DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 9/27/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98 and have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-11, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirillov (US 20200025929 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Kirillov discloses a detection device, comprising: a light emitting module, a processing module, and a light receiving module (Fig. 1A, LIDAR scanning system 100 with illumination unit 10 and 1D photodetector array 17; Fig. 1B processing and control unit 18), the light emitting module having M emitting regions ([0030] and Fig. 1A, The light sources in the illumination unit 10 are arranged vertically to form a vertical scanning line, and illumination unit 10 has one column, making one emitting region) the light receiving module having N receiving regions, M and N each being an integer greater than 0 (Fig. 1A, linear photodetector array 17 has many pixels, each of the pixels being a receiving region. Here, M is 1, and N is the number of pixels in the linear detector array), wherein
the light emitting module is configured to output M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions (Fig. 1A, the illumination unit 10 outputs one channel, or vertical scanning line);
the light receiving module is configured to: receive, by the N receiving regions, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by them emitting regions that is reflected from a detected target (Fig. 1A and [0043] the photodetector array 17 receives the reflected light pulses, and from the transmission and detection times, distance is determined), and transmit the reflected light information and receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information to the processing module ([0018] and Fig. 1B, time of flight information is collected by photodiode array 17a and readout circuit 17b, and then time of flight processing is performed by processing and control unit 18); and
the processing module is configured to generate an emitting order so that the emitting regions output the emitted light in accordance with the emitting order ([0055] Processing and control unit 18 generates control signals for driving the illumination unit 10 and transmission timings of the light pulses, and coinciding them with a desired transmission direction according to the tilt of the MEMS mirror 12) wherein the light receiving module receives the reflected light information in accordance with the emitting order ([0056] the processing and control unit 18 also controls the mirrors in the digital micromirror device 15 in synchronization with the scanning position of the MEMS mirror; [0059] the processing and control unit also includes an ADC and FPGA for recording time of flight), and the processing module is further configured to acquire, in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, a distance image with an image resolution that is not lower than the number N of the receiving regions and that does not exceed N x M obtained by multiplying the number of the receiving regions and the number of the emitting regions ([0050] image resolution for each capture is limited to a vertical dimension of the APD array. Since there is M = 1 emitting regions, and N receiving pixels, the image resolution for each capture is limited to N).
Regarding Claim 3: Kirillov discloses the detection device according to claim 1. Kirillov further discloses wherein the light emitting module comprises at least one emitting array, and the number of columns of the emitting array is M (Fig. 1A and [0030] the light sources in the illumination unit 10 are arranged to form a vertical scanning line, making M = 1 columns); and the light receiving module comprises at least one receiving array and the number of rows of the receiving array is N (Fig. 1A, the 1D photodetector array is also vertical, with N pixels, making one column and N rows).
Regarding Claim 8: Kirillov discloses the detection device according to claim 3. Kirillov further discloses wherein at least one of the emitting regions corresponds to the N receiving regions in the light receiving module at a same time (Fig. 1A, the light emitting module has M = 1 emitting regions, and the receiver is a linear receiver with N pixels, so the emitting region corresponds to the N receiving regions at a same time during one capture), and the processing module acquires the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x M correspondence at different times ([0050] image resolution for each capture is limited to a vertical dimension of the APD array. Since there is M = 1 emitting regions, and N receiving pixels, the image resolution for each capture is limited to N; [0057] and Fig. 1A, for each tilt angle of the MEMS mirror 12, a measurement is taken with the bar of light that makes the vertical scanning line. Since this is repeated for a scan cycle, the distance image is acquired at multiple different times).
Regarding Claim 9: Kirillov discloses the detection device according to claim 1. Kirillov further discloses wherein the processing module is further configured to: determine the emitting order of the M emitting regions and transmit the emitting order to the light emitting module and the light receiving module ([0055] processing and control unit 18 generates control signals for driving and controlling transmission timings of the light pulses; [0056-0059] the processing and control unit also controls the digital micromirror device’s pixels of the DMD 15, such that each scanning line is directed to the photodetector array for detection).
Regarding Claim 10: Kirillov discloses the detection device according to claim 1. Kirillov further discloses wherein the processing module is configured to determine the emitting order of the M emitting regions according to a preset number sequence, a randomly generated sequence or a sequence generated by using different function relation formulas ([0055] processing and control unit 18 generates control signals for driving and controlling transmission timings of the light pulses; [0072] the illumination unit 10 operates at a pulse emission frequency (e.g., 100 pulses per second) such that it shoots light pulses at emission intervals based on the pulse emission frequency).
Regarding Claim 11: Kirillov discloses a detection method, applied to the detection device according to claim 1. Kirillov further discloses the detection method comprising:
generating the emitting order ([0055] processing and control unit 18 generates control signals for driving and controlling transmission timings of the light pulses; [0072] the illumination unit 10 operates at a pulse emission frequency (e.g., 100 pulses per second) such that it shoots light pulses at emission intervals based on the pulse emission frequency);
outputting, in accordance with the emitting order, M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions (Fig. 1A and [0059] the illumination unit 10 emits a bar of light, creating a vertical scanning line, or one channel);
receiving, in accordance with the emitting order, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from the detected target (Figs. 1A and 1B and [0059] the bar of light is directed by the DMD 15 towards the photodetector array 17, where time of flight is recorded; [0057] the DMD pixels and the photodetectors are activated such that the receiving light is directed to the photodetector pixels in order to receive the reflected light);
acquiring, in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, the distance image with an image resolution that is not lower than the number N of the receiving regions and that does not exceed N x M obtained by multiplying the number of the receiving regions and the number of the emitting regions ([0050] image resolution for each capture is limited to a vertical dimension of the APD array. Since there is M = 1 emitting regions, and N receiving pixels, the image resolution for each capture is limited to N).
Regarding Claim 13: Kirillov discloses the detection method according to claim 11. Kirillov further discloses wherein the light emitting module comprises at least one emitting array, and the number of columns of the emitting array is M (Fig. 1A and [0030] the light sources in the illumination unit 10 are arranged to form a vertical scanning line, making M = 1 columns); and
the light receiving module comprises at least one receiving array, and the number of rows of the receiving array is N (Fig. 1A, the 1D photodetector array is also vertical, with N pixels, making one column and N rows).
Regarding Claim 18: Kirillov discloses the detection method according to claim 13. Kirillov further discloses wherein at least one of the emitting regions corresponds to the N receiving regions in the light receiving module at a same time (Fig. 1A, the light emitting module has M = 1 emitting regions, and the receiver is a linear receiver with N pixels, so the emitting region corresponds to the N receiving regions at a same time during one capture), and the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x M is acquired by correspondence at different times ([0050] image resolution for each capture is limited to a vertical dimension of the APD array. Since there is M = 1 emitting regions, and N receiving pixels, the image resolution for each capture is limited to N; [0057] and Fig. 1A, for each tilt angle of the MEMS mirror 12, a measurement is taken with the bar of light that makes the vertical scanning line. Since this is repeated for a scan cycle, the distance image is acquired at multiple different times).
Regarding Claim 19: Kirillov discloses the detection method according to claim 11. Kirillov further discloses further comprising: determining the emitting order of the M emitting regions, and transmitting the emitting order to the light emitting module and the light receiving module ([0055] processing and control unit 18 generates control signals for driving and controlling transmission timings of the light pulses; [0056-0059] the processing and control unit also controls the digital micromirror device’s pixels of the DMD 15, such that each scanning line is directed to the photodetector array for detection).
Regarding Claim 20: Kirillov discloses the detection method according to claim 11. Kirillov further discloses wherein the generating the emitting order comprises: determining the emitting order of the M emitting regions according to a preset number sequence, a randomly generated sequence, or a sequence generated by using different functional relation formulas ([0055] processing and control unit 18 generates control signals for driving and controlling transmission timings of the light pulses; [0072] the illumination unit 10 operates at a pulse emission frequency (e.g., 100 pulses per second) such that it shoots light pulses at emission intervals based on the pulse emission frequency).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu (US 10983197 B1).
Regarding Claim 1: Zhu discloses a detection device (Fig. 1, lidar system 100), comprising: a light emitting module, a processing module, and a light receiving module (Fig. 1, light emitting module 110, light detecting module 120, and control unit 130), the light emitting module having M emitting regions (Fig. 5, there are 36 pixels in the transmitter array), the light receiving module having N receiving regions (Fig. 6, there are 36 receiver pixels in the array, labeled 601), M and N being each an integer greater than 0 (Figs. 5 and 6, there are 36 pixels, or ‘regions’ in both the transmitter and receiver array), wherein
the light emitting module is configured to output M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions (Col. 17, lines 25-44, each of the pixels are individually controllable by the row and column signals by the driver circuits 310-1 and 310-2);
the light receiving module is configured to: receive, by the N receiving regions, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from a detected target, and transmit the reflected light information and receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information to the processing module (Col. 19, lines 26-37, detector array has individually addressable and controllable photosensors, which detect received light and output signals to a processing circuit 610 to generate a pixel value and for further signal processing in order to determine a distance measurement; Fig. 6); and
the processing module is configured to generate an emitting order so that the emitting regions output the emitted light in accordance with the emitting order (Col. 17 lines 36-44, controller 330 generates a firing pattern which is executed through the use of the driver circuits) wherein the light receiving module receives the reflected light information in accordance with the emitting order (Col. 19, lines 13-16, “A sensing pattern for the detecting module may be generated based on a pre-determined mapping relationship between the emitter array and the detector array, and one or more real-time conditions”), and the processing module is further configured to acquire, in accordance with the emitting order (Col. 19, lines 13-25, the output signals are given to a processing circuit that generates a distance measurement), the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, a distance image with an image resolution that is not lower than the number N of the receiving regions and that does not exceed N x M obtained by multiplying the number of the receiving regions and the number of the emitting regions (Col. 19 lines 34-40, each pixel 601, 603, 605, generates an output signal, and each pixel of the detector array corresponds to one pixel of resolution in a ranging measurement. This means, in this system, the image resolution is equal to N).
Regarding Claim 5: Zhu discloses the detection device according to claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein the light emitting module comprises a plurality of emitting units (Col. 17, lines 1-11 and Fig. 5, there are many VCSELs in the emitter array), the light receiving module comprises a plurality of receiving units (Fig. 6, the detector array 600 has a 6 x 6 array of pixels where there is one SPAD per pixel), and at least two of the emitting units correspond to one of the receiving units in the light receiving module (Figs. 5 and 6, each pixel of the transmitter array has 4 VCSELs, and each pixel of the emitter array is directly mapped to each pixel of the detector array. For example, the top left pixel in the transmitter array of Fig. 5 has four VCSELs shaded in, and this top left pixel corresponds to the top left pixel in the detector array of Fig. 6, which is shaded in and has only one SPAD).
Regarding Claim 7: Zhu discloses the detection device according to claim 5. Zhu further discloses wherein the number of emitting units is greater than the number of receiving units (Fig. 5, the transmitter array has 36 x 4 VCSELs and Fig. 6, the detector array has 36 x 1 SPADs).
Regarding Claim 11: Zhu discloses a detection method, applied to the detection device according to claim 1. Zhu further discloses the detection method comprising:
generating an emitting order (Col. 18, lines 26-28, “a firing pattern of the emitting module may be generated”);
outputting, in accordance with the emitting order, M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions (Col. 17 lines 36-44, controller 330 generates a firing pattern which is executed through the use of the driver circuits);
receiving, in accordance with the emitting order, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from the detected target (Col. 19, lines 13-25, the detecting module activates SPADS for measurement based on the mapped relationship between the emitter array and detector array);
acquiring, in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, the distance image with an image resolution that is not lower than the number N of the receiving regions and that does not exceed N x M obtained by multiplying the number of the receiving regions and the number of the emitting regions (Col. 19, lines 13-25, “A sensing pattern for the detecting module may be generated based on a pre-determined mapping relationship between the emitter array and the detector array, and one or more real-time conditions” and the output signals are given to a processing circuit that generates a distance measurement; Col. 19 lines 34-40, each pixel 601, 603, 605, generates an output signal, and each pixel of the detector array corresponds to one pixel of resolution in a ranging measurement. This means, in this system, the image resolution is equal to N).
Regarding Claim 15: Zhu discloses the detection method according to claim 11. Zhu further discloses wherein the light emitting module comprises a plurality of emitting units (Col. 17, lines 1-11 and Fig. 5, there are many VCSELs in the emitter array), the light receiving module comprises a plurality of receiving units (Fig. 6, the detector array 600 has a 6 x 6 array of pixels where there is one SPAD per pixel), and at least two of the emitting units correspond to one of the receiving units in the light receiving module (Figs. 5 and 6, each pixel of the transmitter array has 4 VCSELs, and each pixel of the emitter array is directly mapped to each pixel of the detector array. For example, the top left pixel in the transmitter array of Fig. 5 has four VCSELs shaded in, and this top left pixel corresponds to the top left pixel in the detector array of Fig. 6, which is shaded in and has only one SPAD).
Regarding Claim 17: Zhu discloses the detection method according to claim 15. Zhu further discloses wherein the number of emitting units is greater than the number of receiving units (Fig. 5, the transmitter array has 36 x 4 VCSELs and Fig. 6, the detector array has 36 x 1 SPADs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 10983197 B1), in view of Hope Simpson (US 20210353251 A1).
Regarding Claim 2: Zhu discloses the detection device according to claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein each of the emitting regions comprises K sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprises at least one emitting unit (Fig. 5, where each pixel has four VCSELs; Col. 17, lines3-4), M is equal to N, and K is an integer greater than 0 (Figs. 5 and 6, there are 36 pixels that are directly mapped to each other in both the emitter and receiver array; Fig. 5, there are four sub emitting regions per pixel, and four is greater than zero), and wherein the emitting unit outputs M x K channels of emitted light by M x K sub emitting regions (Fig. 5, there are 36 x 4 VCSELs in this array that can emit light; Col. 17, lines 25-27, column and row signals can individually address the VCSELs);
the light receiving module is further configured to transmit the reflected light information and receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information to the processing module (Col. 19, lines 13-25, “A sensing pattern for the detecting module may be generated based on a pre-determined mapping relationship between the emitter array and the detector array, and one or more real-time conditions” and the output signals are given to a processing circuit that generates a distance measurement); and
the processing module is configured to acquire the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x K in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information, and the receiving time, corresponding to the reflected light information (Col. 19, lines 34-40, each pixel of the detector array corresponds to one pixel of resolution in a ranging measurement. This means, in this system, the image resolution is equal to N).
Zhu does not disclose: the light emitting module is configured to: cyclically perform the emitting for K times in accordance with the emitting order of the emitting units to sequentially output M x K channels of emitted light emitted by M x K sub emitting regions; the light receiving module is further configured to: cyclically perform, by the N receiving regions, the receiving for K times to receive M x K channels of reflected light information of the emitted light reflected from the detected target.
However, Hope Simpson teaches an imaging system (Fig. 1, imaging system 100) with a light emitting module, processing module, and light receiving module (Fig. 1, host 130; Fig. 2, transducer 112 and receive configuration 220), where there are M light emitting regions comprising K sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprising at least one emitting unit (Fig. 2, the transducer 112 has individual transmitter elements 202, where the active transmitter element emits a transmit pulse 204);
the light emitting module is configured to cyclically perform the emitting for K times in accordance with the emitting order of the emitting units to sequentially output M x K channels of emitted light emitted by M x K sub emitting regions ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, there are N time intervals 230_T(i), from i=1 to i=N. In each of these time intervals, one transmitter element 202_i emits a transmit pulse 204_(i), and this is sequentially repeated N times for the N transmitter elements);
the light receiving module is further configured to: cyclically perform, by the N receiving regions, the receiving for K times to receive M x K channels of reflected light information of the emitted light reflected from the detected target ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, in each of the time intervals 230_T(i), all of the receiver elements are active, represented by the all of the boxes being patterned in each of the time intervals),
the processing module is configured to acquire the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x K in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information, and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information ([0038] N set of scan lines may be summed to form an image frame).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting unit and scheme disclosed by Zhu, such that the transmitting unit performs multiple captures of the scene, where each of the individual transmitters within one transmitter pixel is sequentially activated for the captures, as taught by the Hope Simpson’s transmission and detection scheme. This could be achieved by ensuring that each of the individual transmitters in each pixel, taught by Zhu, can be individually controlled in order to implement to detection scheme taught by Hope Simpson. Spacing between active emitters and the firing pattern can be determined to provide thermal management and improve heat dissipation during operation, and with the implementation of Hope Simpson’s cyclical transmission scheme, only one of the transmitters per ‘pixel’ would be active at once (Zhu, Col. 18, lines 12-18). See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale G.
Regarding Claim 6: Zhu discloses the detection device according to claim 5. Zhu further discloses wherein at least two of the emitting units correspond to a same receiving unit in the light receiving module so that the reflected light information of the emitted light of the at least two of the emitting units that is reflected form the detected target is received by the same receiving unit (Figs. 5 and 6, each pixel of the transmitter array has 4 VCSELs, and each pixel of the emitter array is directly mapped to each pixel of the detector array. For example, the top left pixel in the transmitter array of Fig. 5 has four VCSELs shaded in, and this top left pixel corresponds to the top left pixel in the detector array of Fig. 6, which is shaded in and has only one SPAD).
Zhu does not disclose that the at least two emitting units correspond to a same receiving unit at different times.
Hope Simpson teaches an imaging system (Fig. 1, imaging system 100) with a light emitting module, processing module, and light receiving module (Fig. 1, host 130; Fig. 2, transducer 112 and receive configuration 220), where there are M light emitting regions comprising individual sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprising at least one emitting unit (Fig. 2, the transducer 112 has individual transmitter elements 202, where the active transmitter element emits a transmit pulse 204);
wherein at least two of the emitting units correspond to a same receiving unit in the light receiving module at different times so that the reflected light information of the emitted light of the at least two of the emitting units that is reflected form the detected target is received by the same receiving unit ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, there are N time intervals 230_T(i), from i=1 to i=N. In each of these time intervals, one transmitter element 202_i emits a transmit pulse 204_(i), and this is sequentially repeated N times for the N transmitter elements. Furthermore, in each of the time intervals 230_T(i), all of the receiver elements are active, represented by the all of the boxes being patterned).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting unit and scheme disclosed by Zhu, such that the transmitting unit performs multiple captures of the scene, where each of the individual transmitters within one transmitter pixel is sequentially activated for the captures, as taught by the Hope Simpson’s transmission and detection scheme. This could be achieved by ensuring that each of the individual transmitters in each pixel, taught by Zhu, can be individually controlled in order to implement to detection scheme taught by Hope Simpson. Spacing between active emitters and the firing pattern can be determined to provide thermal management and improve heat dissipation during operation, and with the implementation of Hope Simpson’s cyclical transmission scheme, only one of the transmitters per ‘pixel’ would be active at once (Zhu, Col. 18, lines 12-18). See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale G.
Regarding Claim 12: Zhu discloses the detection method according to claim 11. Zhu further discloses wherein each of the emitting regions comprises K sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprises at least one emitting unit (Fig. 5, where each pixel has four VCSELs; Col. 17, lines3-4), M is equal to N, and K is an integer greater than 0 (Figs. 5 and 6, there are 36 pixels that are directly mapped to each other in both the emitter and receiver array; Fig. 5, there are four sub emitting regions per pixel, and four is greater than zero), and wherein
the acquiring, in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information, the distance image with an image resolution that is not lower than the number N of the receiving regions and that does not exceed N x M obtained by multiplying the umber of the receiving regions and the number of the emitting regions comprises: acquiring the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x K in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information (Col. 19, lines 13-25, “A sensing pattern for the detecting module may be generated based on a pre-determined mapping relationship between the emitter array and the detector array, and one or more real-time conditions” and the output signals are given to a processing circuit that generates a distance measurement; Col. 19, lines 34-40, each pixel of the detector array corresponds to one pixel of resolution in a ranging measurement. This means, in this system, the image resolution is equal to N).
However Zhu does not disclose: the outputting, in accordance with the emitting order, M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions comprises: cyclically performing the emitting for K times in accordance with the emitting order of the emitting units to sequentially output M x K channels of emitted light by M x K sub emitting regions; or the receiving, in accordance with the emitting order, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from the detected target comprises: cyclically performing, by the N receiving regions, the receiving for K times, to receive M x K channels of reflected light information of the emitted light reflected from the detected target.
However, Hope Simpson teaches an imaging system (Fig. 1, imaging system 100) with a light emitting module, processing module, and light receiving module (Fig. 1, host 130; Fig. 2, transducer 112 and receive configuration 220), where there are M light emitting regions comprising K sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprising at least one emitting unit (Fig. 2, the transducer 112 has individual transmitter elements 202, where the active transmitter element emits a transmit pulse 204);
the outputting, in accordance with the emitting order, M channels of emitted light by the M emitting regions comprises: cyclically performing the emitting for K times in accordance with the emitting order of the emitting units to sequentially output M x K channels of emitted light by M x K sub emitting regions ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, there are N time intervals 230_T(i), from i=1 to i=N. In each of these time intervals, one transmitter element 202_i emits a transmit pulse 204_(i), and this is sequentially repeated N times for the N transmitter elements);
the receiving, in accordance with the emitting order, reflected light information of the emitted light emitted by the M emitting regions that is reflected from the detected target comprises: cyclically performing, by the N receiving regions, the receiving for K times, to receive M x K channels of reflected light information of the emitted light reflected from the detected target ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, in each of the time intervals 230_T(i), all of the receiver elements are active, represented by the all of the boxes being patterned in each of the time intervals);
and acquiring the distance image with an image resolution not exceeding N x K in accordance with the emitting order, the reflected light information, and the receiving time corresponding to the reflected light information ([0038] N set of scan lines may be summed to form an image frame).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting unit and scheme disclosed by Zhu, such that the transmitting unit performs multiple captures of the scene, where each of the individual transmitters within one transmitter pixel is sequentially activated for the captures, as taught by the Hope Simpson’s transmission and detection scheme. This could be achieved by ensuring that each of the individual transmitters in each pixel, taught by Zhu, can be individually controlled in order to implement to detection scheme taught by Hope Simpson. Spacing between active emitters and the firing pattern can be determined to provide thermal management and improve heat dissipation during operation, and with the implementation of Hope Simpson’s cyclical transmission scheme, only one of the transmitters per ‘pixel’ would be active at once (Zhu, Col. 18, lines 12-18). See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale G.
Regarding Claim 16: Zhu discloses the detection method according to claim 15. Zhu further discloses wherein at least two of the emitting units correspond to a same receiving unit in the light receiving module so that the reflected light information of the emitted light of the at least two of the emitting units that is reflected form the detected target is received by the same receiving unit (Figs. 5 and 6, each pixel of the transmitter array has 4 VCSELs, and each pixel of the emitter array is directly mapped to each pixel of the detector array. For example, the top left pixel in the transmitter array of Fig. 5 has four VCSELs shaded in, and this top left pixel corresponds to the top left pixel in the detector array of Fig. 6, which is shaded in and has only one SPAD).
Zhu does not disclose that the at least two emitting units correspond to a same receiving unit at different times.
Hope Simpson teaches an imaging system (Fig. 1, imaging system 100) with a light emitting module, processing module, and light receiving module (Fig. 1, host 130; Fig. 2, transducer 112 and receive configuration 220), where there are M light emitting regions comprising individual sub emitting regions, each of the sub emitting regions comprising at least one emitting unit (Fig. 2, the transducer 112 has individual transmitter elements 202, where the active transmitter element emits a transmit pulse 204);
wherein at least two of the emitting units correspond to a same receiving unit in the light receiving module at different times so that the reflected light information of the emitted light of the at least two of the emitting units that is reflected form the detected target is received by the same receiving unit ([0035-0038] and Fig. 2, there are N time intervals 230_T(i), from i=1 to i=N. In each of these time intervals, one transmitter element 202_i emits a transmit pulse 204_(i), and this is sequentially repeated N times for the N transmitter elements. Furthermore, in each of the time intervals 230_T(i), all of the receiver elements are active, represented by the all of the boxes being patterned).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting unit and scheme disclosed by Zhu, such that the transmitting unit performs multiple captures of the scene, where each of the individual transmitters within one transmitter pixel is sequentially activated for the captures, as taught by the Hope Simpson’s transmission and detection scheme. This could be achieved by ensuring that each of the individual transmitters in each pixel, taught by Zhu, can be individually controlled in order to implement to detection scheme taught by Hope Simpson. Spacing between active emitters and the firing pattern can be determined to provide thermal management and improve heat dissipation during operation, and with the implementation of Hope Simpson’s cyclical transmission scheme, only one of the transmitters per ‘pixel’ would be active at once (Zhu, Col. 18, lines 12-18). See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale G.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirillov (US 20200025929 A1) in view of Kudla (US 20200386876 A1).
Regarding Claim 4: Kirillov discloses the detection device according to claim 1. Kirillov further discloses the light emitting module comprises at least one emitting array and the light receiving module comprises at least one receiving array (Fig. 1A, photodetector array 17, that is linear and vertically arranged, and [0030] the light sources of the illumination unit are arranged vertically forming a linear array).
Kirillov does not disclose that the number of rows of the emitting array is M and the number of columns if the receiving array is N.
However, Kudla discloses a similar detection device with a linear transmitter array (Figs. 1A and 1B, LIDAR scanning system 100a and 100b, with illumination unit 10) that scans the field of view in scanning lines (Fig. 1A, vertical scanning line; Fig. 1B, horizontal scanning line). Figs. 1A and 1B illustrate two variants of the same LIDAR scanning system 100, where system 100a has vertical scanning lines and scans horizontally, similar to the device disclosed by Kirillov. System 100b has horizontal scanning lines and scans vertically, and can perform the same functions as system 100a ([0064] and [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detection device disclosed by Kirillov, such that it is rotated 90 degrees and scans vertically, with horizontal scanning lines, as taught by variations in the lidar scanning system taught by Kudla. Since this is a 90 degree rotation, the vertical linear transmitter array, which has M columns becomes a horizontal linear transmitter array with M rows. Similarly, the vertical photodetector array with N pixels forming N rows becomes a horizontal linear photodetector array with N pixels forming N columns. Adopting this simple variation in design taught by Kudla would be obvious because Kudla already presents that these LIDAR systems are essentially the same, with the only difference being that the scanning direction and lines are rotated horizontally (Kudla, [0059] and [0064]). Known work in the field of lidar technology would prompt this variation in design based on design incentive or other market forces, and these variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, as taught by Kudla. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F.
Regarding Claim 14: Kirillov discloses the detection method according to claim 11. Kirillov further discloses the light emitting module comprises at least one emitting array and the light receiving module comprises at least one receiving array (Fig. 1A, photodetector array 17, that is linear and vertically arranged, and [0030] the light sources of the illumination unit are arranged vertically forming a linear array).
Kirillov does not disclose that the number of rows of the emitting array is M and the number of columns if the receiving array is N.
However, Kudla discloses a similar detection device with a linear transmitter array (Figs. 1A and 1B, LIDAR scanning system 100a and 100b, with illumination unit 10) that scans the field of view in scanning lines (Fig. 1A, vertical scanning line; Fig. 1B, horizontal scanning line). Figs. 1A and 1B illustrate two variants of the same LIDAR scanning system 100, where system 100a has vertical scanning lines and scans horizontally, similar to the device disclosed by Kirillov. System 100b has horizontal scanning lines and scans vertically, and can perform the same functions as system 100a ([0064] and [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detection device disclosed by Kirillov, such that it is rotated 90 degrees and scans vertically, with horizontal scanning lines, as taught by variations in the lidar scanning system taught by Kudla. Since this is a 90 degree rotation, the vertical linear transmitter array, which has M columns becomes a horizontal linear transmitter array with M rows. Similarly, the vertical photodetector array with N pixels forming N rows becomes a horizontal linear photodetector array with N pixels forming N columns. Adopting this simple variation in design taught by Kudla would be obvious because Kudla already presents that these LIDAR systems are essentially the same, with the only difference being that the scanning direction and lines are rotated horizontally (Kudla, [0059] and [0064]). Known work in the field of lidar technology would prompt this variation in design based on design incentive or other market forces, and these variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, as taught by Kudla. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F.
Conclusion
/ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645