DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received April 6th, 2026. Claims 1-3, 8-9, 11, 18, 37-39, 43-44, 46-48, 50 have been amended. Claims 5-7, 10, 13-17, 19-36, 41-42, 45 have been canceled. Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11-12, 18, 37-40, 43-44, 46-50 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed April 6th, 2026, have been fully considered, but deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which has been necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 11-12, 37, 43, 46-47, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2020/0228966) in view of Seo et al. (US 2020/0351924).
Regarding claims 1, 37, 43, 46, Xu et al. discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Figure 3 [UE/BS]), comprising: at least one memory (see Figure 3 [Memory]); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see Figure 3 [Processor]) and configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration of a control resource set zero (CORESET0) from a network equipment (NE) (paragraph 0060 [A special CORESET, known as CORESET #0 with ID=0, may be initially configured in the master information block (MIB)]); and determine a second CORESET based at least in part on the CORESET0 (paragraph 0069-0070 [the configuration for the low tier CORESET #0 may be considered as an implicit configuration, because the configuration of the low tier CORESET #0 may be based on the configuration of the larger bandwidth CORESET #0]), and wherein a frequency band of the second CORESET is smaller than a frequency band of the CORESET0 (paragraph 0069-0070 [the configuration for the low tier CORESET #0 may be considered as an implicit configuration, because the configuration of the low tier CORESET #0 may be based on the configuration of the larger bandwidth CORESET #0], but does not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency of an initial physical resource block (PRB) of the second CORESET is the same as a frequency of an initial PRB of the CORESET0.
However, Seo et al. suggests wherein a frequency of an initial physical resource block (PRB) of the second CORESET is the same as a frequency of an initial PRB of the CORESET0 (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 0067, 0108-0109 [subcarrier 0 of the lowest-numbered RB in the RMSI CORESET may refer to the starting point of the CORESET; The reference point for the WBRS CORESET may be set to PRB #0 (subcarrier 0 in common resource block 0)]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the PRB#0 of the RMSI CORESET and the second CORESET could be on the same subcarrier 0. The motivation for this is a design choice since the chosen PRB#0 could be chosen for different locations.
Regarding claim 8, 47, 50, Xu et al. further discloses wherein the initial PRB of the second CORESET is allocated as the initial PRB of a resource element group bundle (REGB) of the CORESET0 (see Figures 5-6 and paragraphs 0065, 0078 [CORESETs overlapping; the low tier CORESET #0 and an larger bandwidth CORESET #0 may be centered at the same or roughly the same center frequency. In addition, the low tier and larger bandwidth CORESET #0 may also share the same 6 PRB grid]).
Regarding claim 9, Xu et al. further discloses wherein the initial PRB of the second CORESET is allocated as the initial PRB of the REGB of the CORESET0 if a frequency band of the second CORESET is within a frequency band of the CORESET0 (see Figures 5-6 and paragraphs 0065, 0078 [CORESETs overlapping; the low tier CORESET #0 and a larger bandwidth CORESET #0 may be centered at the same or roughly the same center frequency. In addition, the low tier and larger bandwidth CORESET #0 may also share the same 6 PRB grid]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu et al. further discloses wherein the second CORESET starts from the first OFDM symbol of the CORESET0 (paragraph 0069 [the low tier CORESET #0 506 and the larger bandwidth CORESET #0 504 may occupy the same set of symbols]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu et al. further discloses wherein the second CORESET includes at least one resource unit defined in time domain (paragraph 0078 [The second initial CORESET may be nested within at least one of frequency resources or time resources of the first initial CORESET]).
Claim(s) 2-4, 38-40, 44, 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2020/0228966) in view of Seo et al. (US 2020/0351924) as applied to claims 1, 37, 43 above, and further in view of Schober et al. (WO 2019/138150).
Regarding claims 2, 38, 44, the references as combined disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 37, 43, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the initial PRB of the second CORESET is allocated as the initial PRB of a control channel element (CCE) of the CORESET0 and a frequency band of the second CORESET is within the frequency band of the CORESET0.
However, Schober et al. suggests wherein the initial PRB of the second CORESET is allocated as the initial PRB of a control channel element (CCE) of the CORESET0 and a frequency band of the second CORESET is within the frequency band of the CORESET0 (see Figure 4 [6PRB grid is one CCE]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the both CORESETs could start at the same PRB since Schober et al. discloses the RMSI CORESET can float anywhere in the PRB grid. The motivation for this is to start both CORESETs at the same PRB.
Regarding claims 3, 39, 48, Xu et al. further discloses wherein the CCE of the CORESET0 includes an initial CCE (see Figures 5-6 and paragraphs 0065, 0068 [the low tier and larger bandwidth CORESET #0 may also share the same 6 PRB grid; 6 RBs for 1 symbol may be equal to 1 CCE]).
Regarding claims 4, 40, 49, Xu et al. further discloses wherein an initial CCE of the second CORESET is mapped to an initial resource element group bundle (REGB) of the second CORESET (paragraph 0079 [CCE-to-REG]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2020/0228966) in view of Seo et al. (US 2020/0351924) as applied to claim 18 above and further in view of Frenne et al. (US 2022/0038207).
Regarding claim 18, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: receiving the configuration further comprises receiving the configuration of the CORESET0 and a first search space set corresponding to a first aggregation level; and wherein the method further comprises determining a second aggregation level for a second search space of the second CORESET, wherein the second aggregation level is equal to or higher than the first aggregation level.
However, Frenne et al. discloses receiving the configuration further comprises receiving the configuration of the CORESET0 and a first search space set corresponding to a first aggregation level (paragraph 0128 [CORESET0 first aggregation level]); and wherein the method further comprises determining a second aggregation level for a second search space of the second CORESET (paragraph 0128 [second CORESET second aggregation level]) wherein the second aggregation level is equal to or higher than the first aggregation level (different aggregation levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the CORESETs can have different aggregation levels. The motivation for this is a design choice for different UE types.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465