Response to Arguments
With respect to the teachings of Fukuda, applicants argued that the examples do not disclose either hydroxy group containing fatty acid or hydrotalcite:
Response: the disclosure of Fukuda is not limited to examples only, and the provisions for anticipation rejection do not require all embodiments to be exemplified. The anticipation rejection requires all components of the claimed composition to be explicitly taught in one single reference.
Fukuda teaches hydrotalcite having following formula:
Fatty acid of formula 2
The fatty acid can have hydroxy substitution and metal salt M is lithium [0033, 0035, 0036].
Applicants arguments with respect to Charpy impact are not commensurate with the scope of the claims or rejection as this property is not recited and examples are not reflective of the entirety of teachings of Fukuda.
With respect to Ichiyanagi the applicants argue that the reference does not teach examples with hydroxy containing fatty acid lithium salt.
Response: as stated above, the reference of Ichiyanagi is not limited to examples only, and the provisions for anticipation rejection do not require all embodiments to be exemplified. The anticipation rejection requires all components of the claimed composition to be explicitly taught in one single reference.
Applicants arguments with respect to Charpy impact are non-commensurate with the scope of the claims or the scope of rejection. Charpy impact is not claimed.
In view of the above applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, all rejections of record are restated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Fukuda (JP 6513278 full translation provided).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to claim 7, Fukuda discloses composition for stabilizing polymers. The composition comprises following components:
Component A has following chemical structure:
Component A is an organic oxoacid metal salt based on phosphate and is utilized in amount of 35-75wt% based on the content of components A-D [0020].
Component B is sodium carboxylate, encompassed by term comprising [0032], utilized in amount of 10-40 wt.% [0020]. When blended with thermoplastic polymer content of A is 0.001-10 wt.% [0030]
Component C is a metal salt of fatty acid metal salt [0035] is an aliphatic acid comprising 10-30 carbon atoms wherein preferred cation is lithium, potassium or zinc [0035]. The hydrocarbon of the fatty acid comprises hydroxyl group [0036]. 12-hydroxysteading acid is specifically named [0037]. Component C is utilized in 0-20 wt. % [0020], as such the content of the fatty acid meets the claimed range based on the amount of nucleating agent.
Component D is fatty acid as well, also encompassed by the term “comprising”.
Last but not lease Fukuda teaches use of hydrotalcites having following formulae:
and
Hydrotalcites are utilized in amount of 0.001-5 wt.% based on the amount of thermoplastic resin. With nucleating resin being up to 10 wt.%, the content of hydrotalcite also meets instantly claimed range.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, examples depict polypropylene homopolymer, which means that 100% of the repeat units are propylene units [0082]
With respect to claim 11, the pellets obtained are molded into an article [0083]
Claims 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ichiyanagi (US 5,717,013).
With respect to claim 7, Ichiyanagi discloses polypropylene composition comprising following components (per 100 parts of polypropylene) 0.01-5 pbw of alkali salt of carboxylate (Abstract), 0.01-0.5 pbw of phosphate compound of formula 1, and 0.01-0.5 of lithium aluminum compound.
Alkali salt of carboxylate is defined as alkali salt of carboxylic acid, which includes 12-hydroxy stearic acid, wherein alkali salt is lithium, especially when lithium salts of aliphatic monocarboxylic acids are preferred, in particular those having 8-12 carbon atoms.
Phosphate compound has following structure (col. 6):
Lithium aluminum compound is a hydrotalcite having following formula (col. 7, line 43-44)
With respect to the amounts, normalizing the amount of the additives per 100 parts of phosphate compound, both fatty acid salt and hydrotalcite meet the claimed range. With phosphate being 0.01-0.5 and fatty acid salt being 0.01-5, and hydrotalcite being 0.01-0.5, the lower range alone meets 1:1:1 ratio or 100% to 100% to 100%.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, propylene polymer used in the example is isotactic polypropylene, with no comonomer therefore all repeat units are propylene units.
With respect to claim 11, the composition comprises melt blending all the components extruding into pellets or granulates (see examples, and col. 7). Obtained pellets were injection molded into specimen, wherein a test specimen is an article.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda (JP 6513278).
The discussion of Fukuda from paragraph 1 of this office action is incorporated here by reference. Fukuda as disclosed above teaches all the components of claim 7 which includes all the additives in the polypropylene composition. The difference between the prior art and the instant invention is that the prior art seems to add all the components together while instant invention makes an additive pre-mix, before it is incorporated into polyolefin.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)C is directed to chances in sequence of adding ingredients. In re Burgans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) dictates that the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in absence of new and unexpected results; In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPW 230 (CCPA 1930) states that selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.
With respect to claim 1, In examples Fukuda teaches premixing components A-D but does not teach adding hydrotalcite along with the additives. Hydrotalcite of Fukuda are fillers which would not chemically, affect the composition of the premix, as such it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make a pre-mix that include hydrotalcite and thereby obtain claimed invention.
With respect to claims 2-4, Fukuda teaches following oxoacid compounds:
Dicarboxylates include:
These are the same compounds listed in the instant specification as originally filed.
With respect to instant claim 5, lithium salt of 12-hydroxystearic acid is explicitly named [0036-0037].
With respect to claim 6, hydrotalcites of Fukuda have following structures:
OR
Rejection of Claims 1-9 and 11 was addressed in paragraph 1.
With respect to claim 10, Fukuda adds pre-mix to the polymer to make the molded product.
In the light of the above disclosure it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to utilize hydrotalcite of Fukuda as part of the pre-mix and thereby obtain the claimed invention. Such modification would still provide polymeric moldings that have excellent transparency and physical properties.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiyanagi (US 5,717,013).
The discussion of Ichiyanagi from paragraph 2 of this office action is incorporated here by reference.
In the examples Ichiyanagi, propylene homopolymer was mixed with equal amounts of each component. The components were blended together in a Henschel mixer before they are melt-kneaded.
The difference between instant invention and the teachings of Ichiyanagi is premixing additives and then add them to the polyolefin.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)C is directed to chances in sequence of adding ingredients. In re Burgans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) dictates that the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in absence of new and unexpected results; In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPW 230 (CCPA 1930) states that selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.
With respect to claim 1, all component were blended dry without raising any temperature and therefore no chemical reactions have occurred. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to first pre-mix the additives and then add them to the polymeric component. Such modification would not adversely affect the distribution of the additive within the polymeric matrix since the mixing stage of Ichiyanaga is non-productive stage.
With respect to claims 2-5, utilizing specification as a dictionary Ichiyanaga teaches following compound:
With respect to claim 6, Ichiyanagi discloses hydrotalcite having following formula (col. 7)
Rejection of claims 7-9 and 11 from paragraph 2 is incorporated here by reference.
With respect to claim 10, Ichiyanagi discloses adding the additives to the polymer (see the discussion in claim 1). The blend is mixed, extruded into pellets and injection molded into an article.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 27, 2025