DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-24, 26, 36-38, 41-43, 47-49 have been cancelled. Claims 25, 27-35, 39-40, 44-46 are pending. Claims 44-46 have been withdrawn. Claims 25, 27-35, 39-40 have been amended. Claims 25, 27-35, 39-40 are examined herein.
Applicant’s amendments have rendered all the rejections of the last Office Action moot, therefore hereby withdrawn. The following new rejections will now apply.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 25, 27-35, 39-40 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 17/922,623 in view of Redmond et al. (US Patent Application 2010/0158988 A1, of record). The fact pattern is the same as the 103 obviousness rejection below. The limitation “pouch” is given little patentable weight since it is considered preamble or intended use of a composition.This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 25, 27-35, 39-40 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/265,921 in view of Redmond et al. (US Patent Application 2010/0158988 A1, of record). The fact pattern is the same as the 103 obviousness rejection below. The limitation “pouch” is given little patentable weight since it is considered preamble or intended use of a composition.This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 27-35, 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubinette et al. (WO 2010/104464) in view of Redmond et al. (US Patent Application 2010/0158988 A1, of record).
The instant claims are directed to a pouch comprising a composition comprising water, a biologically active agent (nicotine), β-glucan, and a filling agent.
Hubinette et al. teach a semi-permeable pouch designed for delivery of an active agent in the oral cavity of a subject comprising multiple particles, such as sodium alginate, and the active agents, nicotine (abstract) and antioxidants (page 14, lines 15-18). Fillers, such as microcrystalline cellulose (or plant fiber), can be added to the pouch (page 15, lines 7-9). Flavoring agents, taste maskers, plasticizers, gums, and sweeteners (or polyols), such as sorbitol, xylitol, and mannitol are taught (page 16, lines 1-20). Examples 6-8 show a composition comprising 5.5 g of nicotine, 3 g of sorbitol, and 80 or 150 g of aqueous potassium phosphate buffer with pH 8.5.
However, Hubinette et al. fail to disclose β glucans and the specific amounts of water.
Redmond et al. teaches compositions comprising cereal β (1-3) β (1-4) glucans together with pharmaceutical, medicinal, and therapeutic agents (paragraph 0002), for example nicotine (paragraph 0125) for oral use (paragraph 0114). Cereal β (1-3) β (1-4) glucans are distinctive polymers of glucose that forms a matrix to sequester pharmaceutical, medical, and therapeutic agents for delivery in the mouth (abstract). In a preferred embodiment, the glucan and compound of interest are mixed and left undisturbed for a period of time sufficient to form a homogenous composition or a homogenous emulsion. In an another embodiment, an aqueous solution is formed (paragraphs 0030-0032). The compositions can also be in the form of a tablet, capsule, floss, (paragraph 0048), films (paragraph 0090), and powders (paragraph 0074). The amount of glucan can range from 5 to 50 wt% (paragraph 0082) and the amount of pharmaceutical, medicinal, and therapeutic agent can range from 0.0001 to 50 wt% (paragraph 0083). Other gums, such as those listed in Table 2, are taught (paragraph 0012). By “gum” Redmond et al. means a plant or microbial polysaccharide or their derivatives that are dispersible in either cold or hot water to produce viscous mixtures or solutions, and may be classified by origin: exudate gums, seaweed gums, seed gums, starch and cellulose derivative, and microbial gums (paragraph 0061). Sorbitol esters (filling agent) and other surfactants, such as Atmos 300 and Polysorbate 80 (paragraph 0111), flavouring agents (paragraph 0090), sweeteners (paragraphs 0094-0098), and methyl cellulose (tables 1-2) are taught. The amount of surfactants can be from 0.1 to 15% by weight (paragraph 0111).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used cereal β (1-3) β (1-4) glucan in an aqueous solution, as taught by Redmond et al., to sequester nicotine in a pouch, as taught by Hubinette et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use cereal β (1-3) β (1-4) glucan in an aqueous solution to sequester nicotine in a pouch because both Redmond and Hubinette et al. teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising nicotine for oral delivery. Furthermore, Redmond et al. teach that cereal β (1-3) β (1-4) glucans are known to sequester pharmaceutically active agents, such as nicotine, in a matrix with water to form various homogenous compositions that are effective to orally deliver the pharmaceutical. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in forming a pouch comprising nicotine, cereal β (1-3) β (1-4) glucan, sorbitol, microcrystalline cellulose, and water for delivery to the oral cavity.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the amount of water to 30-60 wt% because both Redmond and Hubinette et al. teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising water. Generally, mere optimization of ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382; lt has been held that it is within the skills in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) MPEP 2114.04
Conclusion
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623