Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11 applicant argues that the combination of Zhu and Simpson do not teach the features of amended claim 1 (features that were previously presented in claim 2), but does not point out how the prior art references are insufficient. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Applicant lists claim limitations they think the references fail to teach, yet they fail to address the claim mapping presented in the Office Action. Simply stating that particular limitations are not taught, without even addressing the grounds for rejection, is not persuasive. The original grounds of rejection are maintained.
Applicant further argues, on page 11 of the remarks, that the Simpson reference does not disclose the subdivision of emitting regions into K sub-regions. First of all, the Simpson reference was never relied upon to teach that particular limitation. Second of all, applicant argues against the Simpson reference individually, instead of addressing the combination of Zhu and Simpson. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). This argument is also not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-11, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 10983197 B1) in view of Simpson (US 20210353251 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Zhu discloses a detection device (Fig. 1, lidar system 100), comprising: a light emitting module, a processing module, and a light receiving module (Fig. 1, light emitting module 110, light detecting module 120, and control unit 130), the light emitting module having M emitting regions (Fig. 5, there are 36 pixels in the transmitter array), the light receiving module having N receiving regions (Fig. 6, there are 36 receiver pixels in the array, labeled 601), M and N being each an integer greater than 0 (Figs. 5 and 6, there are 36 pixels, or ‘regions’ in both the transmitter and receiver array), wherein
the light emitting module is configured to output M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions (Col. 17, lines 25-44, each of the pixels are individually controllable by the row and column signals by the driver circuits 310-1 and 310-2);
the light receiving module is configured to: receive, by the N receiving regions, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from a detected target, and transmit the reflected light information and receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information to the processing module (Col. 19, lines 26-37, detector array has individually addressable and controllable photosensors, which detect received light and output signals to a processing circuit 610 to generate a pixel value and for further signal processing in order to determine a distance measurement; Fig. 6); and
the processing module is configured to generate an emitting order so that the emitting regions output the emitted light in accordance with the emitting order (Col. 17 lines 36-44, controller 330 generates a firing pattern which is executed through the use of the driver circuits) the light receiving module receives the reflected light information in accordance with the emitting order (Col. 19, lines 13-16, “A sensing pattern for the detecting module may be generated based on a pre-determined mapping relationship between the emitter array and the detector array, and one or more real-time conditions”), and the processing module is further configured to acquire, in accordance with the emitting order (Col. 19, lines 13-25, the output signals are given to a processing circuit that generates a distance measurement), the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, a distance image with an image resolution that is not lower than the number N of the receiving regions and that does not exceed N x M obtained by multiplying the number of the receiving regions and the number of the emitting regions (Col. 19 lines 34-40, each pixel 601, 603, 605, generates an output signal, and each pixel of the detector array corresponds to one pixel of resolution in a ranging measurement. This means, in this system, the image resolution is equal to N);
each of the emitting regions comprises K sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprises at least one emitting unit (Fig. 5, where each pixel has four VCSELs; Col. 17, lines3-4), M is equal to N, and K is an integer greater than 0 (Figs. 5 and 6, there are 36 pixels that are directly mapped to each other in both the emitter and receiver array; Fig. 5, there are four sub emitting regions per pixel, and four is greater than zero),
and wherein the emitting unit outputs M x K channels of emitted light by using the M x K sub emitting regions (Fig. 5, there are 36 x 4 VCSELs in this array that can emit light; Col. 17, lines 25-27, column and row signals can individually address the VCSELs);
the light receiving module is further configured to transmit the reflected light information and receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information to the processing module (Col. 19, lines 13-25, “A sensing pattern for the detecting module may be generated based on a pre-determined mapping relationship between the emitter array and the detector array, and one or more real-time conditions” and the output signals are given to a processing circuit that generates a distance measurement); and
the processing module acquires, according to the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, a distance image with an image resolution that does not exceed N x K (Col. 19, lines 34-40, each pixel of the detector array corresponds to one pixel of resolution in a ranging measurement. This means, in this system, the image resolution is equal to N).
Zhu does not expressly disclose that the light emitting module cyclically performs emission K times in accordance with the emitting order of each of the emitting units to sequentially output M x K channels, and that the light receiving module cyclically performs reception K times correspondingly.
However, Simpson teaches an imaging system (Fig. 1, imaging system 100) with a light emitting module, processing module, and light receiving module (Fig. 1, host 130; Fig. 2, transducer 112 and receive configuration 220), where there are M light emitting regions comprising K sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprising at least one emitting unit (Fig. 2, the transducer 112 has individual transmitter elements 202, where the active transmitter element emits a transmit pulse 204);
the light emitting module is configured to cyclically perform the emitting for K times in accordance with the emitting order of the emitting units to sequentially output M x K channels of emitted light emitted by M x K sub emitting regions ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, there are N time intervals 230_T(i), from i=1 to i=N. In each of these time intervals, one transmitter element 202_i emits a transmit pulse 204_(i), and this is sequentially repeated N times for the N transmitter elements);
the light receiving module is further configured to: cyclically perform, by the N receiving regions, the receiving for K times to receive M x K channels of reflected light information of the emitted light reflected from the detected target ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, in each of the time intervals 230_T(i), all of the receiver elements are active, represented by the all of the boxes being patterned in each of the time intervals),
the processing module is configured to acquire the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x K in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information, and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information ([0038] N set of scan lines may be summed to form an image frame).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting unit and scheme disclosed by Zhu, such that the transmitting unit performs multiple captures of the scene, where each of the individual transmitters within one transmitter pixel is sequentially activated for the captures, as taught by Simpson’s transmission and detection scheme. This could be achieved by ensuring that each of the individual transmitters in each pixel, taught by Zhu, can be individually controlled in order to implement to detection scheme taught by Simpson. Spacing between active emitters and the firing pattern can be determined to provide thermal management and improve heat dissipation during operation, and with the implementation of Simpson’s cyclical transmission scheme, only one of the transmitters per ‘pixel’ would be active at once (Zhu, Col. 18, lines 12-18). See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale G.
Regarding Claim 11: As described above, the combination of Zhu and Simpson teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Zhu further discloses the detection method comprising:
generating an emitting order (Col. 18, lines 26-28, “a firing pattern of the emitting module may be generated”);
outputting, in accordance with the emitting order, M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions (Col. 17 lines 36-44, controller 330 generates a firing pattern which is executed through the use of the driver circuits);
receiving, in accordance with the emitting order, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from the detected target (Col. 19, lines 13-25, the detecting module activates SPADS for measurement based on the mapped relationship between the emitter array and detector array);
acquiring, according to the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, a distance image with an image resolution that is not lower than the number N of the receiving regions and that does not exceed N x M obtained by multiplying the number of the receiving regions and the number of the emitting regions (Col. 19, lines 13-25, “A sensing pattern for the detecting module may be generated based on a pre-determined mapping relationship between the emitter array and the detector array, and one or more real-time conditions” and the output signals are given to a processing circuit that generates a distance measurement; Col. 19 lines 34-40, each pixel 601, 603, 605, generates an output signal, and each pixel of the detector array corresponds to one pixel of resolution in a ranging measurement. This means, in this system, the image resolution is equal to N)
wherein each of the emitting regions comprises K sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprises at least one emitting unit (Fig. 5, where each pixel has four VCSELs; Col. 17, lines3-4), M is equal to N, and K is an integer greater than 0 (Figs. 5 and 6, there are 36 pixels that are directly mapped to each other in both the emitter and receiver array; Fig. 5, there are four sub emitting regions per pixel, and four is greater than zero), and wherein
the acquiring, in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, the distance image with an image resolution that is not lower than the number N of the receiving regions and that does not exceed N x M obtained by multiplying the umber of the receiving regions and the number of the emitting regions comprises: acquiring the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x K in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information (Col. 19, lines 13-25, “A sensing pattern for the detecting module may be generated based on a pre-determined mapping relationship between the emitter array and the detector array, and one or more real-time conditions” and the output signals are given to a processing circuit that generates a distance measurement; Col. 19, lines 34-40, each pixel of the detector array corresponds to one pixel of resolution in a ranging measurement. This means, in this system, the image resolution is equal to N).
However Zhu does not disclose: the outputting, in accordance with the emitting order, M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions comprises: cyclically performing the emitting for K times in accordance with the emitting order of the emitting units to sequentially output M x K channels of emitted light by M x K sub emitting regions; or the receiving, in accordance with the emitting order, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from the detected target comprises: cyclically performing, by the N receiving regions, the receiving for K times, to receive M x K channels of reflected light information of the emitted light reflected from the detected target.
Simpson teaches that the outputting, in accordance with the emitting order, M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions comprises: cyclically performing the emitting for K times in accordance with the emitting order of the emitting units to sequentially output M x K channels of emitted light by M x K sub emitting regions ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, there are N time intervals 230_T(i), from i=1 to i=N. In each of these time intervals, one transmitter element 202_i emits a transmit pulse 204_(i), and this is sequentially repeated N times for the N transmitter elements);
the receiving, in accordance with the emitting order, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from the detected target comprises: cyclically performing, by the N receiving regions, the receiving for K times, to receive M x K channels of reflected light information of the emitted light reflected from the detected target ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, in each of the time intervals 230_T(i), all of the receiver elements are active, represented by the all of the boxes being patterned in each of the time intervals);
and acquiring the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x K in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information, and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information ([0038] N set of scan lines may be summed to form an image frame).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting unit and scheme disclosed by Zhu, such that the transmitting unit performs multiple captures of the scene, where each of the individual transmitters within one transmitter pixel is sequentially activated for the captures, as taught by Simpson’s transmission and detection scheme. This could be achieved by ensuring that each of the individual transmitters in each pixel, taught by Zhu, can be individually controlled in order to implement to detection scheme taught by Simpson. Spacing between active emitters and the firing pattern can be determined to provide thermal management and improve heat dissipation during operation, and with the implementation of Simpson’s cyclical transmission scheme, only one of the transmitters per ‘pixel’ would be active at once (Zhu, Col. 18, lines 12-18). See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale G.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15: Zhu, in view of Simpson, teaches the detection device according to claim 1 as well as the detection method according to claim 11. Zhu further discloses wherein the light emitting module comprises a plurality of emitting units (Col. 17, lines 1-11 and Fig. 5, there are many VCSELs in the emitter array), the light receiving module comprises a plurality of receiving units (Fig. 6, the detector array 600 has a 6 x 6 array of pixels where there is one SPAD per pixel), and at least two of the emitting units correspond to one of the receiving units in the light receiving module (Figs. 5 and 6, each pixel of the transmitter array has 4 VCSELs, and each pixel of the emitter array is directly mapped to each pixel of the detector array. For example, the top left pixel in the transmitter array of Fig. 5 has four VCSELs shaded in, and this top left pixel corresponds to the top left pixel in the detector array of Fig. 6, which is shaded in and has only one SPAD).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16: Zhu, in view of Simpson, teaches the detection device according to claim 5 as well as the detection method according to claim 15. Zhu further discloses wherein at least two of the emitting units correspond to a same receiving unit in the light receiving module so that the reflected light information of the emitted light of the at least two of the emitting units that is reflected form the detected target is received by the same receiving unit (Figs. 5 and 6, each pixel of the transmitter array has 4 VCSELs, and each pixel of the emitter array is directly mapped to each pixel of the detector array. For example, the top left pixel in the transmitter array of Fig. 5 has four VCSELs shaded in, and this top left pixel corresponds to the top left pixel in the detector array of Fig. 6, which is shaded in and has only one SPAD).
In this combination, which includes the cyclical emission and detection times as taught by Simpson, Simpson further teaches that at least two of the emitting units correspond to a same receiving unit in the light receiving module at different times so that the reflected light information of the emitted light of the at least two of the emitting units that is reflected form the detected target is received by the same receiving unit ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, there are N time intervals 230_T(i), from i=1 to i=N. In each of these time intervals, one transmitter element 202_i emits a transmit pulse 204_(i), and this is sequentially repeated N times for the N transmitter elements. Furthermore, in each of the time intervals 230_T(i), all of the receiver elements are active, represented by the all of the boxes being patterned).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17: Zhu, in view of Simpson, teaches the detection device according to claim 5 as well as the detection method according to claim 17. Zhu further discloses wherein the number of emitting units is greater than the number of receiving units (Fig. 5, the transmitter array has 36 x 4 VCSELs and Fig. 6, the detector array has 36 x 1 SPADs).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19: Zhu, in view of Simpson, teaches the detection device according to claim 1 and the detection method according to claim 11. In this combination, Zhu further discloses that the processing module is further configured to: determine the emitting order of the M emitting regions, and transmit the emitting order to the light emitting module and the light receiving module (Col. 18, lines 26-28, “a firing pattern of the emitting module may be generated” and Col. 17 lines 36-44, controller 330 generates a firing pattern which is executed through the use of the driver circuits. Col. 9 lines 19-22, the detectors in the array can be controlled by the control unit to receive light in accordance with the emission scheme).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20: Zhu, in view of Simpson, teaches the detection device according to claim 1 as well as the detection method according to claim 11. In this combination, Simpson further teaches that the processing module is configured to determine the emitting order of the M emitting regions according to a preset number sequence, a randomly generated sequence, or a sequence generated by suing different function relation formulas (Figs. 2, 4, and 5 and [0048] – [0059] describing the generation of the pulse sequences).
Claims 3, 8, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 10983197 B1), in view of Simpson (US 20210353251 A1), further in view of Kirillov (US 20200025929 A1).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13: Zhu, in view of Simpson, teaches the detection device according to claim 1, as well as the detection method according to claim 11. Zhu further discloses that the light emitting module comprises at least one emitting array (Fig. 5) and the light receiving module comprises at least one receiving array (Fig. 6).
They do not expressly teach that the number of columns of the emitting array is M and that the number of rows of the receiving array is N.
Kirillov teaches a similar imaging system where the number of emitting regions is M, and the number of columns of the emitting array is M (Fig. 1A and [0030] M=1 columns); and the light receiving module has N receiving regions and that the number of rows of the receiving array is N (Fig. 1A, 1D photodetector with N pixels making 1 column and N rows).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device taught by Zhu and Simpson, such that the M light emitting regions are M columns of the emitting array, and the N light receiving regions are N rows of the receiving array, as taught by Kirillov. Selecting how to organize the M emitting regions and N receiving regions is a predictable design modification that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to arrive at based on optimizing their particular system to meet certain design incentives or other market forces (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18: Zhu, in view of Simpson and Kirillov, teaches the detection device according to claim 3 and the detection method according to claim 13. In this combination, Simpson further teaches that at least one of the emitting regions corresponds to the N receiving regions in the light receiving module at a same time, and the processing module acquires the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x M by correspondence at different times (Fig. 2, at each of the detection intervals, at least one of the emitting regions corresponds to all the N receiving regions and [0038] N set of scan lines may be summed to form an image frame).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 10983197 B1), in view of Simpson (US 20210353251 A1), further in view of Kudla (US 20200386876 A1). Zhu, in view of Simpson, teaches the detection device according to claim 1, as well as the detection method according to claim 11. Zhu further discloses that the light emitting module comprises at least one emitting array (Fig. 5) and the light receiving module comprises at least one receiving array (Fig. 6).
They do not expressly teach that the number of rows of the emitting array is M and that the number of columns of the receiving array is N.
However, Kudla discloses a similar detection device with a transmitter array (Figs. 1A and 1B, LIDAR scanning system 100a and 100b, with illumination unit 10) that scans the field of view in scanning lines (Fig. 1A, vertical scanning line; Fig. 1B, horizontal scanning line). The emitting array has M rows (Fig. 1B, M=3 rows), and the number of columns of the receiving array is N (Fig. 1B, there are N columns).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device taught by Zhu and Simpson, such that the M light emitting regions are M rows of the emitting array, and the N light receiving regions are N columns of the receiving array, as taught by Kudla. Selecting how to organize the M emitting regions and N receiving regions is a predictable design modification that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to arrive at based on optimizing their particular system to meet certain design incentives or other market forces (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645