DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on April 30, 2020.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on September 30, 2022.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on September 30, 2022, July 2, 2024 and January 6, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because under CFR 1.84(u), “Where only a single view is
used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation “FIG.” must not appear.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because in accordance with the drawing objection presented above, all mentions to FIG. 1 should be deleted and instead replaced with the words “the
FIGURE.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 shows Formula 1 in which ring A is presented with benzene rings in a para position
. This Formula is narrower than Formulae (2), (3), (4) and (7),
. These formulae show the benzene rings in an ortho or meta position, where the bonding of the ring is provided in a location shown in Formula 1 as either a hydrogen or an Ar3 substituent. Therefore, the compounds are outside the scope of Formula 1 in claim 1 and fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin (US20140077179A1).
As per claims 1 – 7 and 16 – 20, Shin teaches:
A material for an organic electroluminescent device comprising a compound represented by the following general formula (1)
(Shin teaches compounds for an organic electronic material (Abstract). The compounds are of Chemical Formula 1
([0009]). A particular compound taught by Shin is compound 25
on page 62. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein ring A is a heterocycle represented by formula (1a) and ring A is fused to an adjacent ring; Ar1 represents an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms; Ar2 is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms; d is 0 so that L1 does not exist; L2 represents an unsubstituted aromatic heterocyclic group having 4 carbon atoms; Ar3 represents an unsubstituted carbazolyl group; a and c are an integer of 0; b is an integer of 1; e is an integer of 2. The compound is represented by Formula 6 in claim 5.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US20140077179A1) as applied to claims 1 – 7 and 16 – 20 above.
As per claims 8, 10 and 11, Shin does not specifically teach the use of compound 25 in a device. Shin does teach
An organic electroluminescent device having a plurality of organic layers between an anode and a cathode, wherein at least one layer of the organic layer comprises the material for an organic electroluminescent device, wherein the organic layer is a light-emitting layer ([0021]: “The present invention provides an organic electroluminescent device, and the organic electroluminescent device according to the present invention is characterized by including: a first electrode; a second electrode; and one or more organic material layers interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode. Here, the organic material layer may include one or more compounds for an organic electronic material of Chemical Formula 1. The organic material layer may include a luminescent layer, and the compound for an organic electronic material of Chemical Formula 1 is used as a host material in the luminescent layer.”)
Wherein the light-emitting layer contains at least one light-emitting dopant ([0022]: “When the compound for an organic electronic material of Chemical Formula 1 is used as a host material in the luminescent layer, one or more phosphorescent dopants may be included therein.”)
Shin teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Shin as Shin demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 9 and 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US20140077179A1) as applied to claims 1 – 8, 10, 11 and 16 – 20 above, and further in view of Tada (US20180138420A1).
As per claims 9, and 12 – 15, Shin does not teach:
The organic electroluminescent device comprising the material for an organic electroluminescent device and also at least one of the compounds represented by formula (8)
A method for producing the organic electroluminescent device comprising providing a mixed composition and producing a light-emitting layer by use of the mixed composition
Wherein a difference in 50% by weight reduction temperatures of the material for an organic electroluminescent device is within 20°C
Tada teaches organic electroluminescent devices comprising a light emitting material with a host material comprising a mixture of a first host and a second host, wherein the first host comprises a heterocyclic group bonded to a nitrogen atom of an indolocarbazole ring (Abstract). Within the formula of the indolocarbazole, Tada allows for the indolocarbazole to contain a carbazole substituent ([0041]). This is structurally similar to the host material of Shin. Tada teaches that these host materials are used in combination with biscarbazole groups, such as compound 2-1
(0047]). Tada teaches that the use of these compounds in combination provides an organic electroluminescent device with a low driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and long lifetime (Abstract). Compound 2-1 reads on the claimed Formula (8) wherein Ar4 is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 10 carbon atoms, and Ar5 is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms. Tada teaches that the first host and the second host are preliminarily mixed and then simultaneously vapor deposited ([0066]). Tada teaches that it is preferred that a difference in 50% by weight reduction temperatures of the two host materials for the organic electroluminescent device is 20°C or less so that the organic electroluminescent device has satisfactory characteristics and is reproduced with satisfactory reproducibility ([0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of Shin in combination with a compound of 2-1, motivated by the desire to predictably produce an organic electroluminescent device with a low driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and long lifetime as taught by Tada (Abstract). It further would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to produce the light emitting layer by mixing the composition and ensuring that the difference in 50% by weight reduction temperatures of the two host materials for the organic electroluminescent device is within 20°C because Tada teaches that the process was known as a predictably suitable process to produce an organic electroluminescent device with satisfactory characteristics and that is able to be reproduced with satisfactory reproducibility ([0066]).
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN106397415, cited in the IDS filed by Applicant on September 30, 2022 teaches at least compound 9, which could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789