DETAILED ACTION
1. The Applicant’s response to the office action filed on May 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Application
2. Claims 12-20, 24-25 and 29 along with elected species u-CG-DLR Chr21: 34672959 and primer SEQ ID NO:7-8 are pending under examination. Claims 21-23, 26-27 and non-elected species and SEQ ID Nos. are previously withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to nonelected group. Claims 1-11 and 28 are canceled. The Applicant’s arguments and the amendment have been fully considered and found persuasive in-part for the following reasons.
Objection to the Specification-Withdrawn
3. The objection to the nucleotide sequences has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Maintained
Claims 12-20, 24-25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim 12 recite ‘region shown in Tables 4, 5 and/or 6’. The limitations ‘region shown in tables 4, 5 and/or 6’ are unclear and indefinite because it is not clear what
regions the tables are referring to.
Response to Arguments:
(i) With reference to rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b), the Applicant’s arguments and the amendment have been fully considered and found unpersuasive. The Applicant’s arguments drawn to the regions in tables 4, 5 and/or 6, were found unpersuasive because the claims recite tables 4, 5 and 6 and as discussed in the rejection it is not clear what the tables indicate. As noted in the MPEP 2145 VI, the limitations in the specification (tables 4, 5 and 6) cannot be read into the claims. For all the above, the rejection has been maintained and restated to address the amendment.
(ii) With reference to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) for lack of antecedent basis, the rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102-Withdrawn
5. With reference to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al., the Applicant’s arguments and the amendment have been fully considered. However, the arguments were found unpersuasive. With reference to the arguments drawn to biotinylating or enriching, and direct use of ODN as a priming site, the arguments were found unpersuasive. With reference to the arguments drawn to biotinylating or enriching, the arguments have been found unpersuasive because the claims as presented are in ‘comprising format and as noted in MPEP 2111.03 any additional steps are within the scope of the claims. With reference to the direct use of ODN as a priming site, the limitation upon which the arguments depend are not present in the claims. Further, the amendment incorporates a primer attached to ODN, as opposed to ODN as priming site. With reference to no teaching of discriminating among the modification status of cGs, the arguments were found unpersuasive because as discussed in the rejection Song et al. teach comparison of status of cGs with a reference value, which discriminates the status of cGs present in the nucleic acid. The rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-Maintained
1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 12-20, 24-25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (WO 2017/176630) in view of Cox et al. (US 2006/0188875) and Lowe et al. (Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 18, No. 7, page 1757-1761, 1990).
Song teaches a method of claim 12, wherein the method comprising: a) enzymatic covalent labeling of nucleic acid molecules of the sample of isolated cfDNA at unmodified CG, uCG, sites with hydroxymethylated CG, hmCG, sites with beta-
glucosyltransferase and derivatization of said labels with DNA oligonucleotide (capture
tag) (page 1, line 24 to line 8 on page 2, page 26 line 23 to line 33 on page 31, page 15,
line 8 to line 29 on page 17);
b) producing amplified nucleic acid molecules from the labeled sites by amplifying the nucleic acids using a nucleic acid polymerase, which contacts the template nucleic acid sequence at or around the site of the labeled uCG or hmcG and starts a polymerization from the 3’-end of an oligonucleotide primer non-covalently attached to ODN, and a second oligonucleotide primer binds to the template nucleic acid (page 2, line 3-6, page 26 line 23 to line 33 on page 31, page 15, line 8 to line 29 on page 17, page 20, line 24-34);
c) measuring labeling intensity level of uCG or hmCG template genomic nucleic acid molecules in the regions of the sample of isolated cfDNA of 100 bp regions (one or more loci) of chromosomal DNA from the human genome (page 2, line 3-6, page 26 line 23 to line 33 on page 31, page 15, line 8 to line 29 on page 17, page 20, line 24-34, page 27, line 10-14);
d) comparing or correlating the measured level of the labeled CG sites regions of step c) to a standard reference value of at least one said regions (page 2, line 3-6, page 26 line 23 to line 33 on page 31, page 15, line 8 to line 29 on page 17, page 20, line 24-34, page 19, line 3-30).
With reference to claims 13-14, Song et al. teach diagnosing a trisomy or gender based on said comparison of step c), comparable to the standard reference value from a female bearing a fetus with trisomy 21 (down’s syndrome) (page 25, line 33 to line 14 on page 27).
With reference to Claims 15-16, 19, 24, Song et al. teach that the levels of the labeled CG- containing regions in the sample of isolated cfDNA are measured by real-time quantitative polymerase chain reaction (qPCR) (page 27, line 10-14).
With reference to claims 17-18, Song et al teach that the method wherein the amplifying step b) is a ligation-mediated polymerase, wherein adapter nucleic acid sequences are ligated to the DNA fragments and the second primer binds to one strand of said ligated sequence; further comprising producing nucleic acid molecules from the labeled CG-containing regions using a nucleic acid polymerase which contacts the labeled nucleic acid sequence at or around the site of the labeled uCG or hmCG; wherein polymerization starts from the 3'-end of an oligonucleotide primer non-covalently attached to the ODN of the labeled CG-containing region of the sample of isolated cfDNA; for further amplification of labeled CG-containing regions of the sample of isolated cfDNA, an oligonucleotide primer non-covalently attached to the ODN and yet another oligonucleotide primer that binds to the one strand of an adapter sequence attached to the labeled CG-containing regions through ligation-mediated PCR are used to obtain a sample enriched in unmodified or hydroxymethylated DNA (page 17, line 10 to line 29, page 26 line 23 to line 33 on page 31).
However, Song et al. did not teach region u-CG-DLR chr21:34672959 of table 4, 5 or 6 and primer sequences of SEQ ID NO: 7 and 8 to amplify said region.
Cox et al. teach a method for detecting single nucleotide polymorphism sites in nucleic acid segments or regions of chromosome 21, wherein a nucleic acid segment of chromosome 21 comprises the region of u-CG-DLR chr21:34672959 and primers to amplify said region, wherein the nucleic acid region comprises the primer sequences of Seq ID No: 7 and 8 (para 0013, 0001-0006, 0031-0048-indicating SNP sequences in dbSNP.txt comprising said region and see sequence alignment of primer sequences of SEQ ID NO: 7 and 8).
Sequence alignment for seq ID NO: 7
Sequence 26064, US/10284444; Publication No. US20060188875A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Cox, David; Patil, Nila; Berno, Anthony; Hinds, David
TITLE OF INVENTION: Human Genomic Polymorphisms;
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/10/284,444; CURRENT FILING DATE: 2002-10-31; PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 10/166,341; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2001-09-18; NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 37858;
SEQ ID NO 26064; LENGTH: 201; TYPE: DNA; ORGANISM: Homo sapiens; Query Match 100.0%; Score 26; Length 201; Best Local Similarity Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0; 100.0%; Matches 26; Conservative 0;
Qy 1 TAGAAATCTTTAGGAGGTGGTGAATG 26
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 106 TAGAAATCTTTAGGAGGTGGTGAATG 131
Sequence alignment for SEQ ID NO: 8
SEQ ID NO 26064; LENGTH: 201; TYPE: DNA; ORGANISM: Homo sapiens Query Match 100.0%; Score 19; Length 201; Best Local Similarity 100.0%; Matches 19;
Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CATGGTGGAAGAGATGGGC 19
|||||||||||||||||||
Db 178 CATGGTGGAAGAGATGGGC 160
Lowe et al. teach a method for designing primers and evaluating their performance wherein Lowe et al. disclose a computer program for rapid selection of oligonucleotide primers for polymerase chain reaction, wherein the length of the primers designed to have 18 to 22 nucleotides or (paragraphs under subheading ‘computer program’ on page 1757-1758, abstract). Lowe et al. teach that all primers designed for over 10 gene products were experimentally tested and the results showed that all the amplification products specified by the primers are of the predicted size and also hybridize with the
appropriate cDNA or internal oligonucleotide probe (see page 1759-1760, col. 2, paragraph 1, table 1).
It would be prima facie obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Song et al. with a SNP region of chromosome 21 as taught by Cox et al. and designing a primer pair to amplify a nucleic acid region as taught by Lowe et al. to develop an improved method for detecting single nucleotide polymorphic regions or segments in chromosome 21. The ordinary person skilled in the art would have motivated to combine the method of Song et al. with a SNP region on Chromosome 21 as taught by Cox et al. and have a reasonable expectation of success because Cox et al. explicitly taught the SNP comprising regions or segments of chromosome 21 and detecting SNP variations in human to detect the haplotype pattern of chromosome 21 (para 0013) and such a modification is considered obvious over the cited prior art. Further it would be obvious to modify the method of Song et al. and Cox et al. with a method to design primers/ probes
from the known sequence as taught by Lowe et al. to improve the specificity of primers for detecting target nucleic acid in a sample. The ordinary person skilled in the art would have motivated to generate primers and probes from the known sequence as taught by Lowe et al. and have a reasonable expectation of success that such primers/ probe generated using known sequence as taught by Cox et al. would detect target nucleic acid. The claimed primers/probe are functional equivalents of the polynucleotide sequence taught by Cox et al. in view of Lowe et al. because Lowe et al. explicitly
taught that the primers/probe generated from a known sequence using a computer program would specifically amplify the target sequence and all primers designed for over 10 gene products from known sequences were experimentally tested and the results showed that all the amplification products specified by the primers are of the predicted size also hybridizes with the appropriate cDNA or internal oligonucleotide probe (see page 1760, col. 2, paragraph 1) and such a modification of the known sequences is considered obvious over the prior art. As noted in In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 at 235, more particularly, where the general conditions of a claim such as oligomer length and sequence, are disclosed in the prior art Song et al.; Cox et al. and Lowe et al.), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Routine optimization is not considered inventive and no evidence has been presented that the selection of hybridization conditions performed
was other than routine, that the products resulting from the optimization have any unexpected properties, or that the results should be considered unexpected in any way as compared to the closest prior art and such a modification of the method is considered obvious over the cited prior art.
Response to Arguments:
With reference to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Song in view of Cox et al. and Lowe et al., the Applicant’s arguments and the amendment have been fully considered and found unpersuasive. First, the amendment incorporating the limitations from the examined dependent claim 16 did not change the scope of the rejection. Second, the arguments drawn to Song et al. reference were found unpersuasive. With reference to the arguments drawn to biotinylating or enriching, and direct use of ODN as a priming site, the arguments were found unpersuasive. With reference to the arguments drawn to biotinylating or enriching, the arguments have been found unpersuasive because the claims as presented are in ‘comprising format and as noted in MPEP 2111.03 any additional steps are within the scope of the claims. With reference to the direct use of ODN as a priming site, the limitation upon which the arguments depend are not present in the claims. Further, with reference to no teaching of discriminating among the modification status of cGs, the arguments were found unpersuasive because as discussed in the rejection Song et al. teach comparison of status of cGs with a reference value, which discriminates the status of cGs present in the nucleic acid. As discussed in the rejection it would be obvious to modify the method of Song et al. with the method of Cox et al. and Lowe et al. to derive at the claimed method. For all the above the rejection has been restated to address the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101-Maintained
Claims 12-20, 24-25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception without significantly more. The
claim(s) recite a method comprising diagnosing a trisomy 21 and /or fetal gender, a process, statutory category. Claims 12-20, 24-25 and 29 recite a judicial exception (law of nature, natural phenomenon) because claims recite a correlation of the level of the labeled CG-containing regions in a cfDNA to diagnose trisomy 21 and/or fetal gender, which is a law of nature or natural phenomenon that exits in nature. The claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional steps (labeling, hybridizing, amplifying, quantitating) which do not add significantly more to the claimed method. The additional steps are not themselves natural laws, but neither are they sufficient to transform the nature of the claims because they consist of well-understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community. The additional steps consist of well-understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community (Song et al. (WO 2017/176630); Cox et al. (US 2006/0188875)). The additional steps, when viewed as a whole, add nothing significant beyond the sum of their parts taken separately. The Court has made clear that to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law, one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the words "apply it." Essentially, appending conventional steps specified at a high level of generality, to laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas cannot make those laws, phenomena, and ideas patent-eligible. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the judicial exception is not markedly different from the natural phenomenon because the claims recite diagnosing trisomy 21 and/or fetal gender based on comparing the level of the labeled CG-containing regions with a reference value. It is noted that a judicial exception itself, cannot be considered to meet the criteria of "significantly more" than a judicial exception. The Courts decision rested upon an examination of the particular claims in light of the Court's precedents, specifically Bilski, Flook and Diehr. The Court repeated the long standing exceptions (laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas) to categories of patent eligibility defined in 35 U.S.C. § 101. In conducting the analysis, the Court addressed the "machine-or-transformation" test explained in Bilski with a reminder that the test is an "important and useful clue" to patentability but that it does not trump the "law of nature" exclusion. A claim that recites a law of nature or natural correlation, with additional steps that involve well-understood, routine, conventional activity previously engaged in by researchers in the field is not patent-eligible, regardless of whether the steps result in a transformation. On the other hand, reaching back to Neilson, the Court pointed to an eligible process that included not only a law of nature (hot air promotes ignition) but also several unconventional steps involving a blast furnace) that confined the claims to a particular, useful application of the principle. For all the above, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Response to Arguments:
With reference to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101, the Applicant’ argument citing CAFC case, the arguments have been fully considered and found unpersuasive. First, the claims as present differ from the claims in the CAFC case and the arguments drawn to cfDNA size distribution are found unpersuasive because said size distribution is not present in the claims. Second, the correlation is between methylated sites with trisomy 21 or fetal gender as opposed to cfDNA size distribution. For all the above, the rejection has been maintained and restated.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SURYAPRABHA CHUNDURU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681