Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed December 29th, 2025 (“A...”), in which: claims 1, 3 – 4, 13 and 18 are amended; claim 2 is cancelled; no new claims are added; and rejections of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 and 3 – 20, wherein claims 15 – 20 are withdrawn from consideration due to a Restriction/Election requirement, are currently pending an Office Action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 29th, 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 10 – 11 of the instant Remarks:
Applicant asserts that Chen (US 20180046045 A1) does not disclose the amended feature of instant claim 1 wherein:
... the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer.
However, it is the office’s position that the above limitation is yielded from the combination of Song, further in view of Chen (Fig. 3a). Chen provides the via hole sidewall structure; as well as providing the necessary relationship of heights/vertical distances of their sidewalls. Song provides other features not explicitly mentioned, e.g., a buffer layer or light shielding layer, by Chen, thus yielding the instant claim 1.
Therefore, examiner is not persuaded by applicant’s arguments; and provides new grounds of rejection for claims 1 and 3 – 14, citing Chen (US 20180046045 A1), below.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20200006406 A1), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180046045 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Song teaches an array substrate, comprising:
a base substrate (Fig. 6L; base substrate 1);
a light shielding layer (Fig. 6L; light-shielding layer 2), located on a side of the base substrate (Fig. 6L);
a buffer layer (Fig. 6L; buffer layer 3), located on a side of the light shielding layer facing away from the base substrate (Fig. 6L);
an active layer (Fig. 6L; active layer 4), located on a side of the buffer layer facing away from the light shielding layer (Fig. 6L), an orthographic projection of the active layer on the base substrate being covered by an orthographic projection of the light shielding layer on the base substrate (Fig. 6L);
an interlayer dielectric layer (Fig. 6L; interlayer dielectric layer 5), located on a side of the active layer facing away from the buffer layer (Fig. 6L), the interlayer dielectric layer having a via hole (Fig. 6L; first via hole 41, second via hole 51, and third via hole 31 are interpreted by the examiner to be a via hole), the via hole comprising a first part (Fig. 6L; first via hole 41 and third via hole 31 are interpreted to be a first part) and a second part (Fig. 6L; third via hole 51 is interpreted to be a second part), an orthographic projection of the first part on the base substrate being in contact with an orthographic projection of the second part on the base substrate (Fig. 6L), the first part of the via hole penetrating through the interlayer dielectric layer and the buffer layer (Fig. 6L; see first via hole 41 and third via hole 31 with respect to the interlayer dielectric layer 5 and the buffer layer 3) and exposing a part of the light shielding layer (Figs. 6K and 6L), and the second part penetrating through the interlayer dielectric layer and exposing at least a part of the active layer (Fig. 6L; see second via hole 51 with respect to the interlayer dielectric layer 5 and the active layer 4); and
a source drain layer (Fig. 6L; source electrode 61), located on a side of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the active layer (Fig. 6L), the source drain layer being electrically connected with the light shielding layer through the first part (Fig. 6L), and being electrically connected with the active layer through the second part (Fig. 6L), ...
However, Song remains silent on:
wherein the interlayer dielectric layer has a step structure on a side wall facing the first part, and an orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate is a semi-closed frame pattern;
the step structure comprises: a first inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the buffer layer, a second inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing the buffer layer, and a plane connecting the first inclined surface with the second inclined surface;
a height of the first inclined surface in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate is less than a thickness of the interlayer dielectric layer;
the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches an array substrate including a via hole structure (Fig. 3a) wherein:
the interlayer dielectric layer (Fig. 3a; insulating layer 102) has a step structure on a side wall (Fig. 3a; semi-retaining region M) facing the first part, and an orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate is a semi-closed frame pattern (Fig. 2a);
the step structure comprises: a first inclined surface (Chen: Fig. 3a; inclined portion of the insulating layer 102 in the via hole associated with the vertical distance h2) connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the buffer layer (Chen: Fig. 3a; top surface of the insulating layer 102), a second inclined surface (Chen: Fig. 3a; inclined portion of the insulating layer 102 in the via hole associated with the vertical distance h1) connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer (Chen: Fig. 3a; a portion of the bottom surface of insulating layer 102) ... and a plane (Chen: Fig. 3a; a portion insulating layer 102 in the via hole between the first and second inclined surfaces) connecting the first inclined surface with the second inclined surface (Chen: Fig. 3a);
a height of the first inclined surface (Chen: examiner is interpreting the height = h2 – h1 to be a height of the first inclined surface, as shown in Fig. 3a) in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate is less than a thickness of the interlayer dielectric layer (Chen: Fig. 3a); ...
Chen’s disclosed via hole structure applied to Song’s array substrate structure yields the above claimed limitations with Song’s buffer layer, such that Song, further in view of Chen, also yield a second inclined surface (Chen: Fig. 3a; inclined portion of the insulating layer 102 in the via hole associated with the vertical distance h1) connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer (Chen: Fig. 3a; a portion of the bottom surface of insulating layer 102) facing the buffer layer (Combination of Song and Chen (Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Song’s via hole to include Chen’s via hole structure wherein the interlayer dielectric layer has a step structure on a side wall facing the first part, and an orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate is a semi-closed frame pattern; the step structure comprises: a first inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the buffer layer, a second inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing the buffer layer, and a plane connecting the first inclined surface with the second inclined surface, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Chen’s via hole is comparable to Song’s via hole because they both disclose via holes at the transistor level for an array substrate; wherein they address problems caused by a deep via hole in the insulating layer of an existing array substrate (Chen: [0004]). Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song’s via hole to include Chen’s via hole structure wherein the interlayer dielectric layer has a step structure on a side wall facing the first part, and an orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate is a semi-closed frame pattern; the step structure comprises: a first inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the buffer layer, a second inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing the buffer layer, and a plane connecting the first inclined surface with the second inclined surface with the predictable result of improving problems caused by a deep via hole in the insulating layer of an existing array substrate (Chen: [0004]).
Further, Song, further in view of Chen, yield the display substrate including a via hole structure wherein:
the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness (Chen: Fig. 3a; vertical distance h1. Also see [0010]); the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer (Combination of Song and Chen (Fig. 3a). The modification, as disclosed by Chen, applied to Song’s via hole yields the preceding limitation since the vertical distance h1includes this the distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer) and a thickness of the active layer (Song: Fig.6L; thickness of the active layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Song’s array substrate to include Chen’s disclosed via hole structure wherein, the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chen’s via hole structure permits thicknesses wherein, “the vertical distance between the upper surface of the semi-retaining region of the insulating layer and the upper surface of the first conductive layer is smaller than or equal to half the vertical distance between the upper surface of the full-retaining region of the insulating layer and the upper surface of the first conductive layer.” This known benefit in Chen’s array substrate is applicable to Song’s array substrate as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to array substrates of display panels. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying the via hole structure of the array substrate of Song, further in view of Chen, to further include Chen’s via hole structure wherein the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Chen’s via hole structure wherein the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer in array substrates that may be implemented in display devices and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein
a center of the orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate does not overlap a center of a first region (Chen: Fig. 2a and 3a; portion of the via hole exposing first conductive layer 101), and the first region is a region of the light shielding layer exposed by the first part (Chen: Fig. 2a and 3a;).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the orthographic projection of the active layer on the base substrate is in contact with the orthographic projection of the first part on the base substrate (Fig. 6L).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein
a material of the active layer comprises a semiconductor oxide (Song: [0082]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the array substrate comprises a driving transistor (Song: the transistor shown in Fig. 6L and [0074] - [0080] is considered by the examiner to be a driving transistor because Song teaches that the transistor receives an electrical signal for display pixels), and the source drain layer is a source drain layer of the driving transistor (Fig. 6L).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein
a material of the light shielding layer is metal (Song: [0080]).
Regarding independent claim 13, Song teaches a display panel, comprising an array substrate, wherein the array substrate comprises:
a base substrate (Fig. 6L; base substrate 1);
a light shielding layer (Fig. 6L; light-shielding layer 2), located on a side of the base substrate (Fig. 6L);
a buffer layer (Fig. 6L; buffer layer 3), located on a side of the light shielding layer facing away from the base substrate (Fig. 6L);
an active layer (Fig. 6L; active layer 4), located on a side of the buffer layer facing away from the light shielding layer (Fig. 6L), an orthographic projection of the active layer on the base substrate being covered by an orthographic projection of the light shielding layer on the base substrate (Fig. 6L);
an interlayer dielectric layer (Fig. 6L; interlayer dielectric layer 5), located on a side of the active layer facing away from the buffer layer (Fig. 6L), the interlayer dielectric layer having a via hole (Fig. 6L; first via hole 41, second via hole 51, and third via hole 31 are interpreted by the examiner to be a via hole), the via hole comprising a first part (Fig. 6L; first via hole 41 and third via hole 31 are interpreted to be a first part) and a second part (Fig. 6L; third via hole 51 is interpreted to be a second part), an orthographic projection of the first part on the base substrate being in contact with an orthographic projection of the second part on the base substrate (Fig. 6L), the first part of the via hole penetrating through the interlayer dielectric layer and the buffer layer (Fig. 6L; see first via hole 41 and third via hole 31 with respect to the interlayer dielectric layer 5 and the buffer layer 3) and exposing a part of the light shielding layer (Figs. 6K and 6L), and the second part penetrating through the interlayer dielectric layer and exposing at least a part of the active layer (Fig. 6L; see second via hole 51 with respect to the interlayer dielectric layer 5 and the active layer 4); and
a source drain layer (Fig. 6L; source electrode 61), located on a side of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the active layer (Fig. 6L), the source drain layer being electrically connected with the light shielding layer through the first part (Fig. 6L), and being electrically connected with the active layer through the second part (Fig. 6L) , ...
However, Song remains silent on:
wherein the interlayer dielectric layer has a step structure on a side wall facing the first part, and an orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate is a semi-closed frame pattern;
the step structure comprises: a first inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the buffer layer, a second inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing the buffer layer, and a plane connecting the first inclined surface with the second inclined surface;
a height of the first inclined surface in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate is less than a thickness of the interlayer dielectric layer;
the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches an array substrate including a via hole structure (Fig. 3a) wherein:
the interlayer dielectric layer (Fig. 3a; insulating layer 102) has a step structure on a side wall (Fig. 3a; semi-retaining region M) facing the first part, and an orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate is a semi-closed frame pattern (Fig. 2a);
the step structure comprises: a first inclined surface (Chen: Fig. 3a; inclined portion of the insulating layer 102 in the via hole associated with the vertical distance h2) connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the buffer layer (Chen: Fig. 3a; top surface of the insulating layer 102), a second inclined surface (Chen: Fig. 3a; inclined portion of the insulating layer 102 in the via hole associated with the vertical distance h1) connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer (Chen: Fig. 3a; a portion of the bottom surface of insulating layer 102) ... and a plane (Chen: Fig. 3a; a portion insulating layer 102 in the via hole between the first and second inclined surfaces) connecting the first inclined surface with the second inclined surface (Chen: Fig. 3a);
a height of the first inclined surface (Chen: examiner is interpreting the height = h2 – h1 to be a height of the first inclined surface, as shown in Fig. 3a) in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate is less than a thickness of the interlayer dielectric layer (Chen: Fig. 3a); ...
Chen’s disclosed via hole structure applied to Song’s array substrate structure yields the above claimed limitations with Song’s buffer layer, such that Song, further in view of Chen, also yield a second inclined surface (Chen: Fig. 3a; inclined portion of the insulating layer 102 in the via hole associated with the vertical distance h1) connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer (Chen: Fig. 3a; a portion of the bottom surface of insulating layer 102) facing the buffer layer (Combination of Song and Chen (Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Song’s via hole to include Chen’s via hole structure wherein the interlayer dielectric layer has a step structure on a side wall facing the first part, and an orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate is a semi-closed frame pattern; the step structure comprises: a first inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the buffer layer, a second inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing the buffer layer, and a plane connecting the first inclined surface with the second inclined surface, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Chen’s via hole is comparable to Song’s via hole because they both disclose via holes at the transistor level for an array substrate; wherein they address problems caused by a deep via hole in the insulating layer of an existing array substrate (Chen: [0004]). Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song’s via hole to include Chen’s via hole structure wherein the interlayer dielectric layer has a step structure on a side wall facing the first part, and an orthographic projection of the step structure on the base substrate is a semi-closed frame pattern; the step structure comprises: a first inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing away from the buffer layer, a second inclined surface connected with a surface of the interlayer dielectric layer facing the buffer layer, and a plane connecting the first inclined surface with the second inclined surface with the predictable result of improving problems caused by a deep via hole in the insulating layer of an existing array substrate (Chen: [0004]).
Further, Song, further in view of Chen, yield the display substrate including a via hole structure wherein:
the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness (Chen: Fig. 3a; vertical distance h1. Also see [0010]); the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer (Combination of Song and Chen (Fig. 3a). The modification, as disclosed by Chen, applied to Song’s via hole yields the preceding limitation since the vertical distance h1includes this the distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer) and a thickness of the active layer (Song: Fig.6L; thickness of the active layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Song’s array substrate to include Chen’s disclosed via hole structure wherein, the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chen’s via hole structure permits thicknesses wherein, “the vertical distance between the upper surface of the semi-retaining region of the insulating layer and the upper surface of the first conductive layer is smaller than or equal to half the vertical distance between the upper surface of the full-retaining region of the insulating layer and the upper surface of the first conductive layer.” This known benefit in Chen’s array substrate is applicable to Song’s array substrate as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to array substrates of display panels. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying the via hole structure of the array substrate of Song, further in view of Chen, to further include Chen’s via hole structure wherein the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Chen’s via hole structure wherein the height of the first inclined surface in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is equal to a first thickness; the first thickness is a sum of a distance from a surface of a side of the light shielding layer away from the base substrate to a surface of a side of the buffer layer away from the light shielding layer and a thickness of the active layer in array substrates that may be implemented in display devices and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Song, further in view of Chen, teach
a display apparatus (Song: [0080] teaches that the array substrate may be used in an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display device), comprising the display panel according to claim 13.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20200006406 A1), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180046045 A1) and Oh et al. (US 20160071891 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1; however, Song remains silent wherein the step structure comprises:
wherein the buffer layer has a third inclined surface on a side wall facing the first part; and the second inclined surface and the third inclined surface are located on a same inclined surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Oh teaches similar via hole in comparison to Song, wherein the via hole is made through a buffer layer present in the disclosed device (e.g., Fig. 6C; drain contact hole 124D). Oh’s disclosed via hole is made with a tapered shape, analogous to Chen’s via hole formed with tapered/angled/inclined sidewalls, such that Oh’s disclosure may be readily combined with the array substrate of Song, further in view of Chen, to yield the array substrate wherein the buffer layer has a third inclined surface on a side wall facing the first part; and the second inclined surface and the third inclined surface are located on a same inclined surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the via hole of Song, further in view of Chen, to include the structure at the buffer layer wherein the buffer layer has a third inclined surface on a side wall facing the first part; and the second inclined surface and the third inclined surface are located on a same inclined surface, as disclosed by Oh, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Oh’s via hole is comparable to the via holes of Song and Chen because they all disclose via holes at the transistor level for an array substrate. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the via hole of Song, further in view of Chen, to include the structure at the buffer layer wherein the buffer layer has a third inclined surface on a side wall facing the first part; and the second inclined surface and the third inclined surface are located on a same inclined surface, as disclosed by Oh, with the predictable result of simplifying the method of forming a contact via, as the via hole is formed to have an inclined surface through the interlayer dielectric layer and active layer.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20200006406 A1), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180046045 A1) and Song, K. et al. (US 20060046361 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1; however, Song remains silent wherein
the orthographic projection of the active layer on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first part on the base substrate have a gap therebetween.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Song, K. (US 20060046361 A1) teaches a similar array substrate wherein a source/drain structure (Fig. 27; source electrode 412) are formed in a through hole (contact hole 161) that exposes the light barrier layer 121, i.e., a light shielding layer, and semiconductor layer 171, i.e., an active layer; wherein the portion of the through hole exposing the light shielding layer is considered by the examiner to be a first part, i.e., portion of contact hole 161 between a top surface of buffer layer 140 and a bottom surface of buffer layer 140. Examiner notes the portion of gate insulating layer 160 that extends past the active layer (Fig. 27) creates a gap between the first part and the active layer; such that Song teaches the orthographic projection of the active layer on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first part on the base substrate have a gap therebetween. Thus, in view of Song. K.’s teaching, modifying Song’s top gate transistor to a bottom gate transistor, necessitating a gate insulating layer between the active layer and the buffer layer yields the array substrate wherein the orthographic projection of the active layer on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first part on the base substrate have a gap therebetween.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the array substrate of Song to include Song, K.’s structure of a bottom gate transistor, such that an additional layer may be formed between the buffer layer and the active layer, allowing for the formation of a gap between the orthographic projection of the active layer on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first part on the base substrate, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Song’s transistor in their array substrate is comparable to Song, K.’s transistor in their array substrate because both transistor may have the same functionality and use in semiconductor devices, such as display panels. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the array substrate of Song to include Song, K.’s structure of a bottom gate transistor, such that an additional layer may be formed between the buffer layer and the active layer, allowing for the formation of a gap between the orthographic projection of the active layer on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first part on the base substrate with the predictable result of forming a bottom gate transistor.
Claims 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20200006406 A1), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180046045 A1) and Gou et al. (US 20190004660 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1; however, Song remains silent wherein
a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the light shielding layer is 5000 Å to 16000 Å.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gou teaches a via hole 121 that penetrates through an interlayer dielectric layer 108, a gate insulating layer 106, and buffer layer 104. Further, Gou teaches in [0054] that in order to form the via hole 121 to electrically connect the force electrode wire 111 and the force electrode 103 (of the shielding layer 102), the interlayer dielectric layer 108, the gate insulating layer 106 and the buffer layer 104 are etched, and it is needed to etch a thickness over 10000 Å. Thus, applying Gou’s teaching to the array substrate of Song yields an array substrate wherein a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the light shielding layer is 5000 Å to 16000 Å.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Song’s via hole to include a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the light shielding layer is 5000 Å to 16000 Å, as disclosed by Gou, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Song’s via hole is comparable to Gou’s via hole because they both disclose via holes at the transistor level for an array substrate. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song’s via hole to include a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the light shielding layer is 5000 Å to 16000 Å, as disclosed by Gou, with the predictable result of forming an opening to connect a source drain contact to a layer/component including the light shielding layer.
Further, the feature wherein a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the light shielding layer is 5000 Å to 16000 Å would have been obvious, from at least [0054] Gou, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention because absent evidence or disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 105 USQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Song, further in view of Chen and Gou, teach the array substrate according to claim 8; however, Song remains silent wherein
a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the active layer is 4000 Å to 12000 Å.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gou teaches via holes 122 and 123 that penetrates through an interlayer dielectric layer 108 and a gate insulating layer 106. Further, in [0054], Gou teaches layer thicknesses for the dielectric layer 108 and the gate insulating layer 106 to be 5500 Å and 1200 Å, respectively. Therefore, Gou teaches depths of the via holes 122 and 123 to be in the range of 5500 Å to 6700 Å. Thus, applying Gou’s teaching to the array substrate of Song yields an array substrate wherein a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the active layer is 4000 Å to 12000 Å.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Song’s via hole to include a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the active layer is 4000 Å to 12000 Å, as disclosed by Gou, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Song’s via hole is comparable to Gou’s via hole because they both disclose via holes at the transistor level for an array substrate. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song’s via hole to include a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the active layer is 4000 Å to 12000 Å, as disclosed by Gou, with the predictable result of forming an opening to connect a source drain contact to a layer/component including the light shielding layer.
Further, the feature wherein a depth of the via hole at a position exposing the active layer is 4000 Å to 12000 Å would have been obvious, from at least [0054] Gou, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention because absent evidence or disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 105 USQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20200006406 A1), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180046045 A1) and Okada et al. (US 20180259820 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Song, further in view of Chen, teach the array substrate according to claim 1; however, Song remains silent wherein
an angle of gradient of the via hole is 40° to 80°.
However, Okada teaches an array substrate including a contact hole 22a (see Figs. 6 and 7(b)); wherein the contact hole 22a includes an inclination angle α of a side surface of the contact hole. The inclination angle α is set to be less than 90°, for example, about 40° to 60°. Thus, applying Okada’s teaching to the array substrate of Song yields an array substrate wherein an angle of gradient of the via hole is 40° to 80°.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Song’s via hole to include inclined sidewalls, such that an angle of gradient of the via hole is 40° to 80°, as disclosed by Okada, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, More specifically, Song’s via hole is comparable to Okada’s via hole because they both disclose via holes at the transistor level for an array substrate. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song’s via hole to include inclined sidewalls, such that an angle of gradient of the via hole is 40° to 80°, as disclosed by Okada with the predictable result of suppressing light leakage (Okada: [0104] – [0106]).
Further, the feature wherein an angle of gradient of the via hole is 40° to 80° would have been obvious, from at least [0104] – [0106] of Okada, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention because absent evidence or disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 105 USQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10942403 B2 teaches via heights/vertical distances, e.g., Fig. 2.
US 20120057110 A1 teaches via heights/vertical distances, e.g., Fig. 2.
US 20140209915 A1 teaches via heights/vertical distances, e.g., Fig. 15.
US 20150116623 A1 teaches via heights/vertical distances, e.g., Fig. 3.
US 20150228675 A1 teaches via heights/vertical distances, e.g., Fig. 2.
US 10050223 B2 teaches similar etching patterns of insulating layers.
US 20210091333 A1 teaches similar etching patterns of insulating layers (Fig. 11).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897