Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments:
103
Applicant argues on page 12 of Remarks that Lee in view of Li does not teach claim 14 as recited “A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: monitoring each of a plurality of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band associated with sidelink communications; detecting sidelink control information in a first subset resources of the plurality of resources based at least in part on the monitoring; performing a channel busy measurement on the first subset of resources based at least in part on detecting the sidelink control information in the first subset of resources; and communicating with a second UE via a channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 14 have been
considered and are moot because a new ground of rejection is found that does not rely on any
references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching. The updated search was
conducted and new reference was found as shown below.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 1-10, 21-33, and 41 are allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 16, 34, 36, 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Cao et al. (US 2021/0144750 A1)(“Cao”).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
plurality of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band associated with sidelink communications;
Lee [0115] User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
performing a channel busy measurement;
(Lee [204]; For example, CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be independently performed per V2X resource pool and/or BWP).
and communicating with a second UE based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.
(Lee, Fig. 20 [0172] in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example,
the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in
accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.)
Lee does not teach monitoring each of the plurality of resources, detecting sidelink control information
in each of one or more a first subset resources of the plurality of resources based at least in part on the
monitoring;
Cao teaches monitoring each of the plurality of resources,
Cao [0181]; During the preemption window, the UE monitors for SCIs transmitted by other UEs, and
upon detection of such an SCI, determines what resources are being reserved, and
the priority of the reservation.
detecting sidelink control information in each of one or more a first subset resources of the plurality of
resources based at least in part on the monitoring;
Cao [0181] There may be a preemption sensing window, within which UE collects information to
decide whether to trigger reselection. During the preemption window, the
UE monitors for SCIs transmitted by other UEs, and upon detection of such an SCI, determines
what resources are being reserved, and the priority of the reservation. The priority may, for example,
be a priority value indicated in SCI that is used to indicate the QoS priority of the data packet that is
transmitting or to be transmitted on the reserved resources (first subset of resource).
In view of Cao, Lee is modified such that UE monitoring each of the plurality of resources, detecting
sidelink control information in each of one or more a first subset resources of the plurality of
resources based at least in part on the monitoring;
Lee and Cao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication on the pool of resources.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to detecting sidelink control
information in resources based on monitoring to determine what resources are reserved and to
schedule the efficient subsequent re-transmission of resources (Cao [0208]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Cao in further view of Hoang teaches all the limitation of claim 14. Lee further teaches The method of claim 15, wherein the sidelink control information is associated with a transmitting UE different from the first UE. (Lee [0131]; Procedures related to sensing and resource (re-)selection may be supported in resource allocation mode 2. The sensing procedure may be defined as a process decoding the SCI from another UE( another UE) and/or SL measurement. The decoding of the SCI in the sensing procedure may at least provide information on a SL resource that is being indicated by a UE transmitting the SCI (transmitting UE different form the first UE)).
Regarding claim 34, An apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (LE), comprising: a processor (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 102), memory (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 104), coupled with the processor; and instructions stored (Lee, [0263])in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
plurality of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band associated with sidelink communications;
Lee [0115] User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
perform a channel busy measurement;
(Lee [204]; For example, CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be independently performed per V2X resource pool and/or BWP).
and communicate with a second UE based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.
(Lee, Fig. 20 [0172] in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example,
the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in
accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.)
Lee does not teach monitor each of the plurality of resources, detect sidelink control information
in each of one or more a first subset resources of the plurality of resources based at least in part on the
monitoring;
Cao teaches monitor each of the plurality of resources,
Cao [0181]; During the preemption window, the UE monitors for SCIs transmitted by other UEs, and
upon detection of such an SCI, determines what resources are being reserved, and
the priority of the reservation.
detect sidelink control information in each of one or more a first subset resources of the plurality of
resources based at least in part on the monitoring;
Cao [0181] There may be a preemption sensing window, within which UE collects information to
decide whether to trigger reselection. During the preemption window, the
UE monitors for SCIs transmitted by other UEs, and upon detection of such an SCI, determines
what resources are being reserved, and the priority of the reservation. The priority may, for example,
be a priority value indicated in SCI that is used to indicate the QoS priority of the data packet that is
transmitting or to be transmitted on the reserved resources (first subset of resource).
In view of Cao, Lee is modified such that UE monitoring each of the plurality of resources, detecting
sidelink control information in each of one or more a first subset resources of the plurality of
resources based at least in part on the monitoring;
Lee and Cao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication on the pool of resources.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to detecting sidelink control
information in resources based on monitoring to determine what resources are reserved and to
schedule the efficient subsequent re-transmission of resources (Cao [0208]).
Regarding claim 36, Lee in view of Cao teaches all the limitation of claim 34. Lee
further teaches The method of claim 35, wherein the sidelink control information is associated with a
transmitting UE different from the first UE. (Lee [0131]; Procedures related to sensing and resource (re-
)selection may be supported in resource allocation mode 2. The sensing procedure may be defined as
a process decoding the SCI from another UE( another UE) and/or SL measurement. The decoding of
the SCI in the sensing procedure may at least provide information on a SL resource that is being
indicated by a UE transmitting the SCI (transmitting UE different form the first UE)).
Regarding claim 38, The apparatus of claim 34, wherein the first subset of resources corresponds to a
number of the plurality of resources.
(Lee, Fig. 17 [0133]; Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may identify transmission resources (number of the
plurality of resources) reserved by another UE (first subset of resource) or resources being used by
another UE via sensing within a sensing window)
Regarding claim 39, The apparatus of claim 34, wherein the first subset of resources corresponds to a
number of the one or more resources. (Lee, Fig. 17 [0133]; Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may identify
transmission resources (one or more resources) reserved by another UE(first subset of resource) or
resources being used by another UE via sensing within a sensing window)
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Cao in further view of Ro et al. (US 2016/0278120 A1) (“Ro”).
Regarding claim 40, Lee in view of Cao teaches all the limitation of claim 34.
The apparatus of claim 34, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more
processor (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 102)to cause the apparatus to:
Cao teaches monitoring, first subset of resources of the plurality of resources,
Cao [0181]; During the preemption window, the UE monitors for SCIs transmitted by other UEs, and
upon detection of such an SCI, determines what resources are being reserved, and
the priority of the reservation.
Lee in view of Cao does not teach performing channel sensing in each of the
plurality of resources, wherein the resources are determined based at least in part on successful channel
sensing.
Ro teaches performing channel sensing in each of the plurality of resources, wherein the
resources of the plurality of resources are determined based at least in part on successful channel
sensing.
(Ro [0035]; In accordance with another aspect of the present invention, a device-to-device (D2D)
communication method of a receiving terminal includes: detecting a channel sensing signal from a
transmitting terminal, using a preset resource allocation condition; and detecting, when the detection
of a channel sensing signal is successful, the size of a transmission resource of the transmitting
terminal, using the preset resource allocation condition.)
In view of Ro, Lee in view of Cao is modified such that a set of resources are
determined based on successful channel sensing.
Lee in view of Cao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they
are in the same field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication via determined resources.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in further view of Ro in manner described
above to determine the window of resources based on channel sensing to enhance the efficiency of the
network (Ro [0012]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478