DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-18,24-25 and 28-36 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18,24-25 and 28-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20230109830 A1) in view of Nakashima et al. (US 20210136770 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Harada et al. teaches a reduced capability, REDCAP, new radio, NR, device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the REDCAP NR device at least to (Paragraph 176, 179, 182, These passages teach a UE device implemented with a processor and memory storing executable program instructions that cause the device to perform the communication operations described for the UE): receive, from a base station, an indication of a first bandwidth part and at least one second bandwidth part, wherein at least one of the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part received from the base station comprises a REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 41, 101, 105, These passages teach that the base station signals bandwidth part configurations and indicators to the UE via RRC or DCI signaling, allowing the UE to receive indications of one or more BWPs configured by the network); and receive, from the base station, a message on the preferred bandwidth part comprising the REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 44–47, 101, 103, These passages teach that after receiving BWP configuration from the base station, the UE performs BWP switching and receives scheduled downlink communication on the indicated bandwidth part).
Harada et al. does not explicitly teach provide, towards the base station, an indication of a preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part indicated by the base station in a message A or message 3 of a random access channel procedure, wherein the preferred bandwidth part indicated towards the base station comprises the REDCAP bandwidth part; provide, towards the base station, an indication of a REDCAP NR device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure.
However, Nakashima et al. teaches provide, towards the base station, an indication of a preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part indicated by the base station in a message A or message 3 of a random access channel procedure, wherein the preferred bandwidth part indicated towards the base station comprises the REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 48, 107–110, 169, 172, These passages teach that during the random access procedure the UE transmits message 3 via PUSCH and can provide capability/configuration information toward the base station, corresponding to indicating a selected or preferred configured resource (bandwidth part) in message 3); provide, towards the base station, an indication of a REDCAP NR device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 159, 172–174, These passages explicitly teach that message 3 of the random access procedure includes an identifier uniquely identifying the UE, corresponding to providing a REDCAP NR device identifier in message 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide provide, towards the base station, an indication of a preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part indicated by the base station in a message A or message 3 of a random access channel procedure, wherein the preferred bandwidth part indicated towards the base station comprises the REDCAP bandwidth part; provide, towards the base station, an indication of a REDCAP NR device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure as taught by Nakashima et al. in the system of Harada et al., so that it would enable the base station to identify the UE and determine the preferred bandwidth part associated with the reduced-capability device during the random access procedure, thereby facilitating efficient bandwidth part selection and configuration for REDCAP operation while maintaining compatibility with standard NR access signaling.
Regarding claim 2, Harada et al. teaches one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the REDCAP NR device at least to determine the preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part indicated by the base station (Paragraph 66, 101, 166, The UE’s control unit receives the base station’s BWP indication (DCI), acquires and applies the indicated BWP).
Regarding claim 3, Harada et al. teaches the first bandwidth part is indicated in a master information message and the at least one second bandwidth part is indicated in a system information message (Paragraph 189, 41, These teach that BWP configuration information can be broadcast via MIB and SIB messages, thereby indicating a first BWP in a master information message and at least one second BWP in a system information message).
Regarding claim 4, Harada et al. teaches determine a bandwidth part capability of the REDCAP NR device; and determine the preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part indicated and the second bandwidth part indicated from the base station based on the bandwidth part capability of the REDCAP NR device (Paragraph 68, 166, 101, 131, teaches that the REDCAP NR device determines its BWP capability by reporting supported BWP switching and number of CCs, and selects or applies a preferred BWP indicated by the base station based on that capability and the received DCI configuration values).
Regarding claim 5, Harada et al. teaches the first bandwidth part is a control resource set bandwidth part (Paragraph 58, 100, These passages show that control signaling (PDCCH/DCI) occurs within specific bandwidth resources (BWP), indicating that the first BWP corresponds to the bandwidth used for control resources—i.e., a control resource set bandwidth part).
Regarding claim 6, Harada et al. teaches the at least one second bandwidth part is an initial bandwidth part (Paragraph 229, This indicates one BWP is initially active among configured BWPs, teaching that the second BWP can serve as an initial bandwidth part).
Regarding claim 7, Harada et al. teaches the at least one second bandwidth part is wider than the first bandwidth part (Paragraph 32, This teaches that the second bandwidth part (in FR2) has a bandwidth of up to 400 MHz, which is larger than the first bandwidth part (in FR1) having up to 100 MHz).
Regarding claim 8, Harada et al. teaches provide the indication of the preferred bandwidth part to the base station in a message 1 of a random access channel procedure (Paragraph 54, 58, 189, UE transmits control information, such as a preferred bandwidth part indication, to the base station via physical or MAC signaling within the random access channel (RACH) procedure, corresponding to message 1).
Regarding claim 9, Harada et al. teaches provide the indication of the preferred bandwidth part to the base station based on a physical random access channel resource selected by the REDCAP NR device to send the message 1 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 161, UE (REDCAP NR device) transmits configuration information such as its preferred BWP to the base station through a message associated with a RA-RNTI, i.e., a PRACH-based random access (message 1) transmission).
Regarding claim 10, Harada et al. teaches provide, by the REDCAP NR device that is a terminal, an indication of a capability of the REDCAP NR device the preferred bandwidth part to the base station in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 131, 41, 58, the terminal (UE 200) provides to the base station, during a random access procedure, an indication of its BWP-related capability (support for BWP switching) and preferred BWP configuration as part of its control signaling).
Regarding claim 11, Harada et al. teaches provide the indication of the preferred bandwidth part to the base station in a radio resource control message (Paragraph 189, UE can send information, including configuration indications, to the base station through an RRC message).
Regarding claim 12, Harada et al. teaches the radio resource control message comprises a radio resource control setup request message, a radio resource control resume request message or a radio resource control reestablishment request message (Paragraph 189, RRC signaling includes RRC messages such as an RRC Connection Setup message and similar types).
Regarding claim 13, Harada et al. teaches provide the indication of the preferred bandwidth part to the base station based on a physical uplink shared channel uplink resource allocation in a message 2 of the random access channel procedure and a physical uplink shared channel resource selected by the REDCAP NR device to send the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 45, 58-60, UE uses DCI-based uplink resource allocation for PUSCH during the RACH procedure to transmit information (Msg3) to the base station).
Regarding claim 14, Harada et al. teaches provide the indication of the preferred bandwidth part to the base station based on an uplink scheduling offset between a physical uplink shared channel resource allocation in a message 2 of the random access channel procedure and a physical uplink shared channel resource selection to send the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 45, 52, 59, UE allocates and transmits PUSCH resources to the gNB based on DCI scheduling and BWP configuration, thus teaching providing a preferred BWP indication to the base station based on uplink resource timing between message 2 and message 3).
Regarding claim 15, Harada et al. teaches provide the indication of the preferred bandwidth part to the base station based on a physical layer configuration selected by the REDCAP NR device to send the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 58, UE provides a BWP indication to the base station using physical layer signaling (DCI/UCI) during RACH procedures, effectively sending its selected BWP configuration when transmitting message A or message 3).
Regarding claim 16, Harada et al. teaches the physical layer configuration selected by the REDCAP NR device comprises a demodulation reference signal initialization, a demodulation reference signal location or a payload scrambling initialization (Paragraph 55, 56, The UE configures and processes DMRS at the physical layer, inherently including initialization or location setup of the DMRS for demodulation).
Regarding claim 17, Harada et al. teaches provide the indication of the preferred bandwidth part to the base station based on a physical uplink shared channel resource allocation in a message B of a random access channel procedure and a physical uplink shared channel resource selected by the REDCAP NR device to send a physical uplink shared channel transmission (Paragraph 58, 59, The UE uses the PUSCH to transmit data and performs dynamic BWP switching based on DCI received during the RACH procedure, thus providing its preferred BWP indication to the base station using an allocated and selected PUSCH resource).
Regarding claim 18, Harada et al. teaches provide the indication of the preferred bandwidth part to the base station based on an uplink scheduling offset between the physical uplink shared channel uplink grant in the message B of the random access channel procedure and the physical uplink shared channel resource selected by the REDCAP NR device to send the physical uplink shared channel transmission (Paragraph 45-47, UE determines and applies a preferred BWP based on an uplink scheduling DCI (uplink grant) for the PUSCH, effectively providing that BWP indication to the base station through the scheduled uplink transmission timing and resource selection).
Regarding claim 24, Harada et al. teaches a network apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network apparatus at least to (Paragraph 176, 179, 182, These passages disclose a communication device having a processor and memory storing executable instructions that control communication functions, corresponding to a network apparatus with processor-executed instructions performing communication operations): transmit, to a terminal, an indication of a first bandwidth part and at least one second bandwidth part, wherein at least one of the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part transmitted to the terminal comprises a REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 41, 100, 101, 105, These passages teach the network transmitting signaling (e.g., RRC/DCI) that provides BWP configuration and BWP indicators to a terminal, which inherently includes multiple BWPs that the terminal may operate on, corresponding to transmitting an indication of a first BWP and at least one additional BWP); receive, from the terminal, an indication of a preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part indicated by the network apparatus to the terminal in a message A or message 3 of a random access channel procedure, wherein the preferred bandwidth part indicated to the network apparatus comprises the REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 58, 131, 142, These passages teach the UE transmitting capability or configuration information to the network related to BWP usage via control signaling including RACH procedures, corresponding to the terminal sending an indication associated with BWP selection or capability during the random access procedure); determine the terminal as a REDCAP NR device based on the received indication (Paragraph 131, 132, These passages teach the network receiving UE capability reports and using that information to configure operation for that UE, which corresponds to determining the device type or capability (e.g., REDCAP device) based on the received indication); and transmit, to the terminal, a message on the preferred bandwidth part comprising the REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 101–104, These passages teach the network transmitting control or data messages (e.g., PDCCH/DCI scheduling PDSCH) that are applied to a selected BWP and used for communication with the UE, corresponding to transmitting a message to the terminal on the chosen bandwidth part).
Harada et al. does not explicitly teach receive, from the terminal, an indication of a reduced capability, REDCAP, new radio, NR, device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure.
However, Nakashima et al. teaches receive, from the terminal, an indication of a reduced capability, REDCAP, new radio, NR, device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 172, This passage explicitly teaches that message 3 includes a UE identifier transmitted to the base station during random access, corresponding to receiving a device identifier in message 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, from the terminal, an indication of a reduced capability, REDCAP, new radio, NR, device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure as taught by Nakashima et al. in the system of Harada et al., so that it would enable the network apparatus to identify the device type and capabilities during the random access procedure and accordingly configure bandwidth part selection and communication resources (e.g., REDCAP bandwidth parts) more efficiently for the terminal.
Regarding claim 25, Harada et al. teaches a method comprising: receive, from a base station, an indication of a first bandwidth part and at least one second bandwidth part, wherein one of the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part received from the base station comprises a REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 41, 100–101, 105, These passages teach that the base station provides signaling (e.g., DCI/RRC) indicating bandwidth parts to the UE and the UE receives the BWP configuration/indicator specifying which BWP to use); and receive, from the base station, a message on the preferred bandwidth part comprising the REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 60, 101–104, These passages teach that the UE receives control or data messages from the base station (e.g., via PDCCH/PDSCH) while operating on the indicated bandwidth part determined through the BWP indicator).
Harada et al. does not explicitly teach providing, towards the base station by a reduced capability, REDCAP, new radio, NR, device, an indication of a preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part indicated by the base station, wherein the preferred bandwidth part indicated towards the base station comprises the REDCAP bandwidth part; providing, towards the base station, an indication of a REDCAP NR device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure.
However, Nakashima et al. teaches providing, towards the base station by a reduced capability, REDCAP, new radio, NR, device, an indication of a preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part indicated by the base station, wherein the preferred bandwidth part indicated towards the base station comprises the REDCAP bandwidth part (Paragraph 48, 107–110, 169, 172, These passages teach that during the random access procedure the UE transmits message 3 via PUSCH and can provide capability/configuration information toward the base station, corresponding to indicating a selected or preferred configured resource (bandwidth part) in message 3); providing, towards the base station, an indication of a REDCAP NR device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 159, 172–174, These passages explicitly teach that message 3 of the random access procedure includes an identifier uniquely identifying the UE, corresponding to providing a REDCAP NR device identifier in message 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide providing, towards the base station by a reduced capability, REDCAP, new radio, NR, device, an indication of a preferred bandwidth part among the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part indicated by the base station, wherein the preferred bandwidth part indicated towards the base station comprises the REDCAP bandwidth part; providing, towards the base station, an indication of a REDCAP NR device identifier in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure as taught by Nakashima et al. in the system of Harada et al., so that it would enable the base station to identify the UE and determine the preferred bandwidth part associated with the reduced-capability device during the random access procedure, thereby facilitating efficient bandwidth part selection and configuration for REDCAP operation while maintaining compatibility with standard NR access signaling.
Regarding claim 28, Harada et al. teaches the first bandwidth part is a normal capability NR device bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part is a REDCAP NR device bandwidth part (Paragraph 130, BWPs are configured per UE capability and frequency range, implying separate BWPs for normal and reduced-capability (REDCAP) devices).
Regarding claim 29, Harada et al. teaches the preferred bandwidth part comprises a preferred downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) and/or a preferred uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) (Paragraph 228, This teaches that a bandwidth part (BWP) includes both uplink and downlink components (UL BWP and DL BWP), directly corresponding to the claim’s requirement that the preferred BWP comprises a preferred DL BWP and/or a preferred UL BWP).
Regarding claim 30, Harada et al. teaches receive, from the terminal determined as a REDCAP NR device, an indication of a capability of the REDCAP NR device the preferred bandwidth part in the message A or the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 131, 142, The UE reporting its capability to the network, including support for BWP switching, teaches transmitting an indication of the REDCAP device’s capability and preferred bandwidth configuration to the base station).
Regarding claim 31, Harada et al. teaches the indication of the preferred bandwidth part is provided by the REDCAP NR device that is a terminal to the base station in the message A of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 54, 58, the terminal (UE 200) transmits control information to the base station through a random access channel, meaning the UE (i.e., REDCAP NR device) provides an indication—such as the preferred bandwidth part—to the base station within a RACH message (message A)).
Regarding claim 32, Harada et al. teaches the indication of the preferred bandwidth part is provided by the REDCAP NR device that is a terminal to the base station in the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 23, 27, 54, 58, These passages teach that a UE (terminal device) communicates with the base station and transmits control signaling through a random access channel procedure, which encompasses transmission of uplink control messages such as Message 3 containing device indications).
Regarding claim 33, Harada et al. teaches the indication of the bandwidth part capability of the REDCAP NR device is provided by the REDCAP NR device that is a terminal to the base station in the message A of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 58, 59, 131, These passages teach that the UE (terminal) reports its capability related to bandwidth part operation to the network via control signaling associated with the random access procedure).
Regarding claim 34, Harada et al. teaches the indication of the bandwidth part capability of the REDCAP NR device is provided by the REDCAP NR device that is a terminal to the base station in the message 3 of the random access channel procedure (Paragraph 23, 54, 58, 131, The UE (terminal) transmits control signaling to the base station via the random access channel and reports capability information related to bandwidth part operation).
Regarding claim 35, Harada et al. teaches at least one aspect related to a bandwidth part capability of the REDCAP NR device is lower than at least one aspect related to a bandwidth part capability of a terminal device that is not a REDCAP NR device, or at least one aspect related to the bandwidth part capability of the REDCAP NR device is restricted, and at least one aspect related to a bandwidth part capability of a terminal device that is not a REDCAP NR device is not restricted (Paragraph 68, 73, 86, 169, 170, These passages disclose that UE bandwidth-related capabilities (e.g., number of component carriers, BWP indicators, and BWP configuration applicability) may be limited or restricted by system configuration).
Regarding claim 36, Harada et al. teaches the receiving of the indication of the first bandwidth part and the at least one second bandwidth part received from the base station includes receiving an indication of an initial bandwidth part, BWP, for uplink, UL, and downlink, DL, from the base station with a system information block 1, SIB1 (Paragraph 39–41, 189, These passages teach that the network provides configuration information identifying a bandwidth part used by the UE for uplink and downlink communication via higher-layer signaling that may be broadcast in system information blocks).
Allowable Subject Matter
To more fully reflect the novel improvements described in the specification, the applicant could add concepts directed to the REDCAP NR device determining the preferred bandwidth part based on an explicit bandwidth part capability of the device, including determining the capability first and selecting the preferred bandwidth part as a function of that capability rather than merely indicating a preference. The claim could further incorporate that the first bandwidth part is indicated in a master information message and the second bandwidth part is indicated in a system information message, and that the first bandwidth part may be a control resource set bandwidth part while the second bandwidth part may be an initial bandwidth part that is wider than the first bandwidth part. Additional concepts could include providing the preferred bandwidth part indication in message1 of the random access procedure and basing that indication on a selected physical random access channel (PRACH) resource, or alternatively deriving the preferred bandwidth part indication based on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource allocation in message2 and a PUSCH resource selected for message3, including using an uplink scheduling offset between the allocation and the selected resource. The applicant could also add that the indication of the preferred bandwidth part is conveyed via specific higher-layer signaling such as an RRC setup request, resume request, reestablishment request, or corresponding complete message, or via a MAC control element or uplink control information. Further concepts include basing the preferred bandwidth part indication on a selected physical layer configuration, such as a demodulation reference signal initialization, demodulation reference signal location, or payload scrambling initialization. The claim could also incorporate support for a plurality of second bandwidth parts, where the number of second bandwidth parts is based on a maximum number supported or requested by the device, and could further include explicitly providing an indication of bandwidth part capability itself in message1, message3, or message5 of the random access procedure. Finally, the applicant could add complementary base-station-side functionality directed to receiving the preferred bandwidth part or capability indication from the REDCAP NR device, thereby emphasizing the bidirectional signaling architecture disclosed in the specification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al. (US 11516085 B2)
Agiwal et al. (US 20210345265 A1)
Noh et al. (US 20250097924 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464