DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are currently pending,
Claims 1, 3, 8 and 9 are currently amended,
Claims 3 and10 are currently cancelled.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 07/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7, under 35 U.S.C. 102 and Claims 3-5 and 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of ZENG et al. (US 221/0184476 A1) as modified by TERANISHI et al. (US 2022/0293487 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG et al. (US 2021/0184476 A1, hereinafter ZENG) in view of TERANISHI et al. (US 2022/0293487 A1, hereinafter TERANISHI).
Regarding claim 1, ZENG discloses a wireless charging apparatus (See Figs.1 and 5, Items#1 and 1’ and Par.24 disclose a wireless charging apparatus) comprising:
a heat radiation module (See Figs.2 and 5, Item#10 and Par.25, discloses a casing comprising a top plate 101, a bottom plate 102 and plural lateral walls 103)
a circuit board disposed in the heat radiation module (See Fig.5, Item#11 and Par.26, disclose a transmitter driving board); and
a power module which is disposed in the heat radiation module and includes a coil for wireless charging (See Figs.2 and 5, Item#12 and Par.28, disclose a transmitter coil assembly),
wherein the heat radiation module comprises:
a case body in which the circuit board and the power module are housed (See Figs.2 and 5, disclose the case body 101+103+102 disclose a case housing the circuit board 11 and the power module 12); and
a partition part formed inside the case body (See Fig.5, and Par.34, disclose a partition plate) wherein the partition part comprises:
a partition plate connected to an inner surface of the case body (See Fig.5, Item#104).
However, ZENG does not disclose a separation space between the circuit board and the power module, at least one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to the circuit board or the power module,
wherein a heat transfer member is disposed on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrudes.
TERANISHI an electronic device including a cooling system, the cooling system comprising a partition plate, at least one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to a power module forming a separation space between the circuit board and the power module (See Fig.6 and Par.25, disclose heat generating electronic components 9 (B). The fins 3,4 extend from the top surface of the lower housing 2 [See annotated Fig.6 and Fig.1] to the power module 9(B). Also see spaces between fins 3 and 4. Applicant’s specification defines the separation to be the space between dissipation fins [See PGPUB of the current application, Pars.99-100]),
wherein a heat transfer member is disposed on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrudes (See annotated Fig.6, Item#10 and 36, disclose a thermal conductive material between the fins 3,4 and elements 9(E)/9(H) on the other side of the annotated partition plate).
ZENG and TERANISHI are analogous art since they both deal with cooling structure for electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ZENG with the teachings of TERANISHI by adding one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to the power module for the benefit of dissipating heat from the heat generating components in the power module (See TERANISHI, Par.25) and it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ZENG with the teachings of TERANISHI by adding a heat transfer member on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrude for the benefit of dissipating heat from the other heat generating module on the other side of the partition plate.
Regarding claim 2, ZENG and TERANISHI disclose the wireless charging apparatus according to claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the heat radiation module comprises a first space in which the circuit board is disposed (See ZENG, Fig.5, and Par.39, disclose a second compartment 14b for housing the transmitting driving board 11) and a second space in which the power module is disposed (See ZENG, Fig.5 and Par.39, disclose a first compartment for housing transmitting coil assembly 12), wherein the partition part is configured to partition the first and second spaces (See ZENG, Fig.5 and Par.39, disclose the partition plate 104 divides the interior space into 2 compartments).
Regarding claim 3, ZENG and TERANISHI disclose the wireless charging apparatus according to claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the separation space is formed in a direction in which the at least one heat radiation fin protrudes (See TERANISHI, Fig.6 discloses spaces between the fins 3,4).
Regarding claim 5, ZENG and TERANISHI disclose the wireless charging apparatus according to claim 1 as discussed above, However, ZENG and TERANISHI as applied to claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the case body of the heat radiation module and the partition part are integrally formed with each other (See ZENG, Fig.2, discloses separation plate is integrated into casing comprising lateral walls 103).
Regarding claim 6, ZENG and TERANISHI disclose the wireless charging apparatus according to claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the heat radiation module comprises external heat radiation fins extending outwardly from the case body and formed in a radial direction (See ZENG, Fig.5, Items#105 and Par.35, disclose side fins connected to the partition plate 104).
Regarding claim 7, ZENG and TERANISHI disclose the wireless charging apparatus according to claim 6 as discussed above, However, ZENG and TERANISHI do not disclose wherein the external heat radiation fins comprise a plurality of mounting heat radiation fins having different protrusion heights from the case body so as to have a shape corresponding to the shape of an installation surface which is mounted on the heat radiation module.
However, the examiner explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ZENG and TERANISHI by adjusting the height of the radiating fins to correspond to the shape of the installation space for the benefit of fitting the wireless charging apparatus in the installation space.
Regarding claim 9, ZENG discloses a wireless charging apparatus (See Figs.1 and 5, Items#1 and 1’ and Par.24 disclose a wireless charging apparatus) comprising:
a heat radiation module (See Figs.2 and 5, Item#10 and Par.25, discloses a casing comprising a top plate 101, a bottom plate 102 and plural lateral walls 103)
a circuit board disposed in the heat radiation module (See Fig.5, Item#11 and Par.26, disclose a transmitter driving board); and
a power module which is disposed in the heat radiation module and includes a coil for wireless charging (See Figs.2 and 5, Item#12 and Par.28, disclose a transmitter coil assembly),
wherein the heat radiation module comprises:
a case body in which the circuit board and the power module are housed (See Figs.2 and 5, disclose the case body 101+103+102 disclose a case housing the circuit board 11 and the power module 12); and
a partition part formed inside the case body (See Fig.5, and Par.34, disclose a partition plate) wherein the partition part comprises:
a partition plate connected to an inner surface of the case body (See Fig.5, Item#104).
However, ZENG does not disclose a separation space between the circuit board and the power module, at least one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to the circuit board or the power module,
wherein a heat transfer member is disposed on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrudes,
wherein a heating rate (HR, °C/min) expressed by Equation below is greater than 0 and less than 2.0:
Heating Rate (HR)= Δ Heating temperature (°C)/60 min
(In the above equation, the 60 min is a time for which the wireless charging apparatus is charged, and the A heating temperature means a temperature change when the wireless charging apparatus is charged for 60 minutes).
TERANISHI an electronic device including a cooling system, the cooling system comprising a partition plate, at least one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to a power module forming a separation space between the circuit board and the power module (See Fig.6 and Par.25, disclose heat generating electronic components 9 (B). The fins 3,4 extend from the top surface of the lower housing 2 [See annotated Fig.6 and Fig.1] to the power module 9(B). Also see spaces between fins 3 and 4. Applicant’s specification defines the separation to be the space between dissipation fins [See PGPUB of the current application, Pars.99-100]),
wherein a heat transfer member is disposed on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrudes (See annotated Fig.6, Item#10 and 36, disclose a thermal conductive material between the fins 3,4 and elements 9(E)/9(H) on the other side of the annotated partition plate).
ZENG and TERANISHI are analogous art since they both deal with cooling structure for electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ZENG with the teachings of TERANISHI by adding one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to the power module for the benefit of dissipating heat from the heat generating components in the power module (See TERANISHI, Par.25) and it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ZENG with the teachings of TERANISHI by adding a heat transfer member on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrude for the benefit of dissipating heat from the other heat generating module on the other side of the partition plate.
However, ZENG and TERANISHI do not disclose explicitly disclose wherein a heating rate (HR, °C/min) expressed by Equation below is greater than 0 and less than 2.0:
Heating Rate (HR)= Δ Heating temperature (°C)/60 min
(In the above equation, the 60 min is a time for which the wireless charging apparatus is charged, and the A heating temperature means a temperature change when the wireless charging apparatus is charged for 60 minutes).
The examiner however explains that designing a heat radiation module to achieve a certain heat rate is an obvious design choice and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try different materials for the heat radiation module to not exceed the desired heat rate.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG et al. (KR20160065242 A, hereinafter JANG, cited in previous office action) in view of ZENG and in further view of TERANISHI et al. (US 2022/0293487 A1, hereinafter TERANISHI).
Regarding claim 8, JANG discloses an electric vehicle configured to move using electricity as a power source (See Fig.1, Item#20, discloses an electric scooter comprising a battery), comprising:
a battery configured to be charged through the wireless charging apparatus (See Par.46, discloses the battery is charged via circuit 21).
However, JANG does not disclose the wireless charging apparatus comprising:
a heat radiation module;
a circuit board disposed in the heat radiation module; and
a power module which is disposed in the heat radiation module and includes a coil for wireless charging,
wherein the heat radiation module comprises:
a case body in which the circuit board and the power module are housed; and
a partition part formed inside the case body to form a separation space between the circuit board and the power module,
wherein the partition part comprises:
a partition plate connected to an inner surface of the case body; and
at least one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to the circuit board or the power module,
wherein a heat transfer member is disposed on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrudes.
ZENG discloses a wireless charging apparatus (See Figs.1 and 5, Items#1 and 1’ and Par.24 disclose a wireless charging apparatus) comprising:
a heat radiation module (See Figs.2 and 5, Item#10 and Par.25, discloses a casing comprising a top plate 101, a bottom plate 102 and plural lateral walls 103)
a circuit board disposed in the heat radiation module (See Fig.5, Item#11 and Par.26, disclose a transmitter driving board); and
a power module which is disposed in the heat radiation module and includes a coil for wireless charging (See Figs.2 and 5, Item#12 and Par.28, disclose a transmitter coil assembly),
wherein the heat radiation module comprises:
a case body in which the circuit board and the power module are housed (See Figs.2 and 5, disclose the case body 101+103+102 disclose a case housing the circuit board 11 and the power module 12); and
a partition part formed inside the case body (See Fig.5, and Par.34, disclose a partition plate) wherein the partition part comprises:
a partition plate connected to an inner surface of the case body (See Fig.5, Item#104).
JANG and ZENG are analogous art since they both deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by JANG with the teachings of ZENG by using the wireless charger structure disclosed by ZENG for the benefit of protecting the wireless charger elements by dissipating excess heat.
However, JANG and ZENG do not disclose a separation space between the circuit board and the power module, at least one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to the circuit board or the power module,
wherein a heat transfer member is disposed on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrudes.
TERANISHI an electronic device including a cooling system, the cooling system comprising a partition plate, at least one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to a power module forming a separation space between the circuit board and the power module (See Fig.6 and Par.25, disclose heat generating electronic components 9 (B). The fins 3,4 extend from the top surface of the lower housing 2 [See annotated Fig.6 and Fig.1] to the power module 9(B). Also see spaces between fins 3 and 4. Applicant’s specification defines the separation to be the space between dissipation fins [See PGPUB of the current application, Pars.99-100]),
wherein a heat transfer member is disposed on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrudes (See annotated Fig.6, Item#10 and 36, disclose a thermal conductive material between the fins 3,4 and elements 9(E)/9(H) on the other side of the annotated partition plate).
JANG, ZENG and TERANISHI are analogous art since they all deal with electronic structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by JANG and ZENG with the teachings of TERANISHI by adding one heat radiation fin protruding from the partition plate to the power module for the benefit of dissipating heat from the heat generating components in the power module (See TERANISHI, Par.25) and it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by ZENG with the teachings of TERANISHI by adding a heat transfer member on a surface of the partition plate opposite to the surface from which the at least one heat radiation fin protrude for the benefit of dissipating heat from the other heat generating module on the other side of the partition plate.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859