DETAILED ACTION
This application is the national stage of PCT/US2021/024721, filed 29 March 2021, claiming priority to US provisional application 63/000,979 (filed 27 March 2020). The International Search Report and Written Opinion issued in the PCT application have been received and reviewed.
This action is responsive to the Reply filed 10 August 2026, in which claim 1 was amended and claims 37-38 added. While it noted that Applicant’s Reply states that claims 26-27 were canceled, those claims remain pending, and have been withdrawn (see paragraphs 4-6 below).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2, 5, 10-12, and 37-38, in the reply filed on 10 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-19, 23, 26-29, 31-32, and 36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 August 2026.
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-12, and 37-38 are directed to the elected invention and under consideration herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 27 September 2022 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. As a copy of cite no. 2 (Gandelman) was not provided, the reference has not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
With regard to the recitation in independent claim 1 of the limitation “wherein the luminescence-substrate is catalyzed by the luminescence-enzyme to produce nucleotide-specific-luminescence for a limited period of time”, it is noted that the specification makes clear that the referenced “limited period of time” is simply a reference to the lifetime of the luminescence, i.e., the period of time during which luminescence is detectable following enzymatic catalysis (which is a property of whatever enzyme and corresponding substrate are employed). Thus, while the term “limited” is a relative term, the term as employed in claim 1 does not render the claims indefinite, as the meaning “limited period of time” is sufficiently clear when considered in the context of what is being claimed.
Regarding claims 11-12, it is noted that:
The “providing” of claim 11 is a require method step in which a mixture is provided comprising a “template nucleic acid sample”, wherein the template may or may not correspond to the “target nucleic acid sequence” (i.e., the target of the “detecting” referenced in the preamble and in the final “detecting” of the claim), and wherein the “primer-probe” targets the “particular target nucleic acid sequence” (which has been interpreted as equivalent to both the “target nucleic acid sequence” of the preamble and the “particular target nucleic acid sequence” referenced in the final “detecting” of the claim);
Beginning with the “carrying out nucleic acid elongation synthesis”, the methods steps of claim 11 are contingent on the “template” present in the mixture being equivalent to the (particular) “target nucleic acid sequence” (as is made clear by the language “carrying out nucleic acid elongation synthesis…if the primer-probe hybridizes to the target nucleic acid sequence….”;
The fact that the “carrying out” and “detecting” are contingent/conditional (rather than required) activities is consistent with the language of the “detecting” step, which states “whereby detection of light indicates the presence of the particular target nucleic acid sequence” (i.e., detection of light indicates presence of the target in cases when the primer-probe hybridizes to the template, allowing for synthesis to occur); and
Given the contingent nature of the “carrying out” and “detecting” of claim 11, the only required activities of the claim are the first step of claim 11 of “providing an elongation mixture” meeting the requirements of the claim.
With further regard to dependent claim 12, it is noted that the claim recites several alternatives, only one of which must be satisfied to meet the requirements of the claim. The references in that claim to target nucleic acid/“the target nucleic acid” have been interpreted as referring to the “target nucleic acid sequence” that is the target of the detection of the method recited in claim 11.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5, and 38 are objected to because of the following informality in claim 2: the term “coelenterazine” is misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12 and 38 are each objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “a plurality of polymerases are use in…” rather than “a plurality of polymerases are used in…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-12, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 5, and 37-38 are indefinite over the recitation in independent claim 1 of the limitation “a polymerase-luminescence reagent solution having the components for carrying out template directed synthesis of a growing nucleic acid strand” (see lines 4-6), because it is unclear what is required by this claim language, and how it further limits the claims. First, it is noted that the claim already separately recites a requirement for a polymerase, a luminescence, and a “template nucleic acid and primer”, and states that the reagent solution must include “a plurality of types of nucleotide-conjugate-analogs”. As several of these materials constitute “components for carrying out template directed synthesis”, it is unclear whether the recited “solution” requires duplicates/additional types of these reagents (as is suggested by the present claim language), or whether the previously recited materials may satisfy in part what is required to be present in the “solution”, etc. As the present claim language is too vague to apprise one of skill in the art as to what must be present in the recited “solution” other than the noted analogs, further clarification is required.
Claims 1-2, 5, and 37-38 are also indefinite over the recitation in claim 1 of a “primer” (see line 4) that is never referenced again in the claim. The reference to a requirement for a primer would suggest to some persons of skill in the art a need to employ the primer, while the fact that there is no further mention of the primer might lead other such persons to conclude that the method does not actually require use of a primer. As the inclusion of the term “primer” in this manner is vague and potentially confusing, further clarification is needed.
Claims 1-2, 5, and 37-38 are also indefinite over the recitation in claim 1 of the limitation “the template stand” (see lines 11 and 14). The claim previously refers to a “template nucleic acid”, as well as a “solution having components for carrying out template directed synthesis of a growing nucleic acid strand”, however there is no prior mention in the claim of a “template strand”. Thus, clear antecedent basis for this term is lacking, and further clarification is needed.
Claims 1-2, 5, and 37-38 are also indefinite over the recitation in claim 1 of the limitation “the luminescence-substrate” (see lines 17-18). AS the claim as written requires multiple such (different types of) substrates, and does not previously refer to a specific/particular substrate, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation of “the luminescence-substrate”.
Claims 2, 5, and 38 are indefinite over the recitation in claim 2 of the limitation “the luminescence-substrate”. Again (as was the case with this limitation in claim 1, as noted above), claim 1 as written requires multiple different luminescence-substrates. Accordingly, clear antecedent basis is lacking for the limitation “the luminescence-substrate”.
Claims 2, 5, and 38 are also indefinite over the recitation in claim 2 of the limitation “wherein each base of a nucleotide is labeled with a unique luminescent-substrate relative to other bases”. While some persons of skill in the art might interpret this as a reference to the nucleotides of the previously recited “nucleotide-conjugate-analogs” of claim 1, the reference to “each base of a nucleotide” suggests that this further limitation may refer to something else (e.g., components of the vaguely recited “solution” of claim 1). Accordingly, clarification is needed to ensure that the manner in which this limitation further limits the claimed method is clear.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the polymerase" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as the claim does not previously reference a polymerase. It is also noted that the claim subsequently refers to a “plurality of polymerase enzymes” (not a single particular “polymerase”).
Claim 11-12 are indefinite over the recitation in claim 11 (at lines 4-5) of the limitation “(e.g., that is complementary to)” because it is unclear whether this limitation does or does not further limit what is being claimed. Both the use of parenthesis and of the recitation of “e.g.” suggest that this limitation may be optional/not required, but it’s inclusion in the claim raises a question as to whether it may limit the claim (and if so how/to what extent). See also MPEP § 2173.05(d). Further clarification is therefore needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 10-12, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Innovasion Labs, Inc. (WO 2018/112412 A1 [21 June 2018]; cited herein) in view of EGI Tech (EP 4047098 A1 [24 August 2022; filed 20 August 2019]; cited herein).
Innovasion teaches methods for single molecule nucleic acid sequencing that comprises:
i)providing a sequencing a mixture including a polymerase enzyme, a template nucleic acid, and a “polymerase reagent solution having the components for carrying out template directed synthesis of a growing nucleic acid strand, wherein said polymerase reagent solution includes a component for a requenching reaction (e.g., a quenching enzyme, and the like) and a plurality of types of nucleotide analogs; wherein each type of nucleotide analog has a label leaving group that is cleavable by the polymerase, and each type of nucleotide analog has a different label, wherein the labeled leaving group is cleaved upon polymerase-dependent binding of a respective nucleotide analog to the template strand”;
ii) “carrying out nucleic acid synthesis such that a plurality of nucleotide analogs are added sequentially to the template whereby: a) a nucleotide analog associates with the polymerase, b) the nucleotide analog is incorporated into the template strand by the polymerase when the labeled leaving group on that nucleotide analog is cleaved by the polymerase, wherein the labeled leaving group emits light upon cleavage, then c) the labeled leaving group on the nucleotide analog is quenched by the requenching reaction”; and
iii) “detecting light from the labels while nucleic acid synthesis is occurring, and using light detected in the time between step b) when the labelled leaving group is cleaved, and step c) in which the labeled leaving group is quenched, to determine a sequence of the template nucleic acid” (see entire reference, particularly the Summary on page 3 and paragraph 23 at pages 6-7, as well as Figures 1-4 and the descriptions thereof).
Providing more specific details of the method, Innovasion further teaches that during their methods, incorporation of modified dNTP analogs by polymerase produces a “fluorescence signal specific to the type of the nucleotide attached” (with each of, e.g., dATP, dGTP, dCTP, and dTTP producing a “unique fluorescence signal” while being attached, and upon “completion of attachment of the nucleotide analog to the 3’ moiety of the previously attached nucleotide analog, the fluorescence generated by the leaving group is detected by an appropriate fluorescence sensor and/or detection device and then it is subsequently rapidly quenched” (see page 4, paragraph 12). Innovasion states that sequencing “is achieved by detecting the fluorescence generated each time a nucleotide is added to the complementary strand revealing the type of nucleotide”, that “each specific nucleotide attachment generates a short peak of a fluorescence signal that can be detected”. Innovasion disclose the modification of nucleotide analogs for use in their methods by adding fluorophores (see page 12, paragraph 36), and disclose the use of a corresponding enzyme (a quenching enzyme) in facilitating detection (page 14, paragraph 42). Innovasion also teach that their sequencing mixtures may include primers, as well as a plurality of polymerases (paragraph 60, page 19).
The methods of Innovasion as described above thus include the same general steps as are recited in the instant claims (including all of independent claims 1/10/11) – providing a sequencing mixture comprising analogous components employed together (polymerase, primer, template, a solution including detectably-labeled dNTP analogs), with polymerase functioning in both nucleic acid synthesis/extension and in cleaving a detectable label, and with an enzyme employed to aid in detection, followed by light-based detection of signals indicating a sequence of the template as synthesis occurs – but with fluorescence being employed rather than luminescence. With further regard to independent claim 11, it is noted that (while the steps following the “providing” of the claim are conditional rather than required steps) the performance of the steps as taught by Innovasion also achieve detecting the presence of a target nucleic acid, simply via the production of the sequence of that nucleic acid as synthesis occurs and is detected.
Innovasion also teaches that their methods may employ “alternative labeling strategies”, including the use of luminescent nanoparticles (see paragraph 35 on page 11), and they also describe an alternative detection methodology in which metal nanoparticles are employed and detected via “plasmonic shift” (see paragraph 40, pages 13-14), as well as disclosing an alternative embodiment in which fluorescence resonance energy transfer (FRET) is employed (page 14, paragraph 41). However, while making clear that their methods may be modified to employ different types of labeling and detection strategies, Innovasion does not provide specific guidance regarding modification of their methods to employ luminescence.
Like Innovasion, EGI teach methods for sequencing polynucleotides that rely on light emission, which methods also comprise monitoring “sequential incorporation of different nucleotides” that are differently labeled from one another, cleavage and release of labels/parts of labels, as well as the use of enzymes (such as luciferases) in detection (see entire reference, particularly the summary of various embodiments at pages 2-6). EGI teach that their methods may employ cleavable luminescent labels and the addition of luciferases (i.e., a type of “luminescence reagent” embraced by the claims; see, e.g., claim 2) in achieving detection of individual nucleotides in a sequence (see, e.g., pages 5-6); it is noted that preferred luminescence labels that are also luminescence substrates encompassed by the claims (see in particular dependent claim 2), including luminol, isoluminol, and acridinium, are taught by EGI (see, e.g., paragraph 49 on page 8). Additionally, EGI teach the use of luciferases including, e.g., gaussian luciferase and renilla luciferase (see, e.g., paragraph 55 on page 9).
Thus, EGI discloses the use in a sequencing method of the same general type taught by Innovasion of an alternative labeling and light-emission based detection scheme relying on luminescent labels and production of luminescence via enzymes such as luciferase rather than fluorescence and enzyme quenching as taught by Innovasion, establishing that such methods may be performed with a reasonable expectation of success. EGI also teach advantages provided by sequencing methods such as those they disclose including (relative to other types of sequencing methodologies) lower cost, the use of fewer consumables, and the use of smaller, portable instruments (see page 2, particularly paragraphs 3-4).
In view of the teachings of EGI, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Innovasion so as to have employed therein luminescent labels and luminescence-based detection via enzymes such as luciferase/luciferases rather that fluorescent labels and fluorescence based detection/quenching as taught by Innovasion – as is suggested both by Innovasion (via their specific suggestion of the use of luminescent nanoparticles), and the teachings of EGI (described above) – and thereby to have performed methods meeting all requirements of the claims. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have made such a modification by the suggestion of Innovasion as well as any/all of the advantages disclosed by EGI (as noted above). Additionally or alternatively, given the similarities of the methods of Innovasion and EGI, an ordinary artisan would have recognized such a modification as the simple substitution of one known labeling and light-based detection methodology for another to achieve the predictable result of nucleic acid sequencing of a template or target of interest.
With further regard to alternatives of dependent claim 2, as well as claims 12 and 37-38, Innovasion teaches as least the alternative of using a DNA polymerase and a plurality of polymerases (as is set forth above; see in particular pages 7-9); both Innovasion and EGI also teach at least nucleotide-conjugate analogs of dATP, dTTP, dGTP, and dCTP (see above). With further regard to other alternatives of dependent claim 2, it is reiterated that EGI teaches luminescence substrates that may be selected for use as labels, including luminol, isoluminol, and acridinium (see, e.g., paragraph 49 on page 8), as well as the luminescence enzyme luciferase (see again, e.g., paragraph 55). Regarding dependent claim 5, EGI teaches luciferases including gaussian luciferase and renilla luciferase (see again paragraph 55), thereby suggesting use of these preferred luciferases.
Conclusion
/DIANA B JOHANNSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682