Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brennan, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0134386 in view of Annis, et al, WO 0222352 and Uitenbroek et al, U.S. Patent No. 2008/0076313.
Brennan discloses a wipe. See abstract and paragraph 0058-0063. The wipes can be placed in a container in a stack or in a folded configuration such as c fold or z fold. See paragraph 0063. The wipe can include lotions and ointments. See paragraph 0059. The wipes comprises a nonwoven web comprising fibers having a length of at least about 38 mm. See paragraph 0043. The fibers have a dtex of at least 0.8 dtex and up to about 8 dtex. See paragraph 0044. The fibers can include rayon fibers as well as viscose, lyocell and mixtures thereof. See paragraph 0045. The web can also include pulp fibers. See paragraph 0046. The nonwoven can include less than about 10% of binder. See paragraph 0047. The nonwoven can have a basis weight of 5-200 gsm. See paragraph 0048. The webs can have embossed and compressed areas. See paragraph 0050. Brennan teaches that longer fibers produce softer and more cloth like nonwovens. See paragraph 0043.
Brennan differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that a third set of fibers which are either lyocell or viscose can be present having a longer length and a higher dtex.
However, Annis discloses a wipe. The wipes can be premoistened. See page 1, lines 11-20. Annis teaches that wipes are known to be formed from nonwoven fabrics which can include rayon and lyocell fibers. The rayon and lyocell fibers can have a length of 8 mm and a denier of 1.5. See table 3 on page 18. The nonwoven can have a basis weight of 30-90 gsm. See page 12, lines 16-17.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated both shorter and longer length fibers in the nonwoven of Brennan, in view of the teaching of Annis that shorter fibers having a denier of 1.5 were useful in forming wipes and the teaching of Brennan that longer fibers provided improved softness.
Brennan teaches a range of dtex of from 0.8-8 dtex for the fibers. Additionally, Uitenbroek teaches that the dtex or regenerated cellulose fiers can be selected to provide the desired hand feel of a particular cloth. Utenbroek teaches that higher deniers produce a coarser feel to the fabric. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have selected the particular dtex of the longer fibers in order to provide the desired hand feel to the fabric. Uitenbroek teaches suitable ranges of 0.5 -20. See paragraph 0025.
With regard to the cross-sectional shape of the manmade cellulosic fibers, in the absence of disclosure to the contrary, it is reasonable to expect that the fibers have a round or circular cross-section, because that is the default and most common fiber shape.
With regard to the properties of tensile strength, lotion consumption, elongation , missed dispensings per 22 wipes, it would have been obvious to have provided the wipes so that they had sufficient tensile strength, elongation and missed dispensings so that the wipes had enough tensile strength and elongation to be folded and then successfully removed from the package of wipes once they were folded and disposed in the package. Further, with regard to lotion consumption, since the same types of fibers in the same lengths and dtex are employed to make the wipes, it is reasonable to expect that the wipes would have the claimed lotion consumption, since the wipes of Brennan are intended to include lotion.
Claim (s) 5-7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brennan et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0134386 in view of Annis, et al, WO 0222352 and Uitenbroek et al, U.S. Patent No. 2008/0076313as set forth above and further in view of Ramaratnam et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0330029.
Brennan discloses a wipe as set forth above.
Brennan differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose employing regenerated cellulose fibers having a lobed cross section.
However, Ramaratnam discloses incorporating regenerated cellulose fibers such as rayon or lyocell having a lobed, (non-circular), cross section into wipes. See paragraph 0021.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed lobed fibers in the wipe in view of their art recognized suitability for the intended purpose.
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous rejection. A new rejection is set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789