DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 05 March 2026. Claims 1-9 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-9.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, “the human body” should apparently read --a human body--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0250446 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a nanoparticle providing medium for hyperthermia (Abstract), comprising nanoparticles 30 and one or more divided regions 20, wherein the nanoparticles are captured in the one or more divided regions and blocked from contact with the human body ([0018]-[0019]; [0023]; [0027]; e.g., the nanoparticles may be infused into the catheter body; even if they are part of the surface layer, the majority of the nanoparticles will be below the surface and thus blocked from contact with the human body; further, they may be provided with a specific infusion depth and, while positioned near the surface, still blocked from contact with the human body), and wherein the nanoparticle providing medium is configured to be inserted into a target site to be treated ([0003]; [0018]-[0022]; [0026]; implantable/insertable into the body, such as the central venous circulatory system).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses that the nanoparticles are made of one or more materials capable of self-heating ([0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses that the nanoparticle providing medium for hyperthermia is made of one or more of polycaprolactone, poly(ethylene-vinyl acetate), polydioxanone and silicone ([0023]; [0027]), and the size or length of the nanoparticle providing medium is adjusted according to a size of the target site to be treated ([0023]; e.g., variable coating thickness; capable of this intended use, e.g., based upon a diameter of a vein that the device is inserted into).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses that the nanoparticle providing medium is configured in the shape of a tube or a catheter (Fig. 2; [0018]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses a hyperthermia system using a nanoparticle providing medium (Abstract), comprising the nanoparticle providing medium according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1) and an alternating magnetic field device, wherein the alternating magnetic field device applies an alternating magnetic field to the nanoparticle providing medium ([0017]-[0019]), and the nanoparticle providing medium is configured to block contact between the nanoparticles and the human body ([0018]-[0019]; [0023]; [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tai (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0344518 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that data from the nanoparticle providing medium is wirelessly transmitted to an external control device. Tai discloses a similar system (Abstract) that includes a temperature sensor for measuring temperature, wherein data from the temperature sensor is wirelessly transmitted to an external control device in order to control the heating of a target site ([0007]; [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with such a temperature sensor for wirelessly transmitting data to an external control device, as taught by Tai, in order to control the heating of the target site.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose a sensor configured to sense temperature, pressure, oxygen saturation or pH of the surface of the nanoparticle providing medium. Tai discloses a similar system (Abstract) that includes a temperature sensor configured to sense temperature of a surface in order to control the heating of a target site ([0007]; [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with such a temperature sensor for sensing temperature of the surface of the nanoparticle providing medium, as taught by Tai, in order to control the heating of the target site.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 2, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests a cap coupled to one end of such a nanoparticle providing medium. Regarding claim 8, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests such a nanoparticle providing medium that is configured in the shape of a plate or a patch.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the objection to claim 9 and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The objection and rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections based upon Maier have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. These rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections based on Lee have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Lee only teaches nanoparticles on the surface, not captured in one or more divided regions of a nanoparticle providing medium and blocked from contact with the human body, wherein the nanoparticle providing medium itself is configured to be inserted into the target site. The examiner disagrees. As detailed supra and in the previous Office action, Lee teaches nanoparticles that may be infused into different portions/regions of the catheter at various depths below the surface, thus blocking them from contact with the human body. Further, the catheter is implanted, e.g., in veins of a patient, thus being inserted into a target site. To the extent that Applicant argues that the present invention provides a hyperthermia effect to a wide site without concentrating on one localized region, this language does not appear in the present claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791