DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page (13), filed 10/30/2025, with respect to claims 1, 4-7, 9-11, 14-16, 18, 20, 23-35 and 37-39 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 14-16, 18, 20, 28-29, 31-35 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20220217654 A1) in view of Yang (US 20220394631 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (flowchart for describing a multiple-panel based UL transmission and reception signaling procedure of Figs. 19-20) comprising:
communicating via a first panel (Panel #0 of Fig. 19) of the UE and a second panel (Panel #1 of Fig. 19) of the UE (The UE may perform a (multi-panel based) UL transmission for the BS, [0605] and it may be possible to perform simultaneous signal transmission by simultaneously activating a plurality of panels according to modem and power amplifier construction (simultaneous transmission across multi-panel (STxMP), [0458]).
However, Kang does not clearly teach populating one or more fields of a report, the one or more fields comprising a first field indicating a first power headroom value for the first panel, a second field indicating a second power headroom value for the second panel, a third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, and a fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report, the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel; and transmitting the report comprising the first field indicating the first power headroom value for the first panel, the second field indicating the second power headroom value for the second panel, the third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, and the fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches populating one or more fields of a report, the one or more fields comprising a first field indicating a first power headroom value for the first panel ( the power headroom report information includes at least one of: [0134] power headroom, [0135]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), a second field indicating a second power headroom value for the second panel (the power headroom report information includes at least one of: [0134] power headroom, [0135]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), a third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report ( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, [0126)), and a fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report ( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, and a MAC CE with an identifier 2 corresponds to an antenna panel B, [0126]), the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel ( any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), or specific to the power control object (for example, panel specific or beam specific), [0121]); and
transmitting the report (the terminal can report a power headroom of an antenna panel or a beam when reporting the power headroom report, [0163]) comprising the first field indicating the first power headroom value for the first panel (the reporting module 61 reports the power headroom report by using a plurality of MAC CEs, where each of the MAC CEs carries power headroom report information of at least one power control object, [0194]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), or specific to the power control object (for example, panel specific, [0210]), the second field indicating the second power headroom value for the second panel (the reporting module 61 reports the power headroom report by using a plurality of MAC CEs, where each of the MAC CEs carries power headroom report information of at least one power control object, [0194]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), or specific to the power control object (for example, panel specific, [0210]), the third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report (each of the MAC CEs further carries identification information of the power control object or index information corresponding to the power control object, [0196]; identification information of each of the MAC CEs corresponds to identification information of a corresponding power control object. [0198] Optionally, the identification information or the index information includes at least one of: [0199] identification information of an antenna pane, [0197-0199]), and the fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report (each of the MAC CEs further carries identification information of the power control object or index information corresponding to the power control object, [0196]; identification information of each of the MAC CEs corresponds to identification information of a corresponding power control object. [0198] Optionally, the identification information or the index information includes at least one of: [0199] identification information of an antenna pane, [0197-0199]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang with the report of Yang to provide a methods and a system wherein the terminal can report a power headroom of an antenna panel or a beam when reporting the power headroom report, not limited to reporting only a power headroom corresponding to a cell, thereby ensuring accurate and precise power control as suggested, Yang [0164].
Regarding claim 9, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a first maximum power parameter associated with the first panel based at least in part on a first power reduction parameter (If UL resources are transmitted on the same symbol (set), each panel transmission power may be scaled down according to a specific rule (including the case that a specific panel transmission power is 0, Kang [0502]).
Regarding claim 10, Kang as modified by Yang the method of claim 9, further comprising: calculating the second power headroom value based at least in part on the first maximum power parameter, wherein the first maximum power parameter corresponds to both the first panel and the second panel (This method applies an independent power control formular for each panel (or UL resource (group)), and may apply min (Pc_max_common*w_n, formular_n) for each panel (i.e., UL resource (group)), where n corresponds to panel or UL resource group index, Kang [0497]).
Regarding claim 14, Kang teaches a method for wireless communications at a network device (flowchart for describing a multiple-panel based UL transmission and reception signaling procedure of Figs. 19-20), comprising:
communicating with a first panel of a user equipment (UE) (Panel #0 of Fig. 19) and a second panel of the UE (Panel #1 of Fig. 19) (The UE may perform a (multi-panel based) UL transmission for the BS, [0605] and it may be possible to perform simultaneous signal transmission by simultaneously activating a plurality of panels according to modem and power amplifier construction (simultaneous transmission across multi-panel (STxMP), [0458]).
However, Kang does not clearly teach receiving a report comprising a first field indicating a first power headroom value for the first panel, a second field indicating a second power headroom value for the second panel, a third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, and a fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report, the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches receiving a report comprising a first field indicating a first power headroom value for the first panel ( the power headroom report information includes at least one of: [0134] power headroom, [0135]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), a second field indicating a second power headroom value for the second panel (the power headroom report information includes at least one of: [0134] power headroom, [0135]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), a third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report ( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, [0126)), and a fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report ( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, and a MAC CE with an identifier 2 corresponds to an antenna panel B, [0126]), the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel ( any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), or specific to the power control object (for example, panel specific or beam specific), [0121]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang with the report of Yang to provide a methods and a system wherein the terminal can report a power headroom of an antenna panel or a beam when reporting the power headroom report, not limited to reporting only a power headroom corresponding to a cell, thereby ensuring accurate and precise power control as suggested, Yang [0164].
Regarding claim 15, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a signal indicating a power adjustment for at least one of the first panel or the second panel based on receiving the report (UE may receive, from the BS, a configuration (i.e., UL transmission related configuration) related to UL transmission, in S2020, [0595] and he configuration may also include information (e.g., parameter (set)) related to power control for each SRS resource group and/or for each panel (e.g., parameter (set) mentioned in the first to third embodiments, Kang [0596]).
Regarding claim 16, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the method of claim 14. Yang further teaches wherein the first field, the second field, the third field, and the fourth field included in the report are associated with a component carrier (any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), Yang [0210]).
Regarding claim 18, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: identifying that one or more thresholds associated with the report are satisfied, the one or more thresholds comprising an expiration of a timer associated with the report (A power headroom report (PHR) may be triggered if any of the following events occur. [0413] phr-ProhibitTimer expires or has expired and the path loss has changed more than phr-Tx-PowerFactorChange dB for at least one activated serving cell of MAC entity which is used as a pathloss reference since the last transmission of a PHR in this MAC entity, [0412]); and monitoring for the report based at least in part on the one or more thresholds being satisfied (UE includes power headroom corresponding to Type 1 PHR, Type 2 PHR and/or Type 3 PHR and/or PCMAX in MAC-CE as represented in Table 10 and may transmit it to the base station, Kang [0419]).
Regarding claim 20, Kang teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (UE of Fig. 24 performing the method of Fig. 20), comprising:
One or more processors (processor 1020), one or more memories coupled with the processor (memory 1040); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (the memory 1040 may store a software code including instructions for performing some or all of processes controlled by the processor, [0646]):
communicate via a first panel of the UE and a second panel of the UE (The UE may perform a (multi-panel based) UL transmission for the BS, [0605] and it may be possible to perform simultaneous signal transmission by simultaneously activating a plurality of panels according to modem and power amplifier construction (simultaneous transmission across multi-panel (STxMP), [0458]).
However, Kang does not clearly teach populating one or more fields of a report, the one or more fields comprising a first field indicating a first power headroom value for the first panel, a second field indicating a second power headroom value for the second panel, a third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, and a fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report, the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel; and transmitting the report comprising the first field indicating the first power headroom value for the first panel, the second field indicating the second power headroom value for the second panel, the third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, and the fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches populating one or more fields of a report, the one or more fields comprising a first field indicating a first power headroom value for the first panel ( the power headroom report information includes at least one of: [0134] power headroom, [0135]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), a second field indicating a second power headroom value for the second panel (the power headroom report information includes at least one of: [0134] power headroom, [0135]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), a third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report ( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, [0126)), and a fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report ( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, and a MAC CE with an identifier 2 corresponds to an antenna panel B, [0126]), the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel ( any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), or specific to the power control object (for example, panel specific or beam specific), [0121]); and
transmitting the report (the terminal can report a power headroom of an antenna panel or a beam when reporting the power headroom report, [0163]) comprising the first field indicating the first power headroom value for the first panel (the reporting module 61 reports the power headroom report by using a plurality of MAC CEs, where each of the MAC CEs carries power headroom report information of at least one power control object, [0194]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), or specific to the power control object (for example, panel specific, [0210]), the second field indicating the second power headroom value for the second panel (the reporting module 61 reports the power headroom report by using a plurality of MAC CEs, where each of the MAC CEs carries power headroom report information of at least one power control object, [0194]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), or specific to the power control object (for example, panel specific, [0210]), the third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report (each of the MAC CEs further carries identification information of the power control object or index information corresponding to the power control object, [0196]; identification information of each of the MAC CEs corresponds to identification information of a corresponding power control object. [0198] Optionally, the identification information or the index information includes at least one of: [0199] identification information of an antenna pane, [0197-0199]), and the fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report (each of the MAC CEs further carries identification information of the power control object or index information corresponding to the power control object, [0196]; identification information of each of the MAC CEs corresponds to identification information of a corresponding power control object. [0198] Optionally, the identification information or the index information includes at least one of: [0199] identification information of an antenna pane, [0197-0199]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang with the report of Yang to provide a methods and a system wherein the terminal can report a power headroom of an antenna panel or a beam when reporting the power headroom report, not limited to reporting only a power headroom corresponding to a cell, thereby ensuring accurate and precise power control as suggested, Yang [0164].
Regarding claim 28, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: identify a first maximum power parameter associated with the first panel based at least in part on a first power reduction parameter (If UL resources are transmitted on the same symbol (set), each panel transmission power may be scaled down according to a specific rule (including the case that a specific panel transmission power is 0, Kang [0502]).
Regarding claim 29, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: calculate the second power headroom value based at least in part on the first maximum power parameter, wherein the first maximum power parameter corresponds to both the first panel and the second panel (This method applies an independent power control formular for each panel (or UL resource (group)), and may apply min (Pc_max_common*w_n, formular_n) for each panel (i.e., UL resource (group)), where n corresponds to panel or UL resource group index, Kang [0497]).
Regarding claim 31, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processor to cause the apparatus to: calculate a real transmission power or a virtual transmission power based at least in part on communicating via the first panel of the UE and the second panel of the UE (Hereinafter, a PH value may be replaced by a virtual PH value, and/or a representative PH value may be replaced by a representative virtual PH value, [0557] and This method applies an independent power control formular for each panel (or UL resource (group)), and may apply min (Pc_max_common*w_n, formular_n) for each panel (i.e., UL resource (group)), wherein corresponds to panel or UL resource group index, [0497]), wherein the first power headroom value for the first panel and the second power headroom value for the second panel is based at least in part on the real transmission power or the virtual transmission power (Hereinafter, a PH value may be replaced by a virtual PH value, and/or a representative PH value may be replaced by a representative virtual PH value, [0557] and In the PH calculation, it is basic to calculate the PH based on an actual transmission (PUSCH) signal. However, there has been no UL transmission (on the corresponding carrier and/or cell) for a while, a method of calculating and reporting the PH based on a reference assumption for the UL transmission is defined in the predefined standard (e.g., 3GPP TS38.213), and the PH value thus calculated is referred to as ‘virtual PH’, Kang [0553]).
Regarding claim 32, Kang as modified by Yang an teaches the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a signal indicating uplink resources for a transmission from the UE (The UE may report UE capability information related to the multi-panel based signal and/or channel transmission/reception to the BS, [0594]), wherein calculating the real transmission power is based at least in part on the indicated uplink resources (The UE may calculate UL transmission power (UL Tx power) based on the configuration (and/or indication) which is configured from the BS in the previous step, in step S1350. For example, the UE may perform the power control based on the UL power control content descried above, Kang [0602]).
Regarding claim 33, Kang teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a network device (base station 2040 of Fig. 24 performing the method of Fig. 20), comprising: one or more processors (processor 2020), one or more memories memory coupled with the one or more processor (memory 2040); and instructions stored in the one or more memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (the signaling and the operation described above may be stored in a memory (e.g., 1040, 2040) in the form of a command/program (e.g., instruction, executable code) for running at least one processor, [0633]):
communicate with a first panel of a user equipment (UE) and a second panel of the UE (The UE may perform a (multi-panel based) UL transmission for the BS, [0605] and it may be possible to perform simultaneous signal transmission by simultaneously activating a plurality of panels according to modem and power amplifier construction (simultaneous transmission across multi-panel (STxMP), [0458]).
However, Kang does not clearly teach receiving a report comprising a first field indicating a first power headroom value for the first panel, a second field indicating a second power headroom value for the second panel, a third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, and a fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report, the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel; and transmitting the report comprising the first field indicating the first power headroom value for the first panel, the second field indicating the second power headroom value for the second panel, the third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, and the fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches receiving a report comprising a first field indicating a first power headroom value for the first panel ( the power headroom report information includes at least one of: [0134] power headroom, [0135]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), a second field indicating a second power headroom value for the second panel (the power headroom report information includes at least one of: [0134] power headroom, [0135]; any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), a third field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report ( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, [0126)), and a fourth field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report ( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, and a MAC CE with an identifier 2 corresponds to an antenna panel B, [0126]), the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel ( any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), or specific to the power control object (for example, panel specific or beam specific), [0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang with the report of Yang to provide a methods and a system wherein the terminal can report a power headroom of an antenna panel or a beam when reporting the power headroom report, not limited to reporting only a power headroom corresponding to a cell, thereby ensuring accurate and precise power control as suggested, Yang [0164].
Regarding claim 35, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 33. Yang further teaches wherein the first field, the second field, included in the report are associated with a component carrier (any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell (cell specific), Yang [0210]).
Regarding claim 37, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processor to cause the apparatus to: identify that one or more thresholds associated with the report are satisfied, the one or more thresholds comprising an expiration of a timer associated with the report (A power headroom report (PHR) may be triggered if any of the following events occur. phr-ProhibitTimer expires or has expired and the path loss has changed more than phr-Tx-PowerFactorChange dB for at least one activated serving cell of MAC entity which is used as a pathloss reference since the last transmission of a PHR in this MAC entity, [0412]-[0413]); and monitor for the report based at least in part on the one or more thresholds being satisfied (If UL transmission resources for new transmission are allocated to MAC entity of the UE, the UE includes power headroom corresponding to Type 1 PHR, Type 2 PHR and/or Type 3 PHR and/or PCMAX in MAC-CE as represented in Table 10 and may transmit it to the base station, Kang[0419]).
Regarding claim 38, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: identify uplink resources for a transmission from the UE to the network device (UE may determine PUSCH transmission power, PUCCH transmission power, SRS transmission power, and/or PRACH transmission power based on the method (e.g., Equation 3, Equation 4, Equation 5, Equation 6, etc.) described in the above 1) to 4), [0382]); and transmit a signal indicating the uplink resources (UE may perform transmission of one or more uplink channels and/or signals (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, PRACH, etc.) for the base station based on the determined (or calculated) transmission power, Kang [0383]).
Regarding claim 39, Kang teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (UE performing method of Fig. 20), comprising: means for communicating via a first panel of the UE and a second panel of the UE (The UE may perform a (multi-panel based) UL transmission for the BS, [0605] and it may be possible to perform simultaneous signal transmission by simultaneously activating a plurality of panels according to modem and power amplifier construction (simultaneous transmission across multi-panel (STxMP), [0458]).
However, Kang does not clearly teach means for calculating a first power headroom value for the first panel and a second power headroom value for the second panel, the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel; and means for transmitting a report comprising the first power headroom value for the first panel, the second power headroom value for the second panel, a first field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, and a second field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches means for calculating a first power headroom value for the first panel and a second power headroom value for the second panel (reporting module 61 of Fig. 6); the first power headroom value being specific to the first panel and the second power headroom value being specific to the second panel (any one piece of information in the power headroom report information is specific to the serving cell, or is specific to the power control object, [0140], the power control object is: an antenna panel, [0143]), means for transmitting a report comprising the first power headroom value for the first panel, the second power headroom value for the second panel (reporting module 61 of Fig. 6), a first field indicating that the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report (( For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, [0126]), and a second field indicating that the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report (For example, when one MAC CE carries power headroom report information of one power control object, the correspondence may be as follows: a MAC CE with an identifier 1 corresponds to an antenna panel A, and a MAC CE with an identifier 2 corresponds to an antenna panel B, [0126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang with the report of Yang to provide a methods and a system wherein the terminal can report a power headroom of an antenna panel or a beam when reporting the power headroom report, not limited to reporting only a power headroom corresponding to a cell, thereby ensuring accurate and precise power control as suggested, Yang [0164].
Claims 4-7 and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20220217654 A1) in view of Yang and further in view of Carporal Del Barrio et al. (US 20220232486 A1) (Hereinafter Carporal) .
Regarding claim 4, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Kang and Yang do not teach further comprising: identifying one or more power backoff metrics comprising a first power backoff metric associated with the first panel, a second power backoff metric associated with the second panel, or both; and determining that one or more thresholds are satisfied based at least in part on the identified one or more power backoff metrics, wherein transmitting the report is based at least in part on the satisfied one or more thresholds.
In a analogous at, Carporal teaches identifying one or more power backoff metrics comprising a first power backoff metric associated with the first panel, a second power backoff metric associated with the second panel, or both (the device uses the relative position and orientation between the device and the object (e.g. user) to predict if in the upcoming time instants, the object (e.g. user) will cross the power back-off pre-warning or warning distance thresholds of any of the device's antenna panels, antenna arrays and/or antennas, [0179]); and determining that one or more thresholds are satisfied based at least in part on the identified one or more power backoff metrics (if an object is detected in beam B1 of the side antenna and only if its moving directions is detected to also moving towards sector A, the warning and monitoring mode will be activated, [0185] and For example, thresholds for warning and monitoring mode activation are applied e.g. with beam number like in the example shown in FIG. 19, [0188]), wherein transmitting the report is based at least in part on the satisfied one or more thresholds (After triggering MPE warning in S1802, the UE directly sends a report for a preferred option to the gNB, [0221]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang and Yang with the PBO of Carporal to provide a methods and a system to prevent radio link failures due to maximum permissible exposure power limitations in communications network systems as suggested, Carporal [0001].
Regarding claim 5, Kang as modified by Yang and Carporal teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: comparing a change of the one or more power backoff metrics to a change threshold of the one or more thresholds, wherein determining that the one or more thresholds are satisfied is based at least in part on the comparison (In situations (a) and (b) illustrated in FIG. 2, the UE has performed a power backoff due to MPE compliance at a time when the distance to the object/user (also referred to as subject or human body in the following) falls below an MPE threshold, Carporal [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang and Yang with the PBO of Carporal to provide a methods and a system to prevent radio link failures due to maximum permissible exposure power limitations in communications network systems as suggested, Carporal [0001].
Regarding claim 6, Kang as modified by Yang and Carporal teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the change of the one or more power backoff metrics comprises a change of the first power backoff metric, a change of the second power backoff metric, a change of a sum of the first power backoff metric and the second power backoff metric, or any combination thereof (in case D does not fall below d.sub.min (No in step S701), the process of FIG. 7 advances to step S704 in which it is checked if D falls below d.sub.max, Carporal [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang and Yang with the PBO of Carporal to provide a methods and a system to prevent radio link failures due to maximum permissible exposure power limitations in communications network systems as suggested, Carporal [0001].
Regarding claim 7, Kang as modified by Yang and Carporal teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: determining an expiration of a timer associated with the report, wherein determining that the one or more thresholds are satisfied is based at least in part on the expiration of the timer (A power headroom report (PHR) may be triggered if any of the following events occur: there are UL resources allocated for transmission or there is a PUCCH transmission on this cell, and the required power backoff due to power management for this cell has changed more than phr-Tx-PowerFactorChange dB since the last transmission of a PHR when the MAC entity had UL resources allocated for transmission or PUCCH transmission on this cell, Kang [0412]).
Regarding claim 23, Kang as modified by Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 20.
However, Kang and Yang do not teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: identify one or more power backoff metrics comprising a first power backoff metric associated with the first panel, a second power backoff metric associated with the second panel, or both; and determine that one or more thresholds are satisfied based at least in part on the identified one or more power backoff metrics, wherein transmitting the report is based at least in part on the satisfied one or more thresholds.
In a analogous at, Carporal teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify one or more power backoff metrics comprising a first power backoff metric associated with the first panel, a second power backoff metric associated with the second panel, or both (the device uses the relative position and orientation between the device and the object (e.g. user) to predict if in the upcoming time instants, the object (e.g. user) will cross the power back-off pre-warning or warning distance thresholds of any of the device's antenna panels, antenna arrays and/or antennas, [0179]); and determine that one or more thresholds are satisfied based at least in part on the identified one or more power backoff metrics (if an object is detected in beam B1 of the side antenna and only if its moving directions is detected to also moving towards sector A, the warning and monitoring mode will be activated, [0185] and For example, thresholds for warning and monitoring mode activation are applied e.g. with beam number like in the example shown in FIG. 19, [0188]), wherein transmitting the report is based at least in part on the satisfied one or more thresholds (After triggering MPE warning in S1802, the UE directly sends a report for a preferred option to the gNB, [0221]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang and Yang with the PBO of Carporal to provide a methods and a system to prevent radio link failures due to maximum permissible exposure power limitations in communications network systems as suggested, Carporal [0001].
Regarding claim 24, Kang as modified by Yang and Carporal teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compare a change of the one or more power backoff metrics to a change threshold of the one or more thresholds, wherein determining that the one or more thresholds are satisfied is based at least in part on the comparison thereof (in case D does not fall below d.sub.min (No in step S701), the process of FIG. 7 advances to step S704 in which it is checked if D falls below d.sub.max, Carporal [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang and Yang with the PBO of Carporal to provide a methods and a system to prevent radio link failures due to maximum permissible exposure power limitations in communications network systems as suggested, Carporal [0001].
Regarding claim 25, Kang as modified by Yang and Carporal teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the change of the one or more power backoff metrics comprises a change of the first power backoff metric, a change of the second power backoff metric, a change of a sum of the first power backoff metric and the second power backoff metric, or any combination thereof (in case D does not fall below d.sub.min (No in step S701), the process of FIG. 7 advances to step S704 in which it is checked if D falls below d.sub.max, Carporal [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-panel transmission of Kang and Yang with the PBO of Carporal to provide a methods and a system to prevent radio link failures due to maximum permissible exposure power limitations in communications network systems as suggested, Carporal [0001].
Regarding claim 26, Kang as modified by Yang and Carporal teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine an expiration of a timer associated with the report, wherein determining that the one or more thresholds are satisfied is based at least in part on the expiration of the timer (A power headroom report (PHR) may be triggered if any of the following events occur: there are UL resources allocated for transmission or there is a PUCCH transmission on this cell, and the required power backoff due to power management for this cell has changed more than phr-Tx-PowerFactorChange dB since the last transmission of a PHR when the MAC entity had UL resources allocated for transmission or PUCCH transmission on this cell, Kang [0412]).
Regarding claim 27, Kang as modified by Yang and Carporal teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a signal indicating uplink resources for a transmission from the UE, wherein determining that the one or more thresholds are satisfied is based at least in part on the received signal (A power headroom report (PHR) may be triggered if any of the following events occur: there are UL resources allocated for transmission or there is a PUCCH transmission on this cell, and the required power backoff due to power management for this cell has changed more than phr-Tx-PowerFactorChange dB since the last transmission of a PHR when the MAC entity had UL resources allocated for transmission or PUCCH transmission on this cell, Kang [0412]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641