DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The Applicants submitted claim amendments on 1/7/2026 in response to the office action mailed on 10/9/2025. The status of the claims is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2020/0306183 A1) to Hughes et al. (hereinafter Hughes).
The above noted rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2020/0306183 A1) to Hughes et al. (hereinafter Hughes).
The above noted rejection is hereby withdrawn.
NEW Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2020/0306183 A1) to Hughes et al. (hereinafter Hughes) in view of the teachings of (US 2019/0329209 A1) to Sciambi et al. (hereinafter Sciambi).
Hughes is directed toward polymer coated hydrogels for controlled release of agents. Hughes discloses at paragraph [0195] that there is a hydrogel comprising a polymer phase and an aqueous liquid phase. Hughes discloses at paragraph [0272] that the liquid polymer is the dispersed phase added to the continuous phase to form a water in oil emulsion, the two phases are immiscible. Hughes discloses at paragraph [0278] that the coated hydrogel process may be continuous using a microfluidic device. Hughes discloses at Fig.1 that a coated hydrogel is formed.
Hughes discloses at paragraph [0047] that multiple layers of coatings may be applied to the particle core (see Fig. 1 above). Hughes discloses at paragraph [0047] that the coating is a polymer. Hughes discloses at paragraph [0045] that the hydrogel microbead is a drug. One skilled in the art would find it obvious to select the specific disclosed method to provide the desired coated hydrogel for delivery of the desired agent. Hughes discloses that a microfluidic device may be used, but is silent regarding the feature of the intersection of two microfluidic channels, which the majority of microfluidic devices contain.
Sciambi is directed toward polymer coated hydrogels made with a microfluidic device. Hughes and Sciambi are both directed toward polymer coated hydrogels made with a microfluidic device and therefore are analogous art. Sciambi teaches at paragraph [0059] that their microfluidic device allows for the ability to controllably generate droplets contain a gel bead therein, which would motivate one skilled in the art to combine the teachings. Sciambi teaches at paragraph [0064] that the microfluidic device has channels that intersect to form the coatings.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Hughes in view of the teachings of Sciambi to modify the method of Hughes to use a microfluidic device having intersecting channels to from a coating to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-6 and 9-11.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection is made final.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766