DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendments filed 8/5/2026, the rejections under 112(b) are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach the amendments to claim 1 including the protective ridge extends above a plane of the surrounding outer surface of the curb. Applicant argues that Choi does not each a protruding ridge because the ridge would catch on vehicles and increase wear and tear during bending. Examiner disagrees. Choi teaches both a recessed groove and a protective ridge around the recessed groove. The protective ridge in Choi is higher than “the surrounding outer surface” because the surrounding portions are the groove areas which are depressed, see the labeled Choi Figures further below.
Applicant argues that the references are physically and materially incompatible because Davis teaches a heavy-duty rubber and Choi teaches a flexible rubber. Applicant alleges a person of skill would not be motivated to combine thin flexible structures of Choi with a heavy-duty rubber such as Davis’. This argument is not found to be persuasive. Applicant has not explained why the rubbers described in the references are incompatible. The rejection does not rely on substituting the rubber or the method of making the rubber article at all nonetheless in a way that would not be compatible with the primary reference. The rejection only relies on combining various structural components from Lowe or Choi with the primary reference, Davis. Additionally, both Davis and Choi describe rubber traffic barriers and are therefore similar enough that a person of skill in the art may look to one for modifying another.
The rejections to claims 2-8, 32, and 34-37 are also maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 9-13 are withdrawn as they are directed to a nonelected species but are not listed as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 32, and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 2017/0175349, made of record on the IDS filed 10/31/2022), Lowe (US 2006/0134370), and Choi (KR 2005-0003821, see English copy provided.)
Regarding claim 1, Davis meets the claimed, A method of producing a molded rubber curb (Davis [0006] and [0008]-[0009] describes a rubber barrier for traffic, parking lots, etc.) arranged to accept a customized printed label comprising: providing a mold (Davis [0056] describes a mold 1006 for producing a rubber barrier 1000) filling the mold with recycled rubber having an average particle size of 5-20 MESH (US Standard) (Davis [0064] describes recycled rubber with a particle size of ½” to 200 mesh, the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed in the art and is therefore obvious, see MPEP §2144.05(I)) adding 4 to 10% polyurethane binder (v/w) to the recycled rubber in the mold; (Davis [0039] and [0065] describes 10% binder including a polyurethane binder) subjecting the mold to suitable temperature and pressure for forming the molded rubber curb; (Davis [0069]-[0070] describe heating and compressing to cure) and removing the molded rubber curb comprising (Davis [0080] describes removing the molded skin from the mold.)
Davis does not disclose a label insertion site on the mold or product. Lowe also describes a rubber barrier meets the claimed, mold for forming the molded rubber curb having a label insertion site on a surface of the molded rubber product, (Lowe Figure 2 and [0023] discloses a decorative element 14 which is positioned into the mold, the site where it is positioned is the label insertion site) label insertion site for accepting the customized printed label (Lowe Figure 2 shows the decorative elements 14.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the mold from Davis with the mold and product of Lowe which have an insertion area for adding a decorative element in order to provide a reflective element for being seen at night, see Lowe [0019] or a logo for recognition, see Lowe [0004].
Davis as modified by Lowe disclose a mold and curb with an insertion site for a label. Although Lowe [0025] discloses the decorative element may be inserted into a depression formed in the molded body in order to increase durability, neither Davis nor Lowe specifically disclose the depression or grooves on the mold.
Analogous in the field of rubber barrier molding, Choi also describes a barrier with reflective tape and meets the claimed, a set of recessed grooves formed in an inner surface of the mold having a protective ridge of elevated rubber that defines a perimeter around a recessed portion of the molded rubber curb for label insertion on the recess portion of a surface of the molded rubber, (Choi [0033]-[0035] describes a mold 20 with portions 22’ that form an indentation 43 on the molded product where a tape 45 is inserted, the parts immediately adjacent to 22’ are recessed in the mold but form an elevated structure on the final product which surrounds the indentations 43 where the tape 45 is placed) said recessed portion being a label insertion site for accepting the customized printed label; the recessed portion and the label being sized and shaped such that edges of the recessed portion defined by the protective ridge of elevated rubber press against edges of the label such that the edges of the label are not exposed and fit within the recessed portion and are protected by the edges of the recessed portion and by the protective ridge of elevated rubber the label insertion site defined by the protective ridge of elevated rubber from the mold, (Choi Figures 2 and 3 show where the indented portion 43 is formed from the protrusion portion 22’ and the tape 45 being inserted into the indented portion 43 such that the edges of the tape are covered by the ridges/ sides of the recessed portion) wherein the protective ridge of the elevated rubber extends above a plane of the surrounding outer surface of the molded rubber curb (Choi Figures 2 and 3 show the protective ridge is elevated over the at least indented portion 43.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of Davis with the ridges and insertion site described in Choi in order to form a depression and increase the durability of the decorative element.
Regarding claim 2, Davis meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1, wherein the mold is subjected to a temperature of 150-250 degrees F (Davis [0074] describes molding at 250 degrees F.)
Regarding claim 3, Davis meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1through a hydraulic press applying 300-600 tons (Davis [0074] describes a hydraulic press.)
Davis does not explicitly disclose the claimed pressure range wherein the mold is subjected to a pressure of 2,000 to 3,500 PSI or applying 300-600 tons, however, Davis [0074] does not explicitly describe 2,000-3,000 PSI but does disclose that the amount of pressure may change depending on the thickness of the item being molded. Davis discloses that the pressure can be altered depending on the exact specifications of the item being molded. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the molding pressure disclosed in Davis in order to optimize the molding conditions, see Davis [0074], see MPEP 2144.04 (II).
Regarding claim 4, Davis meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1 wherein the mold is subjected to a temperature of 150-250 degrees F (Davis [0074] describes molding at 250 degrees F )and a pressure through a hydraulic press (Davis [0074] describes a hydraulic press.)
Davis does not explicitly disclose the claimed pressure range of 2,000 to 3,500 PSI applying 300-600 tons of pressure Davis [0074] does not explicitly describe 2,000-3,000 PSI but does disclose that the amount of pressure may change depending on the thickness of the item being molded. Davis discloses that the pressure can be altered depending on the exact specifications of the item being molded. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the molding pressure disclosed in Davis in order to optimize the molding conditions, see Davis [0074], see MPEP 2144.04 (II).
Davis does not disclose the molding time. Choi meets the claimed, for 7-12 minutes (Choi [0022] discloses 10 minutes in the mold.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of applying heat and pressure as disclosed in Davis with the method of Choi which includes holding the article in the mold for 10 minutes in order to begin the curing process of the rubber, see Choi [0022].
Regarding claim 5, Davis does not disclose a depth of the grooves. While Choi discloses the grooves, Choi does not specify the depth. Lowe [0025], however, discloses that a depression can be formed which is deeper than the depth of the decorative element. Although Lowe does not specifically meet the claimed, The method according to claim 1 wherein the recessed grooves have a depth for accepting the customized printed label of approximately 1/8th of an inch or 1/16th of an inch, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the mold as disclosed in modified Davis through routine optimization in order to ensure that the decorative element is fully contained within the grooves to increase the durability of the decorative element, see Davis [0025].
Regarding claim 6, Davis as previously modified by Choi describes a mold with the grooves and meets the claimed, is placed between the recessed grooves (Choi [0033] describes the portions 22’) but does not describe molding with a label and does not meet the claimed, The method according to claim 1 wherein prior to filling the mold with recycled rubber, a printed label composed of rubber based reflective sheeting
Lowe meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1 wherein prior to filling the mold with recycled rubber, a printed label (Lowe [0004] discloses a decorative element including a name) composed of rubber based reflective sheeting (Lowe [0019] describes decorative element 14 contains fabric and a reflective paint containing polyurethane and an adhesive containing nitrile resin) is placed between the recessed grooves (Lowe [0023] describes the decorative element 14 is placed in the mold prior to filling with the body material 32.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of Davis with the step of placing the label in the mold prior to molding as disclosed in Lowe in order to permanently connect the reflective element with the rubber article, see Lowe [0006].
Regarding claim 32, Davis describes a hollow inner compartment but does not meet the claimed, The method according to claim 1 wherein the recessed portion is located on a front or on a back of the molded rubber curb.
Choi meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1 wherein the recessed portion is located on a front or on a back of the molded rubber curb. (Choi [0036] describes an indentation 43 surrounding the article.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of Davis with the recessed pocket described in Choi in order to have a location to place the luminescent tape, see Choi [0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of Davis with the tape being inlayed into the indentation as described in Lowe in order to increase the durability of the decorative element, see Davis [0025].
Regarding claim 34, although Lowe does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the entire decorative element or the depth of the depression in which the decorative element is placed, however Davis [0025] discloses that a depression can be formed which is deeper than the depth of the decorative element and that the label should be thinner than that depth in order to increase the durability and meets the claimed, The method according to claim 32 wherein the recessed portion has a depth of approximately 1/8th inch and the customized printed label has a thickness of 1/16th inch. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the depth of the pocket and the thickness of the label as disclosed in modified Davis through routine optimization in order to ensure that the decorative element is fully contained within the grooves to increase the durability of the decorative element, see Davis [0025].
Regarding claim 35, Davis does not meet the claimed, The method according to claim 1 wherein a region of the mold that forms the recessed pocket includes indicia identifying the manufacturer of the molded rubber curb.
Lowe meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1wherein a region of the mold that forms the recessed pocket includes indicia identifying the manufacturer of the molded rubber curb (Lowe [0023] describes placing the decorative element into the mold and Lowe [0006] describes the decorative element may contain a company name or logo.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of Davis with the identifying indicia of Lowe in order to identify the company that produced the product.
Regarding claim 36, Davis does not describe a label with the edges covered by the recessed pocket and does not meet the claimed, The method according to claim 32 wherein following removal of the molded rubber curb from the mold, a printed label sized and shaped such that recessed edges of the recessed portion press against edges of the printed label such that the edges of the printed label are not exposed.
Lowe meets the claimed, The method according to claim 32 wherein following removal of the molded rubber curb from the mold, a printed label sized and shaped such that recessed edges of the recessed pocket press against edges of the printed label such that the edges of the printed label are not exposed (Davis [0025] describes the decorative element is laid within a depression deeper than the thickness of the element 14.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of Davis with the tape being inlayed into the indentation as described in Lowe in order to increase the durability of the decorative element, see Davis [0025].
Regarding claim 37, Davis does not describe a label with the edges covered and does not meet the claimed, The method according to claim 32 wherein edges of the printed label press against edges of the protective ridge so that the edges of the printed label are not exposed.
Lowe meets the claimed, The method according to claim 32 wherein edges of the printed label press against edges of the protective ridge so that the edges of the printed label are not exposed (Davis [0025] describes the decorative element is laid within a depression deeper than the thickness of the element 14.)
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Davis as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Free (US 2013/0034682.)
Regarding claim 7, modified Davis meets the claimed, The method according to claim 6 wherein the rubber based reflective sheeting is printed with customized indicia (Lowe [0004] describes a name painted on the decorative element).
While Lowe does disclose the printing of letters or indicia, Lowe does not disclose the resolution and does not meet the claimed, with a resolution of at least 600 dpi.
Analogous in the field of reflective traffic control devices, Free meets the claimed, with a resolution of at least 600 dpi (Free [0025] discloses a barrier layer of a reflective article used in traffic control that contains letters, patterns, text, images, or logos and Free [0079] discloses the barrier layer is printed with a dpi of 600.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the method of Davis to include a printed label of at least 600 dpi as disclosed in Free in order to have the pattern or words be legible.
Regarding claim 8, Lowe further meets the claimed, The method according to claim 7 wherein the rubber based reflective sheeting is printed with UV stable ink (Lowe [0019] discloses a UV stable polyurethane ink.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of molding described in Davis with the UV stable ink as disclosed in Lowe in order to prevent discoloration, see Lowe [0019].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/John J. DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744