DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on May 16, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “suck a to-be-treated object”. The examiner suggests amending to --to suction a workpiece--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the depth of the first channel located outside the channel member" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears applicant is trying to claim an additional channel located outside the channel member. The examiner suggests amending the claim to --wherein the depth of the first channel located inside the channel member is greater than a depth of a channel located outside the channel member-- to avoid confusion with the first channel in the channel member.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “greater than the depth of the second channel located outside the channel member” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears again that applicant is trying to claim an additional channel located outside the channel member (a third channel member). The examiner suggests amending the claim to -- wherein the depth of the second channel located inside the channel member is greater than a depth of a channel located outside the channel member-- to avoid confusion with the first channel and the second channel in the channel member.
Applicant may want to consider amending all the dependent claims and recite a first, second, third and fourth channel as any future amendments to the claims could become further confusing (i.e. second channel recited in claim 7 and a channel located outside the channel member in claim 3; if claim 3 was amended into claim 1 would claim 7 then be irrelevant?).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. US 2019/0013231.
Yamaguchi discloses a channel member comprising: a dense ceramic body (500, 502, 503) including an upper surface (50U) and a lower surface (50d) with a thickness of 50 mm or more (Lbp = 3.33mm to 720mm;
L
b
p
=
L
z
.
9
t
o
.
1
=
L
x
t
o
6
*
L
x
.
9
t
o
.
1
; wherein Lx = 3 to 12mm; see ¶0135 and ¶0143) between the upper surface and the lower surface and having an area in a plan view equal to or greater than an area of a circle with a diameter of 300 mm (radius of 150mm; ¶0106), wherein the dense ceramic body (500) comprises a first channel inside (55), wherein a depth (Lz) of the first channel is greater than a width (Lx) of the first channel.
Yamaguchi discloses wherein the diameter is 300mm but does not specify wherein the diameter is 350mm. However, it would have been obvious to modify the diameter of Yamaguchi to 350mm as a mere design consideration through routine engineer. Furthermore, wherein the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
As for claim 2, the modified Yamaguchi teaches wherein the depth of the first channel is at least twice the width of the first channel (Larger than 1 and less than 6 times the size ¶0135).
As for claim 3, the modified Yamaguchi teaches in Fig. 12a wherein the depth of the first channel (55) located inside the channel member is greater than the depth of a first channel (56) located outside the channel member.
As for claim 4, the modified Yamaguchi teaches wherein the upper surface and the lower surface are parallel to each other, and the first channel (55) is parallel to the upper surface and the lower surface.
As for claim 5, the modified Yamaguchi teaches wherein the first channel includes a first convex portion (55c) connecting an upper surface (55U) and a side surface (55S) of the first channel (55).
As for claim 7, the modified Yamaguchi teaches a second channel (56 or 57) between the first channel (55) and the upper surface. Yamaguchi further teaches wherein the depth of a channel being greater than the width of a channel has an influence, wherein the in-plane temperature uniformity of the object to be processed W is improved (¶0140). Yamaguchi does not specify wherein the second channel depth is greater than the width, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the depth and width of the second channel of Yamaguchi as claimed in order to improve in-plane temperature uniformity.
As for claim 8, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the depth of the second channel is at least twice the width of the second channel (Larger than 1 and less than 6 times the size ¶0135).
As for claim 9, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the depth of the second channel (56 or 57) located inside the channel member is greater than the depth of the second channel (53 or 14) located outside the channel member (.5mm to 7mm; thickness of 11; ¶0079).
As for claim 11, Yamaguchi teaches wherein “a difference between the influence of the turbulent flow in the connection portion 55C and the influence of the turbulent flow near the connection portion 55C can be suppressed by making the connection portion 55C of the upper surface 55U and the side surface 55S curved. Thereby, the in-plane temperature uniformity of the object to be processed W can be improved” (¶0156). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the second channel of Yamaguchi to include a second convex portion connecting an upper surface and a side surface of the second channel in order to improve in-plane temperature uniformity of an object being processed.
As for claim 13, Yamaguchi teaches a channel member comprising: a dense ceramic body (500) including an upper surface and a lower surface with a thickness of 50 mm or more between the upper surface and the lower surface and having an area in a plan view equal to or greater than an area of a circle with a diameter of 350 mm, wherein the dense ceramic body comprises three or more laminated layers (welded or brazing, ¶0082 and ¶0160) of ceramic substrates (50a, 50b, 50c), except for a ceramic substrate on the uppermost layer (50c, 504, Fig. 13), each of the ceramic substrates include a channel (51, 52, 55, 57), and for the ceramic substrates including a channel (51, 52, 55, 57), a ceramic substrate located above is laminated on the ceramic substrate located below, and a depth of the channel of the ceramic substrate located above is greater than a width of the channel of the ceramic substrate located above, and is greater than half of a thickness of the ceramic substrate located above (see Figs. 1 and 13).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. US 2019/0013231 in view of Sekiya US 2019/0111547.
As for claim 10, Yamaguchi teaches an electrostatic chuck provided with temperature control via a plurality of channels (55, 56 or 57). Yamaguchi does not specify wherein the dense ceramic body (500) includes a plurality of suction holes () for connecting the first channel (55) and the upper surface to suck a to-be-treated object.
However, Sekiya teaches a electrostatic chuck having a plurality of channels (42) connected to a vacuum source (43) for suction of an object (201) to be treated. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the channel member of Yamaguchi to include a vacuum source and suction hole formed on the ceramic body as taught by Sekiya in order to provide additional means of securing the workpiece to the dense ceramic body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723