DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed May 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huang et al. (CN-101491752 B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide (JP-2010006651 A) in view of Yang et al. (CN-207405244U) and Huang et al. (CN-101491752 B).
Regarding Claim 1, Koide reference discloses a hydrogen supply system that supplies hydrogen, comprising:
a dehydrogenation reaction unit that subjects a raw material including a hydride to a dehydrogenation reaction to obtain a hydrogen-containing gas (Figure 1, numeral 6 – hydrogenation -reaction unit, Page 2, Paragraph [0005] – producing hydrogen from a hydride of an aromatic hydrocarbon using a dehydrogenation reaction); and
a heating mechanism that heats the dehydrogenation reaction unit by using a heat medium (Figure 1, numeral 1- heating medium),
wherein the dehydrogenation reaction unit includes,
a first flow passage in which a dehydrogenation catalyst that performs the dehydrogenation reaction is disposed and through which the raw material circulates (Figure 1, numerals 2 – hydride tank, 62 - reaction tube – first flow passage), and
a second flow passage which is provided in parallel with the first flow passage, and through which the heat medium circulates (Figure 1, numeral 61 -shell side – heat medium – second flow passage), and the heating mechanism includes,
a heat medium supply unit that supplies the heat medium to the second flow passage of the dehydrogenation reaction unit, and a heating unit that heats the dehydrogenation catalyst through the heat medium (Figure 1 and Page 3).
However, Koide reference does not disclose that an electric power supply unit that supplies at least one of electric power based on renewable energy and electric power based on thermal power generation equipped with carbon dioxide capture and storage to the heating mechanism and the heating mechanism includes a heating unit that is provided inside the second flow passage and heats the heat medium by using the electric power.
Yang et al. reference discloses a fuel reaction system, comprising: electrolysis hydrogen-made device, connected with the power supply device, for peaking power balance amount is power, electrolysis hydrogen fuel reaction device for preparing fuel by using hydrogen and carbon dioxide, one input end of the fuel reaction device is connected with the electrolysis hydrogen-made device of hydrogen output pipeline, the other input end is connected with the carbon dioxide supplying source, a fuel output port connected to the fuel collecting device or fuel use device wherein the system can directly consume plant of peak regulation quantity, relieves the network balance and peak-to-valley difference problem, prolongs the service life of the plant equipment, realizes phase for storing electric energy and realizes stable and effectively uses the energy stored (Abstract) wherein the carbon dioxide supplying source is smoke pipeline connected with the power plant boiler or steel boiler through carbon dioxide capture purification system (Figure 1, numerals 1 – coal-fired gas fired electrical power generation plant, 3 – carbon dioxide capture, 14 – renewable resource power generation device). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use both renewable energy and the electric power from a thermal power generation plant as taught by Yang et al., since Yang et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would directly consume plant of peak regulation quantity, relieves the network balance and peak-to-valley difference problem, prolongs the service life of the plant equipment, realizes phase for storing electric energy and realizes stable and effectively uses the energy stored.
Neither Koide nor Yang et al. reference discloses that the heating mechanism includes a heating unit that is provided inside the second flow passage and heats the heat medium by using the electric power. Huang et al. reference discloses a tubular fixing bed reactor wherein heating pipe is set inside the reactor shell and reactor are integrated, forming an internal natural circulation structure form, which not only keeps the tubular fixing bed reactor, and can also save establishing a set of molten salt circulating system outside the reactor shell of the reactor structure compact, which greatly saves device investment, simplifies reactor operation flow and the electric heating stick set in the heating tube capable of simultaneously heating a molten, avoids the poor fluidity of molten salt (Abstract and Figure 1, numeral 4 – electric heating rod). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dehydrogenation reactor of Koide with the endothermic reactor as taught by Huang et al., since Huang et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would solve the problems of using molten salt as the heat carrier.
Regarding Claim 2, Koido, Yang et al. and Huang et al. references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 1, wherein the electric power supply unit includes an electrical storage unit that stores at least one of electric power based on the renewable energy, and electric power based on the thermal power generation equipped with carbon dioxide capture and storage (Yang et al. – Figure 1, numeral 8 – storage facility and Abstract – power supply device, storing electric energy).
Regarding Claim 10, Koide reference discloses a hydrogen supply system that supplies hydrogen, comprising:
a dehydrogenation reaction unit that subjects a raw material including a hydride to a dehydrogenation reaction to obtain a hydrogen-containing gas (Figure 1, numeral 6 – hydrogenation -reaction unit, Page 2, Paragraph [0005] – producing hydrogen from a hydride of an aromatic hydrocarbon using a dehydrogenation reaction); and
a heating mechanism that heats the dehydrogenation reaction unit by using a heat medium (Figure 1, numeral 1- heating medium),
wherein the dehydrogenation reaction unit includes,
a first flow passage in which a dehydrogenation catalyst that performs the dehydrogenation reaction is disposed and through which the raw material circulates (Figure 1, numerals 2 – hydride tank, 62 - reaction tube – first flow passage), and
a second flow passage which is provided in parallel with the first flow passage, and through which the heat medium circulates (Figure 1, numeral 61 -shell side – heat medium – second flow passage), and the heating mechanism includes,
a heat medium supply unit that supplies the heat medium to the second flow passage of the dehydrogenation reaction unit, and a heating unit that heats the dehydrogenation catalyst through the heat medium (Figure 1 and Page 3).
However, Koide reference does not disclose that the electric power supply unit that supplies electric power from grid power to the heating mechanism.
Yang et al. reference discloses a fuel reaction system, comprising: electrolysis hydrogen-made device, connected with the power supply device, for peaking power balance amount is power, electrolysis hydrogen fuel reaction device for preparing fuel by using hydrogen and carbon dioxide, one input end of the fuel reaction device is connected with the electrolysis hydrogen-made device of hydrogen output pipeline, the other input end is connected with the carbon dioxide supplying source, a fuel output port connected to the fuel collecting device or fuel use device wherein the system can directly consume plant of peak regulation quantity, relieves the network balance and peak-to-valley difference problem, prolongs the service life of the plant equipment, realizes phase for storing electric energy and realizes stable and effectively uses the energy stored (Abstract) wherein the carbon dioxide supplying source is smoke pipeline connected with the power plant boiler or steel boiler through carbon dioxide capture purification system (Figure 1, numerals 1 – coal-fired gas fired electrical power generation plant, 3 – carbon dioxide capture, 14 – renewable resource power generation device). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use both renewable energy and the electric power from a thermal power generation plant as taught by Yang et al., since Yang et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would directly consume plant of peak regulation quantity, relieves the network balance and peak-to-valley difference problem, prolongs the service life of the plant equipment, realizes phase for storing electric energy and realizes stable and effectively uses the energy stored.
Neither Koide nor Yang et al. reference discloses that the heating mechanism includes a heating unit that is provided inside the second flow passage and heats the heat medium by using the electric power. Huang et al. reference discloses a tubular fixing bed reactor wherein heating pipe is set inside the reactor shell and reactor are integrated, forming an internal natural circulation structure form, which not only keeps the tubular fixing bed reactor, and can also save establishing a set of molten salt circulating system outside the reactor shell of the reactor structure compact, which greatly saves device investment, simplifies reactor operation flow and the electric heating stick set in the heating tube capable of simultaneously heating a molten, avoids the poor fluidity of molten salt (Abstract and Figure 1, numeral 4 – electric heating rod). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dehydrogenation reactor of Koide with the endothermic reactor as taught by Huang et al., since Huang et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would solve the problems of using molten salt as the heat carrier.
Claim(s) 3, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide (JP-2010006651 A) in view of Huang et al. (CN-101491752 B).
Regarding Claim 3, Koide reference discloses a hydrogen supply system that supplies hydrogen, comprising:
a dehydrogenation reaction unit that subjects a raw material including a hydride to a dehydrogenation reaction to obtain a hydrogen-containing gas (Figure 1, numeral 6 – hydrogenation -reaction unit, Page 2, Paragraph [0005] – producing hydrogen from a hydride of an aromatic hydrocarbon using a dehydrogenation reaction); and
a heating mechanism that heats the dehydrogenation reaction unit by using a heat medium (Figure 1, numeral 1- heating medium),
wherein the dehydrogenation reaction unit includes,
a first flow passage in which a dehydrogenation catalyst that performs the dehydrogenation reaction is disposed and through which the raw material circulates (Figure 1, numerals 2 – hydride tank, 62 - reaction tube – first flow passage), and
a second flow passage which is provided in parallel with the first flow passage, and through which the heat medium circulates (Figure 1, numeral 61 -shell side – heat medium – second flow passage), and the heating mechanism includes,
a heat medium supply unit that supplies the heat medium to the second flow passage of the dehydrogenation reaction unit, and a heating unit that heats the dehydrogenation catalyst through the heat medium (Figure 1 and Page 3).
However, Huang et al. reference discloses a tubular fixing bed reactor wherein heating pipe is set inside the reactor shell and reactor are integrated, forming an internal natural circulation structure form, which not only keeps the tubular fixing bed reactor, and can also save establishing a set of molten salt circulating system outside the reactor shell of the reactor structure compact, which greatly saves device investment, simplifies reactor operation flow and the electric heating stick set in the heating tube capable of simultaneously heating a molten, avoids the poor fluidity of molten salt (Abstract and Figure 1, numeral 4 – electric heating rod). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dehydrogenation reactor of Koide with the endothermic reactor as taught by Huang et al., since Huang et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would solve the problems of using molten salt as the heat carrier.
Regarding Claim 5, Koide, Yang et al. and Huang et al. references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 3, wherein the second flow passage is divided into a plurality of sections by a partition member provided inside the second flow passage in a first direction in which the second flow passage extends (Koide - Figure 1, numeral 63- baffle plate).
Regarding Claim 8, Koide, Yang et al. and Huang et al. references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 5, wherein the partition member includes an opening that permits circulation of the heat medium in the first direction on one end side in a second direction that intersects the first direction (Koide - Figure 1, numeral 63- baffle plate).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide (JP-2010006651 A) in view of Huang et al. (CN-101491752 B) and Feng et al. (CN-208742510U).
Regarding Claim 6, Koide and Huang et al. references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 5 except for the heating mechanism includes a plurality of the heating units, each being disposed for each of the plurality of sections at the inside of the second flow passage. Feng et al. reference discloses a dehydrogenation reaction unit having reaction tube filled with catalyst and heating medium on the shell side of the reaction unit wherein the dehydrogenation reactor having plurality of heating units for control each heating chamber separately (Page 3 and Figures 1 and 2, numerals 6 – reactor, 8 – heating medium, 12 – heating chamber). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dehydrogenation reaction unit with the plurality of the heating chambers as taught by Feng et al., since Feng et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would improve the catalyst utilization rate, reduce reactor equipment investment, have high conversion rate, operation elasticity area is wide, it can satisfy the high speed feeding requirement.
Regarding Claim 7, Koide and Huang et al. references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 5, except for the heating mechanism includes a plurality of temperature detection units, each detecting a temperature of each of the plurality of sections. Feng et al. reference discloses a dehydrogenation reaction unit having reaction tube filled with catalyst and heating medium on the shell side of the reaction unit wherein the dehydrogenation reactor having plurality of heating units for control each heating chamber separately; thus, the dehydrogenation reaction unit would inherently have plurality of temperature detection units to provide the temperature measurement to the control unit for heating each heating chamber separately (Page 3 and Figures 1 and 2, numerals 6 – reactor, 8 – heating medium, 12 – heating chamber). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dehydrogenation reaction unit with the plurality of the temperature detecting devices as taught by Feng et al., since Feng et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would improve the catalyst utilization rate, reduce reactor equipment investment, have high conversion rate, operation elasticity area is wide, it can satisfy the high speed feeding requirement.
Regarding Claim 9, Koide and Huang et al. references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 5, except for the partition member closes a space between the sections different from each other, and the heating mechanism includes a plurality of the heat medium supply units, each supplying the heat medium to each of the plurality of sections. Feng et al. reference discloses a dehydrogenation reaction unit having reaction tube filled with catalyst and heating medium on the shell side of the reaction unit wherein the dehydrogenation reactor having plurality of heating units for control each heating chamber separately and clapboard for dividing each heating chamber from each other (Page 3 and Figures 1 and 2, numerals 6 – reactor, 8 – heating medium, 12 – heating chamber and 11 - clapboard). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dehydrogenation reaction unit with clapboard for separating each heating chamber from each other as taught by Feng et al., since Feng et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would improve the catalyst utilization rate, reduce reactor equipment investment, have high conversion rate, operation elasticity area is wide, it can satisfy the high speed feeding requirement.
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide (JP-2010006651 A) in view of Yang et al. (CN-207405244U), Huang et al. (CN-101491752 B) and Zhu et al. (CN-114832734 B).
Regarding Claim 11, Koido, Yang et al. and Huang et al. references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 1except for the second flow passage is divided into a plurality of sections by a partition member provided inside the second flow passage in a first direction in which the second flow passage extends, wherein the heating mechanism includes a plurality of the heating units, each being disposed for each of the plurality of sections at the inside of the second flow passage, and wherein each heating unit includes a heater, and each of the heaters is arranged in a respective gap between rows of the first flow passage. Zhu et al. reference discloses a fischer-tropsch synthesis tubular fixed bed reactor cooled in sections in catalytic bed layer, comprising an upper end enclosure, a cylinder body and a lower end enclosure, wherein the upper end enclosure is provided with a raw material gas inlet; the bottom of the lower sealing head is provided with a reaction product outlet; the upper end of the reaction tube is fixedly connected to the upper tube plate, and the lower end is connected to the lower tube plate; the cylinder is divided into two sections or more than two sections of cooling sections, each section of cooling section is provided with a cooling medium inlet and a cooling medium outlet, a partition pipe plate is set between two adjacent cooling sections, and the cooling medium temperature of the second cooling section is lower than the first cooling section (Figure 1, Sections 1, 2 and 3 separated by stuffing box). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the multi-heating units as taught by Zhu et al. in view of Huang et al. for electric heating rods, since Zhu et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would optimize the cooling medium temperature and the sectional position, improve the heat exchange effect, reduce the Fischer-Tropsch synthesis reaction hot point temperature, be good for the uniform distribution of the bed layer axial radial temperature, avoids the bed layer flying temperature, at the same time, increase the diameter of the reaction tube, reduce the number of the reaction tube and reduce the reaction pressure drop.
Regarding Claim 13, Koido, Yang et al. and Huang et al. references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 10 except for the second flow passage is divided into a plurality of sections by a partition member provided inside the second flow passage in a first direction in which the second flow passage extends, wherein the heating mechanism includes a plurality of the heating units, each being disposed for each of the plurality of sections at the inside of the second flow passage, and wherein each heating unit includes a heater, and each of the heaters is arranged in a respective gap between rows of the first flow passage. Zhu et al. reference discloses a fischer-tropsch synthesis tubular fixed bed reactor cooled in sections in catalytic bed layer, comprising an upper end enclosure, a cylinder body and a lower end enclosure, wherein the upper end enclosure is provided with a raw material gas inlet; the bottom of the lower sealing head is provided with a reaction product outlet; the upper end of the reaction tube is fixedly connected to the upper tube plate, and the lower end is connected to the lower tube plate; the cylinder is divided into two sections or more than two sections of cooling sections, each section of cooling section is provided with a cooling medium inlet and a cooling medium outlet, a partition pipe plate is set between two adjacent cooling sections, and the cooling medium temperature of the second cooling section is lower than the first cooling section (Figure 1, Sections 1, 2 and 3 separated by stuffing box). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the multi-heating units as taught by Zhu et al. in view of Huang et al. for electric heating rods, since Zhu et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would optimize the cooling medium temperature and the sectional position, improve the heat exchange effect, reduce the Fischer-Tropsch synthesis reaction hot point temperature, be good for the uniform distribution of the bed layer axial radial temperature, avoids the bed layer flying temperature, at the same time, increase the diameter of the reaction tube, reduce the number of the reaction tube and reduce the reaction pressure drop.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide (JP-2010006651 A) in view of Huang et al. (CN-101491752 B), Feng et al. (CN-208742510U) and Zhu et al. (CN-114832734 B).
Regarding Claim 12, Koide, Huang et al. and Feng references disclose the hydrogen supply system according to claim 6, wherein each heating unit includes a heater, and each of the heaters is arranged in a respective gap between rows of the first flow passage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1774