NON-FINAL ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 29 December 2025 with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 30 September 2022. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 24 and 47 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24: it appears that “rotatable rotator” in line 18 should be ---rotatable rotor---.
Claim 47: it appears that “rotatable rotator” in line 21 should be ---rotatable rotor---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29, 34, 36, and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 29, it is unclear if “an actuator” refers to the actuator previously recited in claim 24, upon which said claim depends, or to a different actuator. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that the actuator refers to the actuator previously recited in claim 24. Claims 34, 36, and 41-44 are rejected for the same reason due to their dependency upon said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 28, 29, 33, 34, 38-41, 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3782735 (Larsson) in view of CN 202638603 (Tong et al., hereinafter Tong).
Regarding 24, Larsson discloses a centrifuge (centrifugal separation system 1, Fig. 1) comprising: a rotatable rotor (4, Fig. 1); and an assembly (housing 24, Fig. 1) that is stationary during operation of the centrifuge, wherein the rotatable rotor is rotatably mounted in or on the stationary assembly by one or more bearing devices (upper and lower bearings as shown in Fig. 1), wherein the rotatably rotor comprises a rotatable drum (rotor 4 is the drum, Fig. 1), a drive element (electric motor 22, Fig. 1) for rotating the drum, one or more electrical loads (control unit 32, pressure sensors 24 and 36, Fig. 1; pressure sensor 50, Fig. 5e) arranged in the rotatable rotor, an inlet (10, Fig. 1), at least two different outlets (light phase outlet 12 and heavy phase outlet 14 and/or 42, Fig. 1 and 2), wherein a disc pack (a stack of frustoconical separation disks 16, Fig. 1) is arranged in the rotatable drum, wherein the disc pack has a stack of separating discs (separation disks 18, Fig. 1), wherein the centrifuge further comprises at least one battery electrically coupled to supply the one or more electrical loads with electrical power, wherein the at least one battery is arranged on or in the rotatable rotor (para. [0095]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more electrical loads include at least one actuator, which is an electrically actuatable control valve, and wherein the at least one battery is configured to supply electrical energy to the at least one actuator during a first operating state in which the rotatable rotor is rotating and during a second operation state in which the rotatable rotator is motionless.
Tong discloses analogous art related to a centrifugal device, wherein the one or more electrical loads include at least one actuator, which is an electrically actuatable control valve (electromagnetic valve 106, Fig. 1, para. [0032] of machine translation), and wherein the at least one battery is configured to supply electrical energy to the at least one actuator during a first operating state in which the rotatable rotor is rotating and during a second operation state in which the rotatable rotator is motionless (the electromagnetic valve 106 is closed during centrifugation, and after separation is completed, the centrifuge motor stops, the electromagnetic valve 106 is opened, Abstract, para. [0031] of machine translation; electromagnetic valve 106 uses power supplied by the battery on the centrifuge cup, para. [0011] and [0032] of machine translation). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of Larsson with the electrically actuatable control valve and supply it electrical energy from an on-board battery as taught by Tong for the purpose of allowing electrical control of discharge openings in the rotor (Abstract, Tong) and avoiding an external power source cable from winding, knotting or even tearing (para. [0032] of machine translation, Tong).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses the one or more electrical loads include a data memory 53 in the rotatable rotor or on the rotatable rotor (para. [0092] and [0095]; data memory 53 is part of the control unit 32 which can be powered by batteries, Larsson).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses wherein the one or more electrical loads are arranged in the rotatable rotor and comprise a sensor, an actuator, an initiator, a transmitting unit, a receiving unit, a transmitting and receiving unit, or a control unit (para. [0095], Larsson).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses wherein the rotor further comprises a data memory or a control device 32, wherein the data memory or the control device is one of the one or more electrical loads (para. [0095], Larsson).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses wherein the one or more electrical loads include the sensor (para. [0095], Larsson).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses wherein the rotatable drum has a vertical axis of rotation (vertical axis 6, Fig. 1, Larsson).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses wherein the rotatable drum has single or double conical configuration on an inside or an outside (Fig. 1-3, Larsson).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses wherein the centrifuge is configured as a disc separator (Fig. 1, Larsson) or as a solid drum screw centrifuge.
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses wherein the one or more electrical loads include the transmitting unit, the receiving unit, or the transmitting and receiving unit, and wherein the transmitting unit, the receiving unit, or the transmitting and receiving unit are arranged on or in the rotatable rotor (para. [0057], [0095]; the pressure sensors communicate wirelessly with the control unit 32 via a transmitter or transceiver arranged in the rotor, Larsson; the wireless signal receiver 201 and solenoid valve 106 operates using power supplied by the battery, para. [0032] of machine translation, Tong).
Regarding claim 47, Larsson discloses a method, comprising: providing a centrifuge (centrifugal separation system 1, Fig. 1) comprising a rotatable rotor (4, Fig. 1); and an assembly (housing 24, Fig. 1) that is stationary during operation of the centrifuge, wherein the rotatable rotor is rotatably mounted in or on the stationary assembly by one or more bearing devices (upper and lower bearings as shown in Fig. 1), wherein the rotatable rotor comprises a rotatable drum (rotor 4 is the drum, Fig. 1), a drive element (electric motor 22, Fig. 1) for rotating the drum, one or more electrical loads (control unit 32, pressure sensors 24 and 36, Fig. 1; pressure sensor 50, Fig. 5e) arranged in the rotatable rotor, an inlet (10, Fig. 1), at least two different outlets (light phase outlet 12 and heavy phase outlet 14 and/or 42, Fig. 1), and wherein a disc pack (a stack of frustoconical separation disks 16, Fig. 1) is arranged in the rotatable drum, wherein the disc pack has a stack of separating discs (separation disks 18, Fig. 1), wherein the centrifuge further comprises at least one battery electrically coupled to supply the one or more electrical loads with electrical power (para. [0095]), wherein the at least one battery is arranged on or in the rotatable rotor (para. [0095]), but does not disclose wherein the one or more electrical loads include at least one actuator, which is an electrically actuatable control valve; supplying the electrical energy from the at least one battery to the at least one actuator during a first operating state in which the rotatable rotor is rotating; and supplying the electrical energy from the at least one battery to the at least one actuator during a second operation state in which the rotatable rotator is motionless.
Tong discloses analogous art related to a centrifugal device, wherein the one or more electrical loads include at least one actuator, which is an electrically actuatable control valve (electromagnetic valve 106, Fig. 1, para. [0032] of machine translation), and wherein the at least one battery is configured to supply electrical energy to the at least one actuator during a first operating state in which the rotatable rotor is rotating and during a second operation state in which the rotatable rotator is motionless (the electromagnetic valve 106 is closed during centrifugation, and after separation is completed, the centrifuge motor stops, the electromagnetic valve 106 is opened, Abstract, para. [0031] of machine translation; electromagnetic valve 106 uses power supplied by the battery on the centrifuge cup, para. [0011] and [0032] of machine translation). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of Larsson with the electrically actuatable control valve and supply it electrical energy from an on-board battery as taught by Tong for the purpose of allowing electrical control of discharge openings in the rotor (Abstract, Tong) and avoiding an external power source cable from winding, knotting or even tearing (para. [0032] of machine translation, Tong).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses wherein the at least one actuator (electromagnetic valve 106, Fig. 1, Tong) opens and closes at least one of the two different outlets (water outlet 105, Fig. 1, Tong).
Claims 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson in view of Tong, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of EP 0984133 B1 (Hopper).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Larsson and Tong does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one battery is a rechargeable battery.
Hopper discloses analogous art related to wherein the at least one battery is a rechargeable battery (para. [0010], Hopper). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Larsson and Tong with a rechargeable battery as taught by Hopper for the purpose of ensuring that whenever there is a loss of primary power, the backup source will always be fully charged (para. [0010], Hopper).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Larsson, Tong, and Hopper discloses wherein the at least one battery is a rechargeable battery (para. [0010], Hopper), the centrifuge further comprising: an electrical power generating arrangement, which is configured such that electrical power is provided in the rotatable rotor (“a generator arranged in the rotor”, para. [0095], Larsson), and a charging circuit (Fig. 1, para. [0010], the primary power source maybe connected through the backup source to maintain it fully charged, Hopper) configured to charge the rechargeable battery.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson in view of Tong, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Hlavinka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2003/0195104, hereinafter Hlavinka).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Larsson and Tong does not disclose wherein the at least one battery is a non-rechargeable battery.
Hlavinka discloses wherein the at least one battery is a non-rechargeable battery (para. [0088]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Larsson and Tong with the non-rechargeable battery taught by Hlavinka for the purpose of providing the necessary electricity needed for the desired electrical devices (para. [0088], Hlavinka).
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson in view of Tong, and further in view of Hopper, as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of EP 3415239 (Larsson, hereinafter Larsson ‘239).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Larsson, Tong, and Hopper does not disclose wherein the electrical power generating arrangement is configured to generate electrical power only during part of revolutions of the rotatable.
Larsson ‘239 discloses wherein the electrical power generating arrangement is configured to generate electrical power only during part of revolutions of the rotatable (para. [0003]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Larsson, Tong, and Hopper with the electrical power generating arrangement disclosed by Larsson ‘239 for the purpose of supplying power to an active electronic circuit adapted to store measurement values that are recorded during at least a portion of a revolution of rotor, before said transmission of corresponding measurement signals to the measuring unit (para. [0003], Larsson ‘239).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Larsson, Tong, and Hopper does not specifically disclose wherein the electrical power generating arrangement is configured to generate electrical power during the complete revolutions of the rotatable rotor.
Larsson ‘239 discloses wherein the electrical power generating arrangement is configured to generate electrical power during the complete revolutions of the rotatable rotor (para. [0007]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Larsson, Tong, and Hopper with the electrical power generating arrangement taught by Larsson ‘239 for the purpose of continuously generating a current with the generator during a full revolution of the rotor arrangement and providing the user of electric energy stable operating conditions (para. [0007], Larsson ‘239).
Claims 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson in view of Tong, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Hoang (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2017/0065985).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses the transmitting unit, the receiving unit, or the transmitting and receiving unit configured for wireless communications (para. [0057], Larsson; para. [0032], Tong), but does not disclose wherein the transmitting unit, the receiving unit, or the transmitting and receiving unit comprises an antenna projection from the rotatable rotor.
Hoang discloses wherein the transmitting unit, the receiving unit, or the transmitting and receiving unit 3200 comprises an antenna 3337 projecting from the rotatable rotor and is configured for wireless communications (para. [0067], Fig. 20). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Larsson and Tong with the antenna of Hoang for the purpose of wirelessly communicating with the computing unit (para. [0049], Hoang).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Larsson, Tong, and Hoang discloses a corresponding transmitting unit, receiving unit, or transmitting and receiving unit arranged on the stationary assembly and configured for wireless communication (the corresponding receiving unit that receives sensor data is part of the control unit 32, para. [0057], Larsson; para. [0032], Tong).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Larsson, Tong, and Hoang discloses wherein the corresponding transmitting unit, receiving unit, or transmitting and receiving unit is connected to a control device that controls the centrifuge (the corresponding receiving unit that receives sensor data is part of the control unit 32; para. [0057], Larsson).
Claims 36 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson in view of Tong, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Zurbruggen (U.S. Patent No. 4,149,668).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses the electrically actuatable control valve (electromagnetic valve 106, Fig. 1, Tong), but does not disclose wherein the electrically actuatable control valve is configured to change a cross-section of one or more solids discharge openings of the rotatable drum.
Zurbruggen discloses analogous art related to a centrifugal separator, wherein an actuatable control valve (outlet valve 11, Fig. 2) is configured to change a cross-section of one or more solids discharge openings of the rotatable drum (interaction between valve piston 20 and the calibrated notch 19 in nozzle 18, col. 3 lines 22-39, col. 2 lines 8-14). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the electrically actuatable control valve of the centrifuge of the combination of Larsson and Tong according to the adjustable outlet valve structure taught by Zurbruggen in order to permit a constant fine regulation of the nozzle cross section during operation (col. 2 lines 8-14, Zurbruggen).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses solids discharge nozzles (42, Fig. 3, Larsson), and an electrically actuatable control valve (electromagnetic valve 106, Fig. 1, Tong), but does not disclose wherein the electrically actuatable control valve is configured to vary a nozzle cross-section of the solids discharge nozzles, wherein the electrically actuatable control valve is an electrically adjustable nozzle needle that is movable into a passage cross-section of the solid discharge nozzles, wherein a remaining passage cross-section of the solid discharge nozzles can be varied, or an impact body that is pushed electrically adjustably in front of nozzle opening of the solids discharge nozzles to form a gap with variable gap width.
Zurbruggen discloses analogous art related to a centrifugal separator, wherein an actuatable control valve (outlet valve 11, Fig. 2) is configured to vary a nozzle cross-section of the solids discharge nozzles (valve piston 20 and notch 19 in the valve nozzle 18 allows control of the discharge opening size (col. 3 lines 22-39, col. 2 lines 8-14), wherein the actuatable control valve is an adjustable nozzle needle (corresponding to valve piston 20 moving relative to nozzle 18, Fig. 2) that is movable into a passage cross-section of the solids discharge nozzles, wherein a remaining passage cross-section of the solid discharge nozzles can be varied (calibrated notch permits a constant fine regulation of the nozzle cross section during operation, col. 2 lines 8-14), or an impact body that is pushed adjustably in front of nozzle opening of the solids discharge nozzles to form a gap with variable gap width (valve piston 20 functions as a movable obstruction within nozzle 18, and forms a variable discharge gap that depends on the position of the piston, col. 3 lines 22-39). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the electrically actuatable control valve of the centrifuge of the combination of Larsson and Tong according to the adjustable outlet valve structure taught by Zurbruggen in order to permit a constant fine regulation of the nozzle cross section during operation (col. 2 lines 8-14, Zurbruggen).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson in view of Tong, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Günnewig (U.S. Patent No. 3,797,736).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Larsson and Tong discloses one or more electromechanical valves (electromagnetic valve 106, Fig. 1, Tong) as one of the one or more electrical loads, wherein the electromechanical valves are arranged on or in the rotating drum (para. [0032] of machine translation, Tong), but does not disclose wherein the rotatable drum has a hydraulically actuatable piston slide valve configured to open and close one or more solids discharge openings of the rotatable drum, wherein hydraulic fluid is dischargeable from a control chamber on or under the hydraulically actuatable piston slide valve by one or more electromechanical valves.
Günnewig discloses analogous art related to a centrifugal separator, wherein the rotatable drum has a hydraulically actuatable piston slide valve (valve 9, Fig. 1) configured to open and close one or more solids discharge openings (discharge bore 8, Fig. 1) of the rotatable drum, wherein hydraulic fluid is dischargeable from a control chamber (chamber 14, Fig. 1) on or under the hydraulically actuatable piston slide valve by one or more electromechanical valves (valve 26, Fig. 1), wherein the electromechanical valves open the hydraulically actuatable piston slide valve (electromagnetic valve 26 controls hydraulic fluid supplied to piston slide valve 10, Fig. 1, col. 3 lines 53-57, col. 4 lines 8-22). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented the hydraulically actuated piston slide valve taught by Günnewig in the centrifuge of the combination of Larsson and Tong so that the solids discharge openings of the rotor could be opened and closed by a hydraulicly actuated piston slide valve controlled by electromechanical valves (Fig. 1, col. 3 lines 53-57, col. 4 lines 8-22, Günnewig).
Conclusion
/Shuyi S. Liu/Examiner, Art Unit 1774