DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, filed on 11/19/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou, (Pub. No.: US 2020/0305183 A1), in view of Lei et al., (Internation Publication Number: WO 2021/087976 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the final rejection dated 08/21/2025 has overcome. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Rastegardoost et al., (Pub. No.: US 2022/0007399 A1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou, (Pub. No.: US 2020/0305183 A1), in view of Rastegardoost et al., (Pub. No.: US 2022/0007399 A1).
Claims 1-9. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 10, (previously presented): Papasakellariou discloses a terminal apparatus comprising: (Papasakellariou, Fig. 1, paragraph [0048] UE 111/UEs 111-116)
higher layer processing circuitry (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0083], [0122] and various other passages disclose higher layer signaling, paragraph [0225] suggests configuration by higher layers, Fig. 31, paragraphs [0062]-[0065], and [0069] RX processing circuitry 325, and TX processing circuitry 315, central processing units (CPUs)) configured to set a first configuration (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0202]-[0203] disclose first configuration) associated with a HARQ-ACK (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0098], [0153]-[0154],[0158], [0172], [0180], [0186], [0199]-[0200], [0207], [0209], [0213], [0217]-[0218], [0222], [0226], [0232], [0237], [0241] disclose HARQ-ACK Information); and
transmission and/or reception circuitry (Papasakellariou, Fig. 31, paragraphs [0062]-[0065], and [0069] RX processing circuitry 325, and TX processing circuitry 315, central processing units (CPUs), Abstract, perform receptions) configured to detect (Papasakellariou, paragraph [0185] detecting the DCI format) a first DCI format and a second DCI format (Papasakellariou, Fig. 6, paragraphs [0118], and paragraphs [0172], [0186], [0216] first DCI format, second DCI format) and to transmit the HARQ-ACK (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0098], [0153]-[0154],[0158], [0172], [0180], [0186], [0199]-[0200], [0207], [0209], [0213], [0217]-[0218], [0222], [0226], [0232], [0237], [0241] disclose HARQ-ACK Information. Abstract, perform transmissions, paragraph [0006] transmitter configured to transmit, paragraph [0237] transmit HARQ-ACK information);
wherein the transmission and/or reception circuitry (Papasakellariou, Fig. 31, paragraphs [0062]-[0065], and [0069] RX processing circuitry 325, and TX processing circuitry 315, central processing units (CPUs), Abstract, perform receptions)
Papasakellariou does not explicitly disclose following:
is configured to determine a PUCCH to multiplex in a case that:
the first DCI format is detected before the second DCI format,
the second DCI format includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1,
the second DCI format does not schedule a PDSCH reception, and
detection of the second DCI format satisfies a timeline condition.
However, Papasakellariou in view of Rastegardoost disclose following:
is configured to determine a PUCCH to multiplex in a case that: (Rastegardoost, Abstract, the wireless device multiplexes in the uplink control channel (i.e. PUCCH), paragraph [0252] UE multiplexes UCI in a PUCCH transmission)
the first DCI format is detected before the second DCI format, (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0272],[0394] first DCI format, second DCI format, paragraph [0251] UE detects a DCI format 1_0 which is a first DCI format)
the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394] second DCI format) includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1, (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0519] the second DCI may request one-shot feedback. The second DCI indicates NFI (new feedback indicator)).
the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, [0272], [0394] second DCI format) does not schedule a PDSCH reception (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394], paragraph [0254] UE does not expect to detect a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception, paragraphs [0519] the second DCI may request one-shot feedback. The second DCI indicates NFI (new feedback indicator). The second DCI may not schedule DL data reception or UL data transmission), and
detection of the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394] second DCI format) satisfies a timeline condition (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0342] the wireless device detects a DCI format (e.g. DCI format 1_1 which is second DCI format. The DCI format comprises a time domain resource assignment field. The time domain resource assignment field provides a slot offset value for a PDSCH transmission. The slot offset value indicates a second slot. In response to the detecting the DCI format, the wireless device may not be required to receive or transmit in the serving cell during a time duration from the end of a third symbol of the slot until the beginning of the second slot).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Papasakellariou before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Rastegardoost so that is configured to determine a PUCCH to multiplex in a case that: the first DCI format is detected before the second DCI format, the second DCI format includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1, the second DCI format does not schedule a PDSCH reception, and detection of the second DCI format satisfies a timeline condition. The motivation to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost would efficiently perform communication. (Rastegardoost, Abstract, [0272], [0342], [0394], [0401], [0519], [0533])
Regarding Claim 11, (previously presented): Papasakellariou discloses a base station apparatus comprising: (Papasakellariou, Fig. 1, paragraph [0047] base station BS 101, BS 102, and BS 103)
higher layer processing circuitry (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0083], [0122] and various other passages disclose higher layer signaling, paragraph [0225] suggests configuration by higher layers, Fig. 31, paragraphs [0062]-[0065], and [0069] RX processing circuitry 325, and TX processing circuitry 315, central processing units (CPUs)) configured to set a first configuration (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0202]-[0203] disclose first configuration) associated with a HARQ-ACK (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0098], [0153]-[0154],[0158], [0172], [0180], [0186], [0199]-[0200], [0207], [0209], [0213], [0217]-[0218], [0222], [0226], [0232], [0237], [0241] disclose HARQ-ACK Information); and
transmission and/or reception circuitry (Papasakellariou, Fig. 31, paragraphs [0062]-[0065], and [0069] RX processing circuitry 325, and TX processing circuitry 315, central processing units (CPUs), Abstract, perform receptions) configured to transmit a first DCI format and a second DCI format (Papasakellariou, paragraph [0185] detecting the DCI format, Fig. 6, paragraph [0118], and paragraphs [0172], [0186], and [0216] disclose first DCI format, and second DCI format) and to receive the HARQ-ACK (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0098], [0153]-[0154],[0158], [0172], [0180], [0186], [0199]-[0200], [0207], [0209], [0213], [0217]-[0218], [0222], [0226], [0232], [0237], [0241] disclose HARQ-ACK Information);
wherein the transmission and/or reception circuitry (Papasakellariou, Fig. 31, paragraphs [0062]-[0065], and [0069] RX processing circuitry 325, and TX processing circuitry 315, central processing units (CPUs), Abstract, perform receptions)
Papasakellariou does not explicitly disclose following:
is configured to receive a PUCCH with type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook in case that:
the first DCI format is transmitted before the second DCI format,
the second DCI format includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1,
the second DCI format does not schedule a PDSCH reception, and
transmission of the second DCI format satisfies timeline condition.
However, Papasakellariou in view of Rastergardoost disclose following:
is configured to receive a PUCCH with type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook in case that: (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0401] discloses one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook which is type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook)
the first DCI format is detected before the second DCI format, (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0272],[0394] first DCI format, second DCI format, paragraph [0251] UE detects a DCI format 1_0 which is a first DCI format)
the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394] second DCI format) includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1, (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0401], [0519] the second DCI may request one-shot feedback. The second DCI indicates NFI (new feedback indicator)).
the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, [0272], [0394] second DCI format) does not schedule a PDSCH reception (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394], paragraph [0254] UE does not expect to detect a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception, paragraphs [0401], [0519], [0533] the second DCI may request one-shot feedback. The second DCI indicates NFI (new feedback indicator). The second DCI may not schedule DL data reception or UL data transmission), and
detection of the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394] second DCI format) satisfies a timeline condition (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0342] the wireless device detects a DCI format (e.g. DCI format 1_1 which is second DCI format. The DCI format comprises a time domain resource assignment field. The time domain resource assignment field provides a slot offset value for a PDSCH transmission. The slot offset value indicates a second slot. In response to the detecting the DCI format, the wireless device may not be required to receive or transmit in the serving cell during a time duration from the end of a third symbol of the slot until the beginning of the second slot).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Papasakellariou before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Rastegardoost so that is configured to receive a PUCCH with type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook in case that: the first DCI format is transmitted before the second DCI format, the second DCI format includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1, the second DCI format does not schedule a PDSCH reception, and transmission of the second DCI format satisfies timeline condition is included in a base station apparatus. The motivation to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost would efficiently perform communication. (Rastegardoost, Abstract, [0272], [0342], [0394], [0401], [0519], [0533])
Regarding Claim 12, (previously presented): Papasakellariou discloses a communication method for a terminal apparatus comprising: (Papasakellariou, Fig. 1, paragraph [0048] UE 111/UEs 111-116)
setting a first configuration (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0202]-[0203] disclose first configuration) associated with a HARQ-ACK (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0098], [0153]-[0154],[0158], [0172], [0180], [0186], [0199]-[0200], [0207], [0209], [0213], [0217]-[0218], [0222], [0226], [0232], [0237], [0241] disclose HARQ-ACK Information); and
detecting a first DCI format and a second DCI format; (Papasakellariou, paragraph [0185] detecting the DCI format, Fig. 6, paragraph [0118], and paragraphs [0172], [0186], and [0216] disclose first DCI format, and second DCI format)
transmitting the HARQ-ACK (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0098], [0153]-[0154],[0158], [0172], [0180], [0186], [0199]-[0200], [0207], [0209], [0213], [0217]-[0218], [0222], [0226], [0232], [0237], [0241] disclose HARQ-ACK Information); and
determining a PUCCH (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0005]-[0007] PUCCH, Figs. 16 through 20 disclose PUCCH) to multiplex (Papasakellariou, paragraphs [0055], [0064], [0073], and [0202] disclose multiplexes, paragraph [0098] disclose multiplex/multiplexing, paragraph [0179] multiplexed, and paragraph [0200] multiplex HARQ-ACK information) in a case that:
Papasakellariou does not explicitly disclose following:
is configured to determine a PUCCH to multiplex in a case that:
the first DCI format is detected before the second DCI format,
the second DCI format includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1,
the second DCI format does not schedule a PDSCH reception, and
detection of the second DCI format satisfies a timeline condition.
However, Papasakellariou in view of Rastegardoost disclose following:
is configured to determine a PUCCH to multiplex in a case that: (Rastegardoost, Abstract, the wireless device multiplexes in the uplink control channel (i.e. PUCCH), paragraph [0252] UE multiplexes UCI in a PUCCH transmission)
the first DCI format is detected before the second DCI format, (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0272],[0394] first DCI format, second DCI format, paragraph [0251] UE detects a DCI format 1_0 which is a first DCI format)
the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394] second DCI format) includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1, (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0519] the second DCI may request one-shot feedback. The second DCI indicates NFI (new feedback indicator)).
the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, [0272], [0394] second DCI format) does not schedule a PDSCH reception (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394], paragraph [0254] UE does not expect to detect a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception, paragraphs [0519] the second DCI may request one-shot feedback. The second DCI indicates NFI (new feedback indicator). The second DCI may not schedule DL data reception or UL data transmission), and
detection of the second DCI format (Rastegardoost, paragraphs [0272], [0394] second DCI format) satisfies a timeline condition (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0342] the wireless device detects a DCI format (e.g. DCI format 1_1 which is second DCI format. The DCI format comprises a time domain resource assignment field. The time domain resource assignment field provides a slot offset value for a PDSCH transmission. The slot offset value indicates a second slot. In response to the detecting the DCI format, the wireless device may not be required to receive or transmit in the serving cell during a time duration from the end of a third symbol of the slot until the beginning of the second slot).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Papasakellariou before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Rastegardoost so that is configured to determine a PUCCH to multiplex in a case that: the first DCI format is detected before the second DCI format, the second DCI format includes one-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1, the second DCI format does not schedule a PDSCH reception, and detection of the second DCI format satisfies a timeline condition. The motivation to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost would efficiently perform communication. (Rastegardoost, Abstract, [0272], [0342],[0394], [0401], [0519], [0533])
Conclusion
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472