Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments:
112 (f)
On page 10 of Remarks, applicant Submits the Specification for the various aspects of the feature of claim 41. The Specification is acknowledged but 112(f) is still invoked in interpreting the claim language.
103
on page 11 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Lee in view of Basu does not teach amended
claim 1 as recited “A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE),
comprising: wherein the channel busy measurement is performed over a measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic and communicating with a second UE via a channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.”
Additionally, the applicant argues on page 14 of Remarks that Lee in view of Li does not teach claim 14 as recited “A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: monitoring each of a plurality of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band associated with sidelink communications; detecting sidelink control information in each of one or more resources of the plurality of resources based at least in part on the monitoring; performing a channel busy measurement for each of the one or more resources for channel busy measurements, wherein each of the one or more resources corresponds to a successful contention-based access procedure in accordance with detecting the sidelink control information, and wherein the channel busy measurement is performed for each of the one or more resources within a window that spans the plurality of resources in accordance with detecting the sidelink control information; and communicating with a second UE via a channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and 14 have been
considered and are moot because a new ground of rejection does not rely on any references
applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the
argument to teach amended limitation of claim 1, “wherein the channel busy measurement is performed over a measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic”, and amendment of claim 14 “and wherein the channel busy measurement is performed for each of the one or more resources within a window that spans the plurality of resources in accordance with detecting the sidelink control information.” The new updated search has conducted and new references are found as shown below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 21-28, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0337426 A1) (“Lee”) in view of Salem (US 2019/0274054 A1).
Regarding claim 1, A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a set of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, the set of resources configured for channel busy measurements;
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Lee [0138]; Accordingly, the UE may need to observe a channel situation. If it is determined that an excessively great amount of resources are consumed, it is preferable that the UE autonomously decreases the use of resources. In this specification, this may be defined as congestion control (CR). For example, the UE may determine whether energy measured in a unit time/frequency resource is greater than or equal to a specific level, and may adjust an amount and frequency of use for its transmission resource based on a ratio of the unit time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed. In this specification, the ratio of the time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed may be defined as a channel busy ratio (CBR). The UE may measure the CBR for a channel/frequency.
Refraining from performing sidelink transmissions during the set of resources;
Lee [0135]; Additionally, the UE may also randomly select a SL resource from the resources included in the selection window ( resources in the selection window= resources with low interference= resource free from sidelink = set of resources) among the periodic resources. For example, in case the UE fails to perform decoding of the PSCCH, the UE may use the above described methods.
Lee [0202]; Herein, for example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during which
the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be partly or fully configured
differently among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g.,
periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology
(e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during
which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be configured identically
among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g., periodic
generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g.
, subcarrier spacing). For example, for aperiodic traffic, it may be unnecessary for the UE to perform
CR measurement and/or CBR measurement during a long time period (or duration). Therefore, for
example, a time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR measurement related with an
aperiodic message is performed may be configured to be shorter than a time period during which CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement related with a periodic message is performed (Pausing CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0238]; Referring to FIG. 25, in step S2510, the first device (100) may measure a channel
busy ratio (CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0239] In step S2520, the first device (100) may perform the sidelink transmission based on
a rank value that is less than or equal to a rank value related to the measured CBR.
(Note: because CBR can take time to occur, Examiner equated the amount of time takes for the CBR
to happen as “refraining from performing sidelink transmission”).
performing, while refraining from performing the sidelink transmissions, a channel busy measurement for the set of resources;
Lee, Fig. 25 [0238]; Referring to FIG. 25, in step S2510, the first device (100) may measure a channel
busy ratio (CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0239] In step S2520, the first device (100) may perform the sidelink transmission based on
a rank value that is less than or equal to a rank value related to the measured CBR.
Lee [0202]; Herein, for example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during which
the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be partly or fully configured
differently among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g.,
periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology
(e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during
which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be configured identically
among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g., periodic
generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g.,
subcarrier spacing). For example, for aperiodic traffic, it may be unnecessary for the UE to perform CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement during a long time period (or duration). Therefore, for
example, a time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR measurement related with an
aperiodic message is performed may be configured to be shorter than a time period during which CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement related with a periodic message is performed (performing
CBR measurement = refraining from performing the sidelink transmission ).
and communicating with a second UE via a channel of unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.
(Lee, Fig. 20 [0172] in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example,
the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in
accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.)
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Lee does not teach receiving signaling wherein the signaling indicates that the set of resources are
configured to be free from sidelink traffic that originates from the first UE, one or more other UEs, or
both, wherein the channel busy measurement is performed over a
measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Salem teaches receiving signaling wherein the signaling indicates that the set of resources are
configured to be free from sidelink traffic that originates from the first UE, one or more other UEs, or
both;
Salem [0076]; Referring again to FIG. 2, in order to synchronize an LBT procedure among the CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, network controller 106 generates a Hyper UE-specific CPC message that includes information to be used by CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, i.e., CUE1, CUE2, CUE3, for synchronous CCA as FBE in the unlicensed spectrum. As depicted in FIG. 2, scheduler 106 has scheduled CUEs of Hyper UE 104.sub.1 to be served by TP3 and TP4. As such, network controller 106 transmits the CPC message for Hyper UE 104.sub.1 to TP3 and TP4 over backhaul connections 108.sub.3 and 108.sub.4 for transmission by TP3 and TP4 to CUE1, CUE2, and CUE3 over the licensed spectrum. For example, the CPC message for Hyper UE 104.sub.1 can be transmitted by TP3 to CUE2 over licensed access link 110.sub.32, can be transmitted by TP4 to CUE3 over licensed access link 110.sub.43, and can be transmitted by TP3 and/or TP4 to CUE1 over licensed access link 110.sub.31 and/or 110.sub.41. In some embodiments, the CPC message is transmitted within a downlink (DL) control signal over the licensed access links.
Salem [0082] In some embodiments, the group-specific CPC message includes information indicating the unlicensed channel that has been assigned to the Hyper UE.
Salem [0085] In some embodiments, CUEs employ an energy-detection (ED) based CCA in which a channel is determined to be busy if the total energy detected in the channel is greater than a CCA threshold value. In some embodiments, the CCA threshold value for a given UE is upper bounded by a function of the transmit power of the UE.
Salem [0086] If the CCA performed by a CUE that has traffic data to forward to a TUE indicates an unlicensed spectrum resource is idle/clear, the CUE transmits a SL burst to the TUE in the unlicensed spectrum resource. As depicted in FIG. 2, CUE1, CUE2 and CUES transmit SL bursts to TUE1 over unlicensed sidelinks 114.sub.11, 114.sub.21 and 114.sub.31, respectively. Forwarded traffic data originating from different sources can be either augmented in the payload or multiplexed in the frequency or time domains. For example, CUE1 is included in both subgroups 105.sub.3 and 105.sub.4, which means that CUE1 potentially forwards traffic data intended for TUE1 from both TP3 and TP4.
wherein the channel busy measurement is performed over a measurement window configured for
measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Salem [0076]; Referring again to FIG. 2, in order to synchronize an LBT procedure among the CUEs in
Hyper UE 104.sub.1, network controller 106 generates a Hyper UE-specific CPC message that includes
information to be used by CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, i.e., CUE1, CUE2, CUE3, for synchronous CCA as
FBE in the unlicensed spectrum.
Salem [0085]; In some embodiments, CUEs employ an energy-detection (ED) based CCA in which a
channel is determined to be busy if the total energy detected in the channel is greater than a CCA
threshold value.
Salem [0086] If the CCA performed by a CUE that has traffic data to forward to a TUE indicates an unlicensed spectrum resource is idle/clear, the CUE transmits a SL burst to the TUE in the unlicensed spectrum resource. As depicted in FIG. 2, CUE1, CUE2 and CUES transmit SL bursts to TUE1 over unlicensed sidelinks 114.sub.11, 114.sub.21 and 114.sub.31, respectively. Forwarded traffic data originating from different sources can be either augmented in the payload or multiplexed in the frequency or time domains. For example, CUE1 is included in both subgroups 105.sub.3 and 105.sub.4, which means that CUE1 potentially forwards traffic data intended for TUE1 from both TP3 and TP4.
Salem [0082] In some embodiments, the group-specific CPC message includes information indicating the unlicensed channel that has been assigned to the Hyper UE.
Salem. Fig. 1 [0055]; FIG. 1 is a timing diagram showing an example of an LBT procedure in accordance with the European regulatory requirements set out in European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) EN 301 893 V1.7.1 for devices accessing unlicensed spectrum as FBE. As depicted in FIG. 1, a device accessing unlicensed spectrum as FBE starts transmissions 10.sub.1, 10.sub.2 over the unlicensed spectrum only at periodic instants 12.sub.1, 12.sub.2 after a short successful ED-based CCA 14.sub.1, 14.sub.2 indicating that a channel in the unlicensed spectrum is available (CCA = measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic).
In view of Salem, Lee is modified such that the channel busy measurement is performed over a
measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Lee and Salem are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to allow the channel busy
measurement performed on the window free of sidelink transmission which is occurred during LBT to
reduce the interference and help boost coverage and spectral efficiency (Salem [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting the channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for communicating with the second UE based at least in part on determining that a congestion level of the channel satisfies a congestion threshold.
Lee [0115]: User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
Lee [0136]; Hereinafter, SL congestion control will be described.
Lee [0138]Accordingly, the UE may need to observe a channel situation (communicating with the second UE). If it is determined that an excessively great amount of resources are consumed, it is preferable that the UE autonomously decreases the use of resources. In this specification, this may be defined as congestion control (CR). For example, the UE may determine whether energy measured in a unit time/frequency resource is greater than or equal to a specific level (threshold), and may adjust an amount and frequency of use for its transmission resource based on a ratio of the unit time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed (satisfies a congestion threshold).
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting the channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for communicating a sidelink message with the second UE based at least in part on determining that a priority of the sidelink message satisfies a priority threshold.
Lee [0115]: User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
[0141]; Further, congestion control considering a priority of traffic (e.g., packet) may be necessary. To this end, for example, the UE may measure a channel occupancy ratio (CR). Specifically, the UE may measure the CBR, and the UE may determine a maximum value (CRlimitk) of a channel occupancy ratio k (CRk) that can be occupied by traffic corresponding to each priority (e.g., k) based on the CBR. For example, the UE may derive the maximum value (CRlimitk) of the channel occupancy ratio with respect to a priority of each traffic, based on a predetermined table of CBR measurement values. For example, in case of traffic having a relatively high priority, the UE may derive a maximum value of a relatively great channel occupancy ratio. Thereafter, the UE may perform congestion control by restricting a total sum of channel occupancy ratios of traffic, of which a priority k is lower than i, to a value less than or equal to a specific value (determining a priority satisfies a priority threshold (=i)). Based on this method, the channel occupancy ratio may be more strictly restricted for traffic having a relatively low priority.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches The method of claim 3, further comprising: selecting the channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for communicating with the second UE independent of a congestion level of the channel satisfying a congestion threshold.
Lee [0115]: User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
(Lee [0201]; For example, the preemption message may be a message for preempting resources for
enabling a UE, which intends to transmit a service or packet having a (relatively) high priority level, to
transmit the service or packet having a high priority level (independent of congestion level)
Alternatively, for example, the preemption
message may be a message that is used by a UE, which intends to transmit a service or packet having
a (relatively) high priority level, to notify another UE, which intends to transmit a service or packet
having a (relatively) low priority level, to avoid using the resource for transmitting the service or
packet having a high priority level. In this case, for example, in case a UE having received the
preemption message has already reserved the corresponding resource, the UE having received the
preemption message may trigger resource re-selection. Accordingly, the UE having received the
preemption message may re-select another resource. For example, in order to avoid collision in an
initial transmission, the standalone PSCCH may include control information for notifying other UEs of
resource reservation information for an initial transmission and/or resource reservation information
for re-transmission.
Lee [0202]; According to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, a value of a time
duration (or period) or a time length during which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is
performed may be configured or signaled for the UE. For example, a network may configure or signal
a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during which the CR measurement and/or CBR
measurement is performed to a UE. Herein, for example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a
time length during which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be partly
or fully configured differently among different service types, different priority levels, message
generation types (e.g., periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP,
PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, a value of a time duration (or
period) or a time length during which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed
may be configured identically among different service types, different priority levels, message
generation types (e.g., periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP,
PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, for aperiodic traffic, it may be
unnecessary for the UE to perform CR measurement and/or CBR measurement during a long time
period (or duration). Therefore, for example, a time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR
measurement related with an aperiodic message is performed may be configured to be shorter than a
time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR measurement related with a periodic message
is performed.)
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the priority threshold corresponds to a service type of the sidelink message.
(Lee[0141]; Further, congestion control considering a priority of traffic (e.g., packet) may be necessary. To this end, for example, the UE may measure a channel occupancy ratio (CR). Specifically, the UE may measure the CBR, and the UE may determine a maximum value (CRlimitk) of a channel occupancy ratio k (CRk) that can be occupied by traffic corresponding to each priority (e.g., k) based on the CBR. For example, the UE may derive the maximum value (CRlimitk) of the channel occupancy ratio with respect to a priority of each traffic, based on a predetermined table of CBR measurement values. For example, in case of traffic having a relatively high priority, the UE may derive a maximum value of a relatively great channel occupancy ratio. Thereafter, the UE may perform congestion control by restricting a total sum of channel occupancy ratios of traffic, of which a priority k is lower than i, to a value less than or equal to a specific value (determining a priority satisfies a priority threshold (=i)). Based on this method, the channel occupancy ratio may be more strictly restricted for traffic having a relatively low priority.
(Lee [0148]; For example, in case that multiple transmitting UEs select and/or adjust a number of symbols (e.g., a number of transmission symbols or a number of SL symbols) within each SL slot based (priority level as described in [0141) on service types related to transmission messages, requirements (e.g., reliability and/or latency), target coverage, and/or waveforms related to transmission channels, and so on, even if each of the multiple transmitting UEs uses one subchannel within the (same) SL slot(s), the (actual) number of resources being used by the multiple UEs may be different among the multiple UEs.)
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the limitation of claim 1. Lee teaches The method of claim 1, wherein performing the channel busy measurement comprises:
and measuring one or more channel parameters over the measurement window and the set of resources. ( Lee, Fig. 17 [0135]; Alternatively, the UE may measure a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (one or more channel parameters) of the periodic resources within the sensing window and may then determine the resources having low interference (e.g., the lower 20% of the resources). Additionally, the UE may also randomly select a SL resource from the resources included in the selection window (selection window= measurement window) among the periodic resources. For example, in case the UE fails to perform decoding of the PSCCH, the UE may use the above described methods (in other words, the UE may use RSSI to determine the lower20% of the resources in a measurement window)).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the one or more channel parameters comprise received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), or any combination thereof.
( Lee, Fig. 17 [0135]; Alternatively, the UE may measure a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (one or more channel parameters) of the periodic resources within the sensing window and may then determine the resources having low interference (e.g., the lower 20% of the resources). Additionally, the UE may also randomly select a SL resource from the resources included in the selection window (selection window= measurement window) among the periodic resources. For example, in case the UE fails to perform decoding of the PSCCH, the UE may use the above described methods.)
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining an active bandwidth part for sidelink communications between the UE and the second UE; (Lee [0090]; The SL BWP (bandwidth between the UE and the second UE) may be configured (in advance) for an out-of-coverage NR V2X UE (NOT active= out of coverage ) and an RRC_IDLE UE. For a UE operating in the RRC_CONNECTED mode, at least one SL BWP may be activated within a carrier.
and performing the channel busy measurement on at least one subcarrier excluded from the active bandwidth part.
Lee [146] ;Additionally, for example, in case a V2X resource pool is configured under an out-of-coverage environment ( out of coverage= excluded from the active bandwidth) , the number of symbols within a SL slot may be different among the slots. For example, in case a V2X resource pool is configured under an out-of-coverage environment without considering UL resources, the number of symbols within a SL slot may be different among the slots. For example, depending upon which SL slot is being selected among the UEs, even if a UE uses only one subchannel, the (actual) number of resources being used may be different.
Lee [172]; In addition, in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example, the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.
Lee [204]; For example, CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be independently performed per V2X resource pool and/or BWP (V2X can be “V2X resource pool is configured under an out-of-coverage environment”) . Alternatively, for example, the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be performed together on a plurality of pre-configured V2X resource pools or BWPs (e.g., V2X resource pool configured on a BWP of the same carrier).
Regarding claim 21, An apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (LE), comprising: one or more processors (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 102), memory (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 104), coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored (Lee, [0263])in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
receive a set of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, the set of resources configured for channel busy measurements;
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Lee [0138]; Accordingly, the UE may need to observe a channel situation. If it is determined that an excessively great amount of resources are consumed, it is preferable that the UE autonomously decreases the use of resources. In this specification, this may be defined as congestion control (CR). For example, the UE may determine whether energy measured in a unit time/frequency resource is greater than or equal to a specific level, and may adjust an amount and frequency of use for its transmission resource based on a ratio of the unit time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed. In this specification, the ratio of the time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed may be defined as a channel busy ratio (CBR). The UE may measure the CBR for a channel/frequency.
Refrain from performing sidelink transmissions during the set of resources;
Lee [0135]; Additionally, the UE may also randomly select a SL resource from the resources included in the selection window ( resources in the selection window= resources with low interference= resource free from sidelink = set of resources) among the periodic resources. For example, in case the UE fails to perform decoding of the PSCCH, the UE may use the above described methods.
Lee [0202]; Herein, for example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during which
the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be partly or fully configured
differently among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g.,
periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology
(e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during
which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be configured identically
among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g., periodic
generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g.
, subcarrier spacing). For example, for aperiodic traffic, it may be unnecessary for the UE to perform
CR measurement and/or CBR measurement during a long time period (or duration). Therefore, for
example, a time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR measurement related with an
aperiodic message is performed may be configured to be shorter than a time period during which CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement related with a periodic message is performed (Pausing CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0238]; Referring to FIG. 25, in step S2510, the first device (100) may measure a channel
busy ratio (CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0239] In step S2520, the first device (100) may perform the sidelink transmission based on
a rank value that is less than or equal to a rank value related to the measured CBR.
(Note: because CBR can take time to occur, Examiner equalized the amount of time takes for the CBR
to happen as “refraining from performing sidelink transmission”).
perform, while refraining from performing the sidelink transmissions, a channel busy measurement for the set of resources;
Lee, Fig. 25 [0238]; Referring to FIG. 25, in step S2510, the first device (100) may measure a channel
busy ratio (CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0239] In step S2520, the first device (100) may perform the sidelink transmission based on
a rank value that is less than or equal to a rank value related to the measured CBR.
Lee [0202]; Herein, for example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during which
the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be partly or fully configured
differently among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g.,
periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology
(e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during
which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be configured identically
among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g., periodic
generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g.,
subcarrier spacing). For example, for aperiodic traffic, it may be unnecessary for the UE to perform CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement during a long time period (or duration). Therefore, for
example, a time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR measurement related with an
aperiodic message is performed may be configured to be shorter than a time period during which CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement related with a periodic message is performed (performing
CBR measurement = refraining from performing the sidelink transmission ).
and communicate with a second UE via a channel of unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.
(Lee, Fig. 20 [0172] in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example,
the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in
accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.)
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Lee does not teach receiving signaling wherein the signaling indicates that the set of resources are
configured to be free from sidelink traffic that originates from the first UE, one or more other UEs, or
both, wherein the channel busy measurement is performed over a
measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Salem teaches receiving signaling wherein the signaling indicates that the set of resources are
configured to be free from sidelink traffic that originates from the first UE, one or more other UEs, or
both;
Salem [0076]; Referring again to FIG. 2, in order to synchronize an LBT procedure among the CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, network controller 106 generates a Hyper UE-specific CPC message that includes information to be used by CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, i.e., CUE1, CUE2, CUE3, for synchronous CCA as FBE in the unlicensed spectrum. As depicted in FIG. 2, scheduler 106 has scheduled CUEs of Hyper UE 104.sub.1 to be served by TP3 and TP4. As such, network controller 106 transmits the CPC message for Hyper UE 104.sub.1 to TP3 and TP4 over backhaul connections 108.sub.3 and 108.sub.4 for transmission by TP3 and TP4 to CUE1, CUE2, and CUE3 over the licensed spectrum. For example, the CPC message for Hyper UE 104.sub.1 can be transmitted by TP3 to CUE2 over licensed access link 110.sub.32, can be transmitted by TP4 to CUE3 over licensed access link 110.sub.43, and can be transmitted by TP3 and/or TP4 to CUE1 over licensed access link 110.sub.31 and/or 110.sub.41. In some embodiments, the CPC message is transmitted within a downlink (DL) control signal over the licensed access links.
Salem [0082] In some embodiments, the group-specific CPC message includes information indicating the unlicensed channel that has been assigned to the Hyper UE.
Salem [0085] In some embodiments, CUEs employ an energy-detection (ED) based CCA in which a channel is determined to be busy if the total energy detected in the channel is greater than a CCA threshold value. In some embodiments, the CCA threshold value for a given UE is upper bounded by a function of the transmit power of the UE.
Salem [0086] If the CCA performed by a CUE that has traffic data to forward to a TUE indicates an unlicensed spectrum resource is idle/clear, the CUE transmits a SL burst to the TUE in the unlicensed spectrum resource. As depicted in FIG. 2, CUE1, CUE2 and CUES transmit SL bursts to TUE1 over unlicensed sidelinks 114.sub.11, 114.sub.21 and 114.sub.31, respectively. Forwarded traffic data originating from different sources can be either augmented in the payload or multiplexed in the frequency or time domains. For example, CUE1 is included in both subgroups 105.sub.3 and 105.sub.4, which means that CUE1 potentially forwards traffic data intended for TUE1 from both TP3 and TP4.
wherein the channel busy measurement is performed over a measurement window configured for
measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Salem [0076]; Referring again to FIG. 2, in order to synchronize an LBT procedure among the CUEs in
Hyper UE 104.sub.1, network controller 106 generates a Hyper UE-specific CPC message that includes
information to be used by CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, i.e., CUE1, CUE2, CUE3, for synchronous CCA as
FBE in the unlicensed spectrum.
Salem [0085]; In some embodiments, CUEs employ an energy-detection (ED) based CCA in which a
channel is determined to be busy if the total energy detected in the channel is greater than a CCA
threshold value.
Salem [0086] If the CCA performed by a CUE that has traffic data to forward to a TUE indicates an unlicensed spectrum resource is idle/clear, the CUE transmits a SL burst to the TUE in the unlicensed spectrum resource. As depicted in FIG. 2, CUE1, CUE2 and CUES transmit SL bursts to TUE1 over unlicensed sidelinks 114.sub.11, 114.sub.21 and 114.sub.31, respectively. Forwarded traffic data originating from different sources can be either augmented in the payload or multiplexed in the frequency or time domains. For example, CUE1 is included in both subgroups 105.sub.3 and 105.sub.4, which means that CUE1 potentially forwards traffic data intended for TUE1 from both TP3 and TP4.
Salem [0082] In some embodiments, the group-specific CPC message includes information indicating the unlicensed channel that has been assigned to the Hyper UE.
Salem. Fig. 1 [0055]; FIG. 1 is a timing diagram showing an example of an LBT procedure in accordance
with the European regulatory requirements set out in European Telecommunications Standards
Institute (ETSI) EN 301 893 V1.7.1 for devices accessing unlicensed spectrum as FBE. As depicted
in FIG. 1, a device accessing unlicensed spectrum as FBE starts transmissions 10.sub.1, 10.sub.2 over
the unlicensed spectrum only at periodic instants 12.sub.1, 12.sub.2 after a short successful ED-based
CCA 14.sub.1, 14.sub.2 indicating that a channel in the unlicensed spectrum is available
(CCA = measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic).
In view of Salem, Lee is modified such that the channel busy measurement is performed over a
measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Lee and Salem are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to allow the channel busy
measurement performed on the window free of sidelink transmission which is occurred during LBT to
reduce the interference and help boost coverage and spectral efficiency (Salem [0003]).
Regarding claim 22, The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Select the channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for communicating with the second UE based at least in part on determining that a congestion level of the channel satisfies a congestion threshold.
Lee [0115]: User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Lee [0136]; Hereinafter, SL congestion control will be described.
Lee [0138]Accordingly, the UE may need to observe a channel situation (communicating with the second UE). If it is determined that an excessively great amount of resources are consumed, it is preferable that the UE autonomously decreases the use of resources. In this specification, this may be defined as congestion control (CR). For example, the UE may determine whether energy measured in a unit time/frequency resource is greater than or equal to a specific level (threshold), and may adjust an amount and frequency of use for its transmission resource based on a ratio of the unit time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed (satisfies a congestion threshold).
Regarding claim 23, The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors processor to cause the apparatus to;
Select the channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum communicating a sidelink message with the second UE based at least in part on determining that a priority of the sidelink message satisfies a priority threshold.
Lee [0115]: User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
[0141]; Further, congestion control considering a priority of traffic (e.g., packet) may be necessary. To this end, for example, the UE may measure a channel occupancy ratio (CR). Specifically, the UE may measure the CBR, and the UE may determine a maximum value (CRlimitk) of a channel occupancy ratio k (CRk) that can be occupied by traffic corresponding to each priority (e.g., k) based on the CBR. For example, the UE may derive the maximum value (CRlimitk) of the channel occupancy ratio with respect to a priority of each traffic, based on a predetermined table of CBR measurement values. For example, in case of traffic having a relatively high priority, the UE may derive a maximum value of a relatively great channel occupancy ratio. Thereafter, the UE may perform congestion control by restricting a total sum of channel occupancy ratios of traffic, of which a priority k is lower than i, to a value less than or equal to a specific value (determining a priority satisfies a priority threshold (=i)). Based on this method, the channel occupancy ratio may be more strictly restricted for traffic having a relatively low priority.
Regarding claim 24, The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors processor to cause the apparatus to:
select the channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for communicating with the second UE independent of a congestion level of the channel satisfying a congestion threshold.
Lee [0115]: User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
(Lee [0201]; For example, the preemption message may be a message for preempting resources for
enabling a UE, which intends to transmit a service or packet having a (relatively) high priority level, to
transmit the service or packet having a high priority level (independent of congestion level)
Alternatively, for example, the preemption
message may be a message that is used by a UE, which intends to transmit a service or packet having
a (relatively) high priority level, to notify another UE, which intends to transmit a service or packet
having a (relatively) low priority level, to avoid using the resource for transmitting the service or
packet having a high priority level. In this case, for example, in case a UE having received the
preemption message has already reserved the corresponding resource, the UE having received the
preemption message may trigger resource re-selection. Accordingly, the UE having received the
preemption message may re-select another resource. For example, in order to avoid collision in an
initial transmission, the standalone PSCCH may include control information for notifying other UEs of
resource reservation information for an initial transmission and/or resource reservation information
for re-transmission.
Lee [0202]; According to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, a value of a time
duration (or period) or a time length during which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is
performed may be configured or signaled for the UE. For example, a network may configure or signal
a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during which the CR measurement and/or CBR
measurement is performed to a UE. Herein, for example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a
time length during which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be partly
or fully configured differently among different service types, different priority levels, message
generation types (e.g., periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP,
PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, a value of a time duration (or
period) or a time length during which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed
may be configured identically among different service types, different priority levels, message
generation types (e.g., periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP,
PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, for aperiodic traffic, it may be
unnecessary for the UE to perform CR measurement and/or CBR measurement during a long time
period (or duration). Therefore, for example, a time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR
measurement related with an aperiodic message is performed may be configured to be shorter than a
time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR measurement related with a periodic message
is performed.)
Regarding claim 25, The method of claim 23, wherein the priority threshold corresponds to a service type of the sidelink message.
(Lee[0141]; Further, congestion control considering a priority of traffic (e.g., packet) may be necessary. To this end, for example, the UE may measure a channel occupancy ratio (CR). Specifically, the UE may measure the CBR, and the UE may determine a maximum value (CRlimitk) of a channel occupancy ratio k (CRk) that can be occupied by traffic corresponding to each priority (e.g., k) based on the CBR. For example, the UE may derive the maximum value (CRlimitk) of the channel occupancy ratio with respect to a priority of each traffic, based on a predetermined table of CBR measurement values. For example, in case of traffic having a relatively high priority, the UE may derive a maximum value of a relatively great channel occupancy ratio. Thereafter, the UE may perform congestion control by restricting a total sum of channel occupancy ratios of traffic, of which a priority k is lower than i, to a value less than or equal to a specific value (determining a priority satisfies a priority threshold (=i)). Based on this method, the channel occupancy ratio may be more strictly restricted for traffic having a relatively low priority.
(Lee [0148]; For example, in case that multiple transmitting UEs select and/or adjust a number of symbols (e.g., a number of transmission symbols or a number of SL symbols) within each SL slot based (priority level as described in [0141) on service types related to transmission messages, requirements (e.g., reliability and/or latency), target coverage, and/or waveforms related to transmission channels, and so on, even if each of the multiple transmitting UEs uses one subchannel within the (same) SL slot(s), the (actual) number of resources being used by the multiple UEs may be different among the multiple UEs.)
Regarding claim 26, The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the instructions to perform the channel busy measurement are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
measure one or more channel parameters over the measurement window and the set of resources. ( Lee, Fig. 17 [0135]; Alternatively, the UE may measure a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (one or more channel parameters) of the periodic resources within the sensing window and may then determine the resources having low interference (e.g., the lower 20% of the resources). Additionally, the UE may also randomly select a SL resource from the resources included in the selection window (selection window= measurement window) among the periodic resources. For example, in case the UE fails to perform decoding of the PSCCH, the UE may use the above described methods (in other words, the UE may use RSSI to determine the lower20% of the resources in a measurement window)).
Regarding claim 27, The method of claim 26, wherein the one or more channel parameters comprise received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), or any combination thereof.
( Lee, Fig. 17 [0135]; Alternatively, the UE may measure a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (one or more channel parameters) of the periodic resources within the sensing window and may then determine the resources having low interference (e.g., the lower 20% of the resources). Additionally, the UE may also randomly select a SL resource from the resources included in the selection window (selection window= measurement window) among the periodic resources. For example, in case the UE fails to perform decoding of the PSCCH, the UE may use the above described methods.)
Regarding claim 28, The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the instructions are further executable by the to one or more processors cause the apparatus to:
determine an active bandwidth part for sidelink communications between the UE and the second UE; (Lee [0090]; The SL BWP (bandwidth between the UE and the second UE) may be configured (in advance) for an out-of-coverage NR V2X UE (NOT active= out of coverage ) and an RRC_IDLE UE. For a UE operating in the RRC_CONNECTED mode, at least one SL BWP may be activated within a carrier.
and perform the channel busy measurement on at least one subcarrier excluded from the active bandwidth part.
Lee [146] ;Additionally, for example, in case a V2X resource pool is configured under an out-of-coverage environment ( out of coverage= excluded from the active bandwidth) , the number of symbols within a SL slot may be different among the slots. For example, in case a V2X resource pool is configured under an out-of-coverage environment without considering UL resources, the number of symbols within a SL slot may be different among the slots. For example, depending upon which SL slot is being selected among the UEs, even if a UE uses only one subchannel, the (actual) number of resources being used may be different.
Lee [172]; In addition, in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example, the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.
Lee [204]; For example, CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be independently performed per V2X resource pool and/or BWP (V2X can be “V2X resource pool is configured under an out-of-coverage environment”) . Alternatively, for example, the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be performed together on a plurality of pre-configured V2X resource pools or BWPs (e.g., V2X resource pool configured on a BWP of the same carrier).
Regarding claim 41, An apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE),
comprising: means for receiving a set of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, the set of resources configured for channel busy measurements;
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Lee [0138]; Accordingly, the UE may need to observe a channel situation. If it is determined that an excessively great amount of resources are consumed, it is preferable that the UE autonomously decreases the use of resources. In this specification, this may be defined as congestion control (CR). For example, the UE may determine whether energy measured in a unit time/frequency resource is greater than or equal to a specific level, and may adjust an amount and frequency of use for its transmission resource based on a ratio of the unit time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed. In this specification, the ratio of the time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed may be defined as a channel busy ratio (CBR). The UE may measure the CBR for a channel/frequency.
Means for Refraining from performing sidelink transmissions during the set of resources;
Lee [0135]; Additionally, the UE may also randomly select a SL resource from the resources included in the selection window ( resources in the selection window= resources with low interference= resource free from sidelink = set of resources) among the periodic resources. For example, in case the UE fails to perform decoding of the PSCCH, the UE may use the above described methods.
Lee [0202]; Herein, for example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during which
the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be partly or fully configured
differently among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g.,
periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology
(e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during
which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be configured identically
among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g., periodic
generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g.
, subcarrier spacing). For example, for aperiodic traffic, it may be unnecessary for the UE to perform
CR measurement and/or CBR measurement during a long time period (or duration). Therefore, for
example, a time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR measurement related with an
aperiodic message is performed may be configured to be shorter than a time period during which CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement related with a periodic message is performed (Pausing CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0238]; Referring to FIG. 25, in step S2510, the first device (100) may measure a channel
busy ratio (CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0239] In step S2520, the first device (100) may perform the sidelink transmission based on
a rank value that is less than or equal to a rank value related to the measured CBR.
(Note: because CBR can take time to occur, Examiner equalized the amount of time takes for the CBR
to happen as “refraining from performing sidelink transmission”).
Means for performing, while refraining from performing the sidelink transmissions, a channel busy measurement for the set of resources;
Lee, Fig. 25 [0238]; Referring to FIG. 25, in step S2510, the first device (100) may measure a channel
busy ratio (CBR).
Lee, Fig. 25 [0239] In step S2520, the first device (100) may perform the sidelink transmission based on
a rank value that is less than or equal to a rank value related to the measured CBR.
Lee [0202]; Herein, for example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during which
the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be partly or fully configured
differently among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g.,
periodic generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology
(e.g., subcarrier spacing). For example, a value of a time duration (or period) or a time length during
which the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement is performed may be configured identically
among different service types, different priority levels, message generation types (e.g., periodic
generation message and/or aperiodic generation message), PPPP, PPPR, and/or numerology (e.g.,
subcarrier spacing). For example, for aperiodic traffic, it may be unnecessary for the UE to perform CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement during a long time period (or duration). Therefore, for
example, a time period during which CR measurement and/or CBR measurement related with an
aperiodic message is performed may be configured to be shorter than a time period during which CR
measurement and/or CBR measurement related with a periodic message is performed (performing
CBR measurement = refraining from performing the sidelink transmission ).
and means for communicating with a second UE via a channel of unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.
(Lee, Fig. 20 [0172] in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example,
the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in
accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.)
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Lee does not teach receiving signaling wherein the signaling indicates that the set of resources are
configured to be free from sidelink traffic that originates from the first UE, one or more other UEs, or
both, wherein the channel busy measurement is performed over a
measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Salem teaches receiving signaling wherein the signaling indicates that the set of resources are
configured to be free from sidelink traffic that originates from the first UE, one or more other UEs, or
both;
Salem [0076]; Referring again to FIG. 2, in order to synchronize an LBT procedure among the CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, network controller 106 generates a Hyper UE-specific CPC message that includes information to be used by CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, i.e., CUE1, CUE2, CUE3, for synchronous CCA as FBE in the unlicensed spectrum. As depicted in FIG. 2, scheduler 106 has scheduled CUEs of Hyper UE 104.sub.1 to be served by TP3 and TP4. As such, network controller 106 transmits the CPC message for Hyper UE 104.sub.1 to TP3 and TP4 over backhaul connections 108.sub.3 and 108.sub.4 for transmission by TP3 and TP4 to CUE1, CUE2, and CUE3 over the licensed spectrum. For example, the CPC message for Hyper UE 104.sub.1 can be transmitted by TP3 to CUE2 over licensed access link 110.sub.32, can be transmitted by TP4 to CUE3 over licensed access link 110.sub.43, and can be transmitted by TP3 and/or TP4 to CUE1 over licensed access link 110.sub.31 and/or 110.sub.41. In some embodiments, the CPC message is transmitted within a downlink (DL) control signal over the licensed access links.
Salem [0082] In some embodiments, the group-specific CPC message includes information indicating the unlicensed channel that has been assigned to the Hyper UE.
Salem [0085] In some embodiments, CUEs employ an energy-detection (ED) based CCA in which a channel is determined to be busy if the total energy detected in the channel is greater than a CCA threshold value. In some embodiments, the CCA threshold value for a given UE is upper bounded by a function of the transmit power of the UE.
Salem [0086] If the CCA performed by a CUE that has traffic data to forward to a TUE indicates an unlicensed spectrum resource is idle/clear, the CUE transmits a SL burst to the TUE in the unlicensed spectrum resource. As depicted in FIG. 2, CUE1, CUE2 and CUES transmit SL bursts to TUE1 over unlicensed sidelinks 114.sub.11, 114.sub.21 and 114.sub.31, respectively. Forwarded traffic data originating from different sources can be either augmented in the payload or multiplexed in the frequency or time domains. For example, CUE1 is included in both subgroups 105.sub.3 and 105.sub.4, which means that CUE1 potentially forwards traffic data intended for TUE1 from both TP3 and TP4.
wherein the channel busy measurement is performed over a measurement window configured for
measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Salem [0076]; Referring again to FIG. 2, in order to synchronize an LBT procedure among the CUEs in
Hyper UE 104.sub.1, network controller 106 generates a Hyper UE-specific CPC message that includes
information to be used by CUEs in Hyper UE 104.sub.1, i.e., CUE1, CUE2, CUE3, for synchronous CCA as
FBE in the unlicensed spectrum.
Salem [0085]; In some embodiments, CUEs employ an energy-detection (ED) based CCA in which a
channel is determined to be busy if the total energy detected in the channel is greater than a CCA
threshold value.
Salem [0086] If the CCA performed by a CUE that has traffic data to forward to a TUE indicates an unlicensed spectrum resource is idle/clear, the CUE transmits a SL burst to the TUE in the unlicensed spectrum resource. As depicted in FIG. 2, CUE1, CUE2 and CUES transmit SL bursts to TUE1 over unlicensed sidelinks 114.sub.11, 114.sub.21 and 114.sub.31, respectively. Forwarded traffic data originating from different sources can be either augmented in the payload or multiplexed in the frequency or time domains. For example, CUE1 is included in both subgroups 105.sub.3 and 105.sub.4, which means that CUE1 potentially forwards traffic data intended for TUE1 from both TP3 and TP4.
Salem [0082] In some embodiments, the group-specific CPC message includes information indicating the unlicensed channel that has been assigned to the Hyper UE.
Salem. Fig. 1 [0055]; FIG. 1 is a timing diagram showing an example of an LBT procedure in accordance
with the European regulatory requirements set out in European Telecommunications Standards
Institute (ETSI) EN 301 893 V1.7.1 for devices accessing unlicensed spectrum as FBE. As depicted
in FIG. 1, a device accessing unlicensed spectrum as FBE starts transmissions 10.sub.1, 10.sub.2 over
the unlicensed spectrum only at periodic instants 12.sub.1, 12.sub.2 after a short successful ED-based
CCA 14.sub.1, 14.sub.2 indicating that a channel in the unlicensed spectrum is available
(CCA = measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic).
In view of Salem, Lee is modified such that the channel busy measurement is performed over a
measurement window configured for measurements that are free from sidelink traffic.
Lee and Salem are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to allow the channel busy
measurement performed on the window free of sidelink transmission which is occurred during LBT to
reduce the interference and help boost coverage and spectral efficiency (Salem [0003]).
Claim 9-10, 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Salem in further view of Tang (US 2022/0361172 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Determining a set of resources of the unlicensed frequency spectrum band, that are associated with sidelink traffic.
Lee [0115] User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
And selecting the channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for communicating with the second UE based at least in part on channel busy measurement.
Lee, Fig. 20, [0172]; In addition, in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example, the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement (communication with the second UE based at least in part on the second channel busy measurement.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving)
Lee does not teach second set of resources configured for channel busy measurements, , and performing a second channel busy measurement for the second set of resources;
Tang teaches second set of resources configured for channel busy measurements;
(Tang [0048]; [0048] In a possible implementation, a CBR of each of the plurality of carriers is a CBR of a resource pool used by the terminal device on the carrier.)
(Tang [0050]; a carrier selection method is provided, including: obtaining channel busy ratios (CBR) of a plurality of candidate carriers; determining whether a difference between the CBR of the first carrier and a CBR of a second carrier exceeds a first threshold,)
performing a second channel busy measurement for the second set of resources;
Tang [0042]; In a possible implementation, the method further includes: determining whether a difference between the CBR of the first carrier that is obtained after filtering and a CBR of a second carrier that is obtained after filtering exceeds a first threshold (performing a second channel busy measurement for the second set of resources), where the first carrier is a carrier used in current data transmission, and the second carrier is any carrier other than the first carrier in the plurality of carriers;
In view of Tang, Lee is modified such that the second CBR is performed on the second sidelink set of
Unlicensed band resources.
Lee and Tang l are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, CBR determination in sildelink communication system.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to determine the second CBR on a
second set of resources from the plurality of resources to allow the sidelink communication based on
the second CBR to implement a higher efficiency and lower transmission delay. (Tang [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Tang teaches limitation of claim 9. Tang further teaches The method of claim 9, wherein performing the second channel busy measurement comprises: performing the second channel busy measurement on resources of the second set of resources that are non-overlapping with the set of resources.
(Tang [0050] According to a second aspect, a carrier selection method is provided, including: obtaining channel busy ratios (CBR) of a plurality of candidate carriers; determining whether a difference between the CBR of the first carrier and a CBR of a second carrier exceeds a first threshold, where the first carrier is a carrier used in current data transmission, and the second carrier is any carrier other than the first carrier in the plurality of carriers(non-overlapping with the set of resources)
Tang [0048]; In a possible implementation, a CBR of each of the plurality of carriers is a CBR of a resource pool used by the terminal device on the carrier)
Regarding claim 29, The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 102) to cause the apparatus to:
Determine a set of resources of the unlicensed frequency spectrum band, that are associated with sidelink traffic.
Lee [0115] User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
And selecting the channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for communicating with the second UE based at least in part on channel busy measurement.
Lee, Fig. 20, [0172]; In addition, in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example, the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement (communication with the second UE based at least in part on the second channel busy measurement.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving)
Lee does not teach second set of resources configured for channel busy measurements, , and performing a second channel busy measurement for the second set of resources;
Tang teaches second set of resources configured for channel busy measurements;
(Tang [0048]; [0048] In a possible implementation, a CBR of each of the plurality of carriers is a CBR of a resource pool used by the terminal device on the carrier.)
(Tang [0050]; a carrier selection method is provided, including: obtaining channel busy ratios (CBR) of a plurality of candidate carriers; determining whether a difference between the CBR of the first carrier and a CBR of a second carrier exceeds a first threshold,)
performing a second channel busy measurement for the second set of resources;
Tang [0042]; In a possible implementation, the method further includes: determining whether a difference between the CBR of the first carrier that is obtained after filtering and a CBR of a second carrier that is obtained after filtering exceeds a first threshold (performing a second channel busy measurement for the second set of resources), where the first carrier is a carrier used in current data transmission, and the second carrier is any carrier other than the first carrier in the plurality of carriers;
In view of Tang, Lee is modified such that the second CBR is performed on the second sidelink set of Unlicensed band resources.
Lee and Tang l are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, CBR determination in sildelink communication system.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to determine the second CBR on a second set of resources from the plurality of resources to allow the sidelink communication based on the second CBR to implement a higher efficiency and lower transmission delay. (Tang [0003]).
Regarding claim 30, The apparatus of claim 29, wherein the instructions to perform the second channel busy measurement are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
performe the second channel busy measurement on resources of the second set of resources that are non-overlapping with the set of resources.
(Tang [0050] According to a second aspect, a carrier selection method is provided, including: obtaining channel busy ratios (CBR) of a plurality of candidate carriers; determining whether a difference between the CBR of the first carrier and a CBR of a second carrier exceeds a first threshold, where the first carrier is a carrier used in current data transmission, and the second carrier is any carrier other than the first carrier in the plurality of carriers(non-overlapping with the set of resources)
Tang [0048]; In a possible implementation, a CBR of each of the plurality of carriers is a CBR of a resource pool used by the terminal device on the carrier)
Regarding claim 31, The apparatus of claim 29, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
determine a set of communication parameters for sidelink communications based at least in part on the channel busy measurement and communicate with the second UE using the set of communication parameters.
(Lee [0138]; Accordingly, the UE may need to observe a channel situation. If it is determined that an excessively great amount of resources are consumed, it is preferable that the UE autonomously decreases the use of resources. In this specification, this may be defined as congestion control (CR). For example, the UE may determine whether energy measured in a unit time/frequency resource is greater than or equal to a specific level, and may adjust an amount and frequency of use for its transmission resource based on a ratio of the unit time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed. In this specification, the ratio of the time/frequency resource in which the energy greater than or equal to the specific level is observed may be defined as a channel busy ratio (CBR).
(Lee [0142]; In addition thereto, the UE may perform SL congestion control by using a method of adjusting a level of transmit power, dropping a packet, determining whether retransmission is to be performed, adjusting a transmission RB size (MCS coordination), or the like (determine set of communication parameters as described in claim 33)
(Lee, Fig. 20 [0172] in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example,
the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected (channel busy
measurement for low interference = channel busy measurement) and/or occupied in
accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.)
Lee does not teach the second channel busy measurement.
Tang teaches the second channel busy measurement. ( Tang [0050]; According to a second aspect, a carrier selection method is provided, including: obtaining channel busy ratios (CBR) of a plurality of candidate carriers; determining whether a difference between the CBR of the first carrier and a CBR of a second carrier exceeds a first threshold, where the first carrier is a carrier used in current data transmission, and the second carrier is any carrier other than the first carrier in the plurality of carriers)
In view of Tang, Lee is modified such that the second CBR is performed on the second sidelink set of Unlicensed band resources.
Lee and Tang l are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, CBR determination in sildelink communication system.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to determine the second CBR on a second set of resources from the plurality of resources to allow the sidelink communication based on the second CBR to implement a higher efficiency and lower transmission delay. (Tang [0003]).
Regarding claim 32, The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the instructions to determine the set of communication parameters are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
and select the set of communication parameters (Lee [0142]; In addition thereto, the UE may perform SL congestion control by using a method of adjusting a level of transmit power, dropping a packet, determining whether retransmission is to be performed, adjusting a transmission RB size (MCS coordination), or the like.)
Lee does not teach determining a difference between the channel busy measurement and the second channel busy measurement;
Tang teaches determining a difference between the channel busy measurement and the second channel busy measurement; (Tang [0050]; According to a second aspect, a carrier selection method is provided, including: obtaining channel busy ratios (CBR) of a plurality of candidate carriers; determining whether a difference between the CBR of the first carrier (first CBR) and a CBR of a second carrier (second CBR) exceeds a first threshold)
In view of Tang, Lee is modified such that the second CBR is performed on the second sidelink set of Unlicensed band resources.
Lee and Tang l are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, CBR determination in sildelink communication system.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to determine the difference between the first and second CBR to allow the sidelink communication based on the difference to implement a higher efficiency and lower transmission delay. (Tang [0003]).
Regarding claim 33, The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the set of communication parameters comprises a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a transmit power, a number of retransmissions, a number of sub-channels, a coding rate, or any combination thereof.
(Lee [0142]; In addition thereto, the UE may perform SL congestion control by using a method of adjusting a level of transmit power, dropping a packet, determining whether retransmission is to be performed, adjusting a transmission RB size (MCS coordination), or the like.)
Claims 14, 16, 34, 36, 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of view of Li et al. (US 2021/0306824 A1) (hereafter “Li”) in further view of Hoang et al. (US 2021/0243749 A1 ) (“Hoang”).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
plurality of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band associated with sidelink communications;
Lee [0115] User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
performing a channel busy measurement for each of the one or more resources for channel busy measurements;
(Lee [204]; For example, CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be independently performed per V2X resource pool and/or BWP ( performing a channel busy measurement for each of one or more resources for channel busy measurements).
and communicating with a second UE based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.
(Lee, Fig. 20 [0172] in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example,
the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in
accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.)
wherein the channel busy measurement is performed for each of the one or more resources within the window that spans the plurality of resources
(Lee, Fig. 17 [0133]; Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may identify transmission resources reserved by another UE or resources being used by another UE (sidelink communication) via sensing within a sensing window (spans the plurality of resources))
(Lee [0204]; For example, CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be independently performed per V2X resource pool (V2X resource pool= resources in a sensing window) and/or BWP. Alternatively, for example, the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be performed together on a plurality of pre-configured V2X resource pools or BWPs (e.g., V2X resource pool configured on a BWP of the same carrier).
Lee [0115] User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
Lee does not teach monitoring each of a plurality of resources associated with sidelink
communication, detecting sidelink control information in each of one or more resources of the
plurality of resources based at least in part on the monitoring. wherein each of the one or more
resources corresponds to a successful contention-based access procedure in accordance with
detecting the sidelink control information.
Li teaches monitoring each of a plurality of resources associated with sidelink communication;
Li [0167]; If the unicast occasions are on shared time, frequency, or space resources with other UEs, then the transmitting may be sensing based and the receiving may be monitoring window based, e.g., using monitor-window for detecting the SCIs in the SL-CORESET as described previously for contention based unicast.
detecting sidelink control information in each of one or more resources of the plurality of resources
based at least in part on the monitoring.
Li [0167]; If the unicast occasions are on shared time, frequency, or space resources with other UEs, then the transmitting may be sensing based and the receiving may be monitoring window based, e.g., using monitor-window for detecting the SCIs in the SL-CORESET as described previously for contention based unicast.
wherein each of the one or more resources corresponds to a successful contention-based
access procedure in accordance with detecting the sidelink control information.
[0146] A V2X application or service group's unicast occasions may be allocated at shared time, frequency, or space resources among member UEs within a group, e.g., intra-group contention based unicasting. To avoid intra-group unicast collisions, the transmitting UEs may conduct channel sensing first at the fully or partially overlap multicast occasions. The sensing based channel accessing may be random based, e.g., each member UE or pair has a random back off time. The sensing based channel accessing may be priority based, e.g., each UE or pair has a back off time based on its priority right. For example, an RSU or a lead UE may have less or no back off time.
[0147] The ue-priority-flag and ue-priority-level or ue-priority-class for unicasting UEs or pair-priority-level or pair-priority-class for unicasting pairs for the same application or within a group may be configured or indicated by the application layer or higher layer during the V2X application or group discovery or peer discovery, indicated by the group lead while joining the group discovered or by the peer UE while pairing. The priority level or priority class for unicasting UEs or pairs for the same application or within a group may be signaled dynamically by the application layer or higher layer or by the group lead or by the peer UE based on the situation in proximity such as road traffic condition, number of V2X applications in proximity, number of broadcasting UEs, etc.
[0148] For inter-application or inter-group and intra-application or intra-group contention based unicasting, as described previously, a transmitting UE may keep sensing the channel till the channel is available, till the end of the current unicast occasion time-interval, until reaching the maximum-sensing actions, or till the unicast-timer is expired (e.g., the data is too old to unicast). Once the unicast-timer expires, the data buffer may be replenished with new data or flushed (a successful contention-based access procedure).
In view of Li, Lee is modified such that detection of SCI is based on monitoring of sidelink resources
corresponding to successful contention based access procedure.
Lee and Li are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication on SL resources.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to perform a
successful contention based access procedure sidelink resources after monitoring to enhance network
reliability and efficiency.
Lee in view of Li does no teach channel busy information measurement is performed in accordance
with detecting the sidelink control information.
Hoang teaches channel busy information measurement is performed in accordance
with detecting the sidelink control information.
Hoang [0139]; In an embodiment, measurements at the WTRU, for example sensing
or CBR measurements may aid in making a determination as to whether to use an SCI_Notification.
For example, a WTRU may perform SCI notification for a TB when the percentage of available
resources is above a specific threshold. The determination of the available resources may be based
on detection of SCI_Notification and/or SCI transmissions indicating forward-booked resources. For
example, a WTRU may perform SCI_Notification for a TB when the measured CBR or similar
congestion metric is above a threshold.
In view of Hoang, Lee is modified such that channel busy information measurement is performed in
accordance with detecting the sidelink control information.
Lee and Hoang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication on SL resources.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in the manner above that CBR measurement is performed in
accordance with detecting the sidelink control information to select the window of resources during
which the measurement is performed.
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Li in further view of Hoang teaches all the limitation of claim 14. Lee further teaches The method of claim 15, wherein the sidelink control infornation is associated with a transmitting UE different from the first UE. (Lee [0131]; Procedures related to sensing and resource (re-)selection may be supported in resource allocation mode 2. The sensing procedure may be defined as a process decoding the SCI from another UE( another UE) and/or SL measurement. The decoding of the SCI in the sensing procedure may at least provide information on a SL resource that is being indicated by a UE transmitting the SCI (transmitting UE different form the first UE)).
Regarding claim 34, An apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (LE), comprising: a processor (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 102), memory (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 104), coupled with the processor; and instructions stored (Lee, [0263])in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
plurality of resources of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band associated with sidelink communications;
Lee [0115] User equipment 1 (UE1) may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource within a resource pool, which refers to a set of resources, and UE1 may then be operated so as to transmit a SL signal by using the corresponding resource unit. User equipment 2 (UE2), which is to a receiving UE, may be configured with a resource pool to which UE1 can transmit signals, and may then detect signals of UE1 from the corresponding resource pool.
(Lee, [0081] As described above, the values of the frequency ranges in the NR system may be changed
(or varied). For example, as shown below in Table 4, FR1 may include a band within a range of 410
MHz to 7125 MHz. More specifically, FR1 may include a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925
MHz, and so on) and higher. For example, a frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850, 5900, 5925 MHz, and
so on) and higher being included in FR1 may include an unlicensed band. The unlicensed band may be
used for various purposes, e.g., the unlicensed band for vehicle-specific communication (e.g.,
autonomous driving).
performing a channel busy measurement for each of one or more resources for channel busy measurements;
(Lee [204]; For example, CR measurement and/or CBR measurement may be independently performed per V2X resource pool and/or BWP ( performing a channel busy measurement for each of one or more resources for channel busy measurements).
and communicating with a second UE band based at least in part on the channel busy measurement.
(Lee, Fig. 20 [0172] in step S2030, the UE may perform sidelink transmission. For example,
the sidelink transmission may be performed by using resource that are selected and/or occupied in
accordance with the CR measurement and/or CBR measurement.)
Lee does not teach monitoring each of a plurality of resources associated with sidelink
communication, detecting sidelink control information in each of one or more resources of the
plurality of resources based at least in part on the monitoring. wherein each of the one or more
resources corresponds to a successful contention-based access procedure in accordance with
detecting the sidelink control information.
Li teaches monitoring each of a plurality of resources associated with sidelink communication;
Li [0167]; If the unicast occasions are on shared time, frequency, or space resources with other UEs, then the transmitting may be sensing based and the receiving may be monitoring window based, e.g., using monitor-window for detecting the SCIs in the SL-CORESET as described previously for contention based unicast.
detecting sidelink control information in each of one or more resources of the plurality of resources
based at least in part on the monitoring.
Li [0167]; If the unicast occasions are on shared time, frequency, or space resources with other UEs, then the transmitting may be sensing based and the receiving may be monitoring window based, e.g., using monitor-window for detecting the SCIs in the SL-CORESET as described previously for contention based unicast.
wherein each of the one or more resources corresponds to a successful contention-based
access procedure in accordance with detecting the sidelink control information.
[0146] A V2X application or service group's unicast occasions may be allocated at shared time, frequency, or space resources among member UEs within a group, e.g., intra-group contention based unicasting. To avoid intra-group unicast collisions, the transmitting UEs may conduct channel sensing first at the fully or partially overlap multicast occasions. The sensing based channel accessing may be random based, e.g., each member UE or pair has a random back off time. The sensing based channel accessing may be priority based, e.g., each UE or pair has a back off time based on its priority right. For example, an RSU or a lead UE may have less or no back off time.
[0147] The ue-priority-flag and ue-priority-level or ue-priority-class for unicasting UEs or pair-priority-level or pair-priority-class for unicasting pairs for the same application or within a group may be configured or indicated by the application layer or higher layer during the V2X application or group discovery or peer discovery, indicated by the group lead while joining the group discovered or by the peer UE while pairing. The priority level or priority class for unicasting UEs or pairs for the same application or within a group may be signaled dynamically by the application layer or higher layer or by the group lead or by the peer UE based on the situation in proximity such as road traffic condition, number of V2X applications in proximity, number of broadcasting UEs, etc.
[0148] For inter-application or inter-group and intra-application or intra-group contention based unicasting, as described previously, a transmitting UE may keep sensing the channel till the channel is available, till the end of the current unicast occasion time-interval, until reaching the maximum-sensing actions, or till the unicast-timer is expired (e.g., the data is too old to unicast). Once the unicast-timer expires, the data buffer may be replenished with new data or flushed (a successful contention-based access procedure).
In view of Li, Lee is modified such that detection of SCI is based on monitoring of sidelink resources
corresponding to successful contention based access procedure.
Lee and Li are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication on SL resources.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in manner described above to perform a
successful contention based access procedure sidelink resources after monitoring to enhance network
reliability and efficiency.
Lee in view of Li does no teach channel busy information measurement is performed in accordance
with detecting the sidelink control information.
Hoang teaches channel busy information measurement is performed in accordance
with detecting the sidelink control information.
Hoang [0139]; In an embodiment, measurements at the WTRU, for example sensing
or CBR measurements may aid in making a determination as to whether to use an SCI_Notification.
For example, a WTRU may perform SCI notification for a TB when the percentage of available
resources is above a specific threshold. The determination of the available resources may be based
on detection of SCI_Notification and/or SCI transmissions indicating forward-booked resources. For
example, a WTRU may perform SCI_Notification for a TB when the measured CBR or similar
congestion metric is above a threshold.
In view of Hoang, Lee is modified such that channel busy information measurement is performed in
accordance with detecting the sidelink control information.
Lee and Hoang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication on SL resources.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in the manner above that CBR measurement is performed in
accordance with detecting the sidelink control information to select the window of resources during
which the measurement is performed.
Regarding claim 36, Lee in view of Li in further view of Hoang teaches all the limitation of claim 15. Lee
further teaches The method of claim 35, wherein the sidelink control information is associated with a
transmitting UE different from the first UE. (Lee [0131]; Procedures related to sensing and resource (re-
)selection may be supported in resource allocation mode 2. The sensing procedure may be defined as
a process decoding the SCI from another UE( another UE) and/or SL measurement. The decoding of
the SCI in the sensing procedure may at least provide information on a SL resource that is being
indicated by a UE transmitting the SCI (transmitting UE different form the first UE)).
Regarding claim 38, The apparatus of claim 34, wherein the window corresponds to a number of the
plurality of resources.
(Lee, Fig. 17 [0133]; Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may identify transmission resources (number of the
plurality of resources) reserved by another UE or resources being used by another UE (sidelink
communication) via sensing within a sensing window)
Regarding claim 39, The apparatus of claim 34, wherein the window corresponds to a number of the
one or more resources. (Lee, Fig. 17 [0133]; Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may identify transmission
resources (one or more resources) reserved by another UE or resources being used by another UE
(sidelink communication) via sensing within a sensing window)
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Li in further view of Hoang in further view of Ro et al. (US 2016/0278120 A1) (“Ro”).
Regarding claim 40, Lee in view of Li teaches all the limitation of claim 34.
The apparatus of claim 34, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more
processor (Lee, Fig. 28, Ref. 102)to cause the apparatus to:
Li teaches monitoring each of a plurality of resources associated with sidelink communication,
Li [0167]; If the unicast occasions are on shared time, frequency, or space resources with other UEs, then the transmitting may be sensing based and the receiving may be monitoring window based, e.g., using monitor-window for detecting the SCIs in the SL-CORESET as described previously for contention based unicast.
Lee in view of Li does not teach performing channel sensing in each of the
plurality of resources, wherein the one or more resources of the plurality of resources are determined
based at least in part on successful channel sensing.
Ro teaches performing channel sensing in each of the plurality of resources, wherein the one or more
resources of the plurality of resources are determined based at least in part on successful channel
sensing.
(Ro [0035]; In accordance with another aspect of the present invention, a device-to-device (D2D)
communication method of a receiving terminal includes: detecting a channel sensing signal from a
transmitting terminal, using a preset resource allocation condition; and detecting, when the detection
of a channel sensing signal is successful, the size of a transmission resource of the transmitting
terminal, using the preset resource allocation condition.)
In view of Ro, Lee in view of Li is modified such that a set of resources are
determined based on successful channel sensing.
Lee in view of Li are analogous art to the claimed invention because they
are in the same field of endeavor, performing sidelink communication via determined resources.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in further view of Li in manner described
above to determine the window of resources based on channel sensing to enhance the efficiency of the
network (Ro [0012]).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478