DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Watanabe et al., US 20170320020.
Watanabe teaches, especially in paras 6-7, carbonizing polyphenylene oxide. This includes any form of PO, and encompasses any degree of surface oxidation (which is what the absorbance reflects).
It is noted that carbonization alters the structure of the original material by removing non-carbon atoms therefrom, thus destroying the fine structural features claimed.
Thus, no difference is seen in the carbon fiber produced.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by WO 2021060210 (see English-language equivalent US20220380535).
The reference teaches infusibilization of the claimed material; no difference is seen in the product. See [0098]-[0099] of US’535. The inventorship is different from the present application.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by WO 2021111706.
The reference teaches infusibilization of the claimed material; no difference is seen in the product. See the Examples of WO’706. The inventorship is different from the present application.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by WO 2021111707.
The reference teaches infusibilization of the claimed material; no difference is seen in the product. Note especially the abstract, in which the claimed features are explicitly discussed. The inventorship is different from the present application.
Double Patenting
Claims 9, 11, 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11975974. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common subject matter, given that they are product-by-process.
Allowable subject matter:
Claims 12-15 are allowable over the prior art, consistent with the findings of the Foreign Office, since the prior art does not teach the particular characterizations claimed.
Product-by-process claims 9 and 11 and 16-19 are similarly allowable, consistent with the allowance of the ‘974 patent noted above and the lack of activation by Watanabe.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736