DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsui US 2001/0033369.
Matsui discloses a channel member comprising: a dense ceramic body (1, ¶0065) including an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein the dense ceramic body comprises a first channel (6) inside, wherein a depth of the first channel is greater than a width of the first channel (see Fig. 1, depth is greater than width).
As for claim 4, Matsui discloses wherein the upper surface and the lower surface are parallel to each other, and the first channel is parallel to the upper surface and the lower surface (see Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. US 2015/0122464.
Ito discloses a channel member comprising: a dense ceramic body (4, ¶0044-47) including an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein the dense ceramic body comprises a first channel (7) inside, wherein a depth of the first channel is greater than a width of the first channel (see Fig. 2a, depth is greater than width).
As for claim 2, Ito discloses wherein the depth (Z-direction) of the first channel (7) is at least twice the width of the first channel (see Fig. 2a).
As for claim 4, Ito discloses wherein the upper surface and the lower surface are parallel to each other, and the first channel (7) is parallel to the upper surface and the lower surface (see Fig. 2a).
As for claim 7, Ito discloses a second channel (6) between the first channel (7) and the upper surface, wherein a depth of the second channel (6) along a direction of thickness is greater than a width of the second channel (¶0022).
As for claim 10, Ito discloses wherein the dense ceramic body (4) includes a plurality of suction holes (8, 9) for connecting the first channel (7) and the upper surface to suction a workpiece (2, ¶0023), and the second channel (6) is a channel through which a temperature control fluid flows (¶0021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. US 2015/0122464.
Ito discloses, in the alternative, a channel member comprising: a dense ceramic body (4a, 4b) including an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein the dense ceramic body comprises a first channel (6) inside, and further discloses wherein the depth/thickness of the channel can be between 2mm to 8mm and the width can be between 2mm to 8mm (¶0022) but does not specify wherein a depth of the first channel is greater than a width of the first channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the depth of the first channel to be greater than a width of the first channel as an alternative embodiment for providing a cooling path for the main body of Ito.
As for claim 2, the modified Ito teaches wherein the depth (Z-direction) of the first channel (6) is at least twice the width of the first channel (¶0022).
As for claim 4, the modified Ito teaches wherein the upper surface and the lower surface are parallel to each other, and the first channel (6) is parallel to the upper surface and the lower surface (see Fig. 2a).
As for claim 5, the modified Ito teaches wherein the first channel (6) includes a first convex portion (10) connecting an upper surface and a side surface of the first channel (6, Fig. 2b).
As for claim 7, the modified Ito teaches a second channel (7) between the first channel (6) and the upper surface, wherein a depth of the second channel along a direction of the thickness is greater than a width of the second channel (see Fig. 2a).
As for claim 8, the modified Ito teaches wherein the depth of the second channel (7) is at least twice the width of the second channel (see Fig. 2a).
As for claim 9, the modified Ito teaches wherein the first channel (6) is independent of the second channel (7), first channel having a depth and a width, the depth of the second channel is greater than the depth of the first channel (see Fig. 2a).
As for claim 13, Ito discloses a channel member comprising: a dense ceramic body (Ito, 4) including an upper surface and a lower, wherein the dense ceramic body comprises three or more laminated layers (4a, 4b, 5) of ceramic substrates, except for a ceramic substrate on the uppermost layer, each of the ceramic substrates include a channel (6, 7), and for the ceramic substrates including a channel, a ceramic substrate located above is laminated on the ceramic substrate located below, and a depth of the channel (6, 7) of the ceramic substrate located above is greater than a width of the channel of the ceramic substrate located above, and is greater than half of a thickness of the ceramic substrate located above.
Ito does not specify wherein the dense ceramic body has a thickness of 50mm or more between the upper surface and the lower surface and having an area in a plan view equal to or greater than an area of a circle with a diameter of 350mm. However, it would have been obvious to modify the thickness and area of a circle with the claimed 50mm or more and diameter of 350mm as claimed as a mere design consideration through routine engineering. Furthermore, wherein the only difference between the prior at and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardnerv. Tec Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
As for claim 20, the modified Ito teaches wherein the dense ceramic body (4) comprises a first ceramic substrate (4a) and a second ceramic substrate (4b), and a ceramic bonding layer (13) between the first ceramic substrate and the second ceramic substrate (¶0044-47).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. US 2015/0122464 in view of Yamaguchi et al. US 2019/0013231.
As for claim 11, Ito discloses and/or teaches all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein the second channel includes a second convex portion connecting an upper surface and a side surface of the second channel. However, Yamaguchi teaches a channel member having a convex portion (55C) connecting an upper surface (55U) and a side surface (55S) in order to influence a turbulent flow within the channel (¶0156). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the second channel of Ito to include a convex portion as taught by Yamaguchi in order to influence the turbulent flow within the channel to provide uniformity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723