DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2020-0045324, filed on 4/14/2020.
Claim Status
Claims 1,12,17 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 16,19 and 20 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-15,17 and 18 are pending and examined as follows:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: fixing member in claim 11 and control unit in claim 12.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification defines the fixing member is a bar (paragraph 0129). The specification defines the control unit as an ecu (paragraph 0091).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyu et al (KR20110062803A) in view of Kadota et al (JP2797497B2).
With regards to claim 1, Kyu et al discloses a vehicle heating device (car air conditioner, Title) comprising:
a heating unit having one side connected to an air-conditioning casing and the other side disposed toward an occupant in an occupant compartment (heater housing 160 connected to duct 140 and another end towards outlets 141, Fig. 3), the heating unit being configured to radiate heat (heater housing 160 has PTC elements 155a which generates heat, Fig. 8),
wherein the heating unit heats an interior of the occupant compartment through at least any one of heat convection and heat radiation (air flows over the PTC elements 155a to provide convection heat and heat radiation, Fig. 8),
wherein the heat convection is formed in the occupant compartment by heating air supplied from the air-conditioning casing and passing through the heating unit (air is supplied by blower 120 is supplied to duct 140 pass through PTC elements 155a, Fig. 2), and
wherein the heat radiation heats the occupant by radiating heat directly toward the occupant (heat radiated from PTC elements 155a is dissipated through outlet 141, Fig. 2).
Kyu et al does not disclose a housing having one side connected to a floor duct of the air-conditioning casing, and the other side provided with an opening wherein the housing comprises a duct part connected to the floor duct and configured to communicate with the floor duct, and a guide disposed at the opening and positioned at afront end of the heating unit based on a flow direction of air, and wherein a plurality of holes formed in the guide direct air moving through the duct part to ventilation holes of the heating unit.
Kadota et al teaches a housing having one side connected to a floor duct of the air-conditioning casing (auxiliary heating device having a first heating device 13 and second heating device 14 connected to floor heater duct 11,Fig. 1 and 2), and the other side provided with an opening (other side of the first heating device 13 and second heating device 14 each have outlet 28, Fig. 1), wherein the housing comprises a duct part connected to the floor duct and configured to communicate with the floor duct, (air from duct 11 is sucked through inlet 27 of the first ventilation duct 22 of each of the first heating device 13 and second heating device 14, Fig. 1 and 2) and a guide disposed at the opening and positioned at afront end of the heating unit based on a flow direction of air ,and wherein a plurality of holes formed in the guide direct air moving through the duct part to ventilation holes of the heating unit (opening 28 has holes that move air, Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kyu et al and Kadota et al before him or her, to modify the heating device of Kyu et al to include the housing and connection to a floor duct as taught by Kadota et al because the combination allows for reliable heating of a floor in a vehicle.
With regards to claim 2, Kyu et al discloses wherein the heating unit comprises:
a frame (heater housing 160, Fig. 4); and
a planar upper heating element and a planar lower heating element disposed on the frame (heat generating units 155 inside heater housing 160, Fig. 8) and spaced apart from each other to define a heat exchange region (heat generating units 155 are spaced apart by dissipation fins 156, Fig. 7), and
wherein heat radiated from the upper heating element and heat radiated from the lower heating element exchange heat with air passing through the heating unit in the heat exchange region (air passes through each of the heat generating units 155 attached to dissipation fins 156, Fig. 7).
With regards to claim 3, Kyu et al discloses wherein the heat exchange region is provided in plural, and wherein the plurality of heat exchange regions comprises:
a first heat exchange region formed at a front end of the upper heating element based on a flow direction of air (heat radiation fins 156 on a first of the heat generating unit 155, Fig. 7); and
a second heat exchange region formed between the upper heating element and the lower heating element (spaced region between the heat radiation fins 156 of each of the heat generating units 155, Fig. 7).
With regards to claim 5, Kyu et al discloses wherein air passing through ventilation holes of the upper heating element exchanges heat with radiant heat from the upper heating element (air passes through the space between heating fins 156 of each of the heat generating units 155, Fig. 7) and the lower heating element while being mixed with the radiant heat in the second heat exchange region before passing through ventilation holes of the lower heating element (air passes through the heating fins 156 of the first heat generating unit 155 and through the heating fins 156 of the second heat generating unit 155, Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadota et al as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Gwi et al (KR20090042415A).
With regards to claim 4, Kyu et al and Kadota et al does not teach wherein the second heat exchange region is formed in the frame of the heating unit, and the upper heating element and the lower heating element are disposed outside the frame.
Gwi et al teaches a heating apparatus for a vehicle having wherein the second heat exchange region is formed in the frame of the heating unit, and the upper heating element and the lower heating element are disposed outside the frame (a filter part 25 having a pretreatment filter 25a and fine filter 25b which provides a base for heating means 20, and each heat generating means 20 having heating element 21 disposed outside of the filter 25, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kyu et al, Kadota et al and Gwi et al before him or her, to modify the heat generating parts of Kyu et al and Kadota et al to include the filter part and heating part of Gwi et al because the combination allows for improved heat exchange efficiency between the air and a heating element thereby saving energy.
Claim(s) 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyu et al and Kadota et al as applied to claim 2, in further view of Hetzler et al (US2010/0012641).
With regards to claim 6, Kyu et al and Kadota et al teaches wherein the upper heating element and the lower heating element each comprise: a planar body having a plurality of ventilation holes (each heat generating unit 155 has a planar shape and has dissipating fins 156 having plates spaced apart to create a hole to provide ventilation of air, Fig. 7); heat generating parts disposed on the body (each heat generating unit 155 having PTC elements 155a, Fig. 5).
Kyu et al and Kadota et al does not teach a first and second electrodes disposed on the body and configured to apply power to the heat generating parts.
Hetzler et al teaches a vehicle heating system having a first and second electrodes disposed on the body and configured to apply power to the heat generating parts (electric connectors 9a,9b are attached to contact rails 3 for providing power to heating devices 10, Fig. 2,3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kyu et al, Kadota et al and Hetzler et al before him or her, to modify the heat generating parts of Kyu et al and Kadota et al to include the contact rails of Hetzler et al because the combination allows for a compact power solution for a vehicle heating apparatus.
With regards to claim 7, Kyu et al discloses wherein the heat generating parts of the lower heating element are disposed to overlap the ventilation holes of the upper heating element based on a flow direction of air (each of heat generating units 155 having heat radiation fins 156 which have spacings which overlap with each other in an air flow direction, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 8, Kyu et al discloses wherein the ventilation hole of the lower heating element is disposed to overlap the ventilation hole of the upper heating element based on a flow direction of air (each of heat generating units 155 having heat radiation fins 156 which have spacings which overlap with each other in an air flow direction, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 9, Kyu et al discloses wherein the heat generating parts are disposed adjacent to the ventilation holes (heat generating unit 155 is adjacent to heat radiation fins 156 which have spacings, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 10, Kyu et al discloses wherein the body of the upper heating element comprises: a first surface disposed to face the lower heating element (PTC heater 152 has a first surface facing PTC heater 151, Fig. 7); and
a second surface opposite to the first surface (PTC heater 152 has a second surface opposite the surface of PTC heater facing PTC heater 151, Fig. 7), and
wherein the heat generating parts of the upper heating element are disposed on the second surface and face air supplied toward the heating unit (portion of PTC 152 contacts heat radiation fins 156 and carries heated air towards duct 140, Fig. 8).
With regards to claim 11, Kyu et al discloses wherein the heating unit comprises:
a frame (heater housing 160, Fig. 4); and
a planar element disposed on the frame and configured to generate heat (heat generating units 155 inside heater housing 160, Fig. 8);
a fixing member coupled to the frame and configured to fix the heating element to the frame (heater housing 160 has bars and fitting on top and bottom to hold heat generating units 155, Fig. 5 and Fig. 7),
wherein the heating element comprises:
a planar body having a plurality of ventilation holes (each heat generating unit 155 has a planar shape and has dissipating fins 156 having plates spaced apart to create a hole to provide ventilation of air, Fig. 7);
heat generating parts mounted on the body (each heat generating unit 155 having PTC elements 155a, Fig. 5)
wherein the body is bent to define an upper heating element and a lower heating element disposed to be spaced apart from each other (heat generating units 155 are crimped at the top to be spaced apart by dissipation fins 156, Fig. 5).
Kyu et al and Kadota et al does not teach a first and second electrodes disposed on the body and configured to apply power to the heat generating parts.
Hetzler et al teaches a vehicle heating system having a first and second electrodes disposed on the body and configured to apply power to the heat generating parts (electric connectors 9a,9b are attached to contact rails 3 for providing power to heating devices 10, Fig. 2,3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kyu et al, Kadota et al and Hetzler et al before him or her, to modify the heat generating parts of Kyu et al and Kadota et al to include the contact rails of Hetzler et al because the combination allows for a compact power solution for a vehicle heating apparatus.
With regards to claim 12, Hetzler et al teaches a vehicle heating system wherein the first electrodes comprise: an upper first electrode electrically connected to the upper heating element (one of a plurality of contact rail 3 connected to electric connectors 9a and 9b for powering one of the heating devices 10, Fig. 1); and a lower first electrode electrically connected to the lower heating element (one of another of the plurality of contact rail 3 connected to electric connectors 9a and 9b for powering one of another of the heating devices 10, Fig. 1), and wherein the control unit selectively applies power to the upper first electrode and the lower first electrode (contact rails can be alternately connected to the positive and negative pole, respectively, of a voltage source and this alternation in flow direction results in a simple and clear circuit arrangement, paragraph 0014, lines 3-4).
With regards to claim 13, Hetzler et al teaches a vehicle heating system wherein the heating element comprises: two active regions in which the heat generating parts are disposed (heating devices 10 are disposed inside heat transfer devices 2a,2b,2c, Fig. 2); and an inactive region disposed between the two active regions (contact rails 3 do not have heating device 10 and therefore are considered to be inactive, Fig. 2), and wherein the inactive region is disposed to face one surface of the frame (contact rail 3 has a surface that holder 4, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyu et al and Kadota et al as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hetzler et al and further in view of Oide et al (DE112016001738).
With regards to claim 14, Kyu et al discloses a frame (heater housing 160, Fig. 4);
a planar heating element disposed on the frame and configured to generate heat (heat generating units 155 inside heater housing 160, Fig. 8);
wherein the heating element comprises:
a planar body having a plurality of ventilation holes (each heat generating unit 155 has a planar shape and has dissipating fins 156 having plates spaced apart to create a hole to provide ventilation of air, Fig. 7);
heat generating parts mounted on the body (each heat generating unit 155 having PTC elements 155a, Fig. 5)
wherein the body is bent to define an upper heating element and a lower heating element disposed to be spaced apart from each other (heat generating units 155 are crimped at the top to be spaced apart by dissipation fins 156, Fig. 5).
Kyu et al and Kadota et al does not teach a first and second electrodes disposed on the body and configured to apply power to the heat generating parts.
Hetzler et al teaches a vehicle heating system having a first and second electrodes disposed on the body and configured to apply power to the heat generating parts (electric connectors 9a,9b are attached to contact rails 3 for providing power to heating devices 10, Fig. 2,3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kyu et al, Kadota et al and Hetzler et al before him or her, to modify the heat generating parts of Kyu et al and Kadota et al to include the contact rails of Hetzler et al because the combination allows for a compact power solution for a vehicle heating apparatus.
Kyu et al, Kadota et al and Hetzler et al does not teach a detector disposed to be in contact with the heating element and wherein the application of power to the heat generating part is cut off when a line disposed on the detector is deformed.
Oide et al teaches a planar electric heater having a detector disposed to be in contact with the heating element and wherein the application of power to the heat generating part is cut off when a line disposed on the detector is deformed (the heater-ECU 50 includes an abnormality sensing section that detects an abnormality of the heat generation section 21 the heater unit 20 sensing a conductive line break, and the heater-ECU 50 drives a process of abnormality determination of the heater main body 10 based on whether the abnormality of the heat generation section 21 is sampled with this abnormality sampling section, paragraph 0087, lines 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kyu et al, Kadota et al ,Hetzler et al and Oide et al before him or her, to modify the heat generating parts of Kyu et al, Kadota et al and Hetzler et al to include the abnormality sensing portion of Oide et al because the combination allows for increased safety for a heating apparatus.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyu et al and Kadota et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oide et al.
With regards to claim 15, Kyu et al and Kadota t al teaches a housing having one side connected to a floor duct of the air-conditioning casing and the other side having an opening (separate heater housing 160 is connected to duct 140 and outlets 141, Fig. 4).
Kyu et al and Kadota et al does not teach wherein the heating unit is disposed in the opening, and the housing is rotatably disposed at an end of the floor duct.
Oide et al teaches heater unit having a heating unit is disposed in the opening, and the housing is rotatably disposed at an end of the floor duct (heater main body 10 disposed in an opening of glove box 82 and the heater main body 10 is rotated by a moving mechanism 40 at the end of glove box 82, Fig. 1,2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kyu et al, Kadota et al and Oide et al before him or her, to modify the duct parts of Kyu et al and Kadota et al to include the moving mechanism of Oide et al because the combination allows heating to an occupant while they are in various positions.
With regards to claim 18, Kyu et al and Kadota et al does not teach wherein the housing further comprises a heating part disposed on one surface of an inner part of the duct part and the heating part heat air flowing along an interior of the duct part.
Oide et al teaches a vehicle heating system with housing that further comprises a heating part disposed on one surface of an inner part of the duct part and the heating part heat air flowing along an interior of the duct part (glovebox duct 82 has a carrying element 44 has a surface that holds a heater main body 10 to heat air coming through to an occupant 81, Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kyu et a, Kadota et al l and Oide et al before him or her, to modify the outlet of Kyu et al and Kadota et al to include the heating part of Oide et al because the combination allows more heat capacity to an occupant for a much more pleasant ride.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 17 is allowable because the prior art does not disclose or teach wherein the plurality of holes comprises first and second holes having different sizes, wherein the second hole is disposed to be closer to the air-conditioning casing than is the first hole, and wherein the guide protrusion guides air discharged through the first hole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach the amended limitations of claim 1.
Examiners response: Applicant amended claim 1 to include “a housing having one side connected to a floor duct of the air-conditioning casing, and the other side provided with an opening wherein the housing comprises a duct part connected to the floor duct and configured to communicate with the floor duct, and a guide disposed at the opening and positioned at afront end of the heating unit based on a flow direction of air, and wherein a plurality of holes formed in the guide direct air moving through the duct part to ventilation holes of the heating unit”. Kadota et al teaches a housing having one side connected to a floor duct of the air-conditioning casing (auxiliary heating device having a first heating device 13 and second heating device 14 connected to floor heater duct 11,Fig. 1 and 2), and the other side provided with an opening (other side of the first heating device 13 and second heating device 14 each have outlet 28, Fig. 1), wherein the housing comprises a duct part connected to the floor duct and configured to communicate with the floor duct, (air from duct 11 is sucked through inlet 27 of the first ventilation duct 22 of each of the first heating device 13 and second heating device 14, Fig. 1 and 2) and a guide disposed at the opening and positioned at afront end of the heating unit based on a flow direction of air ,and wherein a plurality of holes formed in the guide direct air moving through the duct part to ventilation holes of the heating unit (opening 28 has holes that move air, Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761