DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 3-4, 7, 9-15, 19-20, 22, 26 and 28-33 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on June 22, 2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 3-4, 7, 9-13, and 19-20, 22, 26, 28, and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreira da Costa et al (Pub. No. US 2015/0019005) in view of Zhou (U.S. Patent No. 11,099,934).
Claims 19, 3-4, 7, 9-13, 22, 28, 30 (Method)
4-1. Regarding claim 19, Moreira da Costa teaches a method for operating a first food machine and a second food machine, wherein the first food machine is a different type of machine than the second food machine and performs different process steps than the second food machine, by disclosing a food packaging line which comprises a plurality of components such as a packaging machine, a cutting-up device, and a loader [paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
Moreira da Costa teaches wherein the method comprises steps including: a) storing a data set required to operate the first food machine in a first storage unit of the first food machine, by disclosing that each component in the food packaging line stores a respective program that contains data as to the operations of the component [paragraph 24].
Moreira da Costa teaches… wherein the data set required to operate the first food machine is uniquely assigned to the first food machine and is not configured to operate the second food machine, by disclosing that each of the components are configured to perform a different operation within the food packaging line, such as packaging, cutting up blocks of food, and placing cut-up portions of food into pack trays of a packaging machine [paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
Moreira da Costa does not expressly teach b) additionally storing the data set required to operate the first food machine in a second storage unit of the second food machine to facilitate recovery of the data set upon a loss of the data set in the first storage unit;… wherein when the loss of the data set in the first storage unit of the first food machine is recognized by a control device of the first food machine, the method comprises a step of transmitting the data set from the second storage unit of the second food machine to the first storage unit of the first food machine. Zhou discloses that it was well known to provide a data rebuilding process for a primary site using external redundancy, where a secondary site provides data mirroring for the primary site such that only lost data is rebuilt by identifying the lost data and retrieving the lost data from the secondary site [column 1, lines 50-51; column 4, lines 9-13, 43-50]. When a failure is detected by a processor on a first server that stores a first data [column 1, lines 53-57; column 6, lines 10-12], the first server starts to rebuild its lost data by forming data loss information that identifies the lost data units in the first data [column 6, lines 31-33]. The formed data loss information is sent to a secondary server [column 6, lines 33-34] and corresponding mirrored data is retrieved from the secondary server [column 7, lines 9-60] and sent to the first server to rebuild the lost data [column 7, lines 61-65]. This would provide an efficient process of restoring lost data to ensure the correct functioning of devices. Since Moreira da Costa disclose that data and commands may be exchanged bidirectionally between each component [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 14-20] and that one component of the food packaging line may be used to resolve problems in another component of the food packaging line [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 34-46], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to, for the food machines of Moreira da Costa, store mirrored data among the machines and use such mirrored data as part of a rebuilding process when a machine recognizes a loss of data, as taught by Zhou. This would provide an efficient process of restoring lost data to ensure the correct functioning of machines.
4-2. Regarding claim 3, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, comprising a step of transmitting the data set required to operate the first food machine to the second storage unit of the second food machine via a wireless or wired communication link, by disclosing that the components of the food packaging line are configured for wired or wireless communication [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 14-20, paragraph 47, lines 8-18; Zhou, column 9, lines 54-67].
4-3. Regarding claim 4, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, wherein the data set required to operate the first food machine comprises input data and/or user data, and the method comprises a step of detecting the input data with an input device of the first food machinby disclosing an operator control unit in each component that allows an operator to control the entire food packaging line [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 12-14, 24-46].
4-4. Regarding claim 7, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 1, wherein when a loss of the input data or the user data of the data set in the first storage unit of the first food machine is recognized, the method comprising transmitting only the lost input data or the user data of the data set from the second storage unit of the second food machinby disclosing that when a failure is detected by a processor on a first server that stores a first data [Zhou, column 1, lines 53-57; column 6, lines 10-12], the first server starts to rebuild its lost data by forming data loss information that identifies the lost data units in the first data [Zhou, column 6, lines 31-33]. The formed data loss information is sent to a secondary server [Zhou, column 6, lines 33-34] and corresponding mirrored data is retrieved from the secondary server [Zhou, column 7, lines 9-60] and sent to the first server to rebuild the lost data [Zhou, column 7, lines 61-65].
4-5. Regarding claim 9, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, wherein the data set to operate the first food machine comprises order data for a first order, and the method comprises a step of transmitting the order data from an order data management system via a wireless or wired communication link, by disclosing that the components of the food packaging line can be controlled using the operator control units of each component [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 24-27]. The components are configured for wired or wireless communication [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 14-20, paragraph 47, lines 8-18; Zhou, column 9, lines 54-67].
4-6. Regarding claim 10, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 9, wherein when order data for a second order is not provided by the order data management system, wherein the method comprises a step of transmitting the order data from the first order from the second storage unit of the second food machine into the first storage unit of the first food machine, by disclosing that any operator control unit of the components may be used to control the food packaging line [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 24-27]. Thus, if one component does not provide order data, another component can.
4-7. Regarding claim 11, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, wherein the first food machine and the second food machine are part of a common production line of a plurality of food machines, the common production line comprising a third food machine having a third storage unit, by disclosing that the food packaging line is made up of a plurality of components each comprising memory [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach wherein a further data set that is required to operate the second food machine is stored in the second storage unit of the second food machinby disclosing that each component in the food packaging line stores a respective program that contains data as to the operations of the component [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 24].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach wherein the further data set that is required to operate the second food machine is additionally stored in the third storage unit of the third food machine, by disclosing that one component of the food packaging line may be used to resolve problems in another component of the food packaging line [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 34-46]. An additional storage site is used for a machine to provide external redundancy where data is mirrored between the machines such that the rebuilding process may be carried out in the event of a detected loss of data [Zhou, column 1, lines 50-51; column 4, lines 9-13, 43-50].
4-8. Regarding claim 12, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19 wherein the first food machine and the second food machine are part of a common production line of a plurality of food machines, by disclosing that the food packaging line is made up of a plurality of components [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach wherein all data sets required to operate the common production line of the plurality of food machines are stored in the first storage unit of the first food machine and in the second storage unit of the second food machine, by disclosing that the entire food packaging line can be controlled using the operator control units of each component [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 24-27].
4-9. Regarding claim 13, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, wherein the first food machine and the second food machine are part of a common production line of a plurality of food machines, the common production line comprising a third food machinby disclosing that the food packaging line is made up of a plurality of components each comprising memory [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach wherein a further data set required to operate the second food machine is stored in the second storage unit of the second food machinby disclosing that each component in the food packaging line stores a respective program that contains data as to the operations of the component [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 24].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach wherein the further data set required to operate the second food machine is additionally stored in the third storage unit of the third food machine, by disclosing that one component of the food packaging line may be used to resolve problems in another component of the food packaging line [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 34-46]. An additional storage site is used for a machine to provide external redundancy where data is mirrored between the machines such that the rebuilding process may be carried out in the event of a detected loss of data [Zhou, column 1, lines 50-51; column 4, lines 9-13, 43-50].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach wherein an additional data set required to operate the third food machine is stored in the third storage unit of the third food machine, by disclosing that each component in the food packaging line stores a respective program that contains data as to the operations of the component [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 24].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach wherein the additional data set required to operate the third food machine is additionally stored in the first storage unit of the first food machine, by disclosing that one component of the food packaging line may be used to resolve problems in another component of the food packaging line [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 34-46]. An additional storage site is used for a machine to provide external redundancy where data is mirrored between the machines such that the rebuilding process may be carried out in the event of a detected loss of data [Zhou, column 1, lines 50-51; column 4, lines 9-13, 43-50].
4-10. Regarding claim 22, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, wherein the first food machine and the second food machine are linked via a wireless or wired communication link, by disclosing that the components of the food packaging line are configured for wired or wireless communication [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 14-20, paragraph 47, lines 8-18; Zhou, column 9, lines 54-67].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach the method comprises transmitting the data set required to operate the first food machine directly from the second storage unit of the second food machine to the first storage unit of the first food machine via the wireless or wired communication link, by disclosing that data is mirrored between the machines such that the rebuilding process may be carried out in the event of a detected loss of data [Zhou, column 1, lines 50-51; column 4, lines 9-13, 43-50]. Given that machines within the production line may communicate directly with each other [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 18-20, paragraph 47, lines 8-18] and the need to be able to resolve a malfunction of the production line without having to go considerable distances [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 46-53], one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to mirror operating instructions from an identified component in the food packaging line of Moreira da Costa to another component as a backup, and transmit the mirrored operating instructions back to the identified component when a data loss is recognized, as taught by Zhou. Such direct machine-to-machine restoration of data would provide a more efficient and time-saving way to protect against data loss.
4-11. Regarding claim 28, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, wherein the data set required to operate the first food machine is uniquely assigned to only operate the first food machine and not to operate the second food machine, by disclosing that the food packaging line is made up of a plurality of components that may perform different functions [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
4-12. Regarding claim 30, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, wherein upon a partial loss of the data set, only the lost part of the data set is transmitted from the second storage unit of the second food machine to the first storage unit of the first food machine to restore the first food machine to a functional state, by disclosing that when a failure is detected by a processor on a first server that stores a first data [Zhou, column 1, lines 53-57; column 6, lines 10-12], the first server starts to rebuild its lost data by forming data loss information that identifies the lost data units in the first data [Zhou, column 6, lines 31-33]. The formed data loss information is sent to a secondary server [Zhou, column 6, lines 33-34] and corresponding mirrored data is retrieved from the secondary server [Zhou, column 7, lines 9-60] and sent to the first server to rebuild the lost data [Zhou, column 7, lines 61-65].
Claims 20, 26, 31-33 (Method)
4-13. Regarding claim 20, Moreira da Costa teaches a method for operating a first food machine and a second food machine, wherein the first food machine is a different type of machine than the second food machine and performs different process steps than the second food machine, by disclosing a food packaging line which comprises a plurality of components such as a packaging machine, a cutting-up device, and a loader [paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
Moreira da Costa teaches wherein the method comprises steps including: a) storing a data set required to operate the first food machine in a first storage unit of the first food machine, by disclosing that each component in the food packaging line stores a respective program that contains data as to the operations of the component [paragraph 24].
Moreira da Costa teaches… wherein the data set required to operate the first food machine is uniquely assigned to the first food machine and is not configured to operate the second food machine, by disclosing that each of the components are configured to perform a different operation within the food packaging line, such as packaging, cutting up blocks of food, and placing cut-up portions of food into pack trays of a packaging machine [paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
Moreira da Costa does not expressly teach b) additionally storing the data set required to operate the first food machine in a second storage unit of the second food machine;… wherein when a loss of the data set in the first storage unit of the first food machine is recognized by a control device of the first food machine, the method comprises a step of controlling the first food machine by a control device of the second food machine with the data set stored in the second storage unit of the second food machine. Zhou discloses that it was well known to provide a data rebuilding process for a primary site using external redundancy, where a secondary site provides data mirroring for the primary site such that only lost data is rebuilt by identifying the lost data and retrieving the lost data from the secondary site [column 1, lines 50-51; column 4, lines 9-13, 43-50]. When a failure is detected by a processor on a first server that stores a first data [column 1, lines 53-57; column 6, lines 10-12], the first server starts to rebuild its lost data by first redirecting incoming input/output requests from the application to a second server storing a second data, wherein the second data is mirrored from the first data [column 6, lines 12-14]. The secondary server processing the I/O requests by using the mirrored data while the primary server starts to rebuild its lost data [column 6, lines 27-29]. This would allow for the continued operation of the application while the lost data is rebuilt. Since Moreira de Costa discloses using the control system of another component to operate a component when the component has no dedicated control system [Moreira de Costa, paragraph 48], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide control of a first component by a second component in the food packaging line of Moreira de Costa when a loss of data is detected in the first component, as taught by Zhou. This would allow for the continued operation of the component while the lost data is rebuilt.
4-14. Regarding claim 26, Moreira de Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 20, wherein the first food machine and the second food machine are linked via a wireless or wired communication link, by disclosing that the components of the food packaging line are configured for wired or wireless communication [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 14-20, paragraph 47, lines 8-18; Zhou, column 9, lines 54-67].
Moreira de Costa-Zhou teach the method comprises transmitting the data set required to operate the first food machine directly from the second storage unit of the second food machine to the first storage unit of the first food machine via the wireless or wired communication link, by disclosing that data is mirrored between the machines such that the rebuilding process may be carried out in the event of a detected loss of data [Zhou, column 1, lines 50-51; column 4, lines 9-13, 43-50]. Given that machines within the production line may communicate directly with each other [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 18-20, paragraph 47, lines 8-18] and the need to be able to resolve a malfunction of the production line without having to go considerable distances [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 46-53], one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to mirror operating instructions from an identified component in the food packaging line of Moreira da Costa to another component as a backup, and transmit the mirrored operating instructions back to the identified component when a data loss is recognized, as taught by Zhou. Such direct machine-to-machine restoration of data would provide a more efficient and time-saving way to protect against data loss.
Moreira de Costa-Zhou teach wherein the first food machine and the second food machine are not of the same type of machine, or the first food machine and the second food machine are of the same type of machine but perform different processing steps, by disclosing that the food packaging line is made up of a plurality of components that may perform different functions [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
4-15. Regarding claim 31, Moreira de Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 20, wherein the data set required to operate the first food machine is uniquely assigned to only operate the first food machine and not to operate the second food machine, by disclosing that the food packaging line is made up of a plurality of components that may perform different functions [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
4-16. Regarding claim 32, Moreira de Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 20, wherein the data set required to operate the first food machine does not include values that are used to control or operate the second food machine, by disclosing that the food packaging line is made up of a plurality of components that may perform different functions, such as a packaging machine, a cutting-up device, a loader [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
4-17. Regarding claim 33, Moreira de Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 31, wherein upon a partial loss of the data set, only the lost part of the data set is transmitted from the second storage unit of the second food machine to the first storage unit of the first food machine, by disclosing that when a failure is detected by a processor on a first server that stores a first data [Zhou, column 1, lines 53-57; column 6, lines 10-12], the first server starts to rebuild its lost data by forming data loss information that identifies the lost data units in the first data [Zhou, column 6, lines 31-33]. The formed data loss information is sent to a secondary server [Zhou, column 6, lines 33-34] and corresponding mirrored data is retrieved from the secondary server [Zhou, column 7, lines 9-60] and sent to the first server to rebuild the lost data [Zhou, column 7, lines 61-65].
5. Claims 14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreira da Costa et al (Pub. No. US 2015/0019005), in view of Zhou (U.S. Patent No. 11,099,934), and further in view of Dye (U.S. Patent No. 7,299,103).
5-1. Regarding claim 14, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19. Moreira da Costa-Zhou do not expressly teach wherein the method comprises selecting the data set required to operate the first food machine, detecting an indicator by a detection device in order to select the data set, and determining the data set is from a list of predefined data sets by a selection unit depending on the detected indicator. Dye discloses a packaging machine having an electronic controller [column 7, lines 1-2] that stores security data for controlling access to the controller of a machine to service access menus [column 7, lines 8-11, 30-31]. The controller of a machine is used to control the operation of the machine and a display is used to indicate the current mode of operation [column 7, lines 1-8]. The machine is configured to operate in different modes [column 2, lines 54-59]. A service representative accesses a service menu of a machine to view and/or edit machine settings, including operational parameters [column 10, lines 54-61]. This would allow a user more easily configure settings of a machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a user interface for selecting operational parameters of a machine, as taught by Dye. This would allow a user more easily configure settings of a machine.
5-2. Regarding claim 29, Moreira da Costa-Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 19, wherein the data set required to operate the first food machine does not include values that are used to control or operate the second food machine, by disclosing that the food packaging line is made up of a plurality of components that may perform different functions, such as a packaging machine, a cutting-up device, a loader [Moreira da Costa, paragraph 46, lines 1-11].
Moreira da Costa-Zhou do not expressly teach wherein the data set comprises measured values that can be used to generate information for presenting to a user of the first food machine, wherein the information comprises statistical information and/or reference information and/or deviations from a reference value or reference curve that arise during operation of the first food machine. Dye discloses a packaging machine that provides a display for presenting information to the user [Dye, column 7, lines 4-8; column 8, lines 48-63]. The displayed information comprises status information, a request for input, operational data, and the like [Dye, column 7, lines 4-8; column 8, lines 59-63]. This would allow a user to more easily monitor the operations of the machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an interface for displaying information relating to the operations of a machine, as taught by Dye. This would allow a user to more easily monitor the operations of the machine.
6. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreira da Costa et al (Pub. No. US 2015/0019005), in view of Zhou (U.S. Patent No. 11,099,934), in view of Dye (U.S. Patent No. 7,299,103), and further in view of Roberts et al (Pub. No. US 2007/0251197).
6-1. Regarding claim 15, Moreira da Costa-Zhou-Dye teach all the limitations of claim 14. Moreira da Costa-Zhou-Dye do not expressly teach wherein the detected indicator is an optically detectable indicator and the detection device is an optical detection device. Roberts discloses a method and system for repackaging an item having a unique identification code [paragraph 1]. A repackaging station has a scanner that reads data from the unique identification code into a data system [paragraph 23, lines 3-8; figure 1] to recall information unique to the specific item [paragraph 24]. The recalled information includes an appropriate replacement package type for the particular item [paragraph 29, lines 7-11]. The data system is connected to a package dispensing machine having a plurality of different replacement packages for packaging a variety of items of different size and/or shape [paragraph 29, lines 1-7]. The data system uses the recalled information to instruct the package dispensing machine to automatically dispose the correct replacement package type for the item [paragraph 30]. This would increase the efficiency of the system by making it easier to discern the appropriate packaging for the item. Since Moreira da Costa-Zhou-Dye disclose that a packaging machine in the food packaging line has multiple operation modes that may be appropriate for certain situations [Dye, column 6, lines 15-20, 33-41], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide scanning of a unique identification code to determine appropriate package type for an item the packaging machine should operate to produce, as taught by Roberts. This would increase the efficiency of the system by making it easier to discern the appropriate packaging for the item.
Response to Arguments
7. The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 19 and 20.
Regarding independent claims 19 and 20, Applicant alleges that Dye (U.S. Patent No. 7,299,103) and Zhou (U.S. Patent No. 11,099,934) do not disclose that i) the first food machine is a different type of machine than the second food machine and performs different process steps than the second food machine, wherein the method comprises steps; and ii) the data set required to operate the first food machine is uniquely assigned to the first food machine and is not configured to operate the second food machine, as has been amended to the claims.
Examiner has rejected claims 19 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreira da Costa et al (Pub. No. US 2015/0019005) in view of Zhou (U.S. Patent No. 11,099,934). Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118