DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment
Applicant is respectfully reminded of the proper manner of making amendments to the claims in future correspondence. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived (See 37 CFR 1.121(C)(2)). Examiner notes that at least some of the claim amendments were improperly indicated by Applicant in the response. As a courtesy to Applicant and in an effort to promote compact prosecution, the claim amendments have been entered and considered despite use of improper notation. Applicant is advised that any future correspondence having improperly indicated amendments will be met with a Notice of Non-Compliant Amendment.
Status of the Claims
As directed by the amendment received on April 16, 2026, claims 1-2, 5, 7, 10-13, 15-16, 20, 22-24, 26, 29, 31-32, 34, 37, and 39 have been amended. Claims 3-4, 6, 8-9, 14, 17, 19, 21, 25, 27-28, 30, 33, 35-36, and 38 have been canceled. Claims 40-46 are new. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 5, 7, 10-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 22-24, 26, 29, 31-32, 34, 37, and 39-46 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on April 16, 2026, have been considered and an action on the merits follows. Any objections and rejections previously put forth in the Office Action dated November 4, 2025, are hereby withdrawn unless specifically noted below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At line 7, “which begins” should be removed
At line 7, “a top edge” should read “a top edge of the tubular construction”
At line 8, “which ends” should be removed
At line 8, “a bottom edge” should read “a bottom edge of the tubular construction”
At line 10, “the entirety” should read “an entirety”
At line 20, “the top edge” should read “the top edge of the tubular construction”
At line 29, “is in use” should read “is worn”
At line 25, “is in use” should read “is worn”
At line 29, “a user’s” should read “the user’s”
Claim 2 is objected to because at line 3, “the upper circumference” should read “an upper circumference”.
Claim 5 is objected to because at line 3, “lease” should read “lease”.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At line 3, “”allowing” should read “configured to allow”
At line 4, the period after “contained” should be removed
At line 5, “the environment” should read “an environment”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 10-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 22-24, 26, 29, 31-32, 34, 37, and 39-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the front filter section” at lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the at least one front filter section” to agree with the previously introduced term or otherwise be brought into agreement. This limitation should similarly be brought into agreement throughout the remainder of the claim and the dependent claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “the upper edge” at line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the top edge”. This limitation should similarly be brought into agreement throughout the remainder of the claim and the dependent claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “the upper portion” at line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the upper tubular portion”. This limitation should similarly be brought into agreement throughout the remainder of the claim and the dependent claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “the mask” at line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the face-gaiter mask”. This limitation should similarly be brought into agreement throughout the remainder of the claim and the dependent claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “the lower portion” at line 27. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the lower tubular portion”. This limitation should similarly be brought into agreement throughout the remainder of the claim and the dependent claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the single contoured insert” at line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the claim directed to seemingly previously canceled subject matter be canceled as well. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood when applying prior art.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the at least two layers” at line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the at least two fabric layers”. This limitation should similarly be brought into agreement throughout the remainder of the claim and the dependent claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the pockets” at line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the two upper pockets”. This limitation should similarly be brought into agreement throughout the remainder of the claim and the dependent claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the layers” at line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the at least two fabric layers”. This limitation should similarly be brought into agreement throughout the remainder of the claim and the dependent claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the least two layers” at line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, the limitation appears to contain typographical errors. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the at least two fabric layers”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “such that any pathogen […] is likely to pass through the outer layer and be held on the outer surface of filter layer” at lines 4-5. It is unclear what determines a likelihood of a hypothetical pathogen passing through the outer layer. It unclear which pathogen would be likely or unlikely to pass through. It is further unclear if Applicant is attempting to require some functional limitation or somehow claim a possibility. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. Clarification and correction is required. It is suggested that the limitation be removed from the claim or otherwise clarified. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood when applying prior art.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “wherein the rear section is made of impermeable fabric” at lines 1-2. It is unclear to what the fabric is meant to be impermeable and/or to what extent the impermeability is meant to be. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. Clarification and correction is required. It is suggested that the limitation be removed from the claim or otherwise clarified. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood when applying prior art.
Claim 39 recites the limitations “the draping fabric” and “the tapered fabric” at line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitations instead read “the lower tubular portion”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 41 recites the limitation “configured to conform through an additive or rapid manufacturing process” at lines 1-2. It is unclear how the recited processes related to the ability to conform without further description. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “configured to conform and to be made from an additive or rapid manufacturing process”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 44 recites the limitation “itself” at line 3. It is unclear to which structure the limitation is meant to refer. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation be removed from the claim. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claims 2, 5, 7, 10-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 22-24, 26, 29, 31-32, 34, 37, and 39-46 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
An effort has been made to identify all indefinite language with the pending claims. However, Examiner notes that the claims are replete with indefinite language, and the above listing of 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections may not be conclusive. Applicant is required to review every claim for compliance to 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) so as to facilitate a clear understanding of the claimed invention and proper application of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 10 and 41, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the single contoured insert” at line 2 after previously specifying in claim 7 that the nose seal includes two wedged inserts. Applicant also previously canceled the limitation directed to a single contoured insert in claim 7. Therefore, claim 10 no longer limits the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 41 is also rejected for being dependent on claim 10
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 10-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 22-24, 26, 29, 31-32, 34, 37, and 39-46, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an upper front center of the tubular construction to rest on a user’s nose, the lower tubular portion extending down so as to drape over the user’s neck” at lines 4-6. In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “an upper front center of the tubular construction configured to rest on a user’s nose, the lower tubular portion extending down and configured to drape over the user’s neck”.
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “wherein, the at least one front filter section is located in front of the user’s face” at line 13. In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “wherein, the at least one front filter section is configured to be located in front of the user’s face”.
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “wherein the nose detail rests upon and aligns with the user’s nasal bone” at line 26. In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “wherein the nose detail is configured to rest upon and align with the user’s nasal bone”.
Claim 32 recites the limitation “the upper edge of the rear section fitting snuggly against the user’s head” at lines 3-4. In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “the upper edge of the rear section is configured to fit snuggly against the user’s head”.
Claims 2, 5, 7, 10-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 22-24, 26, 29, 31-32, 34, 37, and 39-46 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 12-13, 16, 20, 22, 24, 29, 39-40, 42, 44, and 46, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202015009034U1 to Pro Feet Functional Wear GmbH (hereinafter, “Pro Feet”) in view of US 2016/0213959 to Barklow (hereinafter, “Barklow”).
Regarding claim 1, Pro Feet teaches a face-gaiter mask comprising: a tubular construction of fabric, the tubular construction including an upper tubular portion and a lower tubular portion (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4 and annotated Fig. 3 of Pro Feet below; face-gaiter mask (10) having tubular construction with upper and lower tubular portions; Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)), the upper tubular portion including an upper front center of the tubular construction to rest on a user's nose, the lower tubular portion extending down so as to drape over the user's neck (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4 and annotated Fig. 3 of Pro Feet below; upper portion has a front center at top of area (12) capable of resting on a hypothetical user’s nose; lower portion extends down and is capable of draping over a hypothetical user’s neck); wherein the tubular construction includes a top seal which begins at a top edge (See Pro Feet, Figs. 1-4; top edge (18) forms top seal capable of sealing to a hypothetical user to at least some extent), at least one front filter section, a rear section (See Pro Feet, Figs 1-4; first area (12), i.e., front filter section, positioned in front of rear section of cloth mask (10); Examiner notes that the term "section" is very broad and merely means "one of several components; a piece" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)) and a bottom seal which ends at a bottom edge (See Pro Feet, Figs. 1-4; bottom edge forms bottom seal capable of sealing to a hypothetical user to at least some extent), wherein an enclosed breathing volume is created between the top seal and the bottom seal throughout the entirety of the face-gaiter mask (See Pro Feet, Figs. 1-4; mask (10) forms enclosed breathing volume when worn between top and bottom seals throughout entirety of mask (10) wherein filter area (12) has increased filtering compared to the remainder of mask (10), i.e., both portions of the mask filter to some extent; [0006]), the front filter section having filter components in both the upper tubular portion and the lower tubular portion (See annotated Fig. 3 of Pro Feet below; filter area (12) extends between upper and lower tubular portions of mask (10)); wherein, the at least one front filter section is located in front of the user's face and is configured to cover an area of the enclosed breathing volume into which the user breathes directly (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; filter area (12) is capable of being located in front of a hypothetical user’s face to cover an area into which the hypothetical user breathes directly when worn); wherein the at least one front filter section includes at least two fabric layers (See Pro Feet, Fig. 4; filter area (12) includes layers (22, 24, 26)); wherein the top seal comprises a nose detail; wherein the nose detail defines a localized stiffener at the upper edge and a portion of an upper circumference of the upper portion, the nose detail facilitating correct alignment of the front filter section when the mask is in use (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; area of mask with nose clip (16) at top edge is capable of facilitating alignment of filter area (12) when mask is worn); wherein the nose detail rests upon and aligns with the user's nasal bone (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; area with nose clip (16) is capable of resting on and aligning with a hypothetical user’s nasal bone); and wherein the bottom seal is provided by the lower portion and the lower edge, such that a sealing fit is created between the lower portion and a user's upper torso or neck when the mask is in use (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; bottom seal at bottom edge of mask (10) is capable of providing at least some sealing between the mask and a hypothetical user’s upper torso or neck when worn).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Pro Feet
That said, Pro Feet is silent to wherein the nose detail extends from the top edge and extends at least part way into the front filter section.
However, Barklow, in a related mask art, is directed to a filtering face mask (See Barklow, Figs. 1-5; abstract). More specifically, Barklow teaches wherein the nose detail extends from the top edge and extends at least part way into the front filter section (See Barklow, Figs. 1-5; nose pad (112) extends from top edge to respiratory portion (122)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to use the nose pad structure of Barklow in the face mask of Pro Feet in order to provide a nose structure that is sized to form a sufficient seal at the nose of the wearer and/or for wearer comfort (See Barklow, [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the nose detail is a quadrilateral kite shaped detail, wherein the nose detail is configured to reduce the upper circumference of the upper portion of the face-gaiter mask and extends down from the upper edge of the face-gaiter mask (See Barklow, Figs. 1-5; nose pad (112) as applied above includes nose clip (110) and has a quadrilateral kite shape which is capable of tightening a fit, i.e., reducing an upper circumference of the protective garment (144); [0045]), wherein the nose detail includes upper and lower vertices, and a vertical diagonal of the quadrilateral kite-shaped detail, the nose detail is configured such that the upper and lower vertices and the vertical diagonal align with the user's nasal bone when the mask is in use (See Barklow, Figs. 1 and 4; nose pad (112) includes upper and lower vertices and vertical diagonal capable of aligning with a hypothetical user’s nasal bone).
Regarding claim 5, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the top seal further includes a nose seal proximate to an upper edge of the at lease one front filter section, wherein the nose seal creates a sealing fit between the mask and the user's face across the user's nose and alongside the user's nose when the mask is in use (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; nose clip (16) proximate top edge is capable of creating a sealing fit to at least some extent with a hypothetical user’s face and nose when mask is worn).
Regarding claim 12, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the at least one filter section includes an additional filter layer, the additional filter layer disposed in an upper portion of the at least one front filter section (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; filter layer (24) in upper portion).
Regarding claim 13, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 12 above) further teaches wherein the additional filter layer is attached to an inner layer of the at least two layers (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; layer (24) is attached at least indirectly to inner layer (26)).
Regarding claim 16, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 12 above) further teaches wherein the additional filter layer extends substantially a full width and a full length of the at least one front filter section (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; layer (24) extends substantially an full width and length of filter area (12)).
Regarding claim 20, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above) further teaches wherein the additional filter layer is made from one of: non-woven fabrics, fleece type knitted fabrics or tight knitted fleece fabrics, polyester, nylon, cellulose based yarns, fine gauge tight wools; non-woven fabrics made of very fine yarns such as cellulose, split polyester, split nylon and melt blown polypropylene (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; filter layer (24) can be made of cotton, i.e., a cellulose based yarn; [0014]).
Regarding claim 22, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the at least two fabric layers are the same fabric and the layers are created by folding a single sheet of fabric (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; layers (22, 26) can both be made from a polyester and elastane blend fabric; [0032]-[0034]; Examiner notes that the layers being “created by folding a single sheet of fabric” are both product-by-process limitations; the resulting structure of the prior art, i.e., the two layers, meets the structural requirements of the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 24, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the at least one front filter section of the face-gaiter mask includes an inner layer, an outer layer, and a filter layer disposed between the inner layer and the outer layer (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; filter area (12) includes layer (24) between layers (22, 26).
Regarding claim 29, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the rear section is joined along edges of the front filter section to form the tubular construction (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; front filter area (12) is joined at edges to remaining rear section of mask (10) to form tubular construction); and wherein the rear section is made of a flexible material, to enable the face-gaiter mask to be pulled over the user’s head (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; mask (10) including rear section is formed of cloth which is flexible, pliable, and capable of being pulled over a hypothetical user’s head).
Regarding claim 39, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the lower edge of the draping fabric is tapered, the tapered fabric creating a portion of the sealing fit.
However, Barklow further teaches wherein the lower edge of the draping fabric is tapered, the tapered fabric creating a portion of the sealing fit (See Barklow, Figs. 1-5; bottom edge (128) of tubular garment (144) is tapered and is capable of resting against a hypothetical user’s upper torso or clothing to create a sealing fit inasmuch as Applicant’s claimed invention creates a sealing fit).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to taper the bottom edge of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, allowing for the mask to conform to a wearer’s shoulders with limited bunching.
Regarding claim 40, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the nose seal comprises at least one deformable member which is attached proximate to an upper edge of the front filter section (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; nose clip (16) is capable of being deformed and attached proximate an upper edge of filter area (12)).
Regarding claim 42, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 24 above) further teaches wherein the inner layer is made from hygroscopic fabric (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; filter layer (24) can be made of cotton which is naturally hygroscopic; [0014]).
Regarding claim 44, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the at least one filter section includes a second filter section within the lower tubular portion, the second filter section being the fabric of the lower tubular portion itself (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; entirety of mask (10) is filters with area (12) having increased filtering compared to remainder of mask including lower tubular portion; [0006])).
Regarding claim 46, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claim 1 above) further teaches to wherein the upper tubular portion and the lower tubular portion include different porosity materials at the front of the mask (See Pro Feet, Figs. 1-4; filter area (12) in upper portion has increased filtering compared to the remainder of mask (10) in lower portion wherein both portions filter to some extent; [0006]).
Claims 7, 10-11, and 41, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pro feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of GB2538298A to Case (hereinafter, “Case”).
Regarding claim 7, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 and 5 above) is silent to wherein the nose seal includes two wedged inserts, where one insert is attached to each side of the nose detail.
That said, Case, in a related respiratory face mask art, is directed to a protective respiratory device such as a mask having a filter layer (See Case, Figs. 1-6; abstract). More specifically, Case teaches wherein the nose seal includes two wedged inserts, where one insert is attached to each side of the nose detail (See Case, Fig. 8; wedged inserts (180) capable of being positioned on either side of a hypothetical user’s nose).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to shape the nose seal of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet to have the shape of the deformable spacer nose seal disclosed by Case for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a nose seal that provides a more comfortable and secure fit (See Case, page 6, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 10, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow and Case as discussed with respect to claim 1, 5, and 7 above) further teaches wherein the single contoured insert is the nose seal, the nose seal including a recessed section and two convex sections (See Case, Fig. 8; wedged inserts (180); see 112(b) and 112(d) rejections above for additional discussion).
Regarding claim 11, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow as discussed with respect to claim 1 and 5 above) is silent to wherein the nose seal is manufactured from deformable foam.
That said, Case, in a related respiratory face mask art, is directed to a protective respiratory device such as a mask having a filter layer (See Case, Figs. 1-6; abstract). More specifically, Case teaches wherein the nose seal is manufactured from deformable foam (See Case, Figs. 3 and 5; deformable foam spacer (180) includes contours capable of corresponding to contours of a hypothetical user’s nose; page 8, line 24 – page 9, line 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the nose seal of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet from the deformable foam disclosed by Case for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a nose seal that provides a more comfortable and secure fit (See Case, page 6, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 41, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow and Case as discussed with respect to claim 1, 5, 7, and 10 above) further teaches wherein the single contoured insert is configured to conform through an additive or rapid manufacturing process (See Case, Fig. 8; wedged inserts (180) are capable of conforming to a hypothetical wearer’s nose and are capable of being formed through some hypothetical additive or rapid manufacturing process; see 112(b) and 112(d) rejections above for additional discussion).
Claim 15 and 23, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pro feet in view of Barklow (as applied to claims 1 and 5 above with respect to claim 15, and as applied to claims 1 and 12 above with respect to claim 23), and further in view of US 2015/0059774 to Duffy (hereinafter, “Duffy”).
Regarding claim 15, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above) further teaches wherein the front filter section includes an additional filter layer, the additional filter layer occupying at least an upper portion of the at least one front filter section (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; filter layer (24) in upper portion of area (12)), wherein the additional filter layer includes a bulbous body (top portion of area (12) bulges upward from area (12)).
That said, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet is silent to wherein the additional filter layer includes two upper pockets, wherein the pockets are configured to retain the nose seal relative to the nose detail.
However, Duffy, in a related respiratory face mask art, is directed to a filtering face-piece respirator having a harness and mask body that includes a multi-layer filtering structure (See Duffy, Figs. 1-2, 5, and 12; abstract). More specifically, Duffy teaches two upper pockets, wherein the pockets are configured to retain the nose seal relative to the nose detail (See Duffy, Figs. 1-2, 5, and 12; interior perimeter segments (24a) on either side of notch (52) are folded down to form two upper pockets capable of retaining nose clip (35)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the upper perimeter segments and pockets disclosed by Duffy on the upper edge and nose of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing additional structure for securing and retaining the nose clip in a desired position in the mask structure.
Regarding claim 23, although the middle filter layer of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet is different than the inner and outer filter layers, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above) is silent to wherein each layer of the least two layers is made of different materials.
However, Duffy, in a related respiratory face mask art, is directed to a filtering face-piece respirator having a harness and mask body that includes a multi-layer filtering structure (See Duffy, Figs. 1-2, 5, and 12; abstract). More specifically, Duffy teaches wherein each layer of the least two layers is made of different materials (See Duffy, Fig. 4; inner (38) and outer (40) layers surrounding filtration layer (42) are different materials; [0057]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the inner filter layer of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet from a different material than the outer filter layer as disclosed by Duffy for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a material on a user-facing side that is softer and more comfortable (See Duffy, [0057]-[0059]).
Claims 18 and 26, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pro Feet in view of Barklow (as applied to claims 1 and 12 above with respect to claim 18, and as applied to claims 1 and 24 above with respect to claim 26), and further in view of US 2009/0277451 to Weinberg (hereinafter, “Weinberg”).
Regarding claim 18, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above) is silent to wherein the additional filter layer has a porosity capable of trapping aerosols smaller than 3 µm.
However, Weinberg, in a related filtering facemask art, is directed to a facial mask for filtering ambient air (See Weinberg, Fig. 1; abstract). More specifically, Weinberg teaches wherein the additional filter layer has a porosity capable of trapping aerosols smaller than 3 µm (See Weinberg, Fig. 1; filter material (14) provides HEPA filtering down to at least 0.3 µm; [0066], [0090], [0093]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to use the filter material disclosed by Weinberg to form the filter layer of modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, enabling a low particle penetration over a broad range of particle sizes including ultrafine particles while maintaining a low pressure inhalation and exhalation resistance (See Weinberg, [0066], [0090], [0093]).
Regarding claim 26, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claims 1 and 24 above) further teaches the outer layer allowing larger particles to pass through and on to an outer surface of the filter layer where the particles are contained such that any pathogen from the environment that is filtered by the face-gaiter mask is likely to pass through the outer layer and be held on the outer surface of the filter layer (See Pro Feet, Figs. 3-4; outer layer (22) is capable of allowing particles through layered construction to be contained by filter layer (24)).
That said, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet is silent to wherein the outer layer is more porous than the filter layer.
However, Weinberg, in a related filtering facemask art, is directed to a facial mask for filtering ambient air (See Weinberg, Fig. 1; abstract). More specifically, Weinberg teaches wherein the outer layer is more porous than the filter layer (See Weinberg, Fig. 1; filter material (14) provides HEPA filtering down to at least 0.3 µm; [0066], [0090], [0093]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to use the filter material disclosed by Weinberg to form the filter layer interior to the larger pored outer layer of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, enabling a low particle penetration over a broad range of particle sizes including ultrafine particles while maintaining a low pressure inhalation and exhalation resistance (See Weinberg, [0066], [0090], [0093]).
Claims 31-32, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claims 1 and 29 above, and further in view of US 2018/0078797 to Bergman (hereinafter, “Bergman”).
Regarding claim 31, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claims 1 and 29 above) is silent to wherein the rear section includes a resilient rear upper edge, the rear upper edge of the rear section fitting snuggly against the user’s head when the mask is in use.
However, Bergman, in a related respiratory face mask art, is directed to an earless filter mask (See Bergman, Figs. 1-2; abstract). More specifically, Bergman teaches wherein the rear section includes a resilient rear upper edge, the rear upper edge of the rear section fitting snuggly against the user’s head when the mask is in use (See Bergman, Figs. 1-2; conforming band (150) encircles an upper circumference of the upper edges of the tubular mask when worn; conforming band (150) may be an elastic material and is capable of ensuring the rear upper edge of the rear section fits snuggly against a hypothetical user’s head when worn).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the elastic conforming band disclosed by Bergman around the upper edge of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, securing and conforming the upper edge of the mask to the wearer’s face (See Bergman, [0027]).
Regarding claim 32, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow and Bergman, as discussed with respect to claims 1, 29, and 31 above) further teaches wherein the upper edge includes an elastic section, wherein a length of elastic is secured to the mask such that the upper edge of the rear section fitting snuggly against the user’s head (in the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet discuss above, the upper edge of the mask includes elastic conforming band (150) of Bergman capable of securing the upper edge of the rear section against a hypothetical user’s head).
Claims 34, 37, 43, and 45, as best can be understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0168258 to Solle et al. (hereinafter, “Solle”).
Regarding claim 34, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent wherein the rear section is made of a layered construction.
However, Solle, in a related respiratory protective garment art, is directed to a face covering for reducing contamination (See Solle, Figs. 1-2; abstract). More specifically, Solle teaches wherein the rear section is made of a layered construction (See Solle, Figs. 1-2; layered fabric construction can include layer of Gore-Tex; [0020]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the Gore-Tex disclosed by Solle to the body of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a protective layer that reduces airborne contaminants while maintaining breathability (See Solle, [0020]; abstract).
Regarding claim 37, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the rear section is made of impermeable fabric.
However, Solle, in a related respiratory protective garment art, is directed to a face covering for reducing contamination (See Solle, Figs. 1-2; abstract). More specifically, Solle teaches wherein the rear section is made of impermeable fabric (See Solle, Figs. 1-2; layered fabric construction can include layer of Gore-Tex which provides at least some impermeability; [0020]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the Gore-Tex disclosed by Solle to the body of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a protective layer that reduces airborne contaminants while maintaining breathability (See Solle, [0020]; abstract).
Regarding claim 43, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow and Solle, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 34 above) further teaches wherein the layered construction includes at least two flexible and pliable materials (See Solle, Figs. 1-2; the modified face-gaiter mask as discussed above with respect to claim 34 would include at least two flexible and pliable material layers).
Regarding claim 45, the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet (i.e., Pro Feet in view of Barklow, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the rear section is composed of a lower porosity material such that the user’s breath is primarily directed through the upper tubular portion and the lower tubular portion at the front of the mask.
However, Solle, in a related respiratory protective garment art, is directed to a face covering for reducing contamination (See Solle, Figs. 1-2; abstract). More specifically, Solle teaches wherein the rear section is composed of a lower porosity material such that the user’s breath is primarily directed through the upper tubular portion and the lower tubular portion at the front of the mask (See Solle, Figs. 1-2; layered fabric construction can include layer of Gore-Tex which provides at least some impermeability to direct a hypothetical user’s breath; [0020]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the Gore-Tex disclosed by Solle to the body of the modified face-gaiter mask of Pro Feet for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a protective layer that reduces airborne contaminants while maintaining breathability with respect to a user’s sweating (See Solle, [0020]; abstract).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant’s amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant’s arguments, filed April 16, 2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as Applicant’s arguments appear to be drawn only to the newly amended limitations and previously presented rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MARCHEWKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3732