DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2018-058222 Kataoka et al.
Regarding claim 1, Kataoka teaches a decorative sheet having an uneven shape on an outer surface thereof (paragraph 0008),
the decorative sheet comprising at least a first protective layer 22 forming the uneven shape, a second protective layer 21, a pattern layer 3, and a base material layer 1, in this order from the outer surface (figure 2),
the base material layer, the pattern layer, and the second protective layer have an uneven shape along the uneven shape of the first protective layer (figure 2, where the uneven shape is on the bottom surface of the first protective layer),
the first protective layer being formed of a cured product of a resin composition containing an ionizing radiation curable resin (paragraph 0036) and a thermoplastic resin (paragraph 0121), wherein the ionizing radiation curable resin contains polyfunctional methacrylate oligomers (paragraph 0038) or polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomers (paragraph 0037), and the thermoplastic resin contains an acrylic resin (paragraph 0121),
the second protective layer being formed of a cured product of an ionizing radiation curable resin composition containing polycarbonate methacrylate (paragraph 0038),
the first protective layer being formed on the entire outer surface of the decorative sheet (figure 2),
the first protective layer being the outermost layer of the decorative sheet (figure 2, after the release sheet has been removed).
Regarding claim 5, Kataoka teaches that in the first protective layer, a weight average molecular weight of the thermoplastic resin is 120,000 (paragraph 0121).
Regarding claim 6, Kataoka teaches that in the first protective layer, a number of functional groups of a monomer contained in the ionizing radiation curable resin is 2, 3, 5 or 6 (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 7, Kataoka teaches that in the first protective layer, a molecular weight of a monomer contained in the ionizing radiation curable resin is 300 (paragraph 0121).
Regarding claim 8, Kataoka teaches that a base material layer is laminated on a surface of the second protective layer on a side opposite to the first protective layer (figure 2, via other layers, where interposing layers is not excluded by the claim).
Regarding claim 11, Kataoka teaches that the sheet is used in an insert molding method or an injection molding simultaneous decorating method (paragraph 0101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018-058222 Kataoka et al.
Regarding claim 4, Kataoka teaches that in the first protective layer, the resin composition contains the ionizing radiation curable resin and the thermoplastic resin at a mass ratio of 30:70 (paragraph 0121).
Since the claimed upper limit of 25:75 is close to the prior art lower limit of 30:70, the examiner takes the position that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that the resin mixture’s performance in the prior art range of 30:70 would have been the same as, or similar to, the performance in the claimed range. “[A] prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.” MPEP 2144.05 Section I.
Regarding claim 10, Kataoka does not explicitly teach the Ra. However, Kataoka teaches that the surface features have a maximum peak-to-valley height of 0.01 to 20 microns, such that the corresponding Ra would be 0.005 to 10 microns (paragraph 0041). “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists,” (MPEP 2144.05 Section I). Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, the taught range of 0.005 to 10 microns reads on the claimed range of 0.1 to 100 microns.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Horio and Kitahara have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection over Kataoka does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781