DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7 of Remarks, filed April 22, 2026, with respect to claim 9, 16, and their depending claims and its depending claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art rejections of the aforementioned claims has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 10 state: “…a load up to about 10MPa…” Line 2 should state: “…a load up to about 10 MPa…”
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 state: “…less than 10nm and not more than 80nm…” Line 2 should state: “…less than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm…” and not more than …”
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 12 state: “…a load up to about 10MPa…” Line 2 should state: “…a load up to about 10 MPa…”
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 state: “…less than 10nm and not more than 80nm…” Line 2 should state: “…less than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm…” and not more than …”
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 state: “…less than 10nm and not more than 80nm…” Line 2 should state: “…less than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm…” and not more than …”
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 state: “…between than 10nm and not more than 80nm…” Line 2 should state: “…between than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm…” and not more than …”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 16, and their depending claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said anodal foil" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "an external leading terminal" in lines 8. It is unclear if this “external leading terminal” is the same as “a lead terminal” introduced in line 3. Furthermore, “the lead terminal” is re-introduced in line 10.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the lead-out terminal" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the lead-out end side" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, the Applicant has stated “the external leading terminal” in line 3. It is unclear if this is referring to the “lead terminal” or the “external leading terminal” of claim 9.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the external leading terminal" in lines 7 and 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the anodal side foil" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the anodal external leading terminal" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-14, 16-18, 20-21, 23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yukihiro et al. (JP2002083738A) in view of Yano et al. (US Publication 2012/0267161).
In re claim 9, Yukihiro discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor comprising an anode foil (1 – Figure 1, ¶28) with dielectric oxide film formed thereon (¶28), a lead terminal (5 – Figure 1, ¶28) connected to the anode foil (1 – Figure 1), a capacitor element including the anode foil and a solid electrolyte (¶28) formed within the capacitor element and comprising a conductive polymer (¶18-20) , wherein a coating layer (11 – Figure 2, ¶30) repealing a conductive polymer forming solution between said anodal foil and an external leading terminal (5, 6 – Figure 1, ¶30) is formed (¶14-15, ¶32-37). Yukihiro does not disclose the thickness of the coating layer is not less than 10 nm and more than 150 nm. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the thickness of the resin layer to reduce unevenness on the surface of the electrode tab, and thus, resulting in improved leakage current characteristics (¶12, ¶14). ). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the coating layer to realize a device having desired leakage current and miniaturization characteristics per user specifications, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Yukihiro does not disclose wherein the coating layer does not crack or peel when a load of up to about 10 MPa is applied to the surface of the lead terminal.
Yano discloses increasing the pierce strength and adhesion of the resin film (15 – Figure 2, ¶35) to prevent the occurrence of whiskers and peeling (¶35, ¶40). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the pierce strength and adhesion characteristics of the resin film, and thus mechanical strength in response to external loads, to achieve a device having a reduced occurrence of whiskers, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 10, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 9, as explained above. Yukihiro further discloses wherein the coating layer (11 – Figure 2) is for med at least at a portion facing the anode foil (1 – Figure 2) of the lead-out terminal (¶32-33).
In re claim 11, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 9, as explained above. Yukihiro further discloses wherein the coating layer (11 – Figure 2) is formed at least at the lead-out end side of the capacitor element (Figure 1) from the connection with the anodal foil (1 – Figure 1) of the external leading terminal (5, 6 – Figure 1).
In re claim 12, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 9, as explained above. Yukihiro does not disclose the thickness of the coating layer is not less than 10 nm and not more than 100 nm. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the thickness of the resin layer to reduce unevenness on the surface of the electrode tab, and thus, resulting in improved leakage current characteristics (¶12, ¶14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the coating layer to realize a device having desired leakage current and miniaturization characteristics per user specifications, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re claim 13, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 9, as explained above. Yukihiro does not explicitly disclose the contact angle between the surface of the coating layer and the conductive polymer forming solution is 80° or more. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the wettability results in improved soldering characteristics of the device (¶15, ¶45-46). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the wettability effect, and thus arrive at a desired contact angle, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 14, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 9, as explained above. Yukihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of the coating layer is not less than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the thickness of the resin layer to reduce unevenness on the surface of the electrode tab, and thus, resulting in improved leakage current characteristics (¶12, ¶14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the coating layer to realize a device having desired leakage current and miniaturization characteristics per user specifications, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re claim 16, Yukihiro discloses method for manufacturing solid-state electrolytic capacitors, the method comprising:
a winding step of forming a capacitor element by winding the cathode foil (2 – Figure 1, ¶28) and the anode foil (1 – Figure 1) while winding the lead terminal (5, 6 - Figure 1), a winding after connecting the lead terminal to the anode foil, cathode foil, and the dielectric oxide film is formed (¶28),
an electrolyte formation step that immerses a solution forming a solid electrolyte (¶35) from the opposite face of the end face of the capacitor element (Figure 1) formed around the external leading terminal (5, 6 -Figure 2) (¶35)and derived by the external leading terminal connected to the anodal side foil (1 – Figure 1), following the wounding step (¶34-36),
wherein forming a coating layer (11 – Figure 2) at least on the anodal external leading terminal (5,6 – Figure 2).
Yukihiro does not disclose the thickness of the coating layer is not less than 10 nm and more than 150 nm. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the thickness of the resin layer to reduce unevenness on the surface of the electrode tab, and thus, resulting in improved leakage current characteristics (¶12, ¶14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the coating layer to realize a device having desired leakage current and miniaturization characteristics per user specifications, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Yukihiro does not disclose wherein the coating layer does not crack or peel when a load of up to about 10 MPa is applied to the surface of the lead terminal.
Yano discloses increasing the pierce strength and adhesion of the resin film (15 – Figure 2, ¶35) to prevent the occurrence of whiskers and peeling (¶35, ¶40). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the pierce strength and adhesion characteristics of the resin film, and thus mechanical strength in response to external loads, to achieve a device having a reduced occurrence of whiskers, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 17, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Yukihiro does not explicitly disclose the contact angle between the surface of the coating layer and the conductive polymer forming solution is 80° or more. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the wettability results in improved soldering characteristics of the device (¶15, ¶45-46). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the wettability effect, and thus arrive at a desired contact angle, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 18, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Yukihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of the coating layer is not less than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the thickness of the resin layer to reduce unevenness on the surface of the electrode tab, and thus, resulting in improved leakage current characteristics (¶12, ¶14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the coating layer to realize a device having desired leakage current and miniaturization characteristics per user specifications, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re claim 20, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 11, as explained above. Yukihiro does not explicitly disclose the contact angle between the surface of the coating layer and the conductive polymer forming solution is 80° or more. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the wettability results in improved soldering characteristics of the device (¶15, ¶45-46). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the wettability effect, and thus arrive at a desired contact angle, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 21, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 11, as explained above. Yukihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of the coating layer is not less than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the thickness of the resin layer to reduce unevenness on the surface of the electrode tab, and thus, resulting in improved leakage current characteristics (¶12, ¶14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the coating layer to realize a device having desired leakage current and miniaturization characteristics per user specifications, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re claim 23, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 17, as explained above. Yukihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of the coating layer is not less than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the thickness of the resin layer to reduce unevenness on the surface of the electrode tab, and thus, resulting in improved leakage current characteristics (¶12, ¶14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the coating layer to realize a device having desired leakage current and miniaturization characteristics per user specifications, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re claim 26, Yukihiro in view of Yano discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 17, as explained above. Yukihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of the coating layer is not less than 10 nm and not more than 80 nm. However, Yukihiro discloses reducing the thickness of the resin layer to reduce unevenness on the surface of the electrode tab, and thus, resulting in improved leakage current characteristics (¶12, ¶14). ). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the coating layer to realize a device having desired leakage current and miniaturization characteristics per user specifications, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takaaki et al. (JP2011086538A) Figure 1, Figure 2, Abstract
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847