DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 05/11/2025 has been received and considered. Claims 1, 7, 15, 16, 26, 28-30, 32, 34, 35, 47, 54, 55, 69, 133, 134, 141, and 169 were amended, claims 189-193 were newly added, and claims 3, 27, 79, 83, 165, 173, and 174 were cancelled. All uncancelled claims remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 133, 134, and 189-193is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 20130121172 A1, hereinafter “Cheng”) in view of Blanchard et al. (US 10790872 B1, hereinafter “Blanchard”).
As to Claim 1:
Cheng discloses a method to enforce QoS requirements at a base station.
Specifically, Cheng teaches:
Operating a first transmitter of a first relay node in a wireless network in a first low-power sleep mode for a first sleep mode duration
(“[A] low data rate may cause a mobile station (MS) to transit from a sleep mode unavailable interval to a normal operational mode” (Cheng, 0057).
Here, “transit” maps to “operating”,
“a mobile station (MS)” maps to “a first transmitter of a first relay node in a wireless network”,
“a sleep mode” maps to “a first low-power sleep mode”, and
“unavailable interval” maps to “a first sleep mode duration”).
Subsequently operating the first transmitter in a first active mode in which the first transmitter continuously transmits a first active mode amount of data at a first data communication rate and at a first transmission power via a burst transmission or an aggregate frame transmission
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075).
Here, “may cause” maps to “subsequently operating”,
“a MS” maps to “the first transmitter”,
“the normal operational mode” maps to “a first active mode”,
“burst data rate” maps to “continuously transmits ... at a first data communication rate”,
“buffered data” maps to “a first active mode amount of data”,
“power savings” corresponding to “the QoS” maps to “a first transmission power”, and
“burst” maps to “via a burst transmission” from the list of “via a burst transmission or an aggregate frame transmission”).
The first sleep mode duration, the first active mode amount of data, the first data communication rate, and the first transmission power are based upon: a first data arrival rate at the first relay node; [and] a latency requirement imposed by a sink node of the wireless network
(“[T]he IWTC may analyze the QoS parameters associated with uplink and downlink data connections and a current data rate. Based on this information, the IWTC may decide whether it is time to transit the modem layer to sleep mode or not.... [T]he IWTC may buffer uplink data received, for example from an application subsystem, during unavailable intervals of the modem. The IWTC may transmit the data to the modem during available intervals.... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS ... Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods to determine a sleep mode opportunity and the duration of the sleep and listening windows based on the QoS parameters negotiated and real-time traffic patterns ... When real-time traffic rate falls below the minimum traffic rate, the allocated bandwidth may be wasted. Thus, a sleep opportunity may exist when real-time data traffic rate is lower than the Minimum Reserved Rate.... Maximum Latency [in Table 1] is a measure of the time between when a data packet enters the convergence sub-layer and is transmitted on the air interface” (Cheng, 0063, 0064, 0075, 0094, 0108-0110). Also, Table 1 in Cheng shows a list of relevant QoS parameters.
Here, “duration of the sleep ... window” maps to “the first sleep mode duration”,
“buffer uplink data” maps to “the first active mode amount of data” because the size of the buffered data depends on the duration of the sleep window which is determined by QoS parameters,
“a current data rate” maps to “the first data communication rate”,
“power savings” map to “the first transmission power”,
“based on” maps to “are based upon”,
“the Minimum Reserved Rate” maps to “a first data arrival rate at the first relay node”,
“Maximum Latency” maps to “a latency requirement”, and
“negotiated” maps to “imposed by a sink node of the wireless network”).
Cheng does not explicitly disclose:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
However, Blanchard does describe a method to optimize multi-hop transmissions relayed between several base stations
Specifically, Blanchard teaches:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
(“The source node and other relay nodes will receive that message, estimate SNR, and re-adjust their transmit power ... Increasing the hop rate (e.g., shorter hop dwells) increases the detection ratio by requiring higher SNR at the interceptor” (Blanchard col. 24, lines 62-64; col. 36 line 67; col. 37 lines 1-2).
Here, “transmit power” maps to “the first transmission power”,
“re-adjust” maps to “based upon”,
“SNR” maps to “Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement”, and
“the source node” maps to “the first relay node”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of obvious skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of SINR as a QoS parameter, as taught in Blanchard, into Cheng’s method for determining parameters of sleep and active periods. SINR is a common QoS parameter that can be useful for determining the time and quantity of data transmissions.
As to Claim 7:
Cheng teaches:
The first active mode amount of data is based upon a requirement imposed by one or more of the first transmitter, another device of the wireless network, and/or a backbone network associated with the wireless network
(“[T]he IWTC may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to achieve increased power savings or best performance at the MS ... Data packets may abe put onto the air interface by a QoS scheduler” (Cheng, 0075).
Here, “data packets” map to “the first active mode amount of data”,
“according to the determined state” maps to “based upon”,
“the QoS” maps to “a requirement”, and
“the IWTC may change” maps to “imposed by ... the first transmitter” from the list of “imposed by one or more of the first transmitter, another device of the wireless network, and/or a backbone network associated with the wireless network”).
And, from the list of:
The requirement is selected from the group consisting of buffer size, a traffic category of data, and uniformity of power consumption
Cheng at least teaches:
The requirement is selected from the group consisting of ... a traffic category of data
(Table 1 in Cheng shows a list of QoS parameters.
Here, the column headings in Table 1, the names of each “service flow category”, map to “the requirement is selected from the group consisting of ... a traffic category of data”).
As to Claim 133:
Cheng teaches:
Memory configured to store data
(Fig. 2 in Cheng shows an example wireless device.
Here, “Memory” 206 maps to “memory configured to store data”).
A first transmitter of a first relay node in a wireless network
(Fig. 2 in Cheng shows an example wireless device.
Here, the “Transmitter” 210 maps to “a first transmitter”, and
“wireless device 202” maps to “a first relay node in a wireless network”).
One or more processors communicative with the memory
(Fig. 2 in Cheng shows an example wireless device.
Here, “processor” 204 maps to “one or more processors”,
the system bus, element 222, maps to “communicative”, and
“memory” 206 maps to “the memory”).
Operate a first transmitter in a first low-power sleep mode for a first sleep mode duration
(“[A] low data rate may cause a mobile station (MS) to transit from a sleep mode unavailable interval to a normal operational mode” (Cheng, 0057).
Here, “transit” maps to “operate”,
“a mobile station (MS)” maps to “a first transmitter”,
“a sleep mode” maps to “a first low-power sleep mode”, and
“unavailable interval” maps to “a first sleep mode duration”).
Subsequently operate the first transmitter in a first active mode in which the first transmitter continuously transmits a first active mode amount of data at a first data communication rate and at a first transmission power via a burst transmission or an aggregate frame transmission
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075).
Here, “may cause” maps to “subsequently operate”,
“a MS” maps to “the first transmitter”,
“the normal operational mode” maps to “a first active mode”,
“burst data rate” maps to “continuously transmits ... at a first data communication rate”,
“buffered data” maps to “a first active mode amount of data”,
“power savings” corresponding to “the QoS” maps to “a first transmission power”, and
“burst” maps to “via a burst transmission” from the list of “via a burst transmission or an aggregate frame transmission”).
The first sleep mode duration, the first active mode amount of data, the first data communication rate, and the first transmission power are based upon: a first data arrival rate at the first relay node; [and] a latency requirement imposed by a sink node of the wireless network
(“[T]he IWTC may analyze the QoS parameters associated with uplink and downlink data connections and a current data rate. Based on this information, the IWTC may decide whether it is time to transit the modem layer to sleep mode or not.... [T]he IWTC may buffer uplink data received, for example from an application subsystem, during unavailable intervals of the modem. The IWTC may transmit the data to the modem during available intervals.... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS ... Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods to determine a sleep mode opportunity and the duration of the sleep and listening windows based on the QoS parameters negotiated and real-time traffic patterns ... When real-time traffic rate falls below the minimum traffic rate, the allocated bandwidth may be wasted. Thus, a sleep opportunity may exist when real-time data traffic rate is lower than the Minimum Reserved Rate.... Maximum Latency [in Table 1] is a measure of the time between when a data packet enters the convergence sub-layer and is transmitted on the air interface” (Cheng, 0063, 0064, 0075, 0094, 0108-0110). Also, Table 1 in Cheng shows a list of relevant QoS parameters.
Here, “duration of the sleep ... window” maps to “the first sleep mode duration”,
“buffer uplink data” maps to “the first active mode amount of data” because the size of the buffered data depends on the duration of the sleep window which is determined by QoS parameters,
“a current data rate” maps to “the first data communication rate”,
“power savings” map to “the first transmission power”,
“based on” maps to “are based upon”,
“the Minimum Reserved Rate” maps to “a first data arrival rate at the first relay node”,
“Maximum Latency” maps to “a latency requirement”, and
“negotiated” maps to “imposed by a sink node of the wireless network”).
Cheng does not explicitly disclose:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
However, Blanchard does teach:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
(“The source node and other relay nodes will receive that message, estimate SNR, and re-adjust their transmit power ... Increasing the hop rate (e.g., shorter hop dwells) increases the detection ratio by requiring higher SNR at the interceptor” (Blanchard col. 24, lines 62-64; col. 36 line 67; col. 37 lines 1-2).
Here, “transmit power” maps to “the first transmission power”,
“re-adjust” maps to “based upon”,
“SNR” maps to “Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement”, and
“the source node” maps to “the first relay node”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of obvious skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of SINR as a QoS parameter, as taught in Blanchard, into Cheng’s method for determining parameters of sleep and active periods. SINR is a common QoS parameter that can be useful for determining the time and quantity of data transmissions.
As to Claim 134:
Cheng does not explicitly disclose:
The transmission of the first amount of data comprises a multicast transmission that is destined for reception by a second electronic device of a second relay node in the wireless network and other electronic devices in the wireless network
However, Blanchard does teach:
The transmission of the first amount of data comprises a multicast transmission that is destined for reception by a second electronic device of a second relay node in the wireless network and other electronic devices in the wireless network
(“The present invention generally relates to wireless communication systems, and more particularly relates to cooperative broadcast multi-hop network that employs broadcast flood routing and multi-hop transmission” (Blanchard, col. 1, lines 18-21).
Here, “broadcast flood routing” maps to “the transmission of the first amount of data comprises a multicast transmission that is destined for reception by a second electronic device of a second relay node in the wireless network and other electronic devices in the wireless network”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of obvious skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of SINR as a QoS parameter, as taught in Blanchard, into Cheng’s method for determining parameters of sleep and active periods. SINR is a common QoS parameter that can be useful for determining the time and quantity of data transmissions.
As to Claim 189:
Cheng teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-readable instructions executable to cause a computer to perform a method for controlling power consumption
(“Certain aspects of the present disclosure provide methods for power saving ... [R]andom access memory (RAM), provides instructions and data to the processor 204” (Cheng, 0031, 0044).
Here, “RAM” maps to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium”,
“provides” maps to “having stored thereon”,
“instructions” map to “computer-readable instructions executable to cause a computer to perform a method”, and
“for power saving” maps to “for controlling power consumption”).
Operating a first transmitter of a first relay node in a wireless network in a first low-power sleep mode for a first sleep mode duration
(“[A] low data rate may cause a mobile station (MS) to transit from a sleep mode unavailable interval to a normal operational mode” (Cheng, 0057).
Here, “transit” maps to “operating”,
“a mobile station (MS)” maps to “a first transmitter of a first relay node in a wireless network”,
“a sleep mode” maps to “a first low-power sleep mode”, and
“unavailable interval” maps to “a first sleep mode duration”).
Subsequently operating the first transmitter in a first active mode in which the first transmitter continuously transmits a first active mode amount of data at a first data communication rate and at a first transmission power via a burst transmission or an aggregate frame transmission
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075).
Here, “may cause” maps to “subsequently operating”,
“a MS” maps to “the first transmitter”,
“the normal operational mode” maps to “a first active mode”,
“burst data rate” maps to “continuously transmits ... at a first data communication rate”,
“buffered data” maps to “a first active mode amount of data”,
“power savings” corresponding to “the QoS” maps to “a first transmission power”, and
“burst” maps to “via a burst transmission” from the list of “via a burst transmission or an aggregate frame transmission”).
The first sleep mode duration, the first active mode amount of data, the first data communication rate, and the first transmission power are based upon: a first data arrival rate at the first relay node; [and] a latency requirement imposed by a sink node of the wireless network
(“[T]he IWTC may analyze the QoS parameters associated with uplink and downlink data connections and a current data rate. Based on this information, the IWTC may decide whether it is time to transit the modem layer to sleep mode or not.... [T]he IWTC may buffer uplink data received, for example from an application subsystem, during unavailable intervals of the modem. The IWTC may transmit the data to the modem during available intervals.... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS ... Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods to determine a sleep mode opportunity and the duration of the sleep and listening windows based on the QoS parameters negotiated and real-time traffic patterns ... When real-time traffic rate falls below the minimum traffic rate, the allocated bandwidth may be wasted. Thus, a sleep opportunity may exist when real-time data traffic rate is lower than the Minimum Reserved Rate.... Maximum Latency [in Table 1] is a measure of the time between when a data packet enters the convergence sub-layer and is transmitted on the air interface” (Cheng, 0063, 0064, 0075, 0094, 0108-0110). Also, Table 1 in Cheng shows a list of relevant QoS parameters.
Here, “duration of the sleep ... window” maps to “the first sleep mode duration”,
“buffer uplink data” maps to “the first active mode amount of data” because the size of the buffered data depends on the duration of the sleep window which is determined by QoS parameters,
“a current data rate” maps to “the first data communication rate”,
“power savings” map to “the first transmission power”,
“based on” maps to “are based upon”,
“the Minimum Reserved Rate” maps to “a first data arrival rate at the first relay node”,
“Maximum Latency” maps to “a latency requirement”, and
“negotiated” maps to “imposed by a sink node of the wireless network”).
Cheng does not explicitly disclose:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
However, Blanchard does teach:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
(“The source node and other relay nodes will receive that message, estimate SNR, and re-adjust their transmit power ... Increasing the hop rate (e.g., shorter hop dwells) increases the detection ratio by requiring higher SNR at the interceptor” (Blanchard col. 24, lines 62-64; col. 36 line 67; col. 37 lines 1-2).
Here, “transmit power” maps to “the first transmission power”,
“re-adjust” maps to “based upon”,
“SNR” maps to “Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement”, and
“the source node” maps to “the first relay node”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of obvious skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of SINR as a QoS parameter, as taught in Blanchard, into Cheng’s method for determining parameters of sleep and active periods. SINR is a common QoS parameter that can be useful for determining the time and quantity of data transmissions.
As to Claim 190:
Cheng teaches:
A wireless network comprising a sink node and relay nodes
(Fig. 1 shows an example wireless network.
Here, the wireless network 100 in Fig. 1 maps to “a wireless network”,
element 104 in the central cell 102 of Fig. 1 maps to “a sink node”, and
Elements 106 in the central cell and center-left cells 102 of Fig. 1 and element 104 in the center-left cell of Fig. 1 map to “relay nodes”).
Operating a first relay node associated with a first data arrival rate in a duty cycle mode between a first low-power sleep mode for a first sleep mode duration and a first active mode for a first active mode duration
(“Data packets may arrive at any point in time and may be independent of the previous data packets. This is especially true in low traffic conditions. Based on these assumptions, the incoming data packet arrival process may modeled [sic] as a Poisson Process” (Cheng, 0098). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows a sample wireless network, and Fig. 6 in Cheng shows a device transitioning between active and sleep modes.
Here, “incoming data packet arrival” maps to “operating ... with a first data arrival rate”,
“MS” in Fig. 6, which corresponds to a first instance of element 104 in Fig. 1, maps to “a first relay node”,
the transition between the “unavailable interval” 604 and the “available interval” 606 in Fig. 6 maps to “a duty cycle mode”,
the “unavailable interval” 604 maps to “a first low-power sleep mode”,
the length of the “unavailable interval” 604 maps to “a first sleep mode duration”,
the “available interval” 606 maps to “a first active mode”, and
the length of the “available interval” 606 maps to “a first active mode duration”).
Operating a second relay node associated with a second data arrival rate in a duty cycle mode between a second low-power sleep mode for a second sleep mode duration and a second active mode for a second active mode duration
(“Data packets may arrive at any point in time and may be independent of the previous data packets. This is especially true in low traffic conditions. Based on these assumptions, the incoming data packet arrival process may modeled [sic] as a Poisson Process” (Cheng, 0098). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows a sample wireless network, and Fig. 6 in Cheng shows a device transitioning between active and sleep modes.
Here, “incoming data packet arrival” at a second instance of element 104 in Fig. 1, maps to “operating ... with a second data arrival rate”,
a second instance of “MS” in Fig. 1 maps to “the second relay node”,
the transition between the “unavailable interval” 604 and the “available interval” 606 in Fig. 6 maps to “a duty cycle mode”,
the “unavailable interval” 604 at the second relay node maps to “a second low-power sleep mode”,
the length of the “unavailable interval” 604 at a second instance of element 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “a second sleep mode duration”,
the “available interval” 606 maps to “a second active mode”, and
the length of the “available interval” 606 maps to “a second active mode duration”).
During the first active mode duration, the first relay node is configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising a first active mode amount of data, with a first transmission power, and at a first data communication rate
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075).
Here, “normal operational mode” maps to “the first active mode duration”,
“a MS” maps to “the first relay node”,
“burst data rate” maps to “an aggregate frame transmission comprising ... a first data communication rate”,
“buffered data” maps to “a first active mode amount of data”, and
“power” maps to “a first transmission power”).
During the second active mode duration, the second relay node is configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising a second active mode amount of data, with a second transmission power, and at a second data communication rate
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows an example wireless network.
Here, “normal operational mode” at a second instance of an MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second active mode duration”,
a second instance of an MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second relay node”,
“a burst data rate” a second MS maps to “configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising ... a second data communication rate”,
“buffered data” at a second MS maps to “a second active mode amount of data”, and
“power” at a second MS maps to “a second transmission power”).
Each of the first sleep mode duration, the first active mode amount of data, the first transmission power, the first data communication rate, the second sleep mode duration, the second active mode amount of data, the second transmission power, and the second data communication rate, are based on: the first data arrival rate; the second data arrival rate; [and] a maximum latency requirement at the sink node
(“[T]he IWTC may analyze the QoS parameters associated with uplink and downlink data connections and a current data rate. Based on this information, the IWTC may decide whether it is time to transit the modem layer to sleep mode or not.... [T]he IWTC may buffer uplink data received, for example from an application subsystem, during unavailable intervals of the modem. The IWTC may transmit the data to the modem during available intervals.... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS ... Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods to determine a sleep mode opportunity and the duration of the sleep and listening windows based on the QoS parameters negotiated and real-time traffic patterns ... When real-time traffic rate falls below the minimum traffic rate, the allocated bandwidth may be wasted. Thus, a sleep opportunity may exist when real-time data traffic rate is lower than the Minimum Reserved Rate.... Maximum Latency [in Table 1] is a measure of the time between when a data packet enters the convergence sub-layer and is transmitted on the air interface” (Cheng, 0063, 0064, 0075, 0094, 0108-0110). Also, Table 1 in Cheng shows a list of relevant QoS parameters.
Here, “duration of the sleep ... window” at a first MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the first sleep mode duration”,
“buffered data” at the first MS maps to “the first active mode amount of data”,
“power” at the first MS maps to “the first transmission power”,
“current data rate” at the first MS maps to “the first data communication rate”,
“duration of the sleep ... window” at a second MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second sleep mode duration”,
“buffered data” at the second MS maps to “the second active mode amount of data”,
“power” at the second MS maps to “the second transmission power”,
“current data rate” at the second MS maps to “the second data communication rate”,
“real-time traffic rate” at the first MS maps to “the first data arrival rate”,
“real-time traffic rate” at the second MS maps to “the second data arrival rate”, and
“Maximum Latency” for the sink node in Fig. 1 maps to “a maximum latency requirement at the sink node”).
Cheng does not explicitly disclose:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
However, Blanchard does teach:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
(“The source node and other relay nodes will receive that message, estimate SNR, and re-adjust their transmit power ... Increasing the hop rate (e.g., shorter hop dwells) increases the detection ratio by requiring higher SNR at the interceptor” (Blanchard col. 24, lines 62-64; col. 36 line 67; col. 37 lines 1-2).
Here, “transmit power” maps to “the first transmission power”,
“re-adjust” maps to “based upon”,
“SNR” maps to “Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement”, and
“the source node” maps to “the first relay node”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of obvious skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of SINR as a QoS parameter, as taught in Blanchard, into Cheng’s method for determining parameters of sleep and active periods. SINR is a common QoS parameter that can be useful for determining the time and quantity of data transmissions.
As to Claim 191:
Cheng does not explicitly disclose:
The SINR requirement comprises: a first SINR requirement at the first relay node; and a second SINR requirement at the second relay node
However, Blanchard does teach:
The SINR requirement comprises: a first SINR requirement at the first relay node; and a second SINR requirement at the second relay node
(“The source node and other relay nodes will receive that message, estimate SNR, and re-adjust their transmit power ... Increasing the hop rate (e.g., shorter hop dwells) increases the detection ratio by requiring higher SNR at the interceptor” (Blanchard col. 24, lines 62-64; col. 36 line 67; col. 37 lines 1-2).
Here, “requiring higher SNR” maps to “the SINR requirement”,
“requiring higher SNR” at “the source node” maps to “a first SINR requirement at the first relay node”, and
“requiring higher SNR” at one of the “other relay nodes” maps to “a second SINR requirement at the second relay node”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the multiple relay nodes and SINR requirements disclosed in Blanchard into Cheng’s method for adjusting sleep window parameters. A group of devices can benefit just as much as a single device from enforcing quality of service requirements.
As to Claim 192:
Cheng teaches:
A wireless network comprising a sink node and relay nodes
(Fig. 1 in Cheng shows an example wireless network.
Here, the wireless network 100 in Fig. 1 maps to “a wireless network”,
element 104 in the central cell 102 of Fig. 1 maps to “a sink node”, and
Elements 106 in the central cell and center-left cells 102 of Fig. 1 and element 104 in the center-left cell of Fig. 1 map to “relay nodes”).
Memory configured to store data
(Fig. 2 in Cheng shows an example wireless device.
Here, “Memory” 206 in Fig. 2 maps to “memory configured to store data”).
A first relay node in the wireless network
(Fig. 1 in Cheng shows an example wireless network.
Here, an instance of element 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “a first relay node in the wireless network”).
A second relay node in the wireless network
(Fig. 1 in Cheng shows an example wireless network.
Here, a second instance of element 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “a second relay node in the wireless network”).
One or more processors communicative with the memory
(Fig. 2 in Cheng shows an example wireless device.
Here, “Processor” 204 in Fig. 2 maps to “one or more processors”,
the system bus, element 222 in Fig. 2, maps to “communicative”, and
“Memory” 206 in Fig. 2 maps to “the memory”).
Operate the first relay node associated with a first data arrival rate in a duty cycle mode between a first low-power sleep mode for a first sleep mode duration and a first active mode for a first active mode duration
(“Data packets may arrive at any point in time and may be independent of the previous data packets. This is especially true in low traffic conditions. Based on these assumptions, the incoming data packet arrival process may modeled [sic] as a Poisson Process” (Cheng, 0098). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows a sample wireless network, and Fig. 6 in Cheng shows a device transitioning between active and sleep modes.
Here, “incoming data packet arrival” maps to “operate ... with a first data arrival rate”,
“MS” in Fig. 6, which corresponds to a first instance of element 104 in Fig. 1, maps to “the first relay node”,
the transition between the “unavailable interval” 604 and the “available interval” 606 in Fig. 6 maps to “a duty cycle mode”,
the “unavailable interval” 604 maps to “a first low-power sleep mode”,
the length of the “unavailable interval” 604 maps to “a first sleep mode duration”,
the “available interval” 606 maps to “a first active mode”, and
the length of the “available interval” 606 maps to “a first active mode duration”).
Operate the second relay node associated with a second data arrival rate in a duty cycle mode between a second low-power sleep mode for a second sleep mode duration and a second active mode for a second active mode duration
(“Data packets may arrive at any point in time and may be independent of the previous data packets. This is especially true in low traffic conditions. Based on these assumptions, the incoming data packet arrival process may modeled [sic] as a Poisson Process” (Cheng, 0098). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows a sample wireless network, and Fig. 6 in Cheng shows a device transitioning between active and sleep modes.
Here, “incoming data packet arrival” at a second instance of element 104 in Fig. 1, maps to “operate ... with a second data arrival rate”,
a second instance of “MS” in Fig. 1 maps to “the second relay node”,
the transition between the “unavailable interval” 604 and the “available interval” 606 in Fig. 6 maps to “a duty cycle mode”,
the “unavailable interval” 604 at the second relay node maps to “a second low-power sleep mode”,
the length of the “unavailable interval” 604 at a second instance of element 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “a second sleep mode duration”,
the “available interval” 606 maps to “a second active mode”, and
the length of the “available interval” 606 maps to “a second active mode duration”).
During the first active mode duration, the first relay node is configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising a first active mode amount of data, with a first transmission power, and at a first data communication rate
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075).
Here, “normal operational mode” maps to “the first active mode duration”,
“a MS” maps to “the first relay node”,
“burst data rate” maps to “an aggregate frame transmission comprising ... a first data communication rate”,
“buffered data” maps to “a first active mode amount of data”, and
“power” maps to “a first transmission power”).
During the second active mode duration, the second relay node is configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising a second active mode amount of data, with a second transmission power, and at a second data communication rate
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows an example wireless network.
Here, “normal operational mode” at a second instance of an MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second active mode duration”,
a second instance of an MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second relay node”,
“a burst data rate” a second MS maps to “configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising ... a second data communication rate”,
“buffered data” at a second MS maps to “a second active mode amount of data”, and
“power” at a second MS maps to “a second transmission power”).
Each of the first sleep mode duration, the first active mode amount of data, the first transmission power, the first data communication rate, the second sleep mode duration, the second active mode amount of data, the second transmission power, and the second data communication rate, are based on: the first data arrival rate; the second data arrival rate; [and] a maximum latency requirement at the sink node
(“[T]he IWTC may analyze the QoS parameters associated with uplink and downlink data connections and a current data rate. Based on this information, the IWTC may decide whether it is time to transit the modem layer to sleep mode or not.... [T]he IWTC may buffer uplink data received, for example from an application subsystem, during unavailable intervals of the modem. The IWTC may transmit the data to the modem during available intervals.... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS ... Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods to determine a sleep mode opportunity and the duration of the sleep and listening windows based on the QoS parameters negotiated and real-time traffic patterns ... When real-time traffic rate falls below the minimum traffic rate, the allocated bandwidth may be wasted. Thus, a sleep opportunity may exist when real-time data traffic rate is lower than the Minimum Reserved Rate.... Maximum Latency [in Table 1] is a measure of the time between when a data packet enters the convergence sub-layer and is transmitted on the air interface” (Cheng, 0063, 0064, 0075, 0094, 0108-0110). Also, Table 1 in Cheng shows a list of relevant QoS parameters.
Here, “duration of the sleep ... window” at a first MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the first sleep mode duration”,
“buffered data” at the first MS maps to “the first active mode amount of data”,
“power” at the first MS maps to “the first transmission power”,
“current data rate” at the first MS maps to “the first data communication rate”,
“duration of the sleep ... window” at a second MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second sleep mode duration”,
“buffered data” at the second MS maps to “the second active mode amount of data”,
“power” at the second MS maps to “the second transmission power”,
“current data rate” at the second MS maps to “the second data communication rate”,
“real-time traffic rate” at the first MS maps to “the first data arrival rate”,
“real-time traffic rate” at the second MS maps to “the second data arrival rate”, and
“Maximum Latency” for the sink node in Fig. 1 maps to “a maximum latency requirement at the sink node”).
Cheng does not explicitly disclose:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
However, Blanchard does teach:
The first transmission power [is] based upon: ... a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement at the first relay node
(“The source node and other relay nodes will receive that message, estimate SNR, and re-adjust their transmit power ... Increasing the hop rate (e.g., shorter hop dwells) increases the detection ratio by requiring higher SNR at the interceptor” (Blanchard col. 24, lines 62-64; col. 36 line 67; col. 37 lines 1-2).
Here, “transmit power” maps to “the first transmission power”,
“re-adjust” maps to “based upon”,
“SNR” maps to “Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) requirement”, and
“the source node” maps to “the first relay node”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of obvious skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of SINR as a QoS parameter, as taught in Blanchard, into Cheng’s method for determining parameters of sleep and active periods. SINR is a common QoS parameter that can be useful for determining the time and quantity of data transmissions.
As to Claim 193:
Cheng teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-readable instructions executable to cause a computer to perform a method for controlling power consumption
(“Certain aspects of the present disclosure provide methods for power saving ... [R]andom access memory (RAM), provides instructions and data to the processor 204” (Cheng, 0031, 0044).
Here, “RAM” maps to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium”,
“provides” maps to “having stored thereon”,
“instructions” map to “computer-readable instructions executable to cause a computer to perform a method”, and
“for power saving” maps to “for controlling power consumption”).
Operating a first relay node associated with a first data arrival rate in a duty cycle mode between a first low-power sleep mode for a first sleep mode duration and a first active mode for a first active mode duration
(“Data packets may arrive at any point in time and may be independent of the previous data packets. This is especially true in low traffic conditions. Based on these assumptions, the incoming data packet arrival process may modeled [sic] as a Poisson Process” (Cheng, 0098). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows a sample wireless network, and Fig. 6 in Cheng shows a device transitioning between active and sleep modes.
Here, “incoming data packet arrival” maps to “operating ... with a first data arrival rate”,
“MS” in Fig. 6, which corresponds to a first instance of element 104 in Fig. 1, maps to “a first relay node”,
the transition between the “unavailable interval” 604 and the “available interval” 606 in Fig. 6 maps to “a duty cycle mode”,
the “unavailable interval” 604 maps to “a first low-power sleep mode”,
the length of the “unavailable interval” 604 maps to “a first sleep mode duration”,
the “available interval” 606 maps to “a first active mode”, and
the length of the “available interval” 606 maps to “a first active mode duration”).
Operating a second relay node associated with a second data arrival rate in a duty cycle mode between a second low-power sleep mode for a second sleep mode duration and a second active mode for a second active mode duration
(“Data packets may arrive at any point in time and may be independent of the previous data packets. This is especially true in low traffic conditions. Based on these assumptions, the incoming data packet arrival process may modeled [sic] as a Poisson Process” (Cheng, 0098). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows a sample wireless network, and Fig. 6 in Cheng shows a device transitioning between active and sleep modes.
Here, “incoming data packet arrival” at a second instance of element 104 in Fig. 1, maps to “operating ... with a second data arrival rate”,
a second instance of “MS” in Fig. 1 maps to “the second relay node”,
the transition between the “unavailable interval” 604 and the “available interval” 606 in Fig. 6 maps to “a duty cycle mode”,
the “unavailable interval” 604 at the second relay node maps to “a second low-power sleep mode”,
the length of the “unavailable interval” 604 at a second instance of element 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “a second sleep mode duration”,
the “available interval” 606 maps to “a second active mode”, and
the length of the “available interval” 606 maps to “a second active mode duration”).
During the first active mode duration, the first relay node is configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising a first active mode amount of data, with a first transmission power, and at a first data communication rate
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075).
Here, “normal operational mode” maps to “the first active mode duration”,
“a MS” maps to “the first relay node”,
“burst data rate” maps to “an aggregate frame transmission comprising ... a first data communication rate”,
“buffered data” maps to “a first active mode amount of data”, and
“power” maps to “a first transmission power”).
During the second active mode duration, the second relay node is configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising a second active mode amount of data, with a second transmission power, and at a second data communication rate
(“During power saving, the software module may buffer data during modem unavailable intervals and may transmit the buffered data ... A burst data rate may cause a MS to transit from a sleep mode available interval to the normal operational mode ... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS” (Cheng, 0031, 0057, 0075). Also, Fig. 1 in Cheng shows an example wireless network.
Here, “normal operational mode” at a second instance of an MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second active mode duration”,
a second instance of an MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second relay node”,
“a burst data rate” a second MS maps to “configured to transmit an aggregate frame transmission comprising ... a second data communication rate”,
“buffered data” at a second MS maps to “a second active mode amount of data”, and
“power” at a second MS maps to “a second transmission power”).
Each of the first sleep mode duration, the first active mode amount of data, the first transmission power, the first data communication rate, the second sleep mode duration, the second active mode amount of data, the second transmission power, and the second data communication rate, are based on: the first data arrival rate; the second data arrival rate; [and] a maximum latency requirement at the sink node
(“[T]he IWTC may analyze the QoS parameters associated with uplink and downlink data connections and a current data rate. Based on this information, the IWTC may decide whether it is time to transit the modem layer to sleep mode or not.... [T]he IWTC may buffer uplink data received, for example from an application subsystem, during unavailable intervals of the modem. The IWTC may transmit the data to the modem during available intervals.... [T]he IWTC 414 may change the QoS according to the determined state in an effort to increase power savings or best performance at the MS ... Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods to determine a sleep mode opportunity and the duration of the sleep and listening windows based on the QoS parameters negotiated and real-time traffic patterns ... When real-time traffic rate falls below the minimum traffic rate, the allocated bandwidth may be wasted. Thus, a sleep opportunity may exist when real-time data traffic rate is lower than the Minimum Reserved Rate.... Maximum Latency [in Table 1] is a measure of the time between when a data packet enters the convergence sub-layer and is transmitted on the air interface” (Cheng, 0063, 0064, 0075, 0094, 0108-0110). Also, Table 1 in Cheng shows a list of relevant QoS parameters.
Here, “duration of the sleep ... window” at a first MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the first sleep mode duration”,
“buffered data” at the first MS maps to “the first active mode amount of data”,
“power” at the first MS maps to “the first transmission power”,
“current data rate” at the first MS maps to “the first data communication rate”,
“duration of the sleep ... window” at a second MS 104 in Fig. 1 maps to “the second sleep mode duration”,
“buffered data” at the second MS maps to “the second active mode amount of data”,
“power” at the second MS maps to “the second transmission power”,
“current data rate” at the second MS maps to “the second data communication rate”,
“real-time traffic rate” at the first MS maps to “the first data arrival rate”,
“real-time traffic rate” at the second MS maps to “the second data arrival rate”, and
“Maximum Latency” for the sink node in Fig. 1 maps to “a max