DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5-11, and 16-18 in the reply filed on December 22, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 20-22 and 25-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “the reactor” (at line 7) lacks proper positive antecedent basis.
Also, the limitation “the reactor that comprises the reaction space” (at line 7) is unclear because “the reaction space” refers to only one reaction space, but the claim sets forth “at least one reaction space” (at line 5).
Also, the relationship between “a process gas” (at line 11) and the “process gas” previously set forth in the claim (at line 7).
Also, the relationship between the first recitation of “a pulsation” and the second recitation of “a pulsation” (at line 11) is unclear.
Also, it is unclear as to what is meant by the phrase “in each instance” (at line 16).
Also, it is unclear as to what is meant by the further limitation “wherein the pressure loss production devices are configured in such a manner that one of the resonance states can be optionally set” (at lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear as to what is meant by the further limitation “in an unchangeable manner” (at line 4).
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear as to what is meant by the further limitation “wherein the pulsation device is configured as a pressure loss production device”.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation of “the at least one reactor” (at line 3) lacks proper positive antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear as to the structural limitation intended by “has a regulation precision of less than or equal to 3%”. In particular, it is unclear as to what structural feature(s) would enable the process gas volume stream regulation device to operate with a regulation precision of less than or equal to 3%.
Regarding claim 11, the recitation of “the at least one reactor” (at line 3) lacks proper positive antecedent basis.
Also, the further limitation “so that at least one process gas feed line is assigned to each reactor of the reactor unit” (at lines 3-4) is unclear because the scope of “at least one reactor” (at line 3) includes a reactor unit with only one reactor.
Regarding claim 17, the recitation of “the process gas discharge device” (at line 2) lacks proper positive antecedent basis.
Also, the relationship between “a pressure loss production device” (at lines 3-4) of each process gas discharge line and “a pressure loss production device” of the process gas discharge unit previously set forth in claim 1 (at lines 22-23) is unclear.
The remaining claims are also rejected because they depend from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto-A (JP 7-24292 A).
The instant “reactor system” claims are considered apparatus claims.
Regarding claim 1, Morimoto-A discloses a reactor system for the production and/or treatment of particles in an oscillating process gas stream (i.e., an apparatus applied to the production of fertilizers/feeds, powder metallurgy, granular foods, and various other granulation applications in the presence of a gas pulsation wave; see translation, e.g., at page 1, last paragraph), wherein the reactor system (see embodiments of FIG. 1, 5, and 6) comprises:
a reactor unit (i.e., a main body 1) that has an upstream process gas feed unit (i.e., an intake pipe part 2) and a downstream process gas discharge unit (i.e., an exhaust pipe part 3), which reactor unit has at least one reaction space for particle production and/or treatment (i.e., the main body 1 defines an interior space for processing particles A) and an application device (i.e., a spray nozzle 5) for introducing a starting substance (e.g., a binder 4) into the reactor unit that comprises the reaction space, wherein the process gas that flows through the reactor unit 1 in the direction of the process gas discharge unit 3 can be fed into the reactor unit 1 by way of the process gas feed unit 2 (i.e., the process gas flows into the intake pipe part 2, upward through the interior space of the main body 1, and out through the exhaust pipe part 3); and
a pulsation device that is suitable for the production of a pulsation of a process gas (i.e., a pulsation wave generator 6 upstream of the main body 1, the pulsation wave generator 6 comprising a pulsation imparting device 61 for producing a pulsation of a process gas such as air or other gas; see also FIG. 2(a)-(b) and translation at page 5), wherein a pulsation that has a pulsation frequency and a pulsation pressure amplitude can be imposed on the process gas by means of the pulsation device 6 (i.e., a desired waveform with a predetermined pulsation frequency (x-axis) and a predetermined pulsation pressure amplitude (y-axis) can be generated by controlling the operation of the pulsation wave generator 6; see FIG. 3(a)-(b));
wherein the process gas feed unit 2 comprises a pressure loss production device that produces a pressure loss (i.e., the intake pipe part 2 comprises a pre-filter 10, a medium performance filter 11, and a heat exchanger 12, and each component produces a pressure loss; see translation at page 7, second paragraph).
Morimoto-A further discloses that the reaction space of the reactor unit 1 (see FIG. 1, 5) comprises a pressure loss production device that produces a pressure loss (i.e., a bag filter 13 located in the upper part of the main body 1, which produces a pressure loss). In this particular embodiment, the process gas discharge unit 3 does not comprise a pressure loss production device that produces a pressure loss. However, Morimoto-A discloses a further embodiment of the reactor system (see FIG. 7) in which the process gas discharge unit 3, instead of the reaction space of the reactor unit 1, comprises the pressure loss production device (i.e., the location of the bag filter 13a is shifted to the exhaust pipe part 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate a pressure loss production device in the process gas discharge unit 3 in the reactor system of Morimoto-A, so that the process gas feed unit 2 and the process gas discharge unit 3 each comprise a pressure loss production device that produces a pressure loss, because the location of the pressure loss production device inside of the reaction space (i.e., bag filter 13, see FIG. 1, 5) or the location of the pressure loss production device in the process gas discharge unit (i.e., bag filter 13a, see FIG. 7) would have satisfactorily performed the function of separating solids from the process gas discharged from the reactor unit, and the rearrangement of parts would not have modified the operation of the system. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI. C.
The further recitations with respect to the intended manner of operating the reactor system do not further differentiate the claimed reactor system from the reactor system of Morimoto-A. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, the reactor system of Morimoto-A would be operable in the recited manner,
wherein the reactor system, which has a static process gas pressure (i.e., a static pressure can be set to a desired value by means of a blower 60 of the intake pipe part 2 and/or an exhaust fan 8 of the exhaust pipe part 3; see FIG. 1, 5, 6), is configured as an acoustic resonator that has inherent resonance frequencies that define a resonance state, in each instance, and the process gas can form a gas column capable of resonance in the reactor system (i.e., in use, the process gas forms a gas column within the interior space of the main body 1, and the gas column can be subject to resonance by appropriately controlling the pulsating wave generator 6 to transmit waves having the desired pulsation frequency and amplitude; see FIG. 3(a)-(b)), so that the resonator can be excited by means of the pulsation generated by the pulsation frequency and/or the pulsation pressure amplitude that is/are generated by the pulsation device 6 and in the resonance state, the pulsation can be amplified to produce a resonance oscillation of the process gas that has a resonance frequency and a resonance pressure amplitude;
wherein the pressure loss production devices (i.e., filters 10, 11; heat exchanger 12; and bag filter 13a) are configured in such a manner that one of the resonance states can be optionally set (i.e., the components inherently prevent propagation of the resonance oscillation beyond the locations of the components, thereby limiting the system parts that are capable of oscillation and further defining the resonance state of the system); and
wherein the pulsation device 6 is configured for adapting the pulsation frequency and/or the pulsation pressure amplitude of the pulsation to one of the inherent resonance frequencies of the resonator, so that the selected resonance state can be achieved (i.e., a desired pulsation frequency is settable by controlling the speed at which the valve body 64 rotates within the casing 63 of the pulsation imparting device 61; a desired pulsation pressure amplitude is further settable by controlling the pressure at which a gas is admitted into the port 62a of the pulsating imparting device 61; therefore, a user would be able to adapt the pulsation frequency and/or the pulsation pressure amplitude of the pulsation to one of the inherent resonance frequencies of the system by operating the pulsating wave generator 6 in a manner that produces a pulsation having a pulsation frequency and a pulsation pressure amplitude that allows for the resonance state to be achieved; see FIG. 2(a)-(b), 3(a)-(b); translation at page 5).
Regarding claim 2, Morimoto-A discloses that the pulsation device is configured as a pulsation device that works without a flame (i.e., the pulsating wave generator 6 is a mechanical device which comprises a valve body 64 that rotates within a casing 63 of the pulsation imparting device 61 for producing a pulsating wave; see FIG. 2(a)-(b)).
Regarding claim 3, Morimoto-A discloses a heating device for heating the process gas (i.e., a heat exchanger 12 for heating; see FIG. 1, 5, 6; translation at page 5, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, Morimoto-A discloses that the pressure loss production devices (i.e., the filters 10,11 and the heat exchanger 12 located at the intake pipe portion 2, see FIG. 1, 5, 6; and the bag filter 13a now located at the exhaust pipe portion 3, see FIG. 7) are arranged in the process gas feed unit 2 and the process gas discharge unit 3, in their corresponding position in the operating state, in an unchangeable manner (as best understood, meaning that the components are fixed during operation).
Regarding claim 6, Morimoto-A discloses that the pulsation device can be configured as a pressure loss production device (i.e., as best understood, the pulsation imparting device 61 can be provided in the intake pipe part 2, such that a pressure loss is generated; see FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Morimoto-A discloses that the process gas feed unit 2 and the process gas discharge unit 3 have a process gas pressure regulation device, so that the static process gas pressure in the reactor system can be regulated (i.e., a static process gas pressure can be set to a desired value by means of a blower 60 of the intake pipe part 2 and/or an exhaust fan 8 of the exhaust pipe part 3; see FIG. 1, 5, 6).
Regarding claim 18, Morimoto-A discloses that the pulsation device is configured as a rotary vane or a modified turnstile (i.e., the pulsation imparting device 61 comprises a valve body 64 that rotates, which reads on a rotary vane or modified turnstile; see FIG. 2(a)-(b)).
Claims 7-9, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto-A (JP 7-24292 A) in view of Morimoto-B (US 6,302,573 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Morimoto-A fails to disclose a process gas volume stream regulation device arranged upstream from the at least one reactor 1.
Morimoto-B discloses a reactor system for the production and/or treatment of particles in an oscillating process gas stream (i.e., an apparatus for processing powdered or granular material using pulsating vibration air; see column 1, lines 12-16), wherein the reactor system (see, e.g., embodiments of FIG. 4-5; column 6, line 45, to column 8, line 20) comprises:
a reactor unit that has an upstream process gas feed unit (i.e., a unit comprising a pipe 18,29 for feeding a process gas) and a downstream process gas discharge unit (i.e., a unit comprising a pipe 21,30a,30b for discharging the process gas), which reactor unit has at least one reaction space for particle production and/or treatment (i.e., one tank 2 shown in FIG. 4 or two tanks 2 shown in FIG. 5, each tank 2 defining a space for processing particles supplied from a hopper 14) and an application device (i.e., a spray ball 35, FIG. 5) for introducing a starting substance into the reactor that comprises the reaction space; and
a pulsation device that is suitable for the production of a pulsation of a process gas (i.e., a pulsation vibration air generator (not shown) for producing a pulsation of the process gas fed by the pipe 18,29; e.g., a rotary type pulsating vibration air generation means 71 shown in FIG. 9 or a cam type pulsating vibration air generation means 91 shown in FIG. 10).
Specifically, Morimoto-B discloses that the system further comprises a process gas volume regulation device (i.e., a valve 23 for controlling the supply of pulsating vibration air into each tank 2; see column 6, lines 55-56; column 7, lines 5-9) arranged upstream from the at least one reactor.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a process gas volume stream regulation device arranged upstream from the at least one reactor in the modified reactor system of Morimoto-A because the process gas volume stream regulation device (i.e., a valve) would have allowed for the supply of gas into the at least one reactor unit to be controlled, as taught by Morimoto-B.
Regarding claim 8, Morimoto-B discloses that the process gas volume stream regulation device is arranged downstream from the pulsation device (i.e., the valve 23 controls the supply of pulsating vibrating air into each tank 2, which necessitates the valve 23 being arranged downstream from the pulsating vibration air generator (not shown); see FIG. 4-5).
Regarding claim 9, Morimoto-B further discloses that the process gas volume stream regulation device is configured as a regulating valve (i.e., the valve 23 controls the supply of pulsating vibration air, wherein the valve 23 can be opened to feed pulsating vibration air into the tank 2 or closed to prevent the feeding of pulsating vibration air into the tank 2; thus, the valve 23 reads on a regulating valve, since the valve regulates the flow of pulsating vibration air into each of the tanks 2).
Regarding claim 11, Morimoto-A fails to disclose a process gas stream divider device arranged upstream of the at least one reactor 1, so that at least one process gas feed line can be assigned to each reactor of the reactor unit, in the case where multiple reactors are provided for the reactor unit.
The same comments with respect to Morimoto-B apply (see rejection of claim 7, above).
In particular, Morimoto-B discloses that the reactor system (see embodiment of FIG. 5) can comprise multiple reactors, with each reactor defining a reaction space (i.e., two tanks 2 arranged in parallel, with each tank 2 defining a space for processing the particles supplied by a hopper 14). Specifically, Morimoto-B further discloses that the reactor system (see FIG. 5) comprises a process gas stream divider device arranged upstream from each reactor (i.e., a T for splitting the transmission pipe 29 into two pipes, with the two pipes being respectively connected to the bottom of each tank 2), so that at least one process gas feed line is assigned to each reactor 2 of the reactor unit.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide a process gas stream divider device arranged upstream of the at least one reactor in the modified reactor system of Morimoto-A because the provision of a process gas stream divider device would allow for the reactor unit to comprise multiple reactors in parallel, with the multiple reactors each being fluidly connected to the process gas feed unit, and, therefore, the production capacity of the reactor system could be increased, as taught by Morimoto-B.
Regarding claim 17, Morimoto-A fails to disclose that the process gas discharge unit 3 has a plurality of process gas discharge lines, wherein each process gas discharge line has a pressure loss production device (i.e., in the modified system, the bag filter 13a located in the exhaust pipe part 3, according to FIG. 7).
The same comments with respect to Morimoto-B apply (see rejection of claim 7, above). In particular, Morimoto-B discloses that the reactor system (see embodiment of FIG. 5) can comprise multiple reactors, with each reactor defining a reaction space (i.e., two tanks 2 arranged in parallel, with each tank 2 defining a space for processing the particles supplied by a hopper 14). Specifically, Morimoto-B discloses that in the case of the multiple reactors, the process gas discharge unit has a plurality of process gas discharge lines (i.e., two pipes 30a,30b for respectively discharging the process gas from the two tanks 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the process gas discharge unit to have a plurality of discharge lines, with each line having the pressure loss production device (i.e., the bag filter located in the exhaust pipe part), in the modified reactor system of Morimoto-A because the provision of a plurality of discharge lines would allow for the reactor unit to comprise multiple reactors in parallel, with the multiple reactors respectively discharging the process gas into a respective discharge line of the process gas discharge unit, and, therefore, the production capacity of the reactor system could be increased, as taught by Morimoto-B.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto-A (JP 7-24292 A) in view of Morimoto-B (US 6,302,573 B1), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sanderson (US 3,360,867 A).
Morimoto-B fails to further teach that the process gas volume stream regulation device (i.e., the valve 23 for controlling the supply of pulsating vibration air into each tank 2; see FIG. 4-5; column 6, lines 55-56; column 7, lines 5-9) has a regulation precision of less than or equal to 3%. As best understood from Applicant’s disclosure, an example of a regulation device capable of achieving the regulation precision is a sliding gate valve (see page 11, lines 16-26).
Sanderson discloses a reactor system for the production and/or treatment of particles, the reactor system (see FIG. 1-2) comprising: a reactor unit that has an upstream process gas feed unit (i.e., a unit including a hot air manifold 12 and pipes 19 for feeding hot air into the reactor unit) and a downstream process gas discharge unit (i.e., a discharge chamber 21 having an air discharge), which reactor unit has at least one reaction space (i.e., drying chambers 17, 18, 19, 20) for particle production and/or treatment; and a process gas volume stream regulation device (i.e., an interrupter valve V1, V2, V3, V4) arranged upstream from each reaction space. Specifically, Sanderson discloses that each process gas volume stream regulation device is configured as a sliding gate valve (i.e., each interrupter valve V1, V2, V3, V4 comprises a slide 35 (sliding gate) that moves in a groove formed in a slide housing 36 positioned in each pipes 29, wherein the slide 35 completely closes the pipe 29 to block the flow of air or completely opens the pipe 29 to allow the air to pass in response to a actuation by a respective fluid motor VA1-VA4; see FIG. 2; column 4, line 72, to column 5, line 13).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sliding gate valve of Sanderson for the process gas volume stream regulation device in the modified reactor system of Morimoto-A because the sliding gate valve would have enabled a complete opening of a process gas feed line of the process gas feed unit to allow for the process gas to pass or a complete closing of the process gas feed line to block the flow of the process gas, and the rapid actuation achievable by the sliding gate valve would have allowed for an immediate resumption or cut-off of the process gas flow to the reaction space, as taught by Sanderson. As best understood from Applicant’s disclosure, the sliding gate valve of Sanderson would be capable of achieving a regulation precision of less than or equal to 3%.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jacob et al. (WO 2019/192908 A1) was published before the effective filing date of the instant application. The publication is not considered to be prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) because it is apparent that the disclosure is unavailable as prior art under the grace period inventor-originated disclosure exception of AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A).
* * *
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774