DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Previous Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 31, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, 20-23, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Schnabel et al. (US 2015/0157012 A1) in view of Aponte et al. (WO 2017/211572 A1 with a foreign translation provided by US 2020/0323206 A1) and Liu et al. (US 2019/0133116 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Schnabel discloses clear, aqueous compositions to treat plants comprising dicamba salts in an amount of at least 250 g/L and up to 800 g/L (calculated as acid equivalents of dicamba) [0126] [abstract] [0051] [0093] [0006] [0010] [0004] [0118]. Schnabel teaches N-methylpyrrolidone as a suitable solvent [0082].
Schnabel does not disclose the use of an N-C2-C15 alkyl pyrrolidone or 10 to 60 wt.% water.
Aponte teaches the use of N-substituted pyrrolidones (the C4 alkyl pyrrolidone, N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone is preferred [0029] [0034]) to promote the penetration of agrochemical active agents, such as dicamba, in plants [abstract] [0060]. The N-substituted pyrrolidones are present in the aqueous composition in an amount of 0.001 to 99% by weight (around 0.01-990 g/L) [0216]-[0217]. Aponte teaches that the N-substituted pyrrolidones increase the biological efficacy of active agrochemical ingredients and allow more active agrochemical ingredient to be absorbed into the plant [0016], have an advantageous toxicological and ecological profile [0017], and enable a high loading of crop protection compositions with active agrochemical ingredient [0018]. Aponte also teaches that the N-substituted pyrrolidones have high water solubility and can be combined with water in water-soluble concentrates [0020].
Since Schnabel generally teaches compositions to treat plants, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an N-C2-C15 alkyl pyrrolidone, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone, in the amount taught by Aponte, within the teachings of Schnabel, because Aponte teaches N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone in an agrochemical formulation for plants. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use an N-substituted pyrrolidone, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone, because Aponte teaches that the N-substituted pyrrolidones increase the biological efficacy of active agrochemical ingredients and allow more active agrochemical ingredient to be absorbed into the plant [0016], have an advantageous toxicological and ecological profile [0017], and enable a high loading of crop protection compositions with active agrochemical ingredient [0018].
Furthermore, generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, since Schnabel generally taught pyrrolidones as cosolvents with water in the agrochemical formulation [0082], it is prima facie obvious to select N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone for incorporation into the composition based on its recognized suitability for the intended use as a pyrrolidone to be used as a cosolvent with water, as taught by Aponte [0020].
The combined teachings of the prior art do not disclose 10 to 60 wt.% water.
Liu discloses a composition for plants comprising dicamba and water in an amount of 10 wt.% to 80 wt.% [0003] [0068] (such as 20.86 wt.% - S1424-111-05) [0323]. Liu teaches that the composition with dicamba and 20.86 wt.% water is flowable and there is no residue or sediments observed [0323].
Since Schnabel generally teaches an aqueous composition for plants with dicamba, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include water in an amount of 10 to 80 wt.%, such as 20.86 wt.%, because Liu teaches this amount of water in an agrochemical composition with dicamba. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use 20.86 wt.% water with dicamba because Liu teaches that a composition with this amount of water is flowable and there is no residue or sediments observed [0323].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In regards to the amount of an N-C2-C15 alkyl pyrrolidone, the general condition of N-substituted pyrrolidones, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone, in an amount of 0.001 to 99% by weight, to affect the agrochemical ingredients absorption into plants is known in the art (Aponte, [0016]). In regards to the amount of water, the general condition of water and adjusting it accordingly to reach desired concentrations has been taught by Schnabel ([0126] [0118]) and the amount of water as claimed is known in the art (Liu, [0068], [0323]). As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount of N-C2-C15 alkyl pyrrolidone or water via routine experimentation to optimize the formulation.
Claims 3 and 32 are rendered prima facie obvious because Aponte teaches the use of the C4 alkyl pyrrolidone, N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone, is preferred [0029] [0034].
Claim 4 is rendered prima facie obvious because Aponte teaches the N-substituted pyrrolidones, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone, are present in the aqueous composition in an amount of 0.001 to 99% by weight (around 0.01-990 g/L) [0216]-[0217]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed. Furthermore, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount of N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone through routine experimentation, as previously discussed.
Claims 8-10 are rendered prima facie obvious because Schnabel discloses that dicamba is most preferred in the form of an N,N-bis(3-aminopropyl)methylamine [0044] [0125]-[0126].
Claims 12-13 are rendered prima facie obvious because Schnabel discloses the compositions include an alkali metal carbonate [0126] [0052]-[0055].
Claim 15 is rendered prima facie obvious because Schnabel discloses the dicamba salt is the potassium salt of dicamba [0125]-[0126] [0007].
Regarding claims 16-17, Schnabel discloses that suitable block copolymers for the composition are block polymers of the A-B-A type comprising blocks of polyethylene oxide and polypropylene oxide [0086].
Schnabel does not disclose the value of n, m, or p, as recited in claim 16, or the ratio of the ethylene oxide to the propylene oxide in the formulation, as recited in claim 17.
Aponte teaches block copolymers formed on the basis of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide having average molar masses between 200 and 10,000 where the proportion by mass of the polyethoxylated block varies between 10% and 80% (such as the EO/PO/EO block-copolymers of the BASF Pluronic® PE series) [0172]. Aponte teaches that these copolymers are added as surfactants which increase the contact area of the composition [0003].
Since Schnabel generally teaches compositions to treat plants, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the EO/PO/EO block-copolymers taught by Aponte, within the teachings of Schnabel, because Aponte teaches these block-copolymers within an agrochemical formulation for plants. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to include the EO/PO/EO block-copolymers of Aponte as a surfactant to increase the contact area of the composition [0003]. Following the teachings of Schnabel and Aponte the ordinarily skilled artisan would arrive at the claimed n, p, and m values in formula (I), as recited in claim 16, and the claimed (n+p)/m ratio, as recited in claim 17. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Furthermore, generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, since Schnabel generally taught block polymers of the A-B-A type comprising blocks of polyethylene oxide and polypropylene oxide in the agrochemical formulation, it is prima facie obvious to select the EO/PO/EO block-copolymers taught by Aponte (such as the BASF Pluronic® PE series) for incorporation into the composition based on their recognized suitability for the intended use as block copolymers in the composition [0172].
Claims 20-21 are rendered prima facie obvious because Schnabel discloses gamma butyrolactone as a solvent/liquid carrier [0082].
Regarding claim 22, Schnabel teaches gamma butyrolactone as a solvent/liquid carrier in an amount up to 10 wt.% [0082]. It would have been prima facie obvious to include an N-C2-C15 alkyl pyrrolidone, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone as taught by Aponte, within the teachings of Schnabel, as previously discussed, which Aponte teaches in an amount of 0.001 to 99% by weight [0216]-[0217]. It would have been prima facie obvious to include the EO/PO/EO block-copolymer surfactants taught by Aponte, within the teachings of Schnabel, as previously discussed which Aponte teaches as an additive in an amount of 0 to 98% by weight [0140] [0040]. Following the teachings of Schnabel and Aponte, the ordinarily skilled artisan would arrive at the claimed amount of the sum of solvents and additives. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 23 is rendered prima facie obvious because Schnabel discloses the compositions include glyphosate [0014] [0019] [0045]-[0046].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 8 that although the ‘012 publication discloses aqueous formulations of dicamba and suggests N-methylpyrrolidone as a possible solvent, it is merely mentioned as one example in a long list of organic solvents, therefore, there would not be motivation to choose it specifically.
The Examiner disagrees. Patents are relevant as prior art for all that they contain and nonpreferred or alternative embodiments constitute prior art. See MPEP 2123. Therefore, although the ‘012 reference has many teachings, the large number of teachings does not detract from ‘012 teaching N-methylpyrrolidone.
Applicant also argues that the ‘012 publication fails to consider or address a 10 to 60 wt.% water content in the formulation
The Examiner disagrees. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In the instant case, the amount of water is taught by Liu and the ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use 20.86 wt.% water with dicamba because Liu teaches that a composition with this amount of water is flowable and there is no residue or sediments observed [0323].
Applicant argues at pg. 9 that the ‘206 references lists an “encyclopedic list of agrochemical activates” which includes dicamba and that the ‘206 publication provides evidence for only a small number of pesticides showing that N-C4 alkyl pyrrolidones can increase their penetration, therefore, there would be doubt if the teachings were applicable to dicamba and there is no incentive for a skilled person to include a N-C4 alkyl pyrrolidone in formulations of dicamba in the ‘012 publication.
The Examiner disagrees. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use an N-substituted pyrrolidone, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone, because Aponte teaches that the N-substituted pyrrolidones increase the biological efficacy of active agrochemical ingredients and allow more active agrochemical ingredient to be absorbed into the plant [0016], have an advantageous toxicological and ecological profile [0017], and enable a high loading of crop protection compositions with active agrochemical ingredient [0018]. As Aponte teaches these benefits of using an N-substituted pyrrolidone, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone, and also recites dicamba as an agrochemical active agent, the ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to include N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone for the recited benefits with a reasonably expectation of success.
Applicant argues at pg. 10 that the ‘116 publication fails to cure the deficiencies of the ‘012/’206 publications.
The Examiner disagrees because the ‘012/’206 publications are not deficient expect where the ‘116 publication teaches the claimed amount of water.
Applicant further argues that the claimed aqueous SL formulation addresses a critical problem in the art, the instability of aqueous dicamba solutions at high concentrations and the cited references, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the specific problem solved by the present claims. For discussion on the alleged unexpected results see the following discussion (Analysis of Alleged Unexpected Results/Declaration Submitted 07/31/2026).
Analysis of Alleged Unexpected Results/Declaration Submitted 07/31/2026
Applicant argues that the examples in the specification (Examples 3, 9, and 12 and Comparative Example 4) and the newly submitted declaration demonstrate that the instability of dicamba at high concentrations is overcome by the claimed formulations, namely, that the claimed formulations are stable after prolonged storage, while the formulations without an N-C3-C6-alkyl pyrrolidone are not stable. The applicant argues that these results are unexpected over the prior art.
For a full discussion of the analysis of the alleged unexpected results in Examples 3, 9, and 12 and Comparative Example 4 of the specification see the final rejection dated 04/03/2026 at pg. 9-10.
Briefly, it was determined by the Examiner that the formulations with 536.6 or 630 g/L of dicamba salt and 30-100 g/L of N-(n-butyl) pyrrolidone do appear to show greater stability under storage at cold temperatures than formulations with the dicamba salt alone which is unexpected over the prior art, however, it was determined that the claims were not commensurate in scope with the showing.
The Examiner has further reviewed the declaration submitted 07/31/2026 which shows a comparison between dicamba formulations with N-(n-butyl) pyrrolidone and N-(tert-butyl) pyrrolidone compared to the polar solvents gamma-butyrolactone and ethyl lactate. The compositions with Dicamba-DGA (630 g/L) and N-(n-butyl) pyrrolidone (50 or 75 g/L) or N-(tert-butyl) pyrrolidone (75 g/L) do show better solubility results compared to the formulations with gamma-butyrolactone or ethyl lactate,
Together, the results shown in the examples in the specification and in the declaration demonstrate that the formulations with 536.6 or 630 g/L of dicamba salt and 30-100 g/L of N-(n-butyl) pyrrolidone (and now also N-(tert-butyl) pyrrolidone) do appear to show greater stability than formulations with the dicamba salt alone, which is unexpected over the prior art.
The applicant states at pg. 10 of the remarks that “to address any concern that the effect might not extend across the full scope of the claims, applicant provides additional data in the Millard Declaration showing that both N-(n-butyl) pyrrolidone and N-(tert-butyl) pyrrolidone exhibit improved storage stability in dicamba-containing compositions”.
The Examiner disagrees with the assertion that the Millard declaration shows that the effect “extends across the full scope of the claims”. The Millard declaration demonstrates that the unexpected result is seen with an additional C4 pyrrolidone, not that it is seen across N-C3-C6 alkyl pyrrolidones. In addition, neither the declaration nor results in the specification demonstrate stability across the entirety of the claimed range (in particular stability up to 850 g/L of dicamba).
Therefore, the claims are not still not “commensurate in scope” with the showing. See MPEP § 716.02(d). The Applicant has demonstrated improved stability of the dicamba salts, but this has only been shown with the combination of the dicamba salts (536.6 or 630 g/L) and N-(n-butyl) pyrrolidone and N-(tert-butyl) pyrrolidone (both C4 pyrrolidones) in specific amounts (30-100 g/L). It is unclear that a comparative composition containing these specific components and in these specific amounts would be reasonably representative of compositions containing other alkyl pyrrolidones (i.e., other than C4 pyrrolidones) and in differing amounts than those tested, falling within the broader scope currently claimed. The claims would be commensurate in scope if the organic solvent were specified to be N-(n-butyl) pyrrolidone and/or N-(tert-butyl) pyrrolidone and the claimed ranges were narrowed to be in scope with the showing.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Schnabel et al. (US 2015/0157012 A1) in view of Aponte et al. (WO 2017/211572 A1 with a foreign translation provided by US 2020/0323206 A1) and Liu et al. (US 2019/0133116 A1) and further in view of Bhatti et al. (US 2014/0315717 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Schnabel in view of Aponte and Liu was previously discussed.
Schnabel does not disclose 3,5- dichloro-2-hydroxy benzoic acid, as recited in claims 5 and 7.
Bhatti teaches treating plants with a composition comprising dicamba and metabolites such as 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid (synonym for 3,5-dichloro-2-hydroxy benzoic acid) [0023] [0028]. Bhatti teaches that compositions with metabolites, such as 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid, induce improvements in plant health and enhance the yield of a plant [0028] [0034].
Since Schnabel generally teaches compositions to treat plants, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid taught by Bhatti, within the teachings of Schnabel, because Bhatti teaches 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid, within an agrochemical formulation for plants. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to include 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid because Bhatti teaches that compositions with metabolites, such as 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid, induce improvements in plant health and enhance the yield of a plant [0028] [0034].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 13-14 that the ‘717 publication fails to cure the deficiencies of the combination of the ‘012/’206/’116 publications.
The Examiner disagrees because the ‘012/’206/’116 publications are not deficient expect where the ‘717 publication teaches 3,5- dichloro-2-hydroxy benzoic acid.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Schnabel et al. (US 2015/0157012 A1) in view of Aponte et al. (WO 2017/211572 A1 with a foreign translation provided by US 2020/0323206 A1), Liu et al. (US 2019/0133116 A1), Bhatti et al. (US 2014/0315717 A1), and further in view of Silverman et al. (US 2004/0116293 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Schnabel in view of Aponte, Liu, and Bhatti was previously discussed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to include 3,5-dichlorosalicylic acid (3,5-dichloro-2-hydroxy benzoic acid), as taught by Bhatti, within the combined teachings of the prior art, as previously discussed. Bhatti teaches that metabolites, such as 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid, induce improvements in plant health and enhance the yield of a plant [0028] [0034].
Bhatti does not disclose the concentration of the secondary components (i.e., 3,5-dichloro-2-hydroxy benzoic acid), or a total concentration of secondary components in a range of 2 to 20 wt.% based on the total weight of dicamba contained in the formulation, as recited in claim 6.
Silverman discloses an herbicide composition to treat plants [Abstract] [0007] with 3,5-dichlorosalicylic acid in an amount of 0.001 to 50.0 wt.% of the composition [0009] [0011].
Schnabel taught dicamba salts in the aqueous composition in an amount of at least 250 g/L and up to 800 g/L [0051] (around 25 wt.%-80 wt.%).
3,5-dichlorosalicylic acid, and the amount thereof, is recognized to have different effects (plant health and yield) with changing amounts used. Thus, the general condition (amount of 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid, Silverman, [0009] [0011]) is known in the art and the amount of this ingredient is recognized to be results effective (Bhatti, [0028] [0034]). As such, results effective variables can be optimized by routine experimentation, and it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the amount of 3,5-dichlorosalicylic acid (known in the art to be 0.001 to 50.0 wt.% of the composition; Silverman) in relation to the total amount of dicamba in the composition (known in the art to be around 25 wt.%-80 wt.% of the composition; Schnabel). See MPEP 2144.05. Following the combined teachings of the prior art ordinarily skilled artisan would arrive at the claimed amount of 3,5-dichloro-2-hydroxy benzoic acid based on the total weight of dicamba in the formulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 14 that the ‘293 publication fails to cure the deficiencies of the combination of the other cited references.
The Examiner disagrees because the ‘012/’206/’116/’717 publications are not deficient expect where the ‘293 publication teaches the amount of 3,5-dichloro salicylic acid.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Schnabel et al. (US 2015/0157012 A1) in view of Aponte et al. (WO 2017/211572 A1 with a foreign translation provided by US 2020/0323206 A1) and Liu et al. (US 2019/0133116 A1) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2010/0331182 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Schnabel in view of Aponte and Liu was previously discussed.
Schnabel does not disclose the pH of the formulation is from 6.0 to 11.0, as recited in claim 14.
Zhang discloses an aqueous formulation of dicamba salts to treat plants where the pH of the formulation is between 6 and 8 [abstract] [0008]. Zhang teaches that the aqueous dicamba formulation with the pH value in this range is homogeneous, stable, and high-strength [abstract] [0003] [0019].
Since Schnabel generally teaches compositions to treat plants with dicamba, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a pH value between 6 and 8, within the teachings of Schnabel, because Zhang discloses an aqueous formulation of dicamba salts to treat plants where the pH of the formulation is between 6 and 8. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use this range of pH values because Zhang teaches that the dicamba formulation with the pH value in this range is homogeneous, stable, and high-strength [abstract] [0003] [0019]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
While Zhang does not disclose the pH was measured at 20°C and 1 bar, it would be reasonably expected by an ordinarily skilled artisan that the pH was measured close to atmospheric pressure and room temperature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 14-15 that the ‘182 publication fails to cure the deficiencies of the combination of the ‘012/’206/’116 publications.
The Examiner disagrees because the ‘012/’206/’116 publications are not deficient expect where the ‘182 publication teaches the claimed pH.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-17, 20-23 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of Application No. 17/915,603 in view of Aponte et al. (WO 2017/211572 A1 with a foreign translation provided by US 2020/0323206 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for the N-C3-C6 alkyl pyrrolidone in a range of 10 to 200 g/L.
Aponte teaches N-substituted pyrrolidones, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone [0029] [0034], are present in an aqueous composition in an amount of 0.001 to 99% by weight (around 0.01-990 g/L) [0216]-[0217]. Aponte teaches that the N-substituted pyrrolidones increase the biological efficacy of active agrochemical ingredients and allow more active agrochemical ingredient to be absorbed into the plant [0016].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include 0.001 to 99% by weight (around 0.01-990 g/L) of the N-substituted pyrrolidone, such as N-butyl 2-pyrrolidone, within the copending claims. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use this amount to increase the biological efficacy of active agrochemical ingredients and allow more active agrochemical ingredient to be absorbed into the plant [0016].
The weight percentages of each component, as recited in the instant claims, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Double Patenting Arguments
Applicant argues that because this provisional double-patenting rejection is not the only remaining rejection in the present application, it would be premature to address this rejection any further at this time.
The Examiner responds that the claims remain provisionally rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of Application No. 17/915,603 in view of Aponte.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612