DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments regarding claim 19, it is noted that both claim 1 and 19 recite "creating an audio description" and "presenting the audio description". Thus, it is unclear if claim 19 is meant to reference the same audio description already recited within claim 1, or if a different step of creating an audio description is being recited. This argument applies to the 112 rejections regarding claims 16-18, 20 as well. These claims reference subject matter already recited with claim 1 but do not include the proper antecedence.
As the limitation are recited in the alternative in claim 1, it is unclear if this was meant to positively recite and limit the claim to a limitation that was previously in the alternative and not required or instead include a new different step.
In response to applicant's arguments regarding Ficco, it is noted that the claims (as rejected and in the current amendment) do not require or recite "a recipient input which commands an action or even the selection of an ad to be processed". Claim 1 instead recites that the action (or command) is from a terminal of a user. Ficco recites that the ad selection command originates from circuitry inside the user set top box, and thus is a command from "a terminal of a user". Furthermore, as the command in Ficco is to selectively access and output particular ad content from a memory, it appears to meet the new limitations regarding a command to “access” or “read”, as the selected advertisement is accessed or "read" from memory for processing.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding the plurality of different claimed processing, it is noted that the current claims merely require "at least one of" the different adaptation processing to be performed. As per applicant's own arguments, Ficco performs at least converting text to speech, translating, and "converting a format". While amendments to require each processing would appear to overcome Ficco, this is not currently required.
Regarding the rejections under Knittel and Kirkland, Knittel and Chang, and Edwards and Kirkland and Edwards and Chang, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, while applicant argues that Kirkland and Chang do not modify content based upon a user profile, it is noted that both Knittel and Edwards were relied upon for this limitation. Kirkland and Chang are merely relied upon for disclosing different types of content modifications which may be performed. Thus, it is the combination of references which meet the current claim limitations.
Further, as indicated above and it is noted that the current claims merely require "at least one of" the different adaptation processing to be performed. The combinations do not require every type of processing to be performed and applicant’s own arguments do not attempt to address every processing performed by Kirkland.
In response to applicant’s specific arguments, on page 18 of applicant’s response, regarding the “translating” in Kirkland, it is noted that Kirkland explicitly discloses a translation device within the apparatus which will translate the English into a desired foreign language prior to text to speech conversion (column 8, line 42-57).
Applicant’s specific arguments regarding “summarizing” are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the processing comprises summarizing the item of generic multimedia content into a summarized item of generic media content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if this is meant to reference the “summarizing” and “summarized item of generic multimedia content” of claim 1.
As both claim 16 and claim 1 include a step of “summarizing the item of generic multimedia content”, the phrasing makes it unclear if this is a reference a new and separate instance of “summarizing” or is instead meant to positively recite a limitation which was previously recited in the alternative.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the processing comprises translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content into translated text and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if this is meant to reference the “translating” and “translated text” of claim 1.
As both claim 17 and claim 1 include a step of “translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content”, the phrasing makes it unclear if this is a reference a new and separate instance of “translating” or is instead meant to positively recite a limitation which was previously recited in the alternative.
Claim 18 recites “presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if this is meant to reference the “definition” of claim 1.
As both claim 18 and claim 1 include a step of “presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia”, the phrasing makes it unclear if this is a reference a new and separate definition being presented or is instead meant to positively recite a limitation which was previously recited in the alternative.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the processing comprises creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if this is meant to reference the “creating” and “audio description” of claim 1.
As both claim 19 and claim 1 include a step of "creating an audio description" and "presenting the audio description", the phrasing makes it unclear if this is a reference a new and separate instance of “creating” or is instead meant to positively recite a limitation which was previously recited in the alternative.
Claim 20 recites “wherein the processing comprises converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if this is meant to reference the “converting”, “text” and “speech” of claim 1.
As both claim 20 and claim 1 include a step of "converting text and "presenting the speech ", the phrasing makes it unclear if this is a reference a new and separate instance of “creating” and “presenting” or is instead meant to positively recite a limitation which was previously recited in the alternative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 12, 14, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ficco (US 2005/0166224) (of record).
As to claim 1, Ficco discloses a personalization method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (see Fig. 5), wherein the method is implemented by a device (Fig. 3) and comprises:
in response to a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (command selecting ad to be processed; paragraph 43, 51, 53, 73), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (control signal to access particular ad in memory; paragraph 28, 31, 51, 73);
providing an item of personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (selected ad processed based upon user; paragraph 53-62, 69-70, 88), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (Fig. 5, paragraph 69-70), and
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (paragraph 53-62) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is previously determined (tracking user input profile to be used for later ad processing; paragraph 69-70, 88), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (processed ad provided to display; Fig. 3, 5; paragraph 51-53), and comprising at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 55);
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 55);
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (paragraph 54-55).
As to claim 3, Ficco discloses wherein the processing is determined on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user, a result of the processing adapting the generic multimedia content (paragraph 53-62, 69-70, 88).
As to claim 4, Ficco discloses adapting the generic multimedia content by determining the processing on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (paragraph 53-62, 69-70, 88).
As to claim 5, Ficco discloses wherein determining the processing comprises selecting a multimedia content processing from among multiple available processings (paragraph 53-62).
As to claim 6, Ficco discloses wherein the automatic processing of the whole generic multimedia content comprises adding second multimedia data to the generic multimedia content, the second multimedia data being generated by a determined processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (modifying the original content by adding new or replacement content; paragraph 55-61).
As to claim 7, Ficco discloses wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising removing at least part of the first multimedia data, the removed part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user (modifying the original content by removing content and replacing it; paragraph 54-56, 58-59).
As to claim 8, Ficco discloses wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising replacing at least part of the first multimedia data with second multimedia data, the replaced part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user, the second multimedia data being generated by the processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (modifying the original content by replacing portions; paragraph 54-56, 58-59).
As to claim 12, Ficco discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium program comprising program code instructions stored thereon (Fig. 3; paragraph 51-53) in order to execute a method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (Fig. 5) when said program is executed by a processor of a device (Fig. 3; paragraph 51-53), wherein the method comprises:
in response to a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (command selecting ad to be processed; paragraph 43, 51, 53, 73), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (control signal to access particular ad in memory; paragraph 28, 31, 51, 73);
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (paragraph 53-62) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is previously determined (tracking user input profile to be used for later ad processing; paragraph 69-70, 88), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (processed ad provided to display; Fig. 3, 5; paragraph 51-53), and comprising at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 55);
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 55);
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (paragraph 54-55); and
providing the item of personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (selected ad processed based upon user; paragraph 53-62, 69-70, 88).
As to claim 13, Ficco discloses a device for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (server; Fig. 7, 9; paragraph 96, 112-113), wherein the device comprises:
a receiver for receiving a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content originating from a terminal of a user (command selecting ad to be processed; paragraph 43, 51, 53, 73), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (control signal to access particular ad in memory; paragraph 28, 31, 51, 73);
a processor which is configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the command for action,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (paragraph 53-62) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is previously determined (tracking user input profile to be used for later ad processing; paragraph 69-70, 88), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (processed ad provided to display; Fig. 3, 5; paragraph 51-53), and comprising at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 55);
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 55);
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (paragraph 54-55); and
providing the item of personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (selected ad processed based upon user; paragraph 53-62, 69-70, 88).
As to claim 17, Ficco discloses wherein the processing comprises translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 55).
As to claim 20, Ficco discloses wherein the processing comprises converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 54-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knittel et al. (Knittel) (US 2007/0260627) (of record) in view of Kirkland (5,900,908) (of record).
As to claim 1, Knittel discloses a personalization method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (see Fig. 7-8), wherein the method is implemented by a device and comprises:
in response to a command for an action on an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (user request to access content; paragraph 102-103), providing an item of personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106); and
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is previously determined (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57), converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 3, Knittel and Kirkland disclose wherein the processing is determined on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user, a result of the processing adapting the generic multimedia content (see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 4, Knittel and Kirkland disclose adapting the generic multimedia content by determining the processing on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 5, Knittel and Kirkland disclose wherein determining the processing comprises selecting a multimedia content processing from among multiple available processings (see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 6, Knittel and Kirkland disclose wherein the automatic processing of the whole generic multimedia content comprises adding second multimedia data to the generic multimedia content, the second multimedia data being generated by a determined processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content; see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 7, Knittel and Kirkland disclose wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising removing at least part of the first multimedia data, the removed part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content to replace existing content; see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 8, Knittel and Kirkland disclose wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising replacing at least part of the first multimedia data with second multimedia data, the replaced part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user, the second multimedia data being generated by the processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content to replace existing content; see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 9, Knittel discloses an access method for accessing an item of personalized multimedia content (see Fig. 7-8), wherein the access method is implemented by a device and comprises:
receiving a request for access to an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103), and
in response to receiving the request (paragraph 102-103),
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to reception of the access request (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110); and
providing the terminal of the user with access to the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57), converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 11, Knittel discloses a method for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content by a terminal of a user (Fig. 7-8), wherein the method for requesting access comprises:
sending a request for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content (paragraph 102-103), the request comprising at least one identifier of an item of generic multimedia content and at least one user identifier (paragraph 102-103), the user identifier being associated with a profile of the user (paragraph 102-103, 105), the access request triggering automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the sending of the request (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110), and provision of the terminal of the user with the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57), converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 12, Knittel discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium program comprising program code instructions stored thereon in order to execute a method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (Fig. 8) when said program is executed by a processor of a device (server processor running software; Fig. 7, 9; paragraph 96, 112-113), wherein the method comprises:
in response to a command for an action on an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (user request to access content; paragraph 102-103),
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the action (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110); and
providing the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57), converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 13, Knittel discloses a device for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (server; Fig. 7, 9; paragraph 96, 112-113), wherein the device comprises:
a receiver for receiving a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content originating from a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (user request to access content; paragraph 102-103),
a processor which is configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the command for action,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to receiving the command (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110); and
providing the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57), converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 14, Knittel discloses a device for providing access to at least one personalized multimedia content (server; Fig. 7, 9; paragraph 96, 112-113), wherein the device for providing access comprises:
a receiver for receiving a request for access to an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103);
a processor configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the request,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to receiving the action request (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110); and
providing the terminal of the user with access to the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57), converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 15, Knittel discloses a terminal of a user (end user device, Fig. 7, 704; paragraph 20, 96) comprising:
an issuer configured to transmit a request for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content, the request for requesting access comprising at least one identifier of an item of generic multimedia content and at least one user identifier, the user identifier being associated with a profile of the user (end user content request with user identifier; paragraph 102-103), the request triggering automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the action (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110), and provision of the terminal of the user with the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (end-user profile previously stored at server; Fig. 8; paragraph 50-52,105-106).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57), converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text or the translated spoken language in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the speech in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 17, Knittel and Kirkland disclose wherein the processing comprises translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; see Kirkland at column 8, line 42-57).
As to claim 19, Knittel and Kirkland disclose wherein the processing comprises creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data translated as needed and presented as audio; see Kirkland at column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27).
As to claim 20, Knittel and Kirkland disclose wherein the processing comprises converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech conversion; see Kirkland at column 7, lines 10-27).
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knittel et al. (Knittel) (US 2007/0260627) (of record) in view of Chang (5,543,851) (of record).
As to claim 1, Knittel discloses a personalization method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (see Fig. 7-8), wherein the method is implemented by a device and comprises:
in response to a command for an action on an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (user request to access content; paragraph 102-103), providing an item of personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106); and
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is previously determined (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 3, Knittel and Chang disclose wherein the processing is determined on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user, a result of the processing adapting the generic multimedia content (see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 4, Knittel and Chang disclose adapting the generic multimedia content by determining the processing on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 5, Knittel and Chang disclose wherein determining the processing comprises selecting a multimedia content processing from among multiple available processings (see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 6, Knittel and Chang disclose wherein the automatic processing of the whole generic multimedia content comprises adding second multimedia data to the generic multimedia content, the second multimedia data being generated by a determined processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content; see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 7, Knittel and Chang disclose wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising removing at least part of the first multimedia data, the removed part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content to replace existing content; see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 8, Knittel and Chang disclose wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising replacing at least part of the first multimedia data with second multimedia data, the replaced part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user, the second multimedia data being generated by the processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content to replace existing content; see Knittel at paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110).
As to claim 9, Knittel discloses an access method for accessing an item of personalized multimedia content (see Fig. 7-8), wherein the access method is implemented by a device and comprises:
receiving a request for access to an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103), and
in response to receiving the request (paragraph 102-103),
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to reception of the access request (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110); and
providing the terminal of the user with access to the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 11, Knittel discloses a method for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content by a terminal of a user (Fig. 7-8), wherein the method for requesting access comprises:
sending a request for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content (paragraph 102-103), the request comprising at least one identifier of an item of generic multimedia content and at least one user identifier (paragraph 102-103), the user identifier being associated with a profile of the user (paragraph 102-103, 105), the access request triggering automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the sending of the request (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110), and provision of the terminal of the user with the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 12, Knittel discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium program comprising program code instructions stored thereon in order to execute a method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (Fig. 8) when said program is executed by a processor of a device (server processor running software; Fig. 7, 9; paragraph 96, 112-113), wherein the method comprises:
in response to a command for an action on an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (user request to access content; paragraph 102-103),
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the action (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110); and
providing the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 13, Knittel discloses a device for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (server; Fig. 7, 9; paragraph 96, 112-113), wherein the device comprises:
a receiver for receiving a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content originating from a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (user request to access content; paragraph 102-103),
a processor which is configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the command for action,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to receiving the command (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110); and
providing the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 14, Knittel discloses a device for providing access to at least one personalized multimedia content (server; Fig. 7, 9; paragraph 96, 112-113), wherein the device for providing access comprises:
a receiver for receiving a request for access to an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (paragraph 102-103);
a processor configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the request,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to receiving the action request (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110); and
providing the terminal of the user with access to the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (original content modified based upon user profile; paragraph 108-110).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 15, Knittel discloses a terminal of a user (end user device, Fig. 7, 704; paragraph 20, 96) comprising:
an issuer configured to transmit a request for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content, the request for requesting access comprising at least one identifier of an item of generic multimedia content and at least one user identifier, the user identifier being associated with a profile of the user (end user content request with user identifier; paragraph 102-103), the request triggering automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content (analyzing the entire content item, such as every frame of video, to identify portions to modify; paragraph 59-61) using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the action (end-user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 50-52,105-106), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 75-80, 86-87, 107-110), and provision of the terminal of the user with the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (end-user profile previously stored at server; Fig. 8; paragraph 50-52,105-106).
While Knittel discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 17, Knittel and Chang disclose wherein the processing comprises translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; see Chang at Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48)
As to claim 18, Knittel and Chang disclose wherein the processing comprises defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; see Chang at Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48).
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (US 2017/0180435 A1) (of record) in view of Kirkland (5,900,908) (of record).
As to claim 1, Edwards discloses a personalization method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the method is implemented by a device and comprises:
in response to a command for an action on an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (command selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49),
providing an item of personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (original content customized based upon user profile; Fig. 4-5; paragraph 50), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 22-23, 50); and
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is previously determined (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (concise descriptive summary of nonverbal portions of program; column 1, line 42-44, column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16), translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57),
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards’ system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 3, Edwards and Kirkland disclose wherein the processing is determined on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user, a result of the processing adapting the generic multimedia content (see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C, paragraph 29-31, 34, 50).
As to claim 4, Edwards and Kirkland disclose adapting the generic multimedia content by determining the processing on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34, 50).
As to claim 5, Edwards and Kirkland disclose wherein determining the processing comprises selecting a multimedia content processing from among multiple available processings (any of audio, video and text may selected for customizing; see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34, 36-37).
As to claim 6, Edwards and Kirkland disclose wherein the automatic processing of the whole generic multimedia content comprises adding second multimedia data to the generic multimedia content, the second multimedia data being generated by a determined processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C, paragraph 21, 29-31, 34, 36-37).
As to claim 7, Edwards and Kirkland disclose wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising removing at least part of the first multimedia data, the removed part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content to replace existing content; see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C, paragraph 29-31, 34, 36-37).
As to claim 8, Edwards and Kirkland disclose wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising replacing at least part of the first multimedia data with second multimedia data, the replaced part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user, the second multimedia data being generated by the processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content to replace existing content; see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C, paragraph 29-31, 34, 36-37).
As to claim 9, Edwards discloses an access method for accessing an item of personalized multimedia content (Fig. 1-2, 4), wherein the access method is implemented by a device and comprises:
receiving a request for access to an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49), and
in response to receiving the request (paragraph 102-103),
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to reception of the access request (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50); and
providing the terminal of the user with access to the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (concise descriptive summary of nonverbal portions of program; column 1, line 42-44, column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16), translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57),
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards’ system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 11, Edwards discloses a method for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content by a terminal of a user (Fig. 1-2, 4), wherein the method for requesting access comprises:
sending a request for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content, the request comprising at least one identifier of an item of generic multimedia content and at least one user identifier (selection of a particular video for streaming, including user profile login; paragraph 17, 38, 48-50), the user identifier being associated with a profile of the user (selection of a particular video for streaming, including user profile login; paragraph 17, 38, 48-50), the access request triggering automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the sending of the request (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50), and provision of the terminal of the user with the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (concise descriptive summary of nonverbal portions of program; column 1, line 42-44, column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16), translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57),
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards’ system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 12, Edwards discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium program comprising program code instructions stored thereon in order to execute a method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (paragraph 58-65) when said program is executed by a processor of a device (server processor running software; Fig. 1-2; paragraph 58-65), wherein the method comprises:
in response to a command for an action on an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (command selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49),
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the action (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50) and
providing the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (concise descriptive summary of nonverbal portions of program; column 1, line 42-44, column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16), translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57),
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards’ system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 13, Edwards discloses a device for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (server, 110; Fig. 1-2), wherein the device comprises:
a receiver for receiving a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content originating from a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (command selection to access a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49),
a processor which is configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the command for action,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to receiving the command (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50); and
providing the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (Fig. 4, paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (concise descriptive summary of nonverbal portions of program; column 1, line 42-44, column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16), translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57),
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards’ system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 14, Edwards discloses a device for providing access to at least one personalized multimedia content (server; 110, Fig. 1-2), wherein the device for providing access comprises:
a receiver for receiving a request for access to an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49);
a processor configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the request,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to receiving the action request (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50); and
providing the terminal of the user with access to the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (Fig. 4, paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (concise descriptive summary of nonverbal portions of program; column 1, line 42-44, column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16), translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57),
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards’ system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 15, Edwards discloses a terminal of a user (130, Fig. 1-2) comprising:
an issuer configured to transmit a request for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content, the request for requesting access comprising at least one identifier of an item of generic multimedia content and at least one user identifier, the user identifier being associated with a profile of the user (selection of a particular video for streaming, including user profile login; paragraph 17, 38, 48-50), the request triggering automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the action (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50), and provision of the terminal of the user with the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (Fig. 4, paragraph 50
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Kirkland discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 3) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (concise descriptive summary of nonverbal portions of program; column 1, line 42-44, column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16), translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; column 8, line 42-57),
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech; column 7, lines 10-27), creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27), and creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content (creation of captions for audio; column 9, line 12-18), converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia (text to speech conversion; column 7, lines 10-27) so as to enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards’ system to include at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia, as taught in combination with Kirkland, for the typical benefit of enable the easy generation and provision of description services to viewers with impaired vision and hearing (column 1, line 18-30, column 2, line 10-13).
As to claim 17, Edwards and Kirkland disclose wherein the processing comprises translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translations; see Kirkland at column 8, line 42-57).
As to claim 19, Edwards and Kirkland disclose wherein the processing comprises creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content (description data presented as audio; see Kirkland at column 3, line 10-28, column 6, lines 9-16, column 7, lines 19-27).
As to claim 20, Edwards and Kirkland disclose wherein the processing comprises converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content (text to speech conversion; see Kirkland at column 7, lines 10-27).
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (US 2017/0180435 A1) (of record) in view of Chang (5,543,851) (of record).
As to claim 1, Edwards discloses a personalization method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the method is implemented by a device and comprises:
in response to a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content originating from a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (command selection to access a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49),
providing an item of personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (original content customized based upon user profile; Fig. 4-5; paragraph 50), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (user profile previously stored at server; paragraph 22-23, 50); and
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is previously determined (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 3, Edwards and Chang disclose wherein the processing is determined on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user, a result of the processing adapting the generic multimedia content (see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C, paragraph 29-31, 34, 50).
As to claim 4, Edwards and Chang disclose adapting the generic multimedia content by determining the processing on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34, 50).
As to claim 5, Edwards and Chang disclose wherein determining the processing comprises selecting a multimedia content processing from among multiple available processings (any of audio, video and text may selected for customizing; see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34, 36-37).
As to claim 6, Edwards and Chang disclose wherein the automatic processing of the whole generic multimedia content comprises adding second multimedia data to the generic multimedia content, the second multimedia data being generated by a determined processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C, paragraph 21, 29-31, 34, 36-37).
As to claim 7, Edwards and Chang disclose wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising removing at least part of the first multimedia data, the removed part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content to replace existing content; see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C, paragraph 29-31, 34, 36-37).
As to claim 8, Edwards and Chang disclose wherein the generic multimedia content comprises first multimedia data, the processing providing the personalized multimedia content and comprising replacing at least part of the first multimedia data with second multimedia data, the replaced part of the first multimedia data being determined on the basis of the profile of the user, the second multimedia data being generated by the processing applied to the generic multimedia content, the determined processing being dependent on the profile of the user (modifying the original content by inserting and/or overlaying content to replace existing content; see Edwards at Fig. 3A-C, paragraph 29-31, 34, 36-37).
As to claim 9, Edwards discloses an access method for accessing an item of personalized multimedia content (Fig. 1-2, 4), wherein the access method is implemented by a device and comprises:
receiving a request for access to an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49), and
in response to receiving the request (paragraph 102-103),
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to reception of the access request (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50); and
providing the terminal of the user with access to the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 11, Edwards discloses a method for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content by a terminal of a user (Fig. 1-2, 4), wherein the method for requesting access comprises:
sending a request for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content, the request comprising at least one identifier of an item of generic multimedia content and at least one user identifier (selection of a particular video for streaming, including user profile login; paragraph 17, 38, 48-50), the user identifier being associated with a profile of the user (selection of a particular video for streaming, including user profile login; paragraph 17, 38, 48-50), the access request triggering automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the sending of the request (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50), and provision of the terminal of the user with the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and a profile of the user (paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 12, Edwards discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium program comprising program code instructions stored thereon in order to execute a method for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (paragraph 58-65) when said program is executed by a processor of a device (server processor running software; Fig. 1-2; paragraph 58-65), wherein the method comprises:
in response to a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content originating from a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (command selection to access a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49),
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the action (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50) and
providing the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the profile of the user being determined prior to the action (paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 13, Edwards discloses a device for personalizing an item of generic multimedia content (server, 110; Fig. 1-2), wherein the device comprises:
a receiver for receiving a command for action on an item of generic multimedia content originating from a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49), the command being selected from the group consisting of a reading command and an access command (command selection to access a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49),
a processor which is configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the command for action,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to receiving the command (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50); and
providing the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (Fig. 4, paragraph 50),
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 14, Edwards discloses a device for providing access to at least one personalized multimedia content (server; 110, Fig. 1-2), wherein the device for providing access comprises:
a receiver for receiving a request for access to an item of generic multimedia content by a terminal of a user (selection of a particular video for streaming; paragraph 17, 38, 48-49);
a processor configured to trigger, in response to the receiver receiving the request,
automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to receiving the action request (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50); and
providing the terminal of the user with access to the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (Fig. 4, paragraph 50).
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 15, Edwards discloses a terminal of a user (130, Fig. 1-2) comprising:
an issuer configured to transmit a request for requesting access to an item of personalized multimedia content, the request for requesting access comprising at least one identifier of an item of generic multimedia content and at least one user identifier, the user identifier being associated with a profile of the user (selection of a particular video for streaming, including user profile login; paragraph 17, 38, 48-50), the request triggering automatically processing the whole the generic multimedia content using an adaptation function based on the profile of the user, which is determined prior to the action (processing and modifying all of the video content, such as a color or overlay on every frame; Fig. 3A-C; paragraph 29-31, 34), the processing providing the personalized multimedia content (paragraph 50), and provision of the terminal of the user with the personalized multimedia content on the basis of the generic multimedia content and the profile of the user (Fig. 4, paragraph 50
While Edwards discloses wherein the processing comprises adding and removing content from the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose at least one of:
summarizing the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content;
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content;
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content;
converting speech presented in the item of generic multimedia content to text and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
converting text presented in the item of generic multimedia content to speech and presenting the text in the personalized multimedia content;
creating an audio description of an image or video presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the audio description of the image or video in the personalized multimedia content;
creating a text description of audio presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the text description in the personalized multimedia content; and
converting a format of the item of generic multimedia content presenting the converted format of the item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia.
In an analogous art, Chang discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 5a-b, column 2, line 30-58) which will personalize an item of generic multimedia content translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48), and defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48) so as to improve the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel’s system to include at least one of:
translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content; and
defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Chang, for the typical benefit of improving the effectiveness of captions for words a viewer may not understand (column 1, line 12-28).
As to claim 17, Edwards and Chang disclose wherein the processing comprises translating textual or spoken language presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the translated text in the personalized multimedia content (translating words in captions; see Chang at Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48)
As to claim 18, Edwards and Chang disclose wherein the processing comprises defining a textual or spoken word presented in the item of generic multimedia content and presenting the definition in the personalized multimedia content (defining words in captions; see Chang at Fig. 7a-b, column 6, lines 17-48).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards and Chang and further in view of Drake et al. (Drake) (US 2016/0373817).
As to claim 16, while Edwards and Chang disclose processing the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose summarizing the item of generic multimedia content into a summarized item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content.
In an analogous art, Drake discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 6; paragraph 22, 45-46) wherein the user receiver will receive and personalize an item of generic multimedia content based upon a user profile (paragraph 29-32, 43, 46) by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content into a summarized item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (a 15-minute version of the media content (e.g., originally a 2-hour long film) is generated without sacrificing a thematic aspect or story line(s) of the film’ paragraph 22, 29-33) so as to enable a consumer to enjoy the film over a smaller time period (e.g., 15 minutes as opposed 2 hours) (paragraph 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edwards and Chang’s system to include summarizing the item of generic multimedia content into a summarized item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Drake, for the typical benefit of preserving the storyline and intent of the content in a shorter form as desired by the viewer (paragraph 22).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knittel and Kirkland and further in view of Drake et al. (Drake) (US 2016/0373817).
As to claim 16, while Knittel and Kirkland disclose processing the generic multimedia content, they fail to specifically disclose summarizing the item of generic multimedia content into a summarized item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content.
In an analogous art, Drake discloses a system for providing a modified multimedia content (see Fig. 1, 6; paragraph 22, 45-46) wherein the user receiver will receive and personalize an item of generic multimedia content based upon a user profile (paragraph 29-32, 43, 46) by summarizing the item of generic multimedia content into a summarized item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content (a 15-minute version of the media content (e.g., originally a 2-hour long film) is generated without sacrificing a thematic aspect or story line(s) of the film’ paragraph 22, 29-33) so as to enable a consumer to enjoy the film over a smaller time period (e.g., 15 minutes as opposed 2 hours) (paragraph 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Knittel and Kirkland’s system to include summarizing the item of generic multimedia content into a summarized item of generic multimedia content and presenting the summarized item of generic multimedia content in the personalized multimedia content, as taught in combination with Drake, for the typical benefit of preserving the storyline and intent of the content in a shorter form as desired by the viewer (paragraph 22).
Conclusion
/James R Sheleheda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424