DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicants' arguments, filed December 17, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be fully persuasive. The following rejections and/or objections constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
While claim 5 is included in the elected group, the elected species that required the presence of at least one of the ingredients recited in this claim. As indicated on p 3 – 4 of the Office Action mailed July 28, 2025 that elected composition was free of the prior art. The search and examination was expanded by the Examiner to a species that does not require the presence of any ingredient of claim 5 and therefore claim 5 is presently withdrawn from consideration. Should the subject matter of claim 1 be determined to be in condition for allowance, the appropriateness of rejoinder of currently withdrawn within the elected group such as claim 5 and in non-elected groups would be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – New Matter
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
Claim 21 recites a particular load rate and release rate for the suspension after sterilizing at 121°C for 15 minutes. Individually, the former limitation is supported at ¶ [0035] of the PGPub of the instant application while the sterilization conditions are supported at ¶ [0070] of the PGPub of the instant application. However, these are two unconnected limitations in the disclosure as filed and that the composition has the claimed load rate and release rate specifically after sterilizing under the conditions set forth in the claims are not sufficiently supported and therefore claim 21 is not supported by the disclosure as originally filed.
If Applicant is in disagreement with the Examiner regarding support for the new claim, Applicant is respectfully requested to point to page and line number wherein support may be found for the instant invention and/or explain how implicit or inherent support for the properties of the suspension after sterilization using those particular conditions is supported by the disclosure as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Indefiniteness
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitations required of this claim cannot be determined.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "a radionuclide" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A rate is something per unit of time such as in velocity that is rate of change in position with respect to time. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the “load rate” to have a unit of time indicating how quickly the radionuclide is loaded or released. However, the specific values set forth only have % as the units with no time being indicated. A percent without time units could referencing the loading efficiency or another measure of the amount of initial radionuclide added in the reaction that is present in the final product and thus it is not clear if this limitation is the rate of change of a property in a given time span or is a property that does not contain any reference to time.
The release rate appears to have a time frame of 24 hours and therefore does align with the expected parameters of a rate. However, it is not clear if the time frame starts immediately after the sterilization at 121°C for 15 min is complete and includes the time it would take for composition to cool down or is the 24 hour time frame any 24 hour time frame after sterilization and is not defined by the sterilization step?
Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 21 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/028645 (WO’645, all citations from machine translation that accompanied the Office Action mailed July 28, 2025) in view of Wadas et al. (Chem Rev, 2010) and Aydin et al. (Turk J Chem, 2006). This rejection is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record set forth herein.
WO’645 discloses a tumor radiotherapy drug in particular with medical yttrium-90 carbon microspheres (¶ [0001]). Radioactive yttrium is complexed with the chelator EDTA (ethylenediaminetetraacetate) with carbon microspheres as the carrier (¶ [0007]). The diameter of the carbon microspheres can vary and be in the nanometer range, 20 – 100 µm or even over 100 µm (¶¶ [0018] – [0022]). Yttrium-90 carbon microspheres with a particle size of 20 μm – 30 μm are mainly used for arterial perfusion embolization radiotherapy of liver cancer and those with a particle size of 30 μm – 100 μm can be used for vascular-rich tumors such as lung cancer, kidney cancer, tongue cancer, breast cancer, cervical cancer (¶ [0026]). The radionuclide is complexed with EDTA with physical adsorption in a series of carbon microspheres with an adsorption efficiency higher than 99% and after further purification treatment, the release rate of the radionuclide is less than 0.01% (p 2, ¶ 3 of Summary of the Invention section). In vivo preparations contain 50 mCi – 600 mCi (¶ 0026]). The microspheres are administered by means of an interventional catheter, a syringe or an in vivo implantation (¶ [0027]) which requires the presence of carrier such as a liquid solution to render the microspheres capable of being administered via a catheter or a syringe.
The presence of the imaging radionuclide 89Zr is not disclosed.
Wadas et al. discloses the advantages of single-photon emissions computer tomography (SPECT) and positron emissions tomography (PET) using a contrast agent labeled with a γ-emitting radionuclide (p 2858, col 2, ¶ 2). Radiometals such as Zr have been investigated for the potential to combine their favorable decay characteristics with the biological characteristics of the targeting molecule to become a useful radiopharmaceutical (p 2859, col 2, ¶ 2 and table 2). As a consequence of its extreme hardness, a strong preference of Zr(IV) for polyanionic hard donor chelators can be expected and is borne out by the impressive stability constant of Zr with EDTA (p 2877, col 1, ¶ 3). 89Zr has been used to label a monoclonal antibody bearing the chelator moiety DTPA (p 2877, col 1, ¶ 3).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the imaging radionuclide 89Zr to the yttrium-90 microspheres of WO’645. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because both compositions are useful for the imaging and treatment of tumors and cancer. Here the composition of WO’645 permits treatment of the tumor and is complexed via the organic molecule EDTA. Wadas et al. discloses the utility of 89Zr for SPECT and PET imaging and that it forms a complex of impressive stability with EDTA. One of ordinary skill would reasonably expect to be able to also complex 89Zr with the carbon microspheres of WO’645 via EDTA to prepare constructs that are imageable due to the 89Zr and are also colocalized with the therapeutic yttrium-90 radionuclide to see exactly where treatment is taking place. One of ordinary skill in the art is aware that liquid carriers are often used to administer compositions by syringe or catheter as disclosed by WO’645 and can readily prepare a suspension as claimed. The size ranges and amount of radioactivity at least overlap with those of the instant claims. The amount of a specific ingredient in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results and there is no evidence of record as to the criticality of the claimed ranges.
EDTA is used for the purposes of chelating the radionuclides and not 5-SSA or 5-NSA as required by the instant claims.
Aydin et al. studied the complexes of yttrium(III) with 5-SSA or 5-NSA (whole document, e.g., title). Various studies such as La(III) and other lanthanide binding with 5-SSA has been previously studied but not 5-NSA (p 145). At acidic and neutral pH values, Y(III) coordinates to both 5-SSA and 5-NSA in 1:1 or higher molar ratios with neutral and basic pH values resulting in 1:2 or higher ratio complexes (p 152, item 1). The formed yttrium complexes with 5-SSA and 5-NSA have a higher stability than the complexes formed with SA and 5-HSA (salicyclic acid and 5-hydroxysalicyclic acid respectively) or those formed with calcium, a result that may be utilized for in vitro and in vivo studies since the ionic radia of Ca(II) and Y(III) are roughly equal (p 152, items 2 and 6).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use chelates of at least 90Y with 5-SSA or 5-NSA that were then mixed with the carbon microspheres of WO’645 along with 89Zr as taught by Wadas et al. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Aydin et al. discloses that 5-SSA or 5-NSA form stable complexes with yttrium(III) and suggests utilization for in vitro and in vivo studies. Different chelator-metal complexes will have different stabilities and one of ordinary skill in the art can select from amongst known chelator-metal complexes depending on the desired effects for the composition being prepared.
As to the wherein clause in claim 1 specifying the nature of the interaction of the therapeutic and imaging radionuclides with the CMS, WO’645 indicates adsorption as the mode of association. The instant specification indicates that the preparation process in which CMS are incubated with therapeutic radionuclide, imaging radionuclide and small organic molecule is sufficient to result is radionuclide absorption to the CMS. When the combined teachings of the applied prior art are considered, a process such as that used by WO’645 to load both yttrium and zirconium in the presence of the chelating moiety and incubation with CMS in solution will result in absorption of both metals to the CMS as required by the claims.
Claim 21 contains functional limitations. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on" (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph). One of ordinary skill in the art would maximize the amount of radioactive materials that are added that are present in the product to be administered both at the time of manufacture and when stored. A suspension of radioactive CMS as required by claim 1 is rendered obvious by the combination of prior art as discussed above and WO’645 discloses that carbon microspheres incubated with a solution of radioisotope and chelator can meet or exceed such properties.
Applicants traverse this rejection on the grounds that adsorption of both the therapeutic and imaging radionuclides to the CMS in suspension is required by amended claim 1. WO’645 mentions absorption but not the specific therapeutic and imaging radionuclides. Wadas does not teach or suggest 89Zr adsorption onto CMS along with Y-90. Aydin teaches Y(III) complexes with 5-SSA or 5-NSA via chelation in solution, not adsorption to CMS either separately or in combination. As the presence of an imaging radionuclide like 89Zr is not disclosed in WO’645, one ordinarily skilled in the art would not have been motivated to adsorb both therapeutic and imaging radionuclides because simultaneous local radiotherapy and real-time imaging of a tumor lesion is not mentioned in the prior art. The dependent claims are patentable in view of their dependence from claim 1.
These arguments are unpersuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). While no single prior art document explicitly discloses all of the claim limitations, when the combined explicit, implicit and inherent teachings of the applied prior art and the knowledge of one ordinary skill in the art are considered, the claims are rendered obvious. The ability of a composition to both treat via 90Y as in WO’645 and image via modalities such as SPECT or PET via 89Zr results in an image of where the therapeutic agent is as both are present in the same material and motivates the use of multiple radionuclides to produce a multi-functional construct.
Applicants also argue that there was no reasonable expectation of success that 5-SSA and 5-NSA stable complexes of Aydin would result in concurrently adsorbing two distinct radionuclides onto the CMS. None of the applied references teach or provide predictable guidance for concurrently adsorbing two distinct radionuclides onto porous carbon surface. Transitioning from strong solution chelation such as EDTA, 5-SSA or 5-NSA to surface adsorption onto carbon is a different principle of operation and the art does not establish that both radionuclides can be reliably adsorbed and retained on CMS under conditions of a medical suspension. The equilibria of the Y(III) complexes in Aydin at different pH values versus other salicylates, further reducing the predictability as to whether Y(III) remains chelated with 5-SSA/5-NSA, transfers to the carbon surface or is displaced by other ligands in suspension, failing to provide an accurate predictor for surface adsorption to a CMS. Two radionuclides and multiple chelators of EDTA/5-SSA/5-NSA results is system in which competitive binding and ligand exchange becomes highly competitive. The cited art provides no teaching of simultaneous adsorption let alone stable in a medical grade suspension. Amount optimization does not resolve the core uncertainty about the mode of association. The success of the dual adsorption in a CMS suspension suitable for clinical applications is not reasonably predictable over the cited prior art.
These arguments are unpersuasive. WO’645 establishes that metal-chelator complexes can be adsorbed onto carbon microspheres without the need for special steps or reactions and an adsorption efficiency higher than 99% and after further purification treatment, the release rate of the radionuclide is less than 0.01% are disclosed by WO’645. WO’645 does not indicate that EDTA is the only chelator capable of such adsorption (e.g., dependent claim 2 recites a complex with EDTA and therefore claim 1 is broader) special steps are not required for adsorption to occur. This aligns with the method of the instant application in which a complex of the second radionuclide with the chelator prior is formed prior to addition to the CMS. Rather, the second radionuclide is added to the solution of CMS, chelator and first radionuclide. Therefore that radioisotope containing complexes can adsorb to carbon microspheres is taught in the applied prior art. Broad ranges for the amount each radionuclide are encompassed by the claims and the arguments do not establish the lack of a reasonable expectation of success. While one of ordinary skill may not have an absolute expectation of success that complexes of yttrium with 5-SSA or 5-NSA incubated in the presence of the microsphere material of WO’645 and 89Zr would be adsorbed, given the teachings of the applied prior art particularly WO’645, there would be the requisite reasonable expectation of success that multiple metal ions could be adsorbed in a composition comprising CMS, 5-SSA or 5-NSA and the two required radionuclides. Aydin et al. alone is not required to provide the reasonable expectation of success as the rejection is made over the combination of references. The claims set forth the ingredients that must be present in the claimed composition and the both radionuclides “are adsorbed to the CMS in suspension” but does not exclude the presence of other chelators or specify that, for example, the adsorbed radionuclides are complexed with the 5-SSA OR 5-NSA that is in turn adsorbed to the surface. Rather the claims are silent as to the exact structure other than requiring adsorption to the CMS for the therapeutic and imaging radionuclides. Arguments without factual support are mere allegations and are not found persuasive. The general statements about metal ion equilibrium are insufficient to establish that there is no reasonable expectation of success and level of complexity alone is not necessarily sufficient to establish the lack of a reasonable expectation of success as complex systems are capable of reasonably predictable behaviors. Nothing in the claims requires a medical grade suspension and the requirements of claim 21 can be met in any conditions (e.g., temperature or constituents of the composition other than those explicitly required by the claims) as the only conditions specified relate to the sterilization step. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicants also provide a citation to a court case that discussed the discovery of previously unknown problem and argue that prior to Applicant’s invention, contrast agents needed to be administered separately from the therapeutic drug for imaging and in vivo distribution and metabolism of the contrast agent were inconsistent with those radioactive microspheres as 90Y microspheres can only provide low quality SPECT and PET images. The same points about the prior art discussed above are reiterated in this section. The outcomes of the present invention have a nexus to the claimed dual adsorption and co-localization of imaging and therapeutic radionuclides on the CMS and the two-prong test of the cited court case are met as the inventor has identified a problem and solve the problem not known by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
These arguments are unpersuasive. The rationale set forth in an obviousness rejection need not be the same reason as Applicants reason. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage, such as by framing the problem to be solved differently, which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicants also argue the presence of unexpected advantageous properties not possessed by any of the cited references. The data in WO’645 as to adsorption rate and release rate was not shown to be determined by any methods or experiments and lacks an imaging radionuclide. The protocol for measuring the adsorption rate and release rate are set forth in the instant application and results from several of the examples are presented in the remarks. These properties are attributable to the claimed dual adsorption of both radionuclides on the same CMS, ensuring co-localization during therapy and imaging. Low radioactive uptake in non-target tissue is achieved whereas an in vivo adsorption rate and release rate is not demonstrated in the yttrium-90 CMS of WO’645, properties with unobvious and unexpected advantages.
These arguments are unpersuasive. The arguments of record have also not established that WO’645 is not enabled and/or that the stated limitations in WO’645 regarding the loading and release rate of the radionuclide cannot be met for the materials disclosed therein. Attention is directed to MPEP 716.02 et seq. for a complete discussion of unexpected results. Demonstration of unexpected results requires a comparison with the closest prior art and cannot just be a statement of results obtained from two completely different sources as differences in conditions can result in alter the results. When a side by side comparison is carried out, potential confounding factors from experiments being carried out in different labs at different points of time are removed. Even if such a comparison was carried out and differences were observed, if those differences were in fact unexpected must be established by an indication as to what the expected results would be. When the totality of the evidence of record is considered, the evidence in support of the alleged unexpected results does not outweigh the prima facie case of obviousness.
Claim(s) 2 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/028645, Wadas et al. and Aydin et al. as applied to claims 1, 4 and 21 above, and further in view of Fang et al. (Angew Chem Int Ed, 2010). This rejection is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record set forth herein.
WO’645, Wadas et al. and Aydin et al. are discussed above.
WO’645 does not explicitly describe the carbon microspheres having micro and meso pores.
Fang et al. discloses that other groups have synthesized mesoporous carbon microspheres with the diameter over 50 mm (p 7987, col 2, ¶ 1) and report the synthesis of mesoporous carbon nanoparticles with spherical morphology and uniform size (p 7987, col 2, ¶ 2). These mesoporous materials also contained micropores (see table 1). Their open-framework structures, large surface area and porosity, and nanosize make ordered mesoporous nanoparticles useful in adsorption and cellular delivery amongst others (p 7987, col 1, ¶1). Carbon nanoparticles are nontoxic, biocompatible, and nonimmunogenic, which allows them to be used extensively in cellular delivery (p 7987, col 1, ¶ 1).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use carbon microspheres with meso and micropores as the base of the composition rendered obvious by WO’645 and Wadas et al. that permits imaging of the carbon microspheres also bearing the therapeutic radionuclide after administration to a subject. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because the presence of pores of various sizes increases the surface area where materials such as the radionuclides can attach to and there is no evidence of record as to unexpected results arising from the presence of micro- and meso-pores in the carbon microsphere. The desired application of the carbon particles determines the desired overall size of the particles and particles for embolization must be of a certain size as disclosed by WO’645 and the pore structure will still provide advantages such as a large surface area for larger particles.
Applicants argue that Fang does not disclose any radionuclide adsorption, let alone the simultaneous dual adsorption of two different radionuclides. The material in Fang has nanometer dimensions along with meso/micropores and not the micrometer, not disclosing or suggesting all of the limitations of claim 2. Figures 2A and 2B of the instant application show particles with a smooth surface mainly 20 – 45 µm in size. WO’645 and Fang each teach one limitation of this claim and not the other while Wadas and Aydin are unrelated to CMS size or porosity.
These arguments are unpersuasive. "The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference .... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413,425 (CCPA 1981) MPEP 2145(III). The overall particle size is taught by WO’645 as the range of 30 – 100 µm for use in vascular rich tumors substantially overlaps with the claimed and that such materials can contain meso- and micro-pores is taught by Fang et al. That the particles have a smooth surface is not required by the instant claims and given the scale bar in the referenced figures, it is not clear that such features would be apparent and/or that steps were taken that result in a particle whose interior comprises meso- and micro-pores but the surface is free of such pores.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 21 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,533,430 in view of in view of WO 2018/028645 (WO’645, all citations from machine translation that accompanied the Office Action mailed July 28, 2025) and Wadas et al. (Chem Rev, 2010) optionally further in view of Fang et al. (Angew Chem Int Ed, 2010).
Note that since the mailing of the previous Office Action in this case, Application 17/916,091 issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,533,430 so the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection over the application is now a non-provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection based on the issued patent.
The claims of US’430 result in the preparation of metal nuclide loaded carbon microspheres complexed with an organic molecule (such as 5-SSA or 5-NSA, see claim 3) and a metal ion (such as yttrium, samarium, holmium or lutetium, see claim 4) (claim 1)
That the metal ion is a therapeutic radionuclide, the presence of a second radionuclide as an imaging radionuclide and the presence of a solution as required by the instant claims is not claimed.
WO’645, Wadas et al. and Fang et al. are discussed above.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radionuclide in the composition of US’091 such as the yttrium-90 of WO’645 and the imaging radionuclide 89Zr. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because both compositions are useful for the imaging and treatment of tumors and cancer. Here the composition of US’091 with yttrium-90 permits treatment of the tumor and is complexed via the organic molecule EDTA. Wadas et al. discloses the utility of 89Zr for SPECT and PET imaging and that it forms a complex of impressive stability with EDTA. One of ordinary skill would reasonably expect to be able to also complex 89Zr with the carbon microspheres of US’091 and WO’645 via EDTA to prepare constructs that are imageable due to the 89Zr and are also colocalized with the therapeutic yttrium-90 radionuclide to see exactly where treatment is taking place. One of ordinary skill in the art is aware that liquid carriers are often used to administer compositions by syringe or catheter as disclosed by WO’645 and can readily prepare a suspension as claimed. The size ranges and amount of radioactivity at least overlap with those of the instant claims. The amount of a specific ingredient in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results and there is no evidence of record as to the criticality of the claimed ranges.
If the meso and micro pores of claim 1 are not present in the materials of US’091, Fang et al. renders obvious the presence of such pores use carbon microspheres with meso and micropores as the base of the composition rendered obvious by US’091, WO’645 and CN’576 that permits imaging of the carbon microspheres also bearing the therapeutic radionuclide after administration to a subject. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because the presence of pores of various sizes increases the surface area where materials such as the radionuclides can attach to and there is no evidence of record as to unexpected results arising from the presence of micro- and meso-pores in the carbon microsphere.
As to the wherein clause in claim 1 specifying the nature of the interaction of the therapeutic and imaging radionuclides with the CMS, WO’645 indicates adsorption as the mode of association. The instant specification indicates that the preparation process in which CMS are incubated with therapeutic radionuclide, imaging radionuclide and small organic molecule is sufficient to result is radionuclide absorption to the CMS. When the combined teachings of the applied prior art are considered, a process such as that used by WO’645 to load both yttrium and zirconium in the presence of the chelating moiety and incubation with CMS in solution will result in absorption of both metals to the CMS as required by the claims.
Claim 21 contains functional limitations. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on" (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph). One of ordinary skill in the art would maximize the amount of radioactive materials that are added that are present in the product to be administered both at the time of manufacture and when stored. A suspension of radioactive CMS as required by claim 1 is rendered obvious by the combination of prior art as discussed above and WO’645 discloses that carbon microspheres incubated with a solution of radioisotope and chelator can meet or exceed such properties.
Applicants acknowledge this rejection and will respond accordingly when the application is in condition for allowance if the obviousness-type double patenting rejection is maintained.
As set forth above, the non-statutory double patenting rejection is maintained for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
/Nissa M Westerberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618