DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8 remain pending in the application. Claims 6-8 have been withdrawn due to a restriction requirement. Applicant's amendments to claims 3-5 have overcome the 112(a) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 05/13/2026. Applicant's amendments to claim 1 have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 05/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites “determining” method steps which fall into the “Mental Processes” category of abstract ideas without sufficiently conveying a practical application. Even though the “determining” is performed by the control unit, using a computer to perform the abstract idea does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a particular practical application. Once the “determining” takes place, the method recites “applying coolant […] by actuating with the control unit the pump assembly in accordance with the final actuation state and the control valves in accordance with actuation values”. While the “applying coolant” step integrates the “determining” steps into a practical application, this does not integrate into a particular practical application because the control unit actuating the pump in accordance with the state or actuation values is recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to just generally applying the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, the control unit actuating the pump could be considered only generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use, which does not constitute a particular practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h). The “determining” steps are performed on a control unit, but performing the abstract idea on a general purpose computer is not enough to integrate the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(b)I.
Aside from the “determining” method steps, claim 1 recites the additional elements of a cooling unit with a header line, a number of pumps, and a control valve arranged at each branch line leading to application units. These elements are well understood, routine, and conventional within the art as taught by US 2015/0375284 A1 of Chen, further described in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below. Claim 2 further recites constraints used in the abstract idea, and claims 3-5 further recite how the “determinations” are made, where the “determination” is an abstract idea stemming from the “determining” steps discussed above.
In sum, claims 1-5 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claimed limitations amount to no more than instructions to acquire data to inform a process of applying coolant. Mere instructions to obtain information and applying said information cannot provide an inventive concept when recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to just generally applying the abstract idea. The claims are therefore not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “b) determining with the control unit a provisional actuation state of the pump assembly, the determined provisional actuation state being a state in which the pump assembly, while operating, would deliver a total flow of coolant to the header line corresponding to the sum of the setpoint flows to be delivered to the header line by the pump assembly, and, at the same time, would bring about a provisional working pressure which corresponds to a highest working pressure of the individual working pressures”. The instant specification does not provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter, i.e., “the determined provisional actuation state being a state in which the pump assembly, while operating, would deliver a total flow of coolant […]”. A definition for a “provisional actuation state” is not found anywhere in the instant specification nor in the originally filed claims. Original claim 1 recited “a provisional actuation state of the pump assembly, with the result that a total flow of coolant […]”. A result from the “provisional actuation state” of the original claim 1 is not equivalent to amended claim 1 reciting “the determined provisional actuation state being a state in which the pump assembly, while operating, would deliver a total flow of coolant […]”. Additionally, “while operating” or synonymous terms such as “during operation” do not appear anywhere in the instant specification, drawings, nor originally filed claims.
Claims 2-5 depend on claim 1, do not resolve the aforementioned issues, and are thereby also rejected.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “c) using the provisional actuation state of the pump assembly, determining with the control unit the final actuation state of the pump assembly so that, while the pump assembly is operating”. The instant specification does not provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter, i.e., “so that, while the pump assembly is operating”. The term “while the pump assembly is operating” or any synonyms are not present in the instant specification, drawings, nor originally filed claims.
Claims 2-5 depend on claim 1, do not resolve the aforementioned issues, and are thereby also rejected.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the “determination” steps recite “wherein, as part of the determination of the provisional actuation state, the control unit checks whether it can determine a permissible actuation state of the pump assembly in which the pump assembly delivers the required total flow and brings about at highest determined individual working pressures in the header line” and “for a permissible actuation state of the pump assembly in which the pump assembly delivers the required total flow and brings about at highest determined individual working pressures in the header, the control unit checks whether and to what extent unwanted states occur” respectively (emphasis added to highlight the difference between the instant claims). These limitations render the claims indefinite. It is unclear what is encompassed by the limitations “checks whether it can determine” or “checks whether and to what extent”, how the control unit takes this “checking” into account to ultimately result in the claimed applying coolant to the rolled material, and how the claimed “permissible actuation state” or “unwanted states” conditions of the pump assembly affect the overall claimed operating method.
Claims 3 and 4 recite the limitations “permissible actuation state” and “unwanted states”. These limitations render the claim indefinite. The terms “permissible actuation state” and “unwanted states” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the meaning of these states, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The terms “permissible” and “unwanted” are subjective standards that do not provide an objective standard to determine the scope of the claims. See MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would not readily understand how to perform the claimed operating method to meet the claimed determination steps.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the control unit additionally takes into account at least one previous final actuation state of the pump assembly determined by the control unit”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what constitutes a “previous” final actuation state. Furthermore, the term “final” implies a “last” actuation state and it is therefore unclear how there can be “at least one previous final actuation state” (emphasis added) in addition to the “final actuation state” recited in claim 1 and in line 2 of claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0375284 A1 of Chen (as cited in prior Office action).
As best understood given the 35 U.S.C. 101, 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of claims 1-5, Chen teaches an operating method for a cooling section for a flat rolling stock ([0002], cooling section reads on claimed cooling unit; flat rolling stock reads on the claimed hot rolled material made of metal since flat rolling stock includes hot rolled material made of metal).
Chen teaches a cooling section (reads on claimed cooling unit, Fig. 1) for a flat rolling stock (1, Fig. 1, reads on the reads on the claimed hot rolled material made of metal since flat rolling stock includes hot rolled material made of metal) has a working region (2, Fig. 1) through which the flat rolling stock is guided ([0029]). Chen teaches a number of spray beams (3i, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed application units and is connected to the claimed plurality of branch lines as seen by the lines connecting 3i to 9i and 6 in Fig. 1) are arranged in the working region ([0029]). Chen teaches the working region can be supplied, by means of the spray beams, with a liquid coolant (4, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed liquid coolant) ([0029]). Chen teaches the liquid coolant is fed to the spray beams from a reservoir (7, Fig. 1) for the liquid coolant via a pump (5, Fig. 1, since one is a number and there is one pump in the cooling section of Chen, the pump of Chen reads on the claimed pump assembly wherein the pump assembly has a number of pumps) and a supply line system (6, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed header line since it supplies coolant to the multiple spray beams as shown by the connecting lines in Fig. 1) ([0029]). Chen teaches the spray beams apply the liquid coolant to the flat rolling stock both from above and from below the opposite surfaces of the flat stock ([0029], reads on the claimed applying coolant to the rolled material with at least some of the application units since the spray beams read on the claimed application units).
Chen teaches within the supply line system (6, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed header line) valves (9, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed control valves arranged in each of the branch lines, as seen in the lines connecting 9 to 6 in Fig. 1) are arranged upstream of the spray beams and the opening settings of the valves are set by a control device (10, Fig. 1, reads on claimed control unit) ([0030]).
Chen teaches the valves are controlled by the control device such that the opening settings of the valves are set in accordance with a respective partial flow, which is to be applied to the flat rolling stock by means of the respective spray beam ([0030], reads on the claimed applying coolant to the rolled material with at least some of the application units). Chen teaches the control device sets a delivery power of the pump in accordance with a total flow which is to be applied to the flat rolling stock by means of all of the spray beams together, or sets a line pressure which is generated in the supply line system by means of the pump by determining the total flow using the control device and automatically and directly summing the partial flows ([0030]). Since the system of Chen would necessarily have to collect information to control and thereby “determine” the state of the pump to control the flow and pressure as taught by Chen, Chen reads on the claimed determining the final actuation state of the pump assembly and actuation values of the control valves, as well as determining a provisional actuation state of the pump assembly, and the claimed determining with the control unit a respective individual working pressure for the control valves.
Chen teaches the control device accordingly controls the pump such that the line pressure in the supply line system can be set between a minimum value and a maximum value ([0032], reads on the claimed receiving setpoint flows for the application units by the control unit, each setpoint flow indicating a quantity of coolant to be supplied to a respective application unit of the application units and whereby the control unit determines whether the pump assembly is capable of delivering with the result that a total flow of coolant to the header line). Chen teaches the control device controls the valves such that their opening settings are set between a respective fully closed position and a respective fully open position by using the control device to control a partial flow, line pressure, and opening position of the valve ([0032], partial flow reads on the claimed flow, line pressure reads on the claimed working pressure, and the opening position of the valve reads on the claimed actuation values and state; the control device of Chen controls the claimed working pressure, flow, and actuation state and therefore reads on the claimed limitations).
Chen teaches the operating method has many advantages such as avoiding cavitation during operation by controlling the pump and line pressures with respect to set minimum and maximum values ([0021]-[0025], [0039], operating method of Chen avoiding cavitation reads on the claimed using the final working pressure, determining with the control unit the actuation values of the control valves in such a way that the respective setpoint flow flows in the respective branch line).
Chen teaches control of variables relating to partial flow, line pressure, and opening position of the valves ([0032]).
Given the teachings of Chen as well as the general state of the art, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to use the operating method of the cooling section of Chen and assemble and use information regarding the pressures, partial flows, and valves to avoid cavitation and therefore improve cooling conditions for industrial cooling processes by applying coolant by controlling the pump and line pressures with respect to set minimum and maximum values, as taught by Chen.
Chen teaches the control device is programmed to effect its mode of operation and controls the pump and valves such that their opening settings can be set to respective partial flows or line pressures ([0030]-[0036]). Chen further teaches in the case in which the line pressure p is at the maximum pressure pmax the coolant has a lower partial flow to avoid cavitation which can be used by accordingly reducing delivery power and/or line pressure ([0037]).
Since the control device of Chen controls the pump, it necessarily needs to “determine” an actuation state to send the appropriate commands to control the coolant flow, pressure, and delivery power of the pump. A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. See MPEP § 2164.01. In this case, under broadest reasonable interpretation, any actuation state of Chen is considered “provisional” since the opening settings of Chen vary depending on the respective partial flows, line pressures, and delivery powers and therefore the actuation state will change along with any of the variables of Chen until reaching a “final actuation state”. One of ordinary skill in the art understands the control device and pump of Chen delivers a coolant flow with a corresponding working pressure. One of ordinary skill in the art further understands that the method of Chen applies coolant by using an apparatus and method steps overlapping with those of the instant invention.
Chen therefore reads on all the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches because of the pump being controlled appropriately, there prevails in the supply line system, in the event that laminar cooling is to be carried out, a line pressure which is markedly lower than the maximum value ([0022]). Chen further teaches in the event that the line pressure is at the maximum value, the valves have, at the respective fully open setting, a respective maximum flow and, at the opening setting at which the liquid coolant flowing through the respective valve cavitates, a respective cavitation flow wherein a ratio of the respective maximum flow to the respective cavitation flow is preferably at most 5:1 ([0023]). Chen therefore reads on the limitation wherein the limit modulation value of each control valve is no more than 98% of a maximum modulation value thereof of claim 2.
Regarding claims 3-5, Chen teaches the control device controls the pump ([0032]), control valves ([0030]), and the opening position of the valves ([0032]). Chen teaches the control device is configured for setting valves leading to the spray beams according to a respective partial flow, to set a delivery power of a pump and/or to set a line pressure by means of the pump according to a total flow, which includes the partial flow to be applied to the rolling stock by means of all of the spray beams spraying together (claim 2). Chen also teaches the control device is configured to automatically determine the total flow using the partial flows from each spray beam (claim 3). The control device of Chen therefore reads on the limitations of claims 3-5 since the control device of Chen receives information regarding flow, opening setting, delivery power, pressure, and flow, among others, to control the application of coolant to the rolling stock ([0030]-[0033]). Chen further teaches using its control device and pump to retro-fit existing cooling installations to avoid cavitation by exchanging or reprogramming the control device ([0039]).
Chen therefore reads on the limitations of claims 1-5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized as follows: regarding 101 rejections (remarks, pages 6-10), regarding 112a rejections (remarks, pages 10-13), and regarding 103 rejections (remarks, pages 14-20).
In response, regarding the 101 rejections, throughout prosecution the Examiner has consulted the TC 1700 101 Quality Team regarding the instant claims on 05/28/2025 prior to sending the Non-Final Rejection mailed 06/05/2025 and again on 04/16/2026 prior to sending the Non-Final Rejection mailed 05/13/2026. The 101 rejections are maintained based on the guidance of the 101 Quality Team and for the reasons previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 05/13/2026 and in this Office action. The Examiner notes that the claim amendment of 08/13/2026 only removed the limitation “as a factor” of claim 1 and does not overcome the 101 rejections previously set forth. The courts have found adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(i). In this case, once the “determining” steps of claim 1 take place, the claim “applies it” by “applying coolant to the rolled material with at least some of the application units by actuating with the control unit the pump assembly in accordance with the final actuation state and the control valves in accordance with actuation values”. Therefore, the claims as currently amended do not qualify as “significantly more” per MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(i). Additionally, claim 1 recites the additional elements of a cooling unit with a header line, a number of pumps, and a control valve arranged at each branch line leading to application units. These elements are well understood, routine, and conventional within the art as taught by US 2015/0375284 A1 of Chen, further described in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections herein. Applicant is encouraged to consider amending the claims to recite positive method steps wherein additional limitations amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In response, regarding the 112a rejections, the 112a rejections have been updated in this Office action in view of claim amendments of 08/13/2026.
In response, regarding the 103 rejections, as best understood given the 35 U.S.C. 101, 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of amended claim 1, Chen still reads on amended claim 1, as detailed in this Office action. Additionally, amended claim 1 raises patent eligibility, new matter and indefiniteness issues, as described in the 35 U.S.C. 101, 112(a) and 112(b) rejections in this Office action.
Regarding the claimed provisional actuation state, Applicant argues that broadest reasonable interpretation does not permit the Examiner to ignore limitations that are recited in the claim (remarks, page 20).
In response, amended claim 1 describes the claimed “provisional actuation state” in terms of the resulting “state in which the pump assembly, while operating, would deliver a total flow of coolant to the header line corresponding to the sum of the setpoint flows to be delivered to the header line by the pump assembly, and at the same time, would bring about a provisional working pressure which corresponds to a highest working pressure of the individual working pressures”. Chen teaches the control device is configured for setting valves leading to the spray beams according to a respective partial flow, to set a delivery power of a pump and/or to set a line pressure by means of the pump according to a total flow, which includes the partial flow to be applied to the rolling stock by means of all of the spray beams spraying together (claim 2). Chen also teaches the control device is configured to automatically determine the total flow using the partial flows from each spray beam (claim 3). The method of Chen has a control device that configures settings according to at least partial flow and delivers a total flow which necessarily has a working pressure. As best understood given the 35 U.S.C. 101, 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of amended claim 1, the method of Chen reads on the instant claims. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that clarification was requested regarding what is encompassed by the claimed “provisional actuation state” during an Applicant-initiated interview, as summarized in Interview Summary Record mailed 01/23/2026 to better understand the metes and bounds of the claim and identify any possible pathways to move prosecution forwards. As presently claimed, amended claim 1 raises patent eligibility, new matter and indefiniteness issues, as described in the 35 U.S.C. 101, 112(a) and 112(b) rejections in this Office action, and Chen is considered to read on the instant claims as best understood given the issues listed above.
Applicant argues that the record does not establish the so called “general state of the art” with evidence (page 17).
In response, the prior art of Chen is part of the evidence of the “general state of the art”. Additionally, several supplementary references were provided to Applicant’s representative during an Applicant-initiated interview, as summarized in Interview Summary Record mailed 01/23/2026, to support determining a “provisional actuation state” of a pump assembly is well-known in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733