paragraphs [0074], [0078] and [0099]); and training a self-interference correction algorithm based on the transmission signal samples, the receiver signal samples and the plurality of input data, such that the self-interference correction algorithm generates self-interference estimates based on transmission signal samples and the input data, wherein the self-interference correction algorithm is a trainable algorithm (paragraphs [0078]-[0079]), and wherein as a result of a subtraction of the self-interference estimates from the received self-interference transmission signals, the transmission signal samples and the input data comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise (paragraphs [0043], [0077] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Moorti et al. (figures 2 and 3A) disclose a non-transitory program storage device readable by an apparatus, tangibly embodying a computer program comprising instructions (paragraphs [0034] and [0047]) for causing the apparatus to perform at least the following: obtaining a first received signal (receive signal from the receive path from lower couple 130) from a transmission system; obtaining or generating a first transmission signal for transmission (transmit signal from upper coupler 130) using the transmission system; obtaining a plurality of input data, wherein the input data include transmission system data associated with the transmission system, environmental data and timestamp data (paragraphs [0074], [0078] and [0099]); providing the first transmission signal and the plurality of input data as inputs to a self-interference correction algorithm to generate a self-interference estimate (paragraph [0078]); and subtracting the self-interference estimate from the first received signal to generate a modified received signal (paragraph [0043]), wherein as a result of the subtraction of the self-interference estimate, the modified received signal comprises reduced self-interference noise or no self-interference noise (paragraphs [0077] and [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moorti et al. in view of Bharadia et al. (US 2012/0201153 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Moori et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 2 above. Moori et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is further configured to perform: generating said transmission signal samples and providing those transmission signal samples to a transmit signal buffer or generating the receiver signals samples based on the signals received from the transmission system and providing those receiver signal samples to a receiver signal buffer. However, Moori et al. (figure 2) disclose using a digital canceller (140) in addition to the analog canceller (160) for reducing sell-interference (paragraph [0036]), wherein a signal coupler (130) provides the transmission signal sample for the digital canceller and/or the analog canceller (paragraph [0043]). And in the same field of endeavor, Bharadia et al. (figure 1) disclose an apparatus for reduce or remove self-interference using analog (120) and digital (130) cancellers (paragraphs [0024]-[0026]) and using a buffer to store transmission signal samples (paragraphs [0031]-[0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the buffer of Bharadia et al. to the apparatus of Moori et al. to store transmission signal samples and receiver signal samples for signal processing in the apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noest et al. (US 2020/0067591 A1) disclose systems and methods that generate an interference replica signal that estimates interference in a receive signal that is due to a transmit signal; the interference replica signal is combined with the receive signal to generate a corrected receive signal; then cancel the estimated interference from the received signal.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645