DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 03/04/2026 have been fully considered. Claims 1-6, 9-11, 13, 16-17, 19, 22-23, 25, 29-31, and 50-51 are pending in this application. Claim 22 is amended. Claims 7-8, 12, 14-15, 18, 20-21, 24, 26-28, and 32-49 are cancelled. Claims 1-6, 9-11, 13, 25, 27, and 29-31 are withdrawn. Claims 50-51 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Though overall some of the same prior art references are used herein, at least applicant’s request for continued examination, the amendment of claim 22, and the addition of newly added claims 50 and 51 required a change in the grounds of the rejection as detailed below in the prior art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, 19, 22, 23, 27, and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spencer (Patent No. US 3,378,432 A) in view of Locke et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0353663 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Spencer teaches a foam layer (Abstract; Figures 7, 9 and 10) having a first side (layer has a first, top side of region K; Figure 7, 9, and 10), a second side (layer has a second, bottom side of region K; Figure 7, 9, and 10; Column 3, lines 11-23), and a first thickness from the first side to the second side (non-compressed region K has a first thickness from the first to the second side; Figure 7, 9, and 10; Column 6, lines 31-55);
a plurality of blind apertures disposed in the first side (plurality of apertures 30 with thickness W on the first side; Figure 7, 9, and 10; Column 6, lines 59-73), each of the blind apertures having a second thickness from the first side to the second side (each of apertures 30 has a second thickness W from the first side to the second side; Figure 7, 9, and 10; Column 6, lines 59-73). Spencer does not teach a dressing for treating a tissue site, the dressing comprising a tissue interface having: the foam layer, and the tissue interface having a first density at the first thickness and a second density at the second thickness.
However, Locke teaches a dressing for treating a tissue site (dressing 104 to treat tissue site; Figure 2; Paragraph 0116), the dressing comprising a tissue interface having: the foam layer (tissue interface 114/210 made of foam; Paragraph 0116; Figure 1-2).
Spencer and Locke are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of foam materials for articles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spencer to incorporate the teachings of Locke and have the foam layer of Spencer be the tissue interface of the wound dressing of Locke. This allows for a flexible and soft material to be in contact with the skin of the user (Locke; Paragraph 0116).
The combination of Spencer in view of Locke further teaches the tissue interface having a first density at the first thickness and a second density at the second thickness (Spencer; non-compressed region K having a first density at the first thickness and compressed apertures W having a second density at the second thickness that is greater than the first density because of the heated embossing method; Figures 7, 9, and 10; Column 6, lines 31-55 and Column 6, lines 59-73).
Regarding claim 17, Spencer in view of Locke teaches the dressing of claim 16. The combination of Spencer in view of Locke further teaches wherein the second density is greater than the first density (Spencer; non-compressed region K having a first density at the first thickness and compressed apertures W having a second density at the second thickness that is greater than the first density because of the heated embossing method; Figures 7, 9, and 10; Column 6, lines 31-55 and Column 6, lines 59-73).
Regarding claim 19, Spencer in view of Locke teaches the dressing of claim 16. The combination of Spencer in view of Locke further teaches wherein the second thickness is less than the first thickness (Spencer; non-compressed region K having a first thickness and compressed apertures W having a second density at the second thickness that is less than a first thickness because of the heated embossing method; Figures 7, 9, and 10; Column 6, lines 31-55 and Column 6, lines 59-73).
Regarding claim 22, Spencer in view of Locke teaches the dressing of claim 16. Spencer further teaches wherein each of the plurality of blind apertures comprises a perimeter at the first surface of the foam layer (edge of indentation/aperture 30 has a perimeter at the first, top surface of the foam layer; Figure 7, 9, and 10; Column 6, lines 31-58), and transition zones between the first thickness and the second thickness at the perimeter (curved edge of the aperture 30 between first thickness K and second thickness W is the transition zone and is located at perimeter; Figure 10).
Regarding claim 23, Spencer in view of Locke teaches the dressing of claim 22. The combination of Spencer in view of Locke does not expressly teach wherein the transition zones have a radius of curvature from about 3 mm to about 5 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transition zones have a radius of curvature from about 3 mm to about 5 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)(MPEP 2144.04)(IV)(A). In the instant case, the dressing of Spencer in view of Locke would not operate differently with the claimed radius of curvature since it has the same function of absorbing the fluid from the wound site. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the radius of curvature is “about” within the claimed ranges (specification; paragraph 00102).
Regarding claim 50, Spencer in view of Locke teaches the dressing of claim 16. The combination of Spencer in view of Locke further teaches wherein the plurality of blind apertures form walls having a surface parallel to and coincident with the first surface of the foam layer (Spencer; walls of aperture 30 with width of W having a surface at the bottom of the aperture that is parallel to the first surface of the foam or top surface of region K; Figure 7, 9, and 10).
Regarding claim 51, Spencer in view of Locke teaches the dressing of claim 16. The combination of Spencer in view of Locke further teaches wherein a surface of the first side of the foam layer is continuous and separates each aperture of the plurality of blind apertures from adjacent blind apertures (Spencer; first, top side of region K of foam layer has a continuous surface that separates each aperture 30 from other apertures 30; Figures 7, 9, and 10).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE-PH MINH PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781