DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, see amendments/remarks, filed on November 18, 2025, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,277,895 to Zhou et al and the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Zhou et al (6,277,895) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The aforesaid claim rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because it depends on a cancelled claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al (US 2016/0333452 A1).
Johnson discloses a method of alloying metals having a phase form dependent upon temperature is provided. The method may include the steps of: obtaining a plurality of dissimilar materials configured to provide large areas of contact between the plurality of materials; layering the dissimilar materials in an alternating pattern; heating the dissimilar materials; melting the dissimilar materials; mixing the melted dissimilar materials; and cooling the mixed dissimilar materials to form an ingot [0016].
Johnson discloses he formation of alloys of CuAlNi is of particular interest herein, and has been developed with great success. Stacking alternating layers of the more reactive metal such as Al, with other metals (such as Cu and Ni) in thin layers before heating may allow and even enhance diffusion of the reactive metal (e.g., Al) into the other metals (e.g., into the Cu and into Ni), and the energy of the reaction may further elevate the temperature of the mixture over the entire surface of contact, avoiding the violent explosive-type events that may occur if difference in temperatures occur in nearby regions [0011].
When a claim is directed to a catalyst per se (the physical substance itself), the intended use typically does not distinguish it from prior art if the chemical structure or physical properties are identical. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The Federal Circuit held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make the claim patentable. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, the use itself does not provide a patentable distinction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudoff et al (US 3,950441) alone or in view of Johnson et al (US 2016/0333452 A1).
Rudoff teaches a flask was connected to a rotating evaporator and the alumina was degassed at 0.1 mm Hg vacuum. 166 g of a concentrated salt solution containing 61% Ni(NO.sub.3).sub.2, 14% Cu(NO.sub.3).sub.2, 3% Mn(NO.sub.3)2 was siphoned into the flask containing the aluminum oxide balls and the mixture heated at 1000C for one hour with slow rotation. After cooling to room temperature, the catalyst was filtered through a Buchner funnel, washed twice with 100 cc of water, dried at 110 0C for 1 hour, and then at 170 0C for 4 hours. Under a stream of air, the catalyst was calcined at 4600C for 16 hours. The entire procedure was repeated two more times to give a catalyst having a total metals content of 15.1% nickel, 5.27% copper and 0.46% manganese. The catalyst was placed in an autoclave and was reduced at 3000C with hydrogen at 1,000 psig. Thereafter, partially hydrogenated 1,4-butynediol was charged to the autoclave together with hydrogen under a pressure of 2,500 psig. The butynediol solution had an initial carbonyl number of 34. On completion of hydrogenation, the 1,4-butanediol obtained exhibited a carbonyl number of less than 1.0 and the physical appearance of the catalyst was excellent. See Examples.
While Rudoff teaches an alloy metal made of CuAlNi metal it would be beneficial to prepare the CuAlNi according to Johnson in order the energy of the reaction may further elevate the temperature of the mixture over the entire surface of contact, avoiding the violent explosive-type events that may occur if difference in temperatures occur in nearby regions [0011].
Rudoff discloses that treating the aluminum alloy with caustic soda (NaOH)to dissolve the aluminum and leave the nickel in a highly divided form. See col. 1, lines 40-45.
However, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a catalyst metal proportion could be changed to optimize the catalyst performance through routine experimentation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAFAR F PARSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692