DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Reply
This communication is responsive to the amendment(s) and/or argument(s) filed 5/19/26. The previous ground(s) of objection and/or rejection is/are withdrawn. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth hereinbelow.
Initially, the Examiner respectfully directs Applicants attention to apparent erroneous claim status identifiers, rendering the amendment apparently non-compliant. However, in the interest of compact prosecution the Examiner is examining the elected claims on the merits herein. Meanwhile, claims 4, 11, 19-35, 38, and 42 were previously cancelled in a preliminary amendment on 9/29/22 but are indicated as withdrawn on 5/19/26. Similarly, although claims 13-18, 36-37, 40-41, and 43 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, the text of those claims is not present and it is unclear if Applicant may have intended to cancel them since they are indicated in the same manner as cancelled claims 4, 11, 19-35, 38, and 42. Applicant’s attention is respectfully directed thereto.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “the cutting blade is made in one piece of material” should apparently read “the cutting blade is made of one piece of material” for grammatical accuracy. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 2-3 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2 and 45 as newly amended and presented, respectively, positively recite inter alia …”the vacuum tube is a medical analysis tube having dimensions compatible with automated blood analysis equipment”. The claimed dimensionality of the vacuum tube comprises new matter that was not originally disclosed. Although the instant disclosure contemplates compatibility of medical sampling tubes with standard automated analysis equipment, the instant Specification did not disclose any “dimensions” of the vacuum tube to achieve compatibility such that it comprises new matter.
Claim 3 positively recites inter alia “an app running on a portable computer, the combination adapted for collecting a sample, wherein the portable computer is encoded with instructions to execute a verification method” further including steps of “recognizing… saving… analyzing video in real-time… and storing the video an encrypted manner…”. The claimed subject matter does not appear disclosed in the specification with any sufficient specificity to convey to one of skill in the art that possession was demonstrated. The instant Specification appears devoid of any mention of, for example at least, particular details regarding computer executable “instructions” and/or programming for a “verification method”, let alone instructions for steps of verification, recognizing, saving, or analyzing. Although some of the functionality may be cursorily mentioned (using applications on a smartphone and storing data for example), the instant Specification does not disclose with any corresponding sufficient detail, the actual required coding, or programming of computer executable instructions the accomplish the claimed computerized functionality. Conversely, the “an app running an app running on a computer, the combination adapted for collecting a sample, wherein the computer is encoded with instructions to execute a verification method” further including steps of “recognizing… saving… analyzing… and storing…” appears to be a black-box devoid of detail regarding computerized instructions while instead having a description that merely describes an accomplished functionality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “non-medically trained user” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “non-medically trained user” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The instant Specification merely indicates the patient themselves may be “a non-medically trained user”. However, the degree or magnitude of non-medical training required is indeterminate. A patient completing body fluid testing must be medically fluent enough from instructions and/or medical professional advice to complete an independent blood test, rendering them at least partially trained despite an apparent lack of medical degree? The scope of the claim is unclear as to what is explicitly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded to be considered “a non-medically trained user”, particularly in light of further specificity not readily apparent in the instant Specification. Depending claims 2-3, 5-10, 12, 44 and 45 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
The term “dimensions” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “dimensions” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. A standard medical analysis tube may be embodied in my relative forms, functions, and structures with relative standards that change over time, rendering the scope of the claim indeterminate and particularly in light of particular details not disclosed.
Regarding claims 7 and 10, the phrases "preferably within" and “more preferably within” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 positively recites “a cutting blade” while claim 1 positively recites “one or more cutting blades”. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to the required and/or excluded relationships amongst the “a cutting blade” and the “one or more cutting blades”, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination on the merits “a cutting blade” of claim 12 is being treated as reciting “the one or more cutting blades”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 44 positively recites inter alia “the vacuum tube constitutes the sample collection tube”. This fails to further limit the limitations of claim 1 when apparently less elements and/or structures are required. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10, 12, 44, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Queval (WO 2019/220340 A1)
For claim 1, Queval discloses a disposable body fluid sampling device (300) (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]) inherently capable of use by a non-medically trainer user and/or a medically trained user, comprising inter alia:
a suction chamber (201) (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]) configured to receive body fluid sampled from a user’s skin (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]);
one or more cutting blades (206) (Figs 39) ([0020-0158]) configured to lacerate the skin of the user (Figs 7-29) ([0020-0158]), each rotatably supported within a housing of the device such that an arc traced by a tip of the cutting blade extends partially outside the housing (Figs 7-29) ([0020-0158]), wherein, with the housing in contact with the skin, each cutting blade undergoes a rotation limited by the housing such that the tip of the butting blade wounds the user’s skin without completely lacerating it, and thereafter retracts into the housing by reverse rotational movement (Figs 7-29) ([0020-0158]);
an interface (receiver for 212) configured to receive a vacuum tube (212) (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]), the vacuum tube providing suction necessary to fill a sample collection tube (212) with the body fluid (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]), the sample collection tube being configured for delivery to and analysis in a medical laboratory (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 2, Queval discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 1, wherein the vacuum tube is a medical analysis tube (212) having dimensions compatible with automated blood analysis equipment (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 5, Queval discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 1, having a sample containment chamber (interior of 212) made of a material having a thermal inertia permitting the maintenance of sample temperature over a known period of time (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 6, Queval discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 5, wherein the thermal inertia is selected to provide a known period of time in an ambient environment permitting non-refrigerated transport to a collection point (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 7, Queval discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 6, wherein the known period of time is inherently within a range of 1 hour to 2 hours under normal ambient conditions, and preferably within a range of 1 hour to 6 hours, and more preferably within a range of 1 hour to 8 hours (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 8, Queval discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 5, including a thermally insulating sleeve (202) configured to be manually or automatically triggered to slide over the sample container chamber (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 9, Queval discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 8, wherein the thermal inertia is selected to provide a known period of time permitting non-refrigerated transport to a collection point (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 10, Queval discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 9, wherein the known period of time is inherently within a range of 1 hour to 2 hours under normal ambient conditions, and preferably within a range of 1 hour to 6 hours, and more preferably within a range of 1 hour to 8 hours (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 12, Queval discloses the one or more cutting blades made for making a laceration in the skin of a user/patient for the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 1, wherein the cutting blade construction is made in one piece of material (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 44, Queval discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 1, wherein the vacuum tube constitutes the sample collection tube (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
For claim 45, Queval discloses the body fluid sampling device of claim 44, wherein the vacuum tube is a medical analysis tube having dimensions compatible with automated blood analysis equipment (Figs 37-42) ([0020-0158, especially 0143-0158]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Queval in view of Anderson (US 2019/0168210 A1).
For claim 3, Queval discloses the claimed invention, including labeled identification information on the bodily fluid sampling container ([0132-0133]) such as patient information, blood collection time and quantity, etc…, as set forth and cited above, except for expressly disclosing the portable computer and app functionality.
For claim 3, Anderson in the same field of bodily fluid sampling endeavor discloses the disposable body fluid sampling device of claim 1 combined with an app running on a portable computer (iPhone 31) (Figs 7, 12) ([0287-0307]), the combination adapted for collecting a sample (Figs 7, 12) ([0287-0307]), wherein the portable computer is encoded with instructions to execute a verification method comprising the steps of:
a) recognizing unique biometric characteristics of a user/patient and identifying the disposable body fluid sampling device (Figs 7, 12) ([0287-0307]);
b) saving a video of the user/patient and the disposable body fluid sampling device throughout the entire process using a camera of the portable computer (Figs 7, 12) ([0287-0307]);
c) analyzing the video in real time and providing instructions to the user/patient for the execution of the medical process (Figs 7, 12) ([0287-0307]); and
d) storing the video in an encrypted manner in the portable computer or in a remotely accessible database through the portable computer (Figs 7, 12) ([0287-0307]),
wherein the disposable body fluid sampling device includes at least one visible feature that visibly signals the progress of the body fluid collection process (Figs 7, 12) ([0287-0307]).
For claim 3, Queval and Anderson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of patient self-sampling of bodily fluid for laboratory analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Queval to incorporate the teachings of Anderson to provide a computerized tracking of the sampling. Doing so would achieve the predictable result of documenting patient self-sampling of medical procedures while permitting future correlation with laboratory analysis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10, 12, 44, and 45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, wherein Applicant argues the following: amended claim 3 finds support in the instant disclosure and does not require source code or specific algorithms.
In response the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes the following: indeed no source code or algorithm is required to be disclosed, however the instant Specification appears devoid of any mention of, for example at least, particular details regarding computer executable “instructions” and/or programming for a “verification method”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791