DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 4, 7-9, 12, 15, 17-19, 25-28 and 31-32 have been cancelled. Claim 1 has been amended as requested in the amendment filed on 12 June 2026. Following the amendment, claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-11, 13-14, 16, 20-24, and 29-30 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 3, 10-11, 13-14, 16, 20-24, 29-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are under examination in the instant office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is no conjunction between SEQ ID NO: 8 and SEQ ID NO: 9. The absence of an “or” conjugation lends itself to an interpretation that the fusion protein must have all three sequences. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (New, Necessitated by Amendment)
As currently amended, Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), or alternatively under 102(a)(2), as being anticipated by WO/2004/067717 A2, published 12 August 2004, which designates the US and has been effectively filed on 24 January 2003 (hereafter the ‘717 publication).
It should be noted that “an amino acid sequence” broadly reads upon any two consecutive amino acids within the sequence claimed. Applicant may remedy this by reciting “the amino acid sequence”.
Regarding Claim 1, the ‘717 publication teaches fusion proteins comprising arrestin and ubiquitin molecules. The alignment below demonstrates that there is at least 80% identity of “an amino acid” within SEQ ID NO: 7 and the fusion protein depicted in Figures 8-10 of the reference:
There is no alignment between the disclosed fusion protein of the reference and SEQ ID NO: 8 and SEQ ID NO: 9 of the claims.
Regarding Claim 2, the ‘717 publication has been fused to the SUMO protein via a peptide linker. See reference pg. 64, Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 5, the ‘717 publication teaches fusion proteins comprising arrestin and ubiquitin molecules (Abstract). Specifically, the ‘717 publication teaches a fusion protein that has 84.45% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant claims and 84.25% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the claims (see alignments below). Thus, the prior art teaches a fusion protein “having at least 80% identity to” either SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant claims.
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 1 of the claims with the fusion protein depicted in Figures 8-10 of the reference:
Alignment with SEQ ID NO: 2 of the claims and the fusion protein of Figures 8-10 of the reference:
Regarding Claim 6, the ‘717 publication teaches the fusion proteins are attached to a detectable moiety including yellow fluorescent protein (see pg. 20, lines 16 through pg. 21, line 1).
Therefore, the invention of the claims fails to distinguish over the fusion protein disclosed in the prior art, and Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/KIMBERLY BALLARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675