Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority (JP2020-060684, Filed on 30 March 2020) under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OHKAME et al. (WO2018066631A1, hereinafter OHKAME).
Regarding Claim 1, OHKAME discloses a polyphenylene-based semipermeable membrane comprising a porous polyphenylene ether (PPE) support (¶¶[0025]–[0026]) with a sulfonated polymer first separation layer containing sulfonic acid groups, including sulfonated polyphenylene ether, provided on the outer surface of the porous support (¶[0020]). The first separation layer is provided on one surface of the porous support (¶[0016]). The sulfonated polymer can be obtained by sulfonating a known polymer, including polyphenylene ether, using chlorosulfuric acid or concentrated sulfuric acid (¶[0021]). The sulfonated polymer layer, identified as the first separation layer, has a thickness in the range of 50 nm to 10 µm, preferably 100 nm to 1 µm (¶[0029]).
In a specific embodiment, the PPE support is formed as a hollow fiber membrane by extruding a PPE-containing film-forming solution through a double cylindrical nozzle, coagulating the extruded hollow fiber, and washing the resulting membrane, which has a membrane thickness of 50 µm (¶¶[0055]–[0057]). A sulfonated polyarylene ether (SPAE) coating solution is then applied to the PPE hollow fiber support by dip coating and dried to form the first separation layer, which has a measured thickness of 300 nm (¶¶[0058]–[0061]).
Based on the disclosure, it is reasonable to interpret that the sulfonated SPAE coating solution penetrates into the porous PPE support from the outer surface during dip coating, with the extent of penetration depending on the pore structure, including the pore size and porosity of the support, resulting in a sulfonated region extending from the outer surface into only a portion of the membrane thickness.
Regarding the recitation that the sulfonated region is formed by sulfonating the first surface of the semipermeable membrane, the recitation defines the claimed product in terms of the process by which the sulfonated region is formed. Patentability is based on the product itself rather than the process by which it is made. As discussed above, OHKAME provides a membrane structure having a sulfonated region extending from the outer surface into only a portion of the membrane thickness (In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698; Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding the limitation that the ratio of the sulfonated region is 5% or more and 40% or less, the sulfonated-region ratio is considered a result-effective variable dependent on the pore structure of the porous PPE support, including pore size and porosity. A person skilled in the art would have routinely optimized these known parameters to control the penetration depth of the sulfonated coating solution and obtain a sulfonated-region ratio within the claimed range (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456–57; 1955).
Regarding Claim 3, OHKAME makes obvious the polyphenylene-based semipermeable membrane of Claim 1. OHKAME discloses preparing a sulfonated polyarylene ether (SPAE) coating solution and applying the SPAE coating solution to the PPE hollow fiber support by dip coating and drying to form the first separation layer (¶¶[0058]–[0061]).
Based on the disclosure, it is reasonable to interpret that the coating solution penetrates inward from the outer surface during dip coating but is not driven completely through the 50 µm membrane wall to the lumen side, particularly due to resistance from the air within the hollow fiber, while the resulting first separation layer has a measured thickness of only 300 nm. Accordingly, the lumen-side surface, which corresponds to the recited second surface, is not sulfonated.
Regarding Claim 4, OHKAME makes obvious the polyphenylene-based semipermeable membrane of Claim 1. OHKAME discloses preparing a sulfonated polyarylene ether (SPAE) coating solution and applying the SPAE coating solution to the PPE hollow fiber support by dip coating and drying to form the first separation layer (¶¶[0058]–[0061]).
Regarding the limitation that the second surface has an elemental sulfur ratio of less than 0.1 atm. %, the XPS-measured sulfur ratio at the second surface is considered a result-effective variable reflecting sulfonic acid groups present at that surface. During exterior dip coating of the hollow fiber, resistance from the air within the hollow fiber limits penetration of the sulfonated coating solution through the membrane wall to the lumen side. A person skilled in the art would have routinely optimized known membrane parameters, including pore size and porosity, to further control penetration of the coating solution such that the sulfonation does not reach the lumen-side surface, resulting in a measured elemental sulfur ratio of less than 0.1 atm. % at the second surface (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456–57; 1955).
Regarding Claim 5, OHKAME makes obvious the polyphenylene-based semipermeable membrane of Claim 1. OHKAME discloses that the more preferred ion exchange capacity of the sulfonated polymer is 0.7 to 2.9 meq./g, with lower IEC and sulfonation degree resulting in insufficient anionic charge density and higher IEC and sulfonation degree resulting in excessive hydrophilicity and swelling (¶[0024]).
Regarding the limitation that the sulfonation degree is 0.1 × 10⁴ meq./m³ to 9.0 × 10⁴ meq./m³, the sulfonation degree is considered a result-effective variable. A person skilled in the art would have routinely optimized the degree of sulfonation to balance anionic charge density and hydrophilicity of the membrane, including a sulfonation degree within the claimed range (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456–57; 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed July 27, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is made over OHKAME.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that OHKAME merely applies a sulfonated polymer coating to the PPE support and does not disclose sulfonation extending only through a portion of the membrane thickness, OHKAME discloses dip coating a porous PPE hollow fiber support with a sulfonated SPAE coating solution (¶¶[0058]–[0061]). As discussed in the rejection, the coating solution penetrates inward from the outer surface of the porous support, with the extent of penetration dependent on the pore structure, including pore size and porosity. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAK L. CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771