Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues that the prior art Damnjanovicjanovic et al. (US 2018/0233055 A1) in view of Bai et al. (US 2021/0258942 A1) in further view Phuyal et al. (US 2018/0324662 A1) does not disclose limitation of claims 9 and 13.
However, claims 9 and 13 contain both “and’ and “or” conditional interchangeably. Two have both limitations considered the “or” conditional should be removed. Otherwise, the lesser conditional of A “or” B applies here. For example, the limitation of “an indication of a detection of vibrations produced by a drone in a frequency response of at least one reference signal transmitted by the user equipment and received by the base station” appear following the “or” conditional. Meaning, only one condition could apply.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of foreign translation received 11/4/2025. Nothing further is needed here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 13, 10, 14 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovicjanovic et al. (US 2018/0233055 A1) in view of Bai et al. (US 2021/0258942 A1) in further view Phuyal et al. (US 2018/0324662 A1).
Regarding claim 9 & 13, management entity and method for communicating between a management entity of a network and a user equipment located on-board a drone, the method being implemented by the management entity of the network comprising:
transmitting a message to the user equipment requesting it to identify itself as a drone (drone UE indication to a wireless network [0007];
Damnjanovic does not specifically disclose a “reference signal”;
However, Bai specifically disclose a “reference signal” (see “reference signal”; [0008]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings Damnjanovic and Phuyal with that of Bai. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in within the field of invention.
Damnjanovic and Bai do not specifically disclose however Phuyal discloses receiving a message, transmitted from a base station to which the user equipment is attached (see [0066] “message conveyance at blocks 800 and 900 may be implemented during an initial Attach procedure between the drone-coupled UE and a base station”), comprising an altitude of the drone (see [0077], “transmitting a message to the user equipment requesting it to identify itself as a drone (drone UE indication to a wireless network [0007])”) and/or an indication of a detection of vibrations produced by a drone in a frequency response of at least one reference signal transmitted by the user equipment and received by the base station; and
when it is determined that the detected altitude and/or vibrations correspond to a drone (see altitude/height threshold [0074]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Phuyal with that of Damnjanovic. Doing so would conform to well-established commercial and surveillance needs by improving redundancy and accuracy (see [0005], Phuyal).
Regarding claim 10, Damnjanovic in view of Bai in further view of Phuyal disclose the method for communicating between a management entity of the network and a user equipment embedded in a drone according to claim 9 comprising, when the user equipment does not identify itself as a drone, breaking a communication session established between the user equipment and a device of a communication network through the base station (switch to non UE mode [0045]).
Regarding claim 14, Damnjanovic in view of Bai in further view of Phuyal disclose the management entity of the network capable of communicating with a user equipment embedded in a drone according to claim 9, comprising, when the user equipment does not identify itself as a drone, means for implementing a break in a communication session established between the user equipment and a device of a communication network through the base station (switch to non UE mode [0045]).
Regarding claim 16, Damnjanovic in view of Bai in further view of Phuyal disclose the A processing circuit comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing program code instructions of a computer program for implementing the method according to claim 9, when the computer program is executed by the processor (see “computer program” [0050]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14-16 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643