DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendment filed on May 18, 2026 and wherein claims 20 and 31 being amended.
In virtue of this communication, claims 20, 22-25, 28-31 and 33-39 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection of claims 20, 22-25, 31, 33-36 under 35 USC §112(b), as set forth in the previous Office Action, the claim amendment, and argument, see page 7 in Remarks filed on May 18, 2026, have been fully considered and the argument is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claim 16 under 35 USC § 112(b), as set forth in the previous Office Action, has been withdrawn.
Regarding claims 20, 22-25, 31 and 33-39, Applicant’s arguments, see , filed on , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 20 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhao.
Regarding claims 28-30, Applicant argue Chen fails to teach “sending, to the network device on a first SR resource, an SR in response to the first SR configuration information comprising first preset SR configuration information, wherein the first preset SR configuration information indicates the first SR resource, and wherein the first preset SR configuration information is SR configuration information of a sidelink (SL) signaling radio bearer (SRB) that is specified in a protocol;” (Remarks, page) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Claim 28 recited “sending, to a transmission user equipment, first scheduling request (SR) configuration information comprising first preset SR configuration information, wherein the first preset SR configuration information is SR configuration information of a sidelink (SL) signaling radio bearer (SRB) that is specified in a protocol;”. The limitation of “wherein the first preset SR configuration information indicates the first SR resource” is not recited in Claim 28, in order to expedite the prosecution, claim 28 is analyzed based on claim 20 amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22-25, 28-31,33-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20220007230 A1, hereinafter Chen) in view of Zhao et al. (CN 110225599 A, hereinafter Zhao) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20220095366 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Claim 20: Chen teaches a method implemented by a transmission user equipment (Fig. 1, element 116, 122, Fig. 3), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, from a network device, first scheduling request (SR) configuration information ([0005], “the UE is allocated with multiple SR (Scheduling Request) configurations by a network node”, [0190], “Multiple SR configurations can be configured to the UE and which SR configuration is used depends on the LCH that triggers the SR”, [0192], “Network provides multiple SR configurations to UE”);
and buffering one or more to-be-transmitted messages to be sent to at least one reception user equipment ([0091], “The Buffer Status reporting procedure is used to provide the serving eNB with information about the amount of data available for transmission in the UL buffers associated with the MAC entity”), wherein the to-be-transmitted messages have the first preset SR configuration information ([0284], “Trigger
SR based on buffer status … The UE possibly trigger SR transmission based on current which logical channel(s) having data. More specifically, the UE would trigger SR
transmission according to SR configuration associated with the TTI and/or numerology of the highest priority logical channel within all (sidelink) logical channels having data”, [0259], “the UE triggers SR transmission according to SR configuration associated with default or access numerology when SR is triggered due to sidelink BSR”, [0147], “Sidelink BSR and Truncated Sidelink BSR MAC control elements consist of one Destination Index field, one LCG ID field and one corresponding Buffer Size field per reported target group”, [0192-0196], teach multiple SR configurations including Logical channel identity, Logical channel group identity, numerology index, maximum TTI threshold and etc.).
However, Chen does not explicitly teach that sending, to the network device on a first SR resource, an SR in response to the first SR configuration information comprising first preset SR configuration information, wherein the first preset SR configuration information indicates the first SR resource, and wherein the first preset SR configuration information is SR configuration information of a sidelink (SL) signaling radio bearer (SRB) that is specified in a protocol.
wherein the one or more to-be-transmitted messages comprise at least one of a PC5 Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC) message, an unprotected PC5 signaling (PC5-S) message, a PC5-S message establishing PC5-S security, or a protected PC5-S message.
Zhao, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches sending, to the network device on a first SR resource, an SR in response to the first SR configuration information comprising first preset SR configuration information, wherein the first preset SR configuration information indicates the first SR resource, and wherein the first preset SR configuration information is SR configuration information of a sidelink (SL) signaling radio bearer (SRB) that is specified in a protocol (Page 121, illustrate the flow of selecting applicable SR configuration according to the mapping relationship between SLRB and SR configuration for sidelink buffer state report BSR with scheduling request SR, paragraph [0142-0143], disclose the flow as: UE sending the auxiliary information includes at least one of the SLRB identifier and the SLRB QoS parameters to a network device, the SLRB identifier is Destination ID+LCID or Source UE ID+Destination ID+LCID, network device determine the mapping relationship between the SLRB and SR configurations based on auxiliary information, network device notify the user terminal of the determined mapping relationship, UE execute S304 to select corresponding/applicable SR configuration after receiving the mapping of SLRB and SR, and execute S305 to send the SR to the network device using the applicable SR configuration, after receiving the applicable SR, the network device can allocate appropriate resources for the Sidelink buffer state report BSR. [0110-0111], [0114], [0112], [0153], further disclose user terminal determines the target SR configuration suitable for the currently triggered SR transmission based on the mapping relationship between the sidelink radio bearer (SLRB) and the SR configuration, the mapping relationship between the SLRB and the SR configuration is determined based on this auxiliary information, wherein “auxiliary information” and/or “mapping relationship between the sidelink radio bearer (SLRB) and the SR configuration” is reading as first preset SR configuration, sidelink communication is reading as “a protocol”. ).
Chen and Zhao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Chen and the features of selecting applicable bearer defined in SR configuration for BSR transmission as taught by Zhao, for the benefit of allowing UE determine the target SR configuration applicable to the currently triggered SR transmission based on the mapping relationship, thereby determining the applicable/corresponding SR configuration (paragraph [0144], [0163], [0188]).
Lee, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more to-be-transmitted messages comprise at least one of a PC5 Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC) message, an unprotected PC5 signaling (PC5-S) message, a PC5-S message establishing PC5-S security, or a protected PC5-S message (Fig. 14, element 1411, [0190], “The
sidelink transmissions may correspond to one or more PC5 RRC connections or one or more PC5-S unicast links. The SL BSR configuration (i.e., the configuration for SL-BSR) may indicate that the sidelink channel quality report is enabled”, [0205], “the value of the LCG ID field or the Buffer Size field may indicate the number of the destinations and/or the PC5-RRC connections in which SL CSI reporting has been triggered”, [0161], “The
Sidelink Buffer Status Report may indicate at least a Destination index, a LCG, and/or a buffer size corresponding to the destination”).
Chen and LEE are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Chen and the features of adding PC5 message into to-be-transmitted messages as taught by Lee, for the benefit of allowing UE to select SR configuration among multiple SR configurations based on priority, giving UE may have different priorities for PC5-S signaling (and/or RRC messages) depending on whether PC5-RRC connection or PC5-S unicast link is established or no (paragraph [0511]).
Claim 28 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Chen further teaches a network device (Fig. 2, [0007], “FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a transmitter system (also known as access network) and a receiver system (also known as user equipment or UE)”, [0057], “An access network (AN) may be a fixed station or base station used for communicating with the terminals and may also be referred to as an access point, a Node B, a base station” ).
Claim 31 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Chen further teaches a memory configured to store instructions (Fig.3, elements 310, 312); and a processor (Fig.3, elements 308) coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions ([0068], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300”).
Claim 37 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Chen further teaches a communications apparatus (Fig. 1, Fig.3, [0068], “As shown in FIG. 3, the communication device 300 in a wireless communication system can be utilized for realizing the UEs (or ATs) 116 and 122 in FIG. 1 or the base station (or AN) 100 in FIG. 1”) comprising: a memory configured to store instructions (Fig.3, elements 310, 312); and a processor (Fig.3, elements 308) coupled to the memory (Fig.3, elements 310) and configured to execute the instructions to cause the network device to ([0068], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300”).
Claim 22: Chen teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the first SR configuration information comprises one or more SR identifiers IDs ([0149], “LCG ID: The Logical Channel Group ID field identifies the group of logical channel(s) which buffer status is being reported”, [0192-0196], teach multiple SR configurations including Logical channel identity, Logical channel group identity).
Claim 29 is analyzed and rejected according claim 28 and claim 22.
Claim 33 is analyzed and rejected according claim 31 and claim 22.
Claim 38 is analyzed and rejected according claim 37 and claim 22.
Claim 23: Chen teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the first preset SR configuration information is received in a dedicated configuration of an SL control channel SCCH (Chen, [0414], “The association could be configured by network (e.g. base station). The association could be provided in service configuration (e.g. sidelink configuration), control channel configuration (e.g. include control element identity in control channel configuration)”. [0481], “UE will monitor PDCCH(s) which can schedule sidelink
resource. And which PDCCH can be used to schedule sidelink resource may be decided by sidelink related configuration”).
Claim 34 is analyzed and rejected according claim 33 and claim 23.
Claim 24: Chen teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the first preset SR configuration information comprises one or more preset SR identifiers IDs (([0149], “LCG ID: The Logical Channel Group ID field identifies the group of logical channel(s) which buffer status is being reported”, [0192-0196], teach multiple SR configurations including Logical channel identity, Logical channel group identity, numerology index, maximum TTI threshold, specific TTI length/duration (range)).
Claim 30 is analyzed and rejected according claim 28 and claim 24.
Claim 35 is analyzed and rejected according claim 31 and claim 24.
Claim 39 is analyzed and rejected according claim 37 and claim 24.
Claim 25: Chen teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the first SR configuration information is of at least one SRB between the transmission user equipment and the network device, at least one data radio bearer (DRB) between the transmission user equipment and the network device ([0184], “Which numerologies and/or TTI durations a logical channel of a radio bearer is mapped to can be configured and reconfigured via RRC signalling”, [0091], “The Buffer Status reporting procedure is used to provide the serving eNB with information about the amount of data available for transmission in the UL buffers
associated with the MAC entity … the MAC entity shall consider all radio bearers which are not suspended and may consider radio bearers which are suspended” ), at least one SL DRB of the transmission user equipment (alternative); or at least one SL channel state information (CSI) report of the transmission user equipment (alternative).
Claim 36 is analyzed and rejected according claim 31 and claim 25.
Claim 32: Chen teaches the communications apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the user equipment to initiate a random- access procedure to the network device when the first SR configuration information does not comprise or is not the first preset SR configuration information ([0078], “ if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI and if rach-Skip for the MCG MAC entity or rach-SkipSCG for the SCG MAC entity is not configured:
initiate a Random Access procedure”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472